We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely property, lovely site” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Sheraton San Diego Hotel & Marina

Save Saved
You added The Sheraton San Diego Hotel & Marina to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
The Sheraton San Diego Hotel & Marina
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1380 Harbor Island Drive, San Diego, CA 92101   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Book Early and Save
Ranked #114 of 268 hotels in San Diego
GreenLeadersGold level
Ridgefield, Connecticut
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Lovely property, lovely site”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2013

Wonderful hotel...service friendly and attentive. Lovely waterfront location AND 5 minutes from the airport, so the best of both worlds. Free shuttle to the airport. Great place for runners as there is a waterfront path toward downtown/convention/gaslight district.

Room Tip: Facing the water
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,410 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    779
    826
    437
    236
    132
See reviews for
528
569
134
749
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (708)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Muncie, Indiana
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2013

I was there on a recent business trip and I was pleasantly surprised the the amenities and the service of the staff. I stayed in the Marina Tower. I had a nice view of the Marina. It was great watching the sunset each night. The hotel is situated very close to the airport and only a few miles away from the Gaslamp District. The room was clean and comfortable. I would recommed ordering the crab cakes at the bar by the lobby. They were wonderful.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AustinGubrud, Marketing Coordinator at The Sheraton San Diego Hotel & Marina, responded to this review, April 22, 2013
Dear howic304,

It is experiences like this that truly makes our property something special. We thank you for sharing your kind words and for recognizing our hard working staff. Whether you’re here for leisure or business, we have put everything in place to create an exceptional experience.

Thank you for your TripAdvisor review and for your recent stay at the Sheraton San Diego Hotel and Marina. We are hopeful for another opportunity to host you during future travels to San Diego.

Warm Regards,

Austin Gubrud
Marketing Coordinator
Sheraton San Diego Hotel and Marina
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2013

I recently stayed in the Bay tower of the Sheraton Hotel and Marina. While it has a smaller lobby, it offers larger balconies, slightly larger rooms and incredible views of the bay (front of hotel) or the marina (back of hotel - this is where you see the sunrise!). The hotel is on the Marina which is lovely and literally across the street from the bay where you can sit on a bench and watch ships, go for a jog or interact with locals who come there for the excellent fishing.
The rooms offered a modern feel and were very quiet despite being significantly booked. The bed was not as comfortable as I would've liked but the incredibly soft pillows made up for it!

They have shuttle service to the airport which is only a short distance away (yes you can hear the planes sometimes) and they can call a taxi for you if you wish to venture to dowtown or old town which are both very close ($10-$15 for cabfare). They do charge $22 for overnight parking which is disappointing if you are choosing to drive a vehicle here.
Ask staff for recommendations for meals...too pricey at the hotel and its not very good. I recommend Hash House ($15 per person)for breakfast if you can drive!

Room Tip: The higher the better as far as noise. Bay tower offers better views and bigger rooms - worth the e...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AustinGubrud, Marketing Coordinator at The Sheraton San Diego Hotel & Marina, responded to this review, April 22, 2013
Dear tamaragham,

Thank you for leaving such positive comments about our hotel and your time while in residence. The views truly set the San Diego experience while staying in the Bay Tower as the sunrise and sunset are breathtaking.

Pairing dreamy guestrooms with remarkable service is a recipe for an unforgettable visit to San Diego. Thank you for your review and we hope for another opportunity to host you again when time permits.

Warm Regards,

Austin Gubrud
Marketing Coordinator
Sheraton San Diego Hotel and Marina
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Freehold, New Jersey
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 20, 2013

We stayed at the Sheraton San Diego Bay Tower. There are two towers, the Marina Tower and the Bay Tower. Both were good but the Bay Tower offers a quieter experience since the Marina Tower is on a busy corner by the airport. We asked for a view of the bay and were not disappointed. We were privileged to see the aircraft carriers and sailboats coming into the bay all day. We also saw sea lions and dolphins from our spectacular view. If I make it back to San Diego, I will definitely stay at the Sheraton San Diego Bay Tower.

Room Tip: Ask for a high floor on the bay side.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lakewood Ranch, Florida
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 20, 2013

I arrived Saturday afternoon and wanted to go to the spa, both the pool and spa were closed. So I went to the dry sauna, after - the showers were cold so I reported it to the front desk. Went to my room to shower and the tub drain was broken - reported that, and decided to iron my shirt, the iron squirted rust over my shirt. Traveling light so I was really in a bind. The Front Desk Supervisor couldn't get my shirt cleaned by my meeting so she dropped everything even thought the place was packed with multiple lines for check in. She went to the mall as soon as the stores opened purchased a shirt, it was the right size and color, but a different collar than what I had, so it worked for that day of meetings, she went back a second time, and purchased the correct type, great quality too. I gave her the first one back.

I have never been so impressed in 30 years of travel with someone putting my personal needs for my stay & business meeting ahead of convenience to the property, i.e. just giving a credit. Dena C. was the supervisor that worked so hard at making things smooth out for my stay. Look her up if you ever need help, she will go the extra mile and more!

Gilbert, Jayme and Joseph helped me with the other challenges. Great views of the city and harbor, stay on higher floor if possible. Breakfast overlooking the harbor by the window is great, get in the first row of tables closest to the window.

Room Tip: Great views of the city and harbor, stay on higher floor if possible, and less noise
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AustinGubrud, Marketing Coordinator at The Sheraton San Diego Hotel & Marina, responded to this review, April 22, 2013
Dear FloridaTraveler457,

Thank you very much for sharing your comments and for your stay at our hotel. The complications you experienced are disappointing to hear as we understand our guests expect a seamless visit. Although we fell short on so many opportunities to impress you, we are pleased to hear our associates helped turn your experience into a positive one.

Your constructive comments will be communicated to the appropriate leadership, as well as your mentioning of specific associates. We thank you for taking the time to write your review and we are hopeful for the opportunity to welcome you back soon.

Warm Regards,

Austin Gubrud
Marketing Coordinator
Sheraton San Diego Hotel and Marina
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fremont, California
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 20, 2013

I conducted six all-day course meetings (Saturday or Sunday) for mechanical engineers preparing for their professional engineering license examination sponsored by Professional Publications Institute (PPI Inc). With the exception of one class meeting that was relocated from the main tower (Marina 6) to the bay tower without any notice prior to the students and my arrival, the classrooms, equipment and support were very good. The hotel and property was excellent in every respect, except perhaps for the food prices that consistently exceeded my expense account limits. Also, it was unfortunate that in addition to the cost of the review course for the students, they were additionally burdened with the cost of parking, although at least at a discounted rate. The executive meeting specialists, Janice Trinidad and John Kentel were supportive in every way, and their assistance and presence was very much appreciated.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cameron Park
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 19, 2013

Great location. Close to Airport and activities. Staff is excellent. I stayed in the main tower. The facilities were clean and easy to get to. You have access to the harbor walk ways for a lovely walk by the bay. The the pub and lounges are delightful. Great food and drink. Starbucks coffee and tea in the room made it a great way to wake up in the morning. I would sit on the balcony and drink my coffee and plan the day. All in all a lovely experience.

Room Tip: The views are beautiful no matter what room you choose.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AustinGubrud, Marketing Coordinator at The Sheraton San Diego Hotel & Marina, responded to this review, April 22, 2013
Dear Skippy3721,

Thank you for taking the time to leave such positive comments about your experience and our staff. I personally will make sure your appreciation is communicated to the appropriate people.

We can’t agree with you more! The views are amazing and we are glad you had the opportunity to experience a breathtaking walk along the marina and bay.

Thank you, again, for taking the time to share your feedback. We look forward to welcoming you back to the Sheraton San Diego Hotel and Marina when your travel plans allow it.

Warm Regards,

Austin Gubrud
Marketing Coordinator
Sheraton San Diego Hotel and Marina
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to The Sheraton San Diego Hotel & Marina? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Sheraton San Diego Hotel & Marina

Address: 1380 Harbor Island Drive, San Diego, CA 92101
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Diego
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#9 Green Hotel in San Diego
#24 Spa Hotel in San Diego
#28 Luxury Hotel in San Diego
#60 Business Hotel in San Diego
#76 Romantic Hotel in San Diego
#77 Family Hotel in San Diego
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Sheraton San Diego Hotel & Marina 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled on the Bay, the Sheraton San Diego Hotel and Marina offers panoramic views and easy access to the destination’s renowned attractions. The waterfront campus features 1,053 guest rooms with picturesque water views, as well as 73 meeting spaces, and 120,000 sq.ft. of indoor and outdoor event space. An award winning hotel, we specialize in group events ranging from 10 – 1,200 attendees. Enjoy authentic entertainment at San Diego’s illustrious waterfront attractions, Harbor Island and Liberty Station – a former Naval Base repurposed as a mix use destination. Experience the city’s waterfront attractions via The Big Bay Shuttle. The historic Gaslamp Quarter, Little Italy and the amenities of downtown are only minutes away. Recreation includes a full service spa, two Core Performance Fitness Centers, three swimming pools, bicycle rentals, tennis and volleyball courts, as well as jogging/ bike trails connecting the hotel to the city’s majestic destination. Sail the Bay on one of our partner charter operators. Seasonal activities include Summer Play - an array of water recreation programs. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Booking.com, Starwood, Orbitz, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL, BookIt.com, Priceline, Otel, Venere and Agoda so you can book your The Sheraton San Diego Hotel & Marina reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Sheraton San Diego Hotel And Marina
San Diego Sheraton Hotel Marina
Sheraton San Diego Hotel Marina

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Sheraton San Diego Hotel & Marina, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.