We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What Happened??” 3 of 5 stars
Review of The Sheraton San Diego Hotel & Marina

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Save
You added The Sheraton San Diego Hotel & Marina to your Saves list
The Sheraton San Diego Hotel & Marina
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1380 Harbor Island Drive, San Diego, CA 92101   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
4th Night Free & Credit
Ranked #128 of 271 Hotels in San Diego
GreenLeadersGold level
Orange County, California
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“What Happened??”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 15, 2013

We used to go here all the time. We loved it. Not sure if new management took over but everything has changed. The decor, feel, cleanliness and staff. It used to be when you first walked in to the lobby it was warm, inviting, friendly staff, clean hotel rooms. This last time (a week ago) was none of those things. They changed the decor in the lobby. It is now dark, cold feeling, strange seating areas, the staff from the outside valet parkers to the inside at the desks were not friendly. They didn't even greet us. When we checked out the staff behind the desks didn't thank us or say goodbye either. Our room had old, beaten up furniture and was not clean - especially the bathroom. It was gross.They need to overhaul the hotel rooms with new furniture and get a construction crew for their bathrooms. I was scared to even touch anything. We will not be staying there anymore we will find a new hotel in that area.

Room Tip: upper marina and bay views. check the room first to see if its clean
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AustinGubrud, Marketing Coordinator at The Sheraton San Diego Hotel & Marina, responded to this review, February 18, 2013
Dear lana90025,

Firstly, I would like to thank you for leaving your review, as it is comments like yours that provide an extremely helpful perspective to our never-ending push for improvement.

We have received many comments (mostly good and some bad) on the lobby experience, and we appreciate your constructive opinion. Your thoughts regarding the ambiance of the lobby and guestrooms will be mentioned during future leadership meetings, but please note that this is not the norm for our hotel as we commonly receive great comments about the relaxing and social nature of our lobby space.

Thank you for your review and recent stay at the Sheraton San Diego Hotel and Marina. We are hopeful that your latest experience did not cloud your previous lasting memories at our hotel.

Warm Regards,

Austin Gubrud
Marketing Coordinator
Sheraton San Diego Hotel and Marina
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,595 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    820
    902
    471
    253
    149
See reviews for
564
625
143
835
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (801)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Barcelona, Spain
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 11, 2013

I was at Sheraton Marina Bay in San Diego last August 2012.
They offered us a really nice room with panoramic views to the private seaport which allowed us to see an incredible sunset every day.
The staff was very polite and efficient, and the restaurant pretty good.
However, must say the parking was really expensive without any real possibility to park somewhere else.
Still, i will come back.

Room Tip: Ask for seaport views
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buffalo, New York
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 9, 2013

Just checked out of this hotel yesterday and was shocked it has the Sheraton name on it. Very far from the Gas Lamp District and the other hotels and restaurants but very close to the airport. There are two different towers and they are not close. I was there for a meeting and seminar and this hotel was noisy (from construction going on at all hours) and in a state of disrepair. There was a problem with my door and I could not get the door to the hallway shut when I left the room at noon for a meeting the day after I checked in. There was a woman in the hall from housekeeping and she never once offered to help or call anyone although I was pulling the door over and over. Finally, after just asking her for help, turns out she did not speak one word of English. I went to my meeting and stopped at the gift shop for hairspray on the way and just put it in the bag from the gift shop in my purse after a quick spray. Turns out when I got back to my room found the entire bottle leaked from bottle into bag. The woman in the gift shop literally spent 10 minutes questioning me when I went to get it replaced the next day. On my way leaving the room for the reception later my door would not shut again. Finally I gave up after hurting my hand again and called the front desk. I was LEFT ON HOLD AND THEY NEVER CAME BACK. I called back and it rang and rang and finally I was able to report that the door would not shut again and they sent up security. He was a very nice man who was shocked how bad the door was. By then I was 20 minutes late for the reception and he needed to get a construction crew in to fix the door. Although he said they would do something to compensate me, I never heard from anyone. I returned to my room that night and there was debris and dust from where they had been fixing the door and my room service tray from 12 hours earlier was still sitting outside my door! Next morning when I was checking out the door would not shut again. I stopped by the front desk on my way out and again, pretty much indifference.

I would NOT recommend this hotel. Other than a nice view from my window of the bay, there is no reason to put up with such indifference and lack of responsiveness, especially when you are so far from all the shops and restaurants. Others in my group complained about the non-stop construction noise in our tower, to no avail.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AustinGubrud, Marketing Coordinator at The Sheraton San Diego Hotel & Marina, responded to this review, February 12, 2013
Dear FrequentFlyer_1987,

Our ongoing efforts to provide exceptional experiences for all our guests has proven to be an impressive attribute to our hotel, which is why your comments are deeply concerning. I would like to take this opportunity to thank you for taking the time to leave your TripAdvisor review, as guest comments are the heart and soul of the superior level of service our hotel is known for.

The lackluster experience that was dealt to you at our hotel is unacceptable and will be investigated further. Broken doors and dirty food plates does not exemplify our goal of providing a comfortable, clean, and accommodating experiences.

With a hotel of our size, we rely on our Front Desk Associates to handle inevitable problems that occasionally arise in a timely manner. Your comments in relation to the lagging hold times while asking for assistance will be communicated to the appropriate leadership and will be included in further training sessions.

We apologize for any distress and inconveniences this has caused you, but please note that this is not the norm for our hotel. With that said, we are hopeful for an opportunity to demonstrate the potential of our hotel if your travel plans extend to San Diego in the future.

Thank you, again, for your review and recent stay at the Sheraton San Diego Hotel and Marina.

Warm Regards,

Austin Gubrud
Marketing Coordinator
Sheraton San Diego Hotel and Marina
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belpre, Ohio
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 7, 2013

I liked my room in marina side. Staff was nice. Room was nicely updated and lean. The running trail outside the hotel was great. My only complaint was the shower was mediocre at best. I ate at the bar one evening, and got the quesadilla yes – they were terrific. It was a trip to get in town, but on Saturday after the conference ended, I Rented car for much cheaper than I could've taken a taxi and saw the sights of San Diego. That was a great idea which I would recommend.

Room Tip: Marina pool side was great.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canada
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 6, 2013 via mobile

Stayed here for our last night in California. Everything was good minus the $22 parking fee, however that is par for the course. We went to bed and heard an alarm clock from the next room. We called The front desk, but no luck, called again and 25 minutes later they shut it off. This happened 3 times during the night. The staff was not very apologetic until the next am when I complained. It ruined our experience, for others this is unlikely to happen and aside from the service the hotel was great. Rooms were spacious and clean and had no issues. I would stay here again.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AustinGubrud, Marketing Coordinator at The Sheraton San Diego Hotel & Marina, responded to this review, February 8, 2013
Dear tiredtravellerCanada,

Listening to our guests experiences, good or bad, is the heart and soul of our ongoing efforts to create extraordinary and lasting memories. For that reason, I would like to thank you for taking the time to write about your concerns.

We understand the importance of a good night’s sleep, especially when you’re traveling, and we would like to apologize for the disruptive alarm clock in the neighboring guestroom. Your incident will be investigated and brought up during future leadership meetings to see where improvements to the system can be made.

Thank you for your recent stay at the Sheraton San Diego Hotel and Marina and we are hopeful for another opportunity to demonstrate the potential of our hotel.

Warm Regards,

Austin Gubrud
Marketing Coordinator
Sheraton San Diego Hotel and Marina
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 4, 2013

I was a little skeptical about the hotel (reading reviews after we had booked our trip for a one week stay over Christmas) but the fears ended almost immediately upon arrival. It started with the incredibly customer service orientated check in staff.
This was followed by a very nice room overlooking the Marina which contrary to some of the reports that I have read was quiet. Sure there was some aircraft activities heard (mainly between 6:30 and 7:00am) but people have to realize that they are booking a room literally a few blocks from the airport. It was far from inconvenient, I think that I only noticed it because I was in my wake up mode.
The price for meals was average for hotel dining and the food left nothing to be desired.
Overall, a great staff who cared (except for one concierge who pushed one particular car rental company and when we finally said okay played games to try to delay us until the agency would close for Christmas , we waited 3 hours for them to pick us up, she said she tried two others and they had nothing, I made one call and we were in a rental car in 45 minutes)
After that poor service we found our own things to do with the great help of restaurant and bar staff (great source of advice for things that are a must do and some to pass on)
There are a few very nice reasonably priced excellent restaurants within walking distance,try Island Prime and The boathouse, you will not be disappointed.
Would we stay there again? Absolutely we plan to again next year.

Room Tip: Definitely Marina view higher than the 5th floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AustinGubrud, Marketing Coordinator at The Sheraton San Diego Hotel & Marina, responded to this review, February 6, 2013
Dear wthutch,

Thank you for the great comments about your experience at our hotel and specifically our dining offerings. Most of all, thank you for recognizing our staff. We take great pride in our service and appreciate that you took the time to acknowledge our efforts.

Your comments are truly appreciated and we look forward to hosting you again next year or whenever your travel plans permit.

Warm Regards,

Austin Gubrud
Marketing Coordinator
Sheraton San Diego Hotel and Marina
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 4, 2013

I recently spent 5 nights hear for a conference. It had great facilities a great pool nice rooms and the service was good overall. Only criticism is that the bar was too expensive and reception were slow. But for any business trip to the city or conference this place is ideal.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Sheraton San Diego Hotel & Marina? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Sheraton San Diego Hotel & Marina

Address: 1380 Harbor Island Drive, San Diego, CA 92101
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Diego
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#8 Green Hotel in San Diego
#25 Spa Hotel in San Diego
#31 Luxury Hotel in San Diego
#60 Business Hotel in San Diego
#76 Romantic Hotel in San Diego
#77 Family Hotel in San Diego
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Sheraton San Diego Hotel & Marina 4*
Number of rooms: 1053
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled on the Bay, the Sheraton San Diego Hotel and Marina offers panoramic views and easy access to the destination’s renowned attractions. The waterfront campus features 1,053 guest rooms with picturesque water views, as well as 73 meeting spaces, and 120,000 sq.ft. of indoor and outdoor event space. An award winning hotel, we specialize in group events ranging from 10 – 1,200 attendees. Enjoy authentic entertainment at San Diego’s illustrious waterfront attractions, Harbor Island and Liberty Station – a former Naval Base repurposed as a mix use destination. Experience the city’s waterfront attractions via The Big Bay Shuttle. The historic Gaslamp Quarter, Little Italy and the amenities of downtown are only minutes away. Recreation includes a full service spa, two Core Performance Fitness Centers, three swimming pools, bicycle rentals, tennis and volleyball courts, as well as jogging/ bike trails connecting the hotel to the city’s majestic destination. Sail the Bay on one of our partner charter operators. Seasonal activities include Summer Play - an array of water recreation programs. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Starwood, Expedia, HotelTravel.com, Orbitz, AAA Travel Services, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, BookIt.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your The Sheraton San Diego Hotel & Marina reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Sheraton San Diego Hotel And Marina
San Diego Sheraton Hotel Marina
Sheraton San Diego Hotel Marina

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Sheraton San Diego Hotel & Marina, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.