We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very bad value” 2 of 5 stars
Review of The Sheraton San Diego Hotel & Marina

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added The Sheraton San Diego Hotel & Marina to your Saves list
The Sheraton San Diego Hotel & Marina
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1380 Harbor Island Drive, San Diego, CA 92101   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
4th Night Free & Credit
Ranked #134 of 273 Hotels in San Diego
GreenLeadersGold level
usa
Level Contributor
48 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
“Very bad value”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 21, 2012

If you are up for a hotel, the main purpose of which is to extract as much money as possible from you, this is the place to stay in San Diego. Otherwise, head for one of the many other hotels that are closer to downtown and where you won't feel trapped in an alternative universe. Here are some numbers to consider if you are traveling with your family: $22 a day to park your car, in a location where there are acres of open space. $30 per person for breakfast, including tax and tip. Or you could eat at the in house Starbucks. $3.99 for a candy bar. $11.95 per day for internet. See where this is going? The hotel can get away with this because with the exception of one deli on the marina, there are no other options for eating within two miles except for an equally expensive Hilton. The hotel itself is fine but so are many San Diego hotels. Your choice, just be aware what you're buying into.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DanielaDelgado, Marketing Coordinator at The Sheraton San Diego Hotel & Marina, responded to this review, November 26, 2012
Dear dannykent,
Thank you for your comments and review of our hotel as this will help us improve the guest experience in the future. We are very sorry to learn that we did not meet your expectations during your recent stay. While we do charge for internet access in the guest rooms, we do provide complementary internet access in the lobby at our Link@Sheraton to keep our guest connected. We certainly hope to welcome you back for your next visit to San Diego and the opportunity to demonstrate the value that the Sheraton San Diego Hotel and Marina can provide to our guests.
Warm regards,
Austin Gubrud
Marketing Coordinator
Sheraton San Diego Hotel and Marina
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,938 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    897
    1,038
    539
    292
    172
See reviews for
640
709
164
959
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (944)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
30 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 21, 2012

We were there for a week, the staff was very friendly and helpful.
It is only a short drive to the airport, the zoo, and Sea World.
Make sure you get a room with a view of the marina, it is spectacular.
The breakfast buffet was amazing, the best I have ever had, the hotel sandwich
bar was overpriced and the food was mediocre at best.
Even the price for our stay was reasonable for San Diego.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DanielaDelgado, Marketing Coordinator at The Sheraton San Diego Hotel & Marina, responded to this review, November 26, 2012
Dear valued guest,
Thank you for taking the time to post your comments on TripAdvisor. We’re glad you enjoyed your room and view of the marina. Thank you for your kind words about our staff. They will be happy to learn that they helped make your stay enjoyable. We hope to welcome you back to the Sheraton San Diego Hotel and Marina in the future.
Warm regards,
Austin Gubrud
Marketing Coordinator
Sheraton San Diego Hotel and Marina
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Las Vegas, Nevada
Level Contributor
332 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 148 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2012

This is a very nice hotel, one of the nicest, if you just fly in and don't plan on needing a car, since they have a free shuttle to the airport across the street. I was on the club floor room 1252 view of the east harbor & pool. No noise from planes, but pool motor noise, so I could not keep the window open without ear plugs. Heavy blackout drapes, & sound deadening windows, so really no noise. Had a little two chair & table sitting area outside. Club floor free breakfast with oatmeal, cereal, yogurt, fruit, juices, pastries, 0630-0930. 1730-2030 lunch meats, cheeses, wings, chicken tenders in peanuts, always free water bottles & free coke in refrigerator & free use of computer & printer. (*About 8 free computers & a printer in the lobby. (*Westin charged for computers) They did give me a very small cube refrigerator free upon request. They also, supplied 8 feather pillows to make a bed since they only have one kind of mattress firm~hard. My ribs crashing down into a tree one time too many, in my youth likes memory foam, air or feathers. Had two pools, but they were cool, the 3-jacuzzis were small shallow but warm, during day one was hot and night, not hot. They had beach cruisers for rent & a nice exercise gym. I had stayed here three times before and they had upgraded it. Parking~ $22 a day includes in and outs, self park rates. If my lady had not wanted a nicer place, I would have gone with the Quality Inn chain to avoid the parking fee and higher rate. Paid $133 tax included, got a free Club Floor upgrade. (*They booked me in October, not November.)

Room Tip: Ask for the farthest west room, but be prepared to walk. Better views and farther away from the airp...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AustinGubrud, Marketing Coordinator at The Sheraton San Diego Hotel & Marina, responded to this review, November 27, 2012
Dear valued guest,
Thank you for taking the time to write your review on TripAdvisor. We are glad you had the chance to enjoy many of the amenities we offer, like the Club Lounge, restaurants, Island Breeze Spa and Fitness, the lagoon pool, complimentary airport shuttle, and of course our lovely views. Thank you again for your feedback and we hope you will be back for a future visit.
Warm Regards,
Austin Gubrud
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Escondido, California
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2012

Was guest speaker at the 2012 Marine Corps Ball here and was blown away from check in to check out with regards to the exceptional attention to detail and obvious commitment to customer service exhibited by everyone from the Valet to the receptionist. So impressed in fact, that on the spot my wife and I decided to extend our stay to make it a mini-vacay! What separated this experience from all others, was the amazing level of attention and professionalism displayed by Ms. Amber Kauwoh and Ms. Blatchly Harkender who both represent Guest Services. Amber and Blatchkey collaborated to ensure that our stay was first class all the way. Not leaving anything to chance, both followed up to make double sure that the service we received met or exceeded the most lofty expectations. Although we live in North County, my wife and I agreed that this Sheraton property will be placed atop any future (short get-away) vacay plans. In the end, when you combine the location, views, top shelf dining and authentic commitment to superior customer service, the Sheraton San Diego Hotel & Marina represents a great value and good bang for the
hard earned buck!!!

Room Tip: If possible, try to call ahead and ask to speak with either Amber or Blatchly as both go out of thei...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AustinGubrud, Marketing Coordinator at The Sheraton San Diego Hotel & Marina, responded to this review, November 27, 2012
Dear Keith,
Thank you for your kind words and we appreciate you taking the time to post such positive comments. It’s always great to hear our guests enjoy themselves during their travels. Our team has been notified of the memorable experience you received and we look forward to your next visit to the Sheraton San Diego Hotel and Marina!
Warm Regards,
Austin Gubrud
Marketing Coordinator
Sheraton San Diego Hotel and Marina
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Burlington, Ontario, Canada
Level Contributor
22 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2012 via mobile

Stayed one night before flying out of San Diego. Very close to airport. Room was renovated and very nice. Had a great view of the marina. Our room had a balcony as well. Service in the restaurant was fantastic.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
45 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2012

I stayed one night in this hotel, because I had to catch an early flight. I walked from the airport (approx. 5 to 10 minutes walking) to the hotel. Walking is a very good alternative for the airport shuttle. I got a room in the Marina tower. It was a very spacious room, modern and quiet (couldn`t hear airport noise). I did not sleep very well, because there were people yelling and running in the hallway all night. Although the hotel is only a 10 minutes drive away from the city, it`s not ideal for visiting the city. No public transport available, only taxi or shuttle. If you need a hotel close to the airport the Sheraton is great choice, if not: there are plenty other good hotels available in the city center.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
163 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 110 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2012

We both use Sheraton a lot for business so this was a safe bet.

Good points :

Clean rooms

Club Lounge is smart

Main bar was friendly and helpful

Gym and Sauna and Pool good quality

Housekeeping good

Weak points:

This is a conference hotel and only conference guests matter. No attention to sole travellers

Check in check out staff are not interested. When you pay $2200 for your room bill you expect someone to acknowledge you and say thnks for staying. Our check out was purely transactional. Lisa printed the bill handed it over unfolded and said "there you are". Interesting approach to service....

Room cards were not enabled to se club lounge that we had paid for, and then required to trips back to reception to sort

Car Parking validation didn't work for 2 days apparently due to heavy recent rain.

When we had to go back to reception to get keys reprogrammed a second time the receptionist didn't even apologise

So overall, this Sheraton is only interested in Conference guests and whilst the place is lovely, it is very sad that given how much we spend with these people Corporately that when you then travel personally they rapidly decide to ignore you

I guess a couple of $k for four days is nothing here but experience left a sour service taste.

Hope that is a balanced review overall.

Room Tip: Get a club room on 12th
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Diego hotels
Downtown
The Westin San Diego
The Westin San Diego
#32 of 273 in San Diego
4.5 of 5 stars 482 reviews
Hilton San Diego Bayfront
#72 of 273 in San Diego
4.0 of 5 stars 3,267 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Wyndham San Diego Bayside
Wyndham San Diego Bayside
#141 of 273 in San Diego
3.5 of 5 stars 1,041 reviews
Downtown
The Westin San Diego Gaslamp Quarter
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Sheraton San Diego Hotel & Marina? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Sheraton San Diego Hotel & Marina

Address: 1380 Harbor Island Drive, San Diego, CA 92101
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Diego
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#10 Green Hotel in San Diego
#23 Spa Hotel in San Diego
#36 Luxury Hotel in San Diego
#61 Business Hotel in San Diego
#75 Romantic Hotel in San Diego
#77 Family Hotel in San Diego
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Sheraton San Diego Hotel & Marina 4*
Number of rooms: 1053
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
San Diego has established itself as a destination featuring world class spirit with genuine warmth. The Sheraton San Diego Hotel & Marina offers an authentic San Diego experience. Iconic sunsets and a waterfront destination…it’s comfortably upscale without pretense. As an architectural cornerstone positioned at the point of entry into the city - by air or sea - the imposing facade of the hotel reflects an architectural design inspired by the region’s naval influence. In the mid 1800s, city leaders realized the potential of the San Diego Bay and, with the anticipation of the opening of the Panama Canal, the importance of improving the harbor for commerce. Significant modifications were needed to the Bay to accommodate large ships. As a result, Harbor and Shelter Island were developed, as well as much of the land beneath the San Diego International airport. Today’s San Diego has evolved into a place to meet and share inspiration. Overlooking the scenic San Diego Bay and a private marina, the hotel is a place where San Diego soul and contemporary style go hand and hand. A Bayside resort with urban accessibility, the hotel is a waterfront hub connecting you to the destination’s renowned attractions. Ideally located within easy reach, the historic Liberty Station, the waterfront districts of Point Loma, the energy of Little Italy and the Gaslamp Quarter offer convenient, lively dining and entertainment venues. Amongst exquisite lifestyle decor and a relaxing atmosphere, the Sheraton San Diego Hotel & Marina reflects a perfect haven for the active lifestyle that is woven deep into the region’s DNA. There are waterside fire pits and three pools - each with a unique personality. But most importantly, the hotel is designed to make best use of San Diego’s average 72 degree year-round sunny weather. Sitting on the dock of the Bay, the hotel offers access to water sport rentals and sailing tours to provide an extraordinary perspective of San Diego. Along with the diversity that found home in San Diego, the intense energy that the destination acquired offers a remarkably unique experience. Naturally, this energy worked its way into the foundation of the hotel. From the moment of arrival, the hotel is designed to offer a scenic environment with unmatched flexibility and capability. The nautically inspired guest rooms and suites come with an elegant array of amenities and social enabling conveniences. Social travelers seeking something astonishing can choose one of the spacious and well equipped suites for a unique and luxurious home away from home. Reflecting the needs of the world’s social traveler, a great hotel is built with much more than awe-inspiring design. The Sheraton San Diego Hotel & Marina enlists a warm, friendly and tenured staff that is connected to the urban energy of downtown San Diego. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Starwood, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Orbitz, BookIt.com, Hotels.com and Jetsetter so you can book your The Sheraton San Diego Hotel & Marina reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Sheraton San Diego Hotel And Marina
San Diego Sheraton Hotel Marina
Sheraton San Diego Hotel Marina

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Sheraton San Diego Hotel & Marina, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.