We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Exceptional 5* Customer Service” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Sheraton San Diego Hotel & Marina

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added The Sheraton San Diego Hotel & Marina to your Saves list
The Sheraton San Diego Hotel & Marina
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1380 Harbor Island Drive, San Diego, CA 92101   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
4th Night Free & Credit
Ranked #132 of 271 Hotels in San Diego
GreenLeadersGold level
Escondido, California
2 reviews
“Exceptional 5* Customer Service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2012

Was guest speaker at the 2012 Marine Corps Ball here and was blown away from check in to check out with regards to the exceptional attention to detail and obvious commitment to customer service exhibited by everyone from the Valet to the receptionist. So impressed in fact, that on the spot my wife and I decided to extend our stay to make it a mini-vacay! What separated this experience from all others, was the amazing level of attention and professionalism displayed by Ms. Amber Kauwoh and Ms. Blatchly Harkender who both represent Guest Services. Amber and Blatchkey collaborated to ensure that our stay was first class all the way. Not leaving anything to chance, both followed up to make double sure that the service we received met or exceeded the most lofty expectations. Although we live in North County, my wife and I agreed that this Sheraton property will be placed atop any future (short get-away) vacay plans. In the end, when you combine the location, views, top shelf dining and authentic commitment to superior customer service, the Sheraton San Diego Hotel & Marina represents a great value and good bang for the
hard earned buck!!!

Room Tip: If possible, try to call ahead and ask to speak with either Amber or Blatchly as both go out of thei...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AustinGubrud, Marketing Coordinator at The Sheraton San Diego Hotel & Marina, responded to this review, November 27, 2012
Dear Keith,
Thank you for your kind words and we appreciate you taking the time to post such positive comments. It’s always great to hear our guests enjoy themselves during their travels. Our team has been notified of the memorable experience you received and we look forward to your next visit to the Sheraton San Diego Hotel and Marina!
Warm Regards,
Austin Gubrud
Marketing Coordinator
Sheraton San Diego Hotel and Marina
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,794 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    855
    986
    516
    274
    163
See reviews for
596
668
152
924
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (891)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Burlington, Ontario, Canada
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2012 via mobile

Stayed one night before flying out of San Diego. Very close to airport. Room was renovated and very nice. Had a great view of the marina. Our room had a balcony as well. Service in the restaurant was fantastic.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
34 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2012

I stayed one night in this hotel, because I had to catch an early flight. I walked from the airport (approx. 5 to 10 minutes walking) to the hotel. Walking is a very good alternative for the airport shuttle. I got a room in the Marina tower. It was a very spacious room, modern and quiet (couldn`t hear airport noise). I did not sleep very well, because there were people yelling and running in the hallway all night. Although the hotel is only a 10 minutes drive away from the city, it`s not ideal for visiting the city. No public transport available, only taxi or shuttle. If you need a hotel close to the airport the Sheraton is great choice, if not: there are plenty other good hotels available in the city center.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, England, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
163 reviews 163 reviews
38 hotel reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
121 helpful votes 121 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2012

We both use Sheraton a lot for business so this was a safe bet.

Good points :

Clean rooms

Club Lounge is smart

Main bar was friendly and helpful

Gym and Sauna and Pool good quality

Housekeeping good

Weak points:

This is a conference hotel and only conference guests matter. No attention to sole travellers

Check in check out staff are not interested. When you pay $2200 for your room bill you expect someone to acknowledge you and say thnks for staying. Our check out was purely transactional. Lisa printed the bill handed it over unfolded and said "there you are". Interesting approach to service....

Room cards were not enabled to se club lounge that we had paid for, and then required to trips back to reception to sort

Car Parking validation didn't work for 2 days apparently due to heavy recent rain.

When we had to go back to reception to get keys reprogrammed a second time the receptionist didn't even apologise

So overall, this Sheraton is only interested in Conference guests and whilst the place is lovely, it is very sad that given how much we spend with these people Corporately that when you then travel personally they rapidly decide to ignore you

I guess a couple of $k for four days is nothing here but experience left a sour service taste.

Hope that is a balanced review overall.

Room Tip: Get a club room on 12th
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boyle
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
47 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2012

I flew into San Diego Airport and waited for the hotel shuttle to pick me up as it duly did in a matter of minutes. The journey to the hotel is very short. I was staying for 7 nights. Upon checkin, I was greeted by the fabulous Dinah who was superb all during my stay at the front desk. A true ambassador for the Starwood brand. I was assigned my room 1064, as requested prior to my arrival and I was delighted with it. I have no idea what people's expectations are from hotels these days but as a very frequent traveller this rates as one of the best experiences I have ever had in ANY hotel. The staff throughout my stay could not of been more helpful and courteous. Having a Starbucks in the lobby is ideal. Taxis into downtown are only $15 (incl tip). The pools have a resort style feel to them. The Microsoft Link in the lobby gives you all the internet you need for free. I signed up to the hotel's initiative on not needing housekeeping every day (a wonderful idea) and you get a daily $5 voucher that can be spent in any hotel outlet. Brilliant is all I can say.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
vancouver
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2012

We stayed in The Sheraton San Diego Hotel And Marina for 3 nights on a family trip to the San Diego Zoo etc. It is a beautiful hotel in a convenient location to all of San Diego's amenities. During our stay, we visited the San Diego Zoo and local beaches, all within a 15 minute drive.

The Hotel has an excellent resort style pool and hot tub, with an adjoining fire pit area. The ocean view over the marina is outstanding, and there is a nice walking path right in front. The shared spaces are beautifully decorated, and conveniently there is a Starbucks and a hotel bar in the lobby.

We were pleasantly surprised to receive an 11th floor king room with an unobstructed view of ocean over the marina. Our room was spacious, well outfitted, and clean. We did notice some noise from the nearby airport in the mornings, but it did not bother us overly.

Parking did seem exorbitant at $22 per night, but the hotel is located right next to the airport which does not help local parking rates I suppose. One minor inconvenience is the parking gates which seem to have difficulty reading room keys. After multiple tries to get in the gate, we always had to resort to calling the valet desk.

Overall, we enjoyed our stay here and would definitely come back to stay at the Sheraton San Diego Hotel & Marina again on our next trip to San Diego.

Room Tip: We were lucky enough to be given an 11th floor Marina Tower king room overlooking the ocean. Reques...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yuma, Arizona
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2012

We booked two rooms at this hotel. It is very close to SAN so it is convenient picking up guests flying in to visit. Our family was very happy with the hotel, also.

Our rooms were in the Marina Tower. The rooms are very clean and spacious. The balcony was big enough for 2 chairs and a table with extra room to boot. The beds were wonderful. All four of our group raved about the sleep we got after playing tourist all day.

Check-In was a breeze. The lady made sure we had rooms across the hall so we got to see both views from our respective balconies. Also, the concierge recommended three restaurants. He made reservations for us and we were not disappointed. All staff that we came in contact with were friendly, courteous and helpful when needed. The grounds are beautiful and very well kept.

The only drawback that we had was the parking. Since we self-parked, it was a long walk to the gravel parking lot. Also, should we really have to pay $22 per night to park our car in a gravel lot?

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to The Sheraton San Diego Hotel & Marina? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Sheraton San Diego Hotel & Marina

Address: 1380 Harbor Island Drive, San Diego, CA 92101
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Diego
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#8 Green Hotel in San Diego
#21 Spa Hotel in San Diego
#33 Luxury Hotel in San Diego
#62 Business Hotel in San Diego
#75 Romantic Hotel in San Diego
#78 Family Hotel in San Diego
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Sheraton San Diego Hotel & Marina 4*
Number of rooms: 1053
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
San Diego has established itself as a destination featuring world class spirit with genuine warmth. The Sheraton San Diego Hotel & Marina offers an authentic San Diego experience. Iconic sunsets and a waterfront destination…it’s comfortably upscale without pretense. As an architectural cornerstone positioned at the point of entry into the city - by air or sea - the imposing facade of the hotel reflects an architectural design inspired by the region’s naval influence. In the mid 1800s, city leaders realized the potential of the San Diego Bay and, with the anticipation of the opening of the Panama Canal, the importance of improving the harbor for commerce. Significant modifications were needed to the Bay to accommodate large ships. As a result, Harbor and Shelter Island were developed, as well as much of the land beneath the San Diego International airport. Today’s San Diego has evolved into a place to meet and share inspiration. Overlooking the scenic San Diego Bay and a private marina, the hotel is a place where San Diego soul and contemporary style go hand and hand. A Bayside resort with urban accessibility, the hotel is a waterfront hub connecting you to the destination’s renowned attractions. Ideally located within easy reach, the historic Liberty Station, the waterfront districts of Point Loma, the energy of Little Italy and the Gaslamp Quarter offer convenient, lively dining and entertainment venues. Amongst exquisite lifestyle decor and a relaxing atmosphere, the Sheraton San Diego Hotel & Marina reflects a perfect haven for the active lifestyle that is woven deep into the region’s DNA. There are waterside fire pits and three pools - each with a unique personality. But most importantly, the hotel is designed to make best use of San Diego’s average 72 degree year-round sunny weather. Sitting on the dock of the Bay, the hotel offers access to water sport rentals and sailing tours to provide an extraordinary perspective of San Diego. Along with the diversity that found home in San Diego, the intense energy that the destination acquired offers a remarkably unique experience. Naturally, this energy worked its way into the foundation of the hotel. From the moment of arrival, the hotel is designed to offer a scenic environment with unmatched flexibility and capability. The nautically inspired guest rooms and suites come with an elegant array of amenities and social enabling conveniences. Social travelers seeking something astonishing can choose one of the spacious and well equipped suites for a unique and luxurious home away from home. Reflecting the needs of the world’s social traveler, a great hotel is built with much more than awe-inspiring design. The Sheraton San Diego Hotel & Marina enlists a warm, friendly and tenured staff that is connected to the urban energy of downtown San Diego. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Booking.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Starwood, Orbitz, BookIt.com, Odigeo and EasyToBook so you can book your The Sheraton San Diego Hotel & Marina reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Sheraton San Diego Hotel And Marina
San Diego Sheraton Hotel Marina
Sheraton San Diego Hotel Marina

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Sheraton San Diego Hotel & Marina, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.