We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Standard Four Points but location average unless driving” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Four Points by Sheraton San Diego

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Four Points by Sheraton San Diego to your Saves list
Four Points by Sheraton San Diego
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   8110 Aero Drive, San Diego, CA 92123   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Breakfast for 2 Included
Ranked #199 of 278 Hotels in San Diego
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
115 reviews
58 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“Standard Four Points but location average unless driving”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2014

Standard Four Points but location average unless driving.

A good 15/20 minute walk from the center and action. Valet parking is compulsory so costs more and the overall value is only ok. If you get a better location and decent price book elsewhere.
Breakfast was a poor standard compared to other likewise hotels.
Overall fine for one night but not amazing for a relaxing holiday.
Rooms were decent but the bathroom door was see through and wasn't comfortable.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Paulbo4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

446 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Florida
Level Contributor
26 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2014

I was concerned with negative reviews, but this hotel especially during this week stay midweek is clean, comfy, and staff pleasant and helpful. Free wifi in rooms and throughout was strong. My room on 3rd had nice subway tiles in shower and comfy bed.
Price is very reasonable.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank roseanne124
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kylie O, Starwood Hotels & Resorts at Four Points by Sheraton San Diego, responded to this review, July 18, 2014
Dear roseanne124,

Thank you for taking the time to write us a review. We are happy to hear that you enjoyed your time with us - we loved having you! We hope that you will visit us again during your next trip to San Diego. Take care.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2014

If you're looking for a hotel to compliment the San Diego experience, make sure to throw this property clear out of the selection process. This hotel makes you feel like you're staying at a corporate office park. I'd bet that the hotel's bread and butter rests on the perils of conventions or corporate events.

That being said, the pool is horrendous and the golf course is just a tad better than a miniature golf course. Forget about walking to the beach you'll find its quite a drive.

If you're looking for a personal trip bargain hotel I'd seriously search elsewhere. Although, I suppose if you're in town to visit the theme park attractions - this hotel might not be the worst option.

If you're looking to book a location to facilitate a corporate event, well - this might be a decent option. Let's face it - if you're attending a corporate event chances are you're never going to step foot outside the hotel, use the pool or play on the run down golf course.

Keep it Classy San Diego.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank diggsterny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these San Diego hotels

1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2014 via mobile

This was on our annual family trip. This year it was San Diego Mission Bay and 4th of July celebrations. I

Friday before even arriving into town I called to check on early check in and to our surprise we didn't have a room, they couldn't even find us in the system, so we had to wait.. And were told that they didn't have anymore rooms and that there was nothing that I had to contact Hotwire because we were not int the system and that was not their problem. After calling and complaining and double checking, around 3:30 we were told that if we didn't check in by 7pm we would lose the room. We cut our day at the beach early and headed to the hotel, when arriving I was surprised to learn that were put in a room with 1 bed after booking a room with 2 queen beds and that there were no more rooms with double beds. So imagine 2 adults and 1 teenager and 2 kids sleeping on 1 bed. Then I over heard the two men at the desk say "they should just open all the rooms" insinuating that their were more rooms after being told that there were not.

After all the mess ups I would think that they would try to make our stay more enjoyable but we weren't even offered a discount. I am still. But angry and disappointed.

I don't know about this hotel but if the rest of the Starwood hotels are the same I don't think we'll be staying there next time.

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Sanjuanita G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kylie O, Starwood Hotels & Resorts at Four Points by Sheraton San Diego, responded to this review, July 25, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to provide us with your review. We sincerely apologize for the miscommunication and confusion you experienced during check-in. Unfortunately complications do sometimes present themselves when booking through a third party. Regardless, this has been brought to the attention of our team so that we may prevent this from being repeated in the future. Thank you, again, for your feedback.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Farmington Hills, Michigan
Level Contributor
14 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2014

As some of the previous reviews mentioned, the hotel has a really weird layout. Hotel is being renovated so take note if you're planning a stay in near future. Our biggest issue however, was noise. There was a wedding at the reception hall in the lobby, and even though our room was a fair distance away from the hall, it was pretty noisy. Kids were playing and running around and screaming in the hallway/lobby past 10 pm, and the poor-fitting door of our room did a very bad job of keeping any noise out. Will not come back.

Stayed for just one night while on our way to Vegas. Cheap at just 3000 SPG points, but would not visit again.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank adkx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andrea N, Starwood Hotels & Resorts at Four Points by Sheraton San Diego, responded to this review, June 5, 2014
We apologize for the experience you had during a recent stay with us. These situations should be handled in a timely manner form our hotel team and we have addressed this instance with our associates to ensure all matter such as this handled appropriately from the start. We appreciate the time you took to share your comments with us and hope that the rest of your stay in San Diego was enjoyable.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Allentown, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
16 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2014

The hotel is very is to find. A little tigt getting in and out of with a car. It is right on the highway and right next to the airport landing approach. If you are into planes or have kids, it is kind of cool to watch the planes come by and land. Noise wasn't bad despite location. If you are interested it Little Italy it is a great spot. Farmers Market is a must if there on the right day for it.
Breakfast isn't bad, but crowded. This hotel seems popular with pilots and crew (not by their own choices). This hotel is a good value if you want to be in the city.

  • Stayed May 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Ric R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
30 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 22, 2014

On arrival to hotel it was obvious that it was being rehabilitated. This used to be a Holiday Inn a while back. It is one of those odd round hotels. The reception parking is impossibly cramped and has only 2 spaces. The lobby was shrouded in fresh gypsum board and under construction with much power-tool noise. Parking deck below the hotel is cramped and difficult due to the fact that cars are generally shaped like rectangles and the parking slots are pie shaped with pillars all over the place. The rooms are also pie shaped and were generally decent aside from the following:

> There are literally NO outlets available. I had to move furniture and unplug lamps/alarm clock to plug in my various chargers for phone/computer etc.

> There is an armoire to hang things in since there is no closet but the safe inside the armoire is immediately beneath the rack so that not even shirts hang without being inhibited on the safe. Poor planning here.

> The toilet is a low-boy and is round not oblong. This may not sound like a big deal but I found it irritating and reminded me of what it must be like to accidentally sit on a toddler's potty chair.

> The pillows and beds were rough and cheap. Hampton Inn has the right idea with those items... this place not so much.

> The office chair at the desk was in disrepair and had rips in it

The restaurant was closed as well and they tried to accommodate by converting a meeting room on the top level to a breakfast nook. While this was a nice thought, the room could not at all accommodate all patrons and was cramped with over-flowing garbage cans. That said, we had a nice view of the airport.

I'll not be staying here again. Mainly because it is far from the convention center and takes about 25 minutes to walk there requiring me to drive. Also, it is situated on 2 one way roads and I-5 so that you have to drive away from the downtown area to then turn around and head back into town. This place is a real mess.

ATTN: All staff I encountered were very polite and apologetic for the short-comings and even comped my parking fees ($60 for 3 days).

There is a small pool for lounging although it is deafening since it is 2 feet off a 6 lane highway.

Room Tip: Choose one that is not in this hotel...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Ineedrthelp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Diego hotels
Mission Valley / Hotel Circle
Sheraton Mission Valley San Diego Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Mission Valley / Hotel Circle
BEST WESTERN Seven Seas
BEST WESTERN Seven Seas
#160 of 278 in San Diego
3.5 of 5 stars 1,196 reviews
Mission Valley / Hotel Circle
Kings Inn Hotel
Kings Inn Hotel
#48 of 278 in San Diego
4.0 of 5 stars 1,371 reviews
Mission Valley / Hotel Circle
Hilton San Diego Mission Valley
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Four Points by Sheraton San Diego? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Four Points by Sheraton San Diego

Address: 8110 Aero Drive, San Diego, CA 92123
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Diego
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #199 of 278 Hotels in San Diego
Price Range (Based on Average Rates):
Hotel Class:3 star — Four Points by Sheraton San Diego 3*
Number of rooms: 225
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Four Points by Sheraton San Diego. We're here to make your stay fun, friendly, and comfy. Located near many corporate offices & major attractions. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotels.com and Priceline so you can book your Four Points by Sheraton San Diego reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
4 Points By Sheraton San Diego
Four Points By Sheraton San Diego Hotel San Diego
San Diego Four Points
San Diego Sheraton
Four Points San Diego
Sheraton San Diego

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing