We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Marina View” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Sheraton San Diego Hotel & Marina

Save Saved
You added The Sheraton San Diego Hotel & Marina to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
The Sheraton San Diego Hotel & Marina
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1380 Harbor Island Drive, San Diego, CA 92101   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Book Early and Save
Ranked #112 of 268 hotels in San Diego
GreenLeadersGold level
Burlington, Ontario, Canada
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Great Marina View”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2012 via mobile

Stayed one night before flying out of San Diego. Very close to airport. Room was renovated and very nice. Had a great view of the marina. Our room had a balcony as well. Service in the restaurant was fantastic.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,366 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    767
    810
    429
    230
    130
See reviews for
528
569
134
750
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (708)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2012

I stayed one night in this hotel, because I had to catch an early flight. I walked from the airport (approx. 5 to 10 minutes walking) to the hotel. Walking is a very good alternative for the airport shuttle. I got a room in the Marina tower. It was a very spacious room, modern and quiet (couldn`t hear airport noise). I did not sleep very well, because there were people yelling and running in the hallway all night. Although the hotel is only a 10 minutes drive away from the city, it`s not ideal for visiting the city. No public transport available, only taxi or shuttle. If you need a hotel close to the airport the Sheraton is great choice, if not: there are plenty other good hotels available in the city center.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, England, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
118 reviews 118 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2012

We both use Sheraton a lot for business so this was a safe bet.

Good points :

Clean rooms

Club Lounge is smart

Main bar was friendly and helpful

Gym and Sauna and Pool good quality

Housekeeping good

Weak points:

This is a conference hotel and only conference guests matter. No attention to sole travellers

Check in check out staff are not interested. When you pay $2200 for your room bill you expect someone to acknowledge you and say thnks for staying. Our check out was purely transactional. Lisa printed the bill handed it over unfolded and said "there you are". Interesting approach to service....

Room cards were not enabled to se club lounge that we had paid for, and then required to trips back to reception to sort

Car Parking validation didn't work for 2 days apparently due to heavy recent rain.

When we had to go back to reception to get keys reprogrammed a second time the receptionist didn't even apologise

So overall, this Sheraton is only interested in Conference guests and whilst the place is lovely, it is very sad that given how much we spend with these people Corporately that when you then travel personally they rapidly decide to ignore you

I guess a couple of $k for four days is nothing here but experience left a sour service taste.

Hope that is a balanced review overall.

Room Tip: Get a club room on 12th
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boyle
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
46 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2012

I flew into San Diego Airport and waited for the hotel shuttle to pick me up as it duly did in a matter of minutes. The journey to the hotel is very short. I was staying for 7 nights. Upon checkin, I was greeted by the fabulous Dinah who was superb all during my stay at the front desk. A true ambassador for the Starwood brand. I was assigned my room 1064, as requested prior to my arrival and I was delighted with it. I have no idea what people's expectations are from hotels these days but as a very frequent traveller this rates as one of the best experiences I have ever had in ANY hotel. The staff throughout my stay could not of been more helpful and courteous. Having a Starbucks in the lobby is ideal. Taxis into downtown are only $15 (incl tip). The pools have a resort style feel to them. The Microsoft Link in the lobby gives you all the internet you need for free. I signed up to the hotel's initiative on not needing housekeeping every day (a wonderful idea) and you get a daily $5 voucher that can be spent in any hotel outlet. Brilliant is all I can say.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
vancouver
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2012

We stayed in The Sheraton San Diego Hotel And Marina for 3 nights on a family trip to the San Diego Zoo etc. It is a beautiful hotel in a convenient location to all of San Diego's amenities. During our stay, we visited the San Diego Zoo and local beaches, all within a 15 minute drive.

The Hotel has an excellent resort style pool and hot tub, with an adjoining fire pit area. The ocean view over the marina is outstanding, and there is a nice walking path right in front. The shared spaces are beautifully decorated, and conveniently there is a Starbucks and a hotel bar in the lobby.

We were pleasantly surprised to receive an 11th floor king room with an unobstructed view of ocean over the marina. Our room was spacious, well outfitted, and clean. We did notice some noise from the nearby airport in the mornings, but it did not bother us overly.

Parking did seem exorbitant at $22 per night, but the hotel is located right next to the airport which does not help local parking rates I suppose. One minor inconvenience is the parking gates which seem to have difficulty reading room keys. After multiple tries to get in the gate, we always had to resort to calling the valet desk.

Overall, we enjoyed our stay here and would definitely come back to stay at the Sheraton San Diego Hotel & Marina again on our next trip to San Diego.

Room Tip: We were lucky enough to be given an 11th floor Marina Tower king room overlooking the ocean. Reques...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yuma, Arizona
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2012

We booked two rooms at this hotel. It is very close to SAN so it is convenient picking up guests flying in to visit. Our family was very happy with the hotel, also.

Our rooms were in the Marina Tower. The rooms are very clean and spacious. The balcony was big enough for 2 chairs and a table with extra room to boot. The beds were wonderful. All four of our group raved about the sleep we got after playing tourist all day.

Check-In was a breeze. The lady made sure we had rooms across the hall so we got to see both views from our respective balconies. Also, the concierge recommended three restaurants. He made reservations for us and we were not disappointed. All staff that we came in contact with were friendly, courteous and helpful when needed. The grounds are beautiful and very well kept.

The only drawback that we had was the parking. Since we self-parked, it was a long walk to the gravel parking lot. Also, should we really have to pay $22 per night to park our car in a gravel lot?

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Luis Obispo, California
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2012

Attended a 3 day conference here earlier this month. Excellent venue for that purpose--eat, sleep, work all in one place and you can almost walk to it from the airport. It's really to separate hotel buildings united under one name and management. It's about a 5 minute walk along the marina between hotels, and there's a shuttle as well. You can check in at either building, so keep that in mind when you give the cab driver directions. Drawback of this hotel is that you are isolated and will need a car or taxi to get to San Diego's other tourist spots, restaurants, etc. Cab fare to Little Italy was about $12 each way.

Room Tip: I stayed in the Bay Tower, the smaller of the two, and I preferred it. Small, intimate bar and newl...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to The Sheraton San Diego Hotel & Marina? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Sheraton San Diego Hotel & Marina

Address: 1380 Harbor Island Drive, San Diego, CA 92101
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Diego
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#9 Green Hotel in San Diego
#23 Spa Hotel in San Diego
#27 Luxury Hotel in San Diego
#60 Business Hotel in San Diego
#76 Romantic Hotel in San Diego
#76 Family Hotel in San Diego
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Sheraton San Diego Hotel & Marina 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled on the Bay, the Sheraton San Diego Hotel and Marina offers panoramic views and easy access to the destination’s renowned attractions. The waterfront campus features 1,053 guest rooms with picturesque water views, as well as 73 meeting spaces, and 120,000 sq.ft. of indoor and outdoor event space. An award winning hotel, we specialize in group events ranging from 10 – 1,200 attendees. Enjoy authentic entertainment at San Diego’s illustrious waterfront attractions, Harbor Island and Liberty Station – a former Naval Base repurposed as a mix use destination. Experience the city’s waterfront attractions via The Big Bay Shuttle. The historic Gaslamp Quarter, Little Italy and the amenities of downtown are only minutes away. Recreation includes a full service spa, two Core Performance Fitness Centers, three swimming pools, bicycle rentals, tennis and volleyball courts, as well as jogging/ bike trails connecting the hotel to the city’s majestic destination. Sail the Bay on one of our partner charter operators. Seasonal activities include Summer Play - an array of water recreation programs. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Amex, Starwood, Orbitz, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL, Hotels.com, Agoda, BookIt.com, Priceline, Otel and Venere so you can book your The Sheraton San Diego Hotel & Marina reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Sheraton San Diego Hotel And Marina
San Diego Sheraton Hotel Marina
Sheraton San Diego Hotel Marina

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Sheraton San Diego Hotel & Marina, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.