We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect for a one nighter...” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Declan Suites San Diego

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Declan Suites San Diego to your Saves list
Declan Suites San Diego
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   701 A. Street, San Diego, CA 92101 (Formerly Sheraton Suites San Diego) (Downtown)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
30% off room rate
Ranked #161 of 273 Hotels in San Diego
Canberra, Australia
Level Contributor
23 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Perfect for a one nighter...”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2014

My partner and I are on a magnificent month-long road trip around the states from Australia. We needed a place to stay for one night in SD so I could fulfill my life-long desire to visit the famous Zoo (on a side note, Singapore and Taronga Zoo are better, but I digress). The location was ideal: $10 cab ride to the zoo and we found a perfect diner around the block for breakfast. Front desk people are really friendly and the place is clean. The decor is a little dated in the room and the sofa bed couch is really uncomfortable to sit on. Enjoy the never ending circular climb to the parking and the mirror at the head of the bed ;)

Cons: no refrigerator and a dubious brown smeared mark beside our toilet: someone got artistic!

Stayed July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lauren G, Manager at Declan Suites San Diego, responded to this review, August 2, 2014
Hi Minky F,

Thank you for your recent stay at the Declan Suites and for sharing your experience on TripAdvisor.

We are glad that you enjoyed our friendly team and clean hotel. We are also glad that you enjoyed the convenient location of our hotel to many San Diego attractions and got to experience the San Diego Zoo.

We hope to host you during your next trip to San Diego.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

956 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    228
    315
    203
    124
    86
See reviews for
235
234
70
225
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (160)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Rancho Cucamonga, California
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2014

Stayed here on July 19, 2014. The hotel is under construction, but it should be no excuse for the bad service they provided to us. Nothing on the lobby informed the guests that the hotel was under renovations. I am not hard to please when it comes to lodging, but this was one of my worst experiences at a hotel. The carpet in the room is dirty, the furniture, looked like it is all second hand furniture, the night stands both had missing handles to open the drawers, the refrigerator in the room does not work and the cabinet had a keyed luck, that look like it was taking from another door and installed there to keep people out of the cabinet. The door from the bathroom to the bedroom, is a sliding door that took a lot of effort to close it and open, because the rails are broken. Out of the four times that I called the front desk, three times no one answered. I requested a room menu to order room service and waited 20 minutes, before my husband and I decided to go downstairs to eat, to find out the menu was sent to the wrong room. As we approached the counter of the restaurant to eat, the host was too busy talking to the bartender, not paying attention at the fact that we were there waiting to be seated. I put the do not disturb sign on the outside of the door handle, but the cleaning lady, chose to ignore it and walked in the room, while I was getting ready. The staff spends to much time standing around talking.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lauren G, Manager at Declan Suites San Diego, responded to this review, August 2, 2014
Hi Isabel L,

Thank you for being our guest and sharing your experience on TripAdvisor.

We apologize that you did not have a positive stay and that our team was perceived to not pay attention to detail. We can assure you that we train our associates to provide extraordinary guest service and apologize this was not demonstrated to you throughout your stay. We will address this with the appropriate departments.

In addition, we apologize that your suite style guest room did not meet your expectation. We can assure you this will be appropriately addressed with the necessary departments.

We hope you will give us another opportunity to demonstrate the potential of our hotel and team to you in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barstow, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2014

So, I was super excited to stay at this place . The room's on the web sight looked nice and the reviews were pretty much all good. The staff of the hotel were nice and very professional , the parking was outrageously priced at $35 a night. The lobby was updated and looked very nice and modern. The check in was easy and pretty much the same at any hotel. I checked in ,room 1605 , avoid this room if they tell you . I walk in and was so bummed and disappointed!! There were stain's on the carpet and mold in the shower area , paint peeling on the ceiling of the shower stall. The T.V button in the room was broken and in the other room there were cords to everything that was on the desk , just looking sloppy. The location was good and staff was very nice. Would I stay here again , probably not. Comfort Inn is comparable to this place.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lauren G, Manager at Declan Suites San Diego, responded to this review, August 2, 2014
Hello,

Thank you for your recent stay at the Declan Suites and for sharing your experience on TripAdvisor.

We are glad that you enjoyed our friendly team and great location of our hotel to many San Diego attractions.

We apologize that your guest room did not meet standards. I can assure we will follow up immediately as we want our guests to have a clean and comfortable suite style guest room.

We hope you will reconsider and give us another opportunity to demonstrate the potential of our hotel to you in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ventura, Ca
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2014

Stayed here in June. It was under construction and the pool and restaurant were closed. Our room was not clean as there was a dried on substance on the carpet and a dirty rag in the nightstand left by the cleaning crew. The ice machine on our floor was broken. The hotel felt dated and not well cared for.
On the positive side the staff was very helpful when my car battery died in the structure.

  • Stayed June 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lauren G, Manager at Declan Suites San Diego, responded to this review, July 21, 2014
Hi SaraLovesCupcakes,

Thank you for being our guest and sharing your experience on TripAdvisor.

We apologize that we were unable to meet your needs throughout your stay and that we were currently wrapping up our renovation during your stay in June.

We apologize that your car battery died in the parking garage but are glad that our team was attentive to your needs.

We hope to have another opportunity to demonstrate the potential of our hotel to you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Medina, Ohio
Level Contributor
108 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2014

I've stayed here a couple of times now. Nice overall. Some rooms have been remodeled, so obviously those are better. Lot's of room. Real suites almost like an urban apartment. I found a very good little Vietnamese Restaurant only a couple blocks down the hill.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lauren G, Manager at Declan Suites San Diego, responded to this review, July 21, 2014
Hello OrygunDuck,

Thank you for your recent stay at the Declan Suites and for sharing your positive experience.

We are glad that you enjoyed your stay and that the size of our suite style guest rooms met your expectations.

We look forward to hosting you during your next trip to San Diego.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sofia, Bulgaria
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2014

We had a perfect stay at Declan Suites San Diego. The hotel was centrally located - just a few blocks from downtown and the Gaslamp Quarter. Our apartment was very nice, well appointed, with panoramic city view out of the bedroom window. The staff at the reception was polite and helpful - when we told them that our fridge was out of order, and they replaced it immediately. Good value for money! A minor disappointment was that the complimentary in-room Wi-Fi worked only on one device.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lauren G, Manager at Declan Suites San Diego, responded to this review, July 21, 2014
Hi EvgenyNN,

Thank you for your recent stay at the Declan Suites and for sharing your positive experience on TripAdvisor.

We are glad that you enjoyed one of our spectacular views of San Diego, convenient location, and that our team met all of your needs.

We look forward to hosting you during your next trip to San Diego.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2014

My husband and I stayed here for one night in July. We booked the room using a groupon voucher and were incredibly impressed with the room we received. It was beautiful.

Unfortunately the pool was under construction so we were not able to use it, but they did offer an access card the Holiday Inn pool about a block away which (if we had wanted to swim bad enough) would have been a nice option to have.

The location was perfect, about 3 or so blocks from the Gaslamp Quarter where all the great restaurants, pubs, etc are..

We walked about 30 minutes to get down by the seaside village, USS Midway, it was a beautiful walk. Very friendly locals.

Staff was helpful and friendly.

Room was comfortable and had a fun view of Hotel Cortez and planes landing. (no plane noise which was great)

Parking was 18 dollars a day, a bit steep for hotel guests to pay but we have had worse costs at other hotels.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lauren G, Manager at Declan Suites San Diego, responded to this review, July 21, 2014
Hi krysta c,

Thank you for your recent stay at the Declan Suites and for sharing your positive experience.

We are glad that you enjoyed one of our spectacular views of San Diego and that our team met all of your needs.

We look forward to hosting you during your next trip to San Diego.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Diego hotels
Downtown
The Sofia Hotel
The Sofia Hotel
#95 of 273 in San Diego
4.0 of 5 stars 999 reviews
Downtown
Porto Vista Hotel
Porto Vista Hotel
#109 of 273 in San Diego
3.5 of 5 stars 1,347 reviews
Downtown
Wyndham San Diego Bayside
Wyndham San Diego Bayside
#144 of 273 in San Diego
3.5 of 5 stars 941 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Bristol Hotel
Bristol Hotel
#63 of 273 in San Diego
4.0 of 5 stars 955 reviews
Downtown
Urban Boutique Hotel
Urban Boutique Hotel
#100 of 273 in San Diego
4.0 of 5 stars 194 reviews
Downtown
The Westin San Diego Gaslamp Quarter
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Declan Suites San Diego? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Declan Suites San Diego

Address: 701 A. Street, San Diego, CA 92101 (Formerly Sheraton Suites San Diego)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Diego > Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #161 of 273 Hotels in San Diego
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Declan Suites San Diego 3.5*
Number of rooms: 264
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Declan Suites San Diego offers a warm welcome on your next visit to San Diego. Our all-suite downtown San Diego hotel features all two room suites with some of the largest hotel rooms in the area. All of the two room suites feature a separate living area and pull out sofa. Our San Diego hotel is built around the San Diego Symphony Hall and is within walking distance to the Gaslamp Quarter, known for 16 blocks of amazing dining, shopping and entertainment. The Declan Suites San Diego is located minutes from the world-famous San Diego Zoo, Little Italy, Old Town, Petco Park and Sea World. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz, BookIt.com, Odigeo, Priceline, Venere, Agoda and Otel so you can book your Declan Suites San Diego reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sheraton Suites San Diego Hotel San Diego
Sheraton Hotel San Diego
Sheraton San Diego
San Diego Sheraton

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Declan Suites San Diego, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.