We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Would not stay again” 2 of 5 stars
Review of The Sheraton San Diego Hotel & Marina

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added The Sheraton San Diego Hotel & Marina to your Saves list
The Sheraton San Diego Hotel & Marina
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1380 Harbor Island Drive, San Diego, CA 92101   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
4th Night Free & Credit
Ranked #134 of 270 Hotels in San Diego
GreenLeadersGold level
Auckland
Top Contributor
195 reviews 195 reviews
40 hotel reviews
Reviews in 73 cities Reviews in 73 cities
94 helpful votes 94 helpful votes
“Would not stay again”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2012 via mobile

Stayed here for two nights, some good and bad things. Firstly we got the worst room location you could get, ground floor facing carpark, thems the breaks I suppose. Rooms are nice but lacking a little touch that you would expect at a Sheraton. location is okay, good walk to little Italy but it would be more convenient in gaslamp quarter. then there's the bugs, 2 cockroaches in 2 days in the bathroom, not a highlight.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DanielaDelgado, Front Office Manager at The Sheraton San Diego Hotel & Marina, responded to this review, October 15, 2012
Dear slamminsam,
Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel on Trip Advisor. We are disappointed to learn that we did not meet your expectations during your stay with us. Please accept our sincerest apologies for the issue you encountered with your room. We would like to ensure this issue is addressed immediately and if you have a moment, please feel free to reach out to me directly at Laura.Bodell@Sheraton.com so I may get additional details of your stay such a room number and dates of stay.
Warm Regards,
Laura Bodell
Front Desk Manager
Sheraton San Diego Hotel & Marina
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,733 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    841
    962
    505
    264
    161
See reviews for
584
649
151
900
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (856)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
40 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2012 via mobile

Stopped in a deluxe suite overlooking marina, beautiful setting
Great food at main bar and superb service
Little pub in corner for more informal environment
Bonus in the morning with Starbucks on site
All in all great place

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2012

Had a recent conference at this hotel. All the previous comments about not staying in the Bay Tower when you have a conference in the Marina Tower are correct. I can't understand why this hotel sales staff would book our conference for the Marina but give us a group rate at the bay tower. We were a major conference and most of our attendees were in the Bay tower. The only think good about the Bay tower is the view, but had I not said something about the inconvience I probably would have gotten first floor, parking lot view. The hotel was packed so why not put everyone else outside of our conference in the Bay tower. So if you know you are in the Bay tower don't go. If you go be sure to tell the shuttle bus driver to drop you off there for checkin. Didn't do that so we had to have bags delivered and walked over.

Also the cleaning staff did not replenish the coffee maker twice. Had to call guest services for a set up. The toilet flushing is the loudest I have ever heard. We could hear the flush from not only the rooms around us but 3 floors up and 12 doors down. They must have got a hellava deal on those power flush systems.

Also with a full hotel the restaurant/bar Quinns could not accommodate the lunch crowd on a Tuesday. Waited 45 mins to not get our salad. Bottom line go somewhere else if you get banished to the Bay Tower.

Room Tip: If you have to stay here, Marina Tower
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DanielaDelgado, Front Office Manager at The Sheraton San Diego Hotel & Marina, responded to this review, October 15, 2012
Dear dallasguyDallas,
Thank you for taking the time to post your comments on Trip Advisor. We are disappointed to hear the feedback about your stay as your experience is not one we would like our guests to leave with. Please accept our apologies for the delays at Quinn’s and miscommunication with regards to the whereabouts of your room. We are interested in connecting with your personally in hopes of getting additional details of your stay and preventing others from having a similar experience. If you have a moment, please email us directly at Laura.Bodell@Sheraton.com. Thank you again and we hope to hear from you soon.
Warm Regards,
Laura Bodell
Front Desk Manager
Sheraton San Diego Hotel & Marina
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Germany
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
36 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2012

This Sheraton is located very close to the airport. But in fact we were not woken up by the noise of the airplanes, but by the noise of little kids in the next room, because the walls are quite thin. The room is very nice and new with nice colors. I liked their big pool and the free wifi in the lobby area. Early Check-In was no problem at all!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DanielaDelgado, Front Office Manager at The Sheraton San Diego Hotel & Marina, responded to this review, October 15, 2012
Dear familyde,
Thank you for your review! We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us and were able to take advantage of both our complimentary WiFi in the lobby and resort-style pools. Since 1972, we are San Diego’s most accommodating hotel and we are glad to have lived up to this title with an early check in. Come back and visit us again soon! We would love the opportunity to welcome you back.
Warm Regards,
Laura Bodell
Front Desk Manager
Sheraton San Diego Hotel & Marina
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2012

I have been at this hotel for 4 days, and have been better served at a Motel 6 than is hotel. We have been mysteriously charged for 'complementary' items, our room keys have been replaced a couple of times but still won't work, the valets wouldn't open the gate for the lot so we had to pay for overnight parking even though we are guests. The water main was severed, so we were without plumbing for a day, and we're given a note to come to the lobby to get water to use. The water wasn't even in bottles so you could take them back to your room, they were in little plastic cocktail cups. The beds are marketed as queen sized beds, but are in fact full sized beds. We have had housecleaning service ONCE since we've been here, they don't replace towels, don't make beds, don't replace the consumables, and you're hard pressed to find someone here to give you what you need. This was the most ridiculous and pathetic hotel stay I have ever had, and wouldn't ever come back.

Room Tip: Save the money, if you want a good hotel, DON'T GO HERE.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DanielaDelgado, Front Office Manager at The Sheraton San Diego Hotel & Marina, responded to this review, October 15, 2012
Dear Liz O,
Thank you for taking the time to post a review of your recent stay. We are truly disappointed to learn of the areas in which we fell short. Please accept our sincerest apologies for the water outage. While the water main line breakage was beyond our control, your observations highlight specific areas where, with a more coordinated approach, we could have minimized the discomforts you experienced. We are interested in connecting with you personally to address some of the other issues which you have mentioned. If you have a moment, please email me at Laura.Bodell@sheraton.com with more details of your stay to further investigate these concerns.
Warm Regards,
Laura Bodell
Front Desk Manager
Sheraton San Diego Hotel & Marina
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Blue Bell, PA
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2012

The hotel is located directly across from San Diego Airport. Great location for an early flight out or if you want to stay by the airport, but also have great views of downtown San Diego. It's just a very short less than ten minute drive from downtown San Diego and the Gaslamp District (can't miss that).

The pool is great and very big. Looks almost like a river. Get a marina view room for the best views of downtown San Diego - amazing nighttime views!

I've ALWAYS gotten very good rates at this hotel. Great place to stay if you can early for a cruise (terminal nearby) of want to take in the Gaslamp District (less the ten minutes away) without playing through the nose. I believe there's a public shuttle to the Gaslamp District (confirm with the valet).

Please note, this hotel charges for outdoor parking.

Please note, this hotel actually has two locations a few blocks from each - the Bay Tower and the Marina Tower. The hotel shuttle stops at both locations, but you'll need to know which tower you're booked into. I stayed at the Marina Tower, I can't comment about the Bay Tower.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DanielaDelgado, Front Office Manager at The Sheraton San Diego Hotel & Marina, responded to this review, October 15, 2012
Dear kwtech,
Thank you for sharing your review on Trip Advisor. We are delighted to learn that your stay with us this summer was very much enjoyable. We are lucky to have some of the best views in San Diego with the conveniency of being so close to the airport. We hope you will be back for another stay in the near future!
Warm Regards,
Laura Bodell
Front Desk Manager
Sheraton San Diego Hotel & Marina
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nelspruit, South Africa
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2012

This hotel is right next to the airport easy to get to with their free shuttle bus.Check is easy but can be slow.Travel Desk really helpful.Our room looked out over the marina and was a great view.pool area was great and gym was perfect.We had a great conference.Not many restaurants to choose from.Enjoyable stay.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DanielaDelgado, Front Office Manager at The Sheraton San Diego Hotel & Marina, responded to this review, October 15, 2012
Dear krugerandmore,
Thank you for your review. We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay and found our hotel to be quite accommodating for a conference. With over 200,000 square feet of meeting space, our hotel takes pride in providing smooth and successful conferences for our guests. On a separate note, we are glad you were able to take advantage of our newly remodeled fitness center during your stay. It’s nice to know our efforts in creating a warming and productive environment for our guests have paid off. We look forward to welcoming you back on a future stay.
Warm Regards,
Laura Bodell
Front Desk Manager
Sheraton San Diego Hotel & Marina
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Sheraton San Diego Hotel & Marina? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Sheraton San Diego Hotel & Marina

Address: 1380 Harbor Island Drive, San Diego, CA 92101
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Diego
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#8 Green Hotel in San Diego
#21 Spa Hotel in San Diego
#33 Luxury Hotel in San Diego
#62 Business Hotel in San Diego
#75 Romantic Hotel in San Diego
#78 Family Hotel in San Diego
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Sheraton San Diego Hotel & Marina 4*
Number of rooms: 1053
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled on the Bay, the Sheraton San Diego Hotel and Marina offers panoramic views and easy access to the destination’s renowned attractions. The waterfront campus features 1,053 guest rooms with picturesque water views, as well as 73 meeting spaces, and 120,000 sq.ft. of indoor and outdoor event space. An award winning hotel, we specialize in group events ranging from 10 – 1,200 attendees. Enjoy authentic entertainment at San Diego’s illustrious waterfront attractions, Harbor Island and Liberty Station – a former Naval Base repurposed as a mix use destination. Experience the city’s waterfront attractions via The Big Bay Shuttle. The historic Gaslamp Quarter, Little Italy and the amenities of downtown are only minutes away. Recreation includes a full service spa, two Core Performance Fitness Centers, three swimming pools, bicycle rentals, tennis and volleyball courts, as well as jogging/ bike trails connecting the hotel to the city’s majestic destination. Sail the Bay on one of our partner charter operators. Seasonal activities include Summer Play - an array of water recreation programs. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Starwood, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Orbitz, BookIt.com, Odigeo and EasyToBook so you can book your The Sheraton San Diego Hotel & Marina reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Sheraton San Diego Hotel And Marina
San Diego Sheraton Hotel Marina
Sheraton San Diego Hotel Marina

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Sheraton San Diego Hotel & Marina, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.