We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Getaway Weekend” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Declan Suites San Diego

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Declan Suites San Diego to your Saves list
Declan Suites San Diego
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   701 A. Street, San Diego, CA 92101 (Formerly Sheraton Suites San Diego) (Downtown)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
Save 20% + Free WIFI !
Ranked #195 of 271 Hotels in San Diego
Barstow, California
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Getaway Weekend”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2014

So, I was super excited to stay at this place . The room's on the web sight looked nice and the reviews were pretty much all good. The staff of the hotel were nice and very professional , the parking was outrageously priced at $35 a night. The lobby was updated and looked very nice and modern. The check in was easy and pretty much the same at any hotel. I checked in ,room 1605 , avoid this room if they tell you . I walk in and was so bummed and disappointed!! There were stain's on the carpet and mold in the shower area , paint peeling on the ceiling of the shower stall. The T.V button in the room was broken and in the other room there were cords to everything that was on the desk , just looking sloppy. The location was good and staff was very nice. Would I stay here again , probably not. Comfort Inn is comparable to this place.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lauren G, Manager at Declan Suites San Diego, responded to this review, August 2, 2014
Hello,

Thank you for your recent stay at the Declan Suites and for sharing your experience on TripAdvisor.

We are glad that you enjoyed our friendly team and great location of our hotel to many San Diego attractions.

We apologize that your guest room did not meet standards. I can assure we will follow up immediately as we want our guests to have a clean and comfortable suite style guest room.

We hope you will reconsider and give us another opportunity to demonstrate the potential of our hotel to you in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

745 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    159
    250
    158
    106
    72
See reviews for
196
174
53
179
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (127)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Ventura, Ca
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2014 via mobile

Stayed here in June. It was under construction and the pool and restaurant were closed. Our room was not clean as there was a dried on substance on the carpet and a dirty rag in the nightstand left by the cleaning crew. The ice machine on our floor was broken. The hotel felt dated and not well cared for.
On the positive side the staff was very helpful when my car battery died in the structure.

  • Stayed June 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lauren G, Manager at Declan Suites San Diego, responded to this review, July 21, 2014
Hi SaraLovesCupcakes,

Thank you for being our guest and sharing your experience on TripAdvisor.

We apologize that we were unable to meet your needs throughout your stay and that we were currently wrapping up our renovation during your stay in June.

We apologize that your car battery died in the parking garage but are glad that our team was attentive to your needs.

We hope to have another opportunity to demonstrate the potential of our hotel to you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Medina, Ohio
Top Contributor
83 reviews 83 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2014

I've stayed here a couple of times now. Nice overall. Some rooms have been remodeled, so obviously those are better. Lot's of room. Real suites almost like an urban apartment. I found a very good little Vietnamese Restaurant only a couple blocks down the hill.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lauren G, Manager at Declan Suites San Diego, responded to this review, July 21, 2014
Hello OrygunDuck,

Thank you for your recent stay at the Declan Suites and for sharing your positive experience.

We are glad that you enjoyed your stay and that the size of our suite style guest rooms met your expectations.

We look forward to hosting you during your next trip to San Diego.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sofia, Bulgaria
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2014

We had a perfect stay at Declan Suites San Diego. The hotel was centrally located - just a few blocks from downtown and the Gaslamp Quarter. Our apartment was very nice, well appointed, with panoramic city view out of the bedroom window. The staff at the reception was polite and helpful - when we told them that our fridge was out of order, and they replaced it immediately. Good value for money! A minor disappointment was that the complimentary in-room Wi-Fi worked only on one device.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lauren G, Manager at Declan Suites San Diego, responded to this review, July 21, 2014
Hi EvgenyNN,

Thank you for your recent stay at the Declan Suites and for sharing your positive experience on TripAdvisor.

We are glad that you enjoyed one of our spectacular views of San Diego, convenient location, and that our team met all of your needs.

We look forward to hosting you during your next trip to San Diego.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2014

My husband and I stayed here for one night in July. We booked the room using a groupon voucher and were incredibly impressed with the room we received. It was beautiful.

Unfortunately the pool was under construction so we were not able to use it, but they did offer an access card the Holiday Inn pool about a block away which (if we had wanted to swim bad enough) would have been a nice option to have.

The location was perfect, about 3 or so blocks from the Gaslamp Quarter where all the great restaurants, pubs, etc are..

We walked about 30 minutes to get down by the seaside village, USS Midway, it was a beautiful walk. Very friendly locals.

Staff was helpful and friendly.

Room was comfortable and had a fun view of Hotel Cortez and planes landing. (no plane noise which was great)

Parking was 18 dollars a day, a bit steep for hotel guests to pay but we have had worse costs at other hotels.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lauren G, Manager at Declan Suites San Diego, responded to this review, July 21, 2014
Hi krysta c,

Thank you for your recent stay at the Declan Suites and for sharing your positive experience.

We are glad that you enjoyed one of our spectacular views of San Diego and that our team met all of your needs.

We look forward to hosting you during your next trip to San Diego.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2014

Our daughters wedding was in San Diego at Balboa Park last weekend. Back in April we were looking for rooms for the wedding party and came across Declan Suites. It looked so beautiful in the pictures, perfect for a wedding. We needed several rooms with two beds and a couch each. Also we wanted refrigerators and microwaves in each room to help hold down expenses. We booked rooms at this hotel because they promised us we would have these rooms with the micros and fridges. When the wedding party showed up on Thursday before the Saturday wedding they were given rooms with one bed and a couch. No microwaves or refrigerators. We were told, " sorry the rooms you requested are taken and also they didn't have microwaves and refrigerators available," the few they had were also taken? At this point it was too late to get the accommodations we needed. We made do but it was pretty crowded! On their wedding night our daughter and new husband were booked to stay in one of the rooms we had occupied. At 4:30 pm the afternoon before the wedding we called the desk and asked them to send someone up to clean the room. We had used this room and another for the bridesmaids to get ready in. When we all rushed out to get to the wedding the room was full of dirty dishes, the beds had been slept in, no clean towels and no toilet paper. We were told someone would come up to clean while we were all gone. At around midnight the newlyweds returned and found the room the way it was left hours earlier. It was awful for our daughter to stand there in her wedding gown, ready to start their honeymoon and find the room a mess. They called the desk and a very unhappy person showed up to clean. No apologies or explanations...just rudeness. We will not recommend this hotel to friends and we will not stay here again. Very disappointing. If you are looking for accommodations near Balboa Park be aware this establishment is not what you would expect.

Room Tip: I guess Groupon has some deals for this hotel right now, just be aware of these issues when you book...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lauren G, Manager at Declan Suites San Diego, responded to this review, July 21, 2014
Hi sezelle,

Thank you for being our guest and sharing your experience on TripAdvisor.

We apologize that you had many issues throughout your stay and that we were unable to resolve them to your needs. We understand your frustrations and will follow up with the appropriate departments. We can assure you this does not meet our standards and we understand how disappointing this must be, especially for such a special celebration as a wedding.

We hope you will reconsider and give us another opportunity to demonstrate the potential of our hotel to you in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2014

The good:
1. Location was great - walking distance to Gaslamp and Balboa Park. Nice view, big windows.
2. Service - Morgan checked us in and he is a gem.
3. Price - the room was (almost dirt) cheap.

The bad:
1. Worn out rooms almost to the point of being icky - i.e. that point where even though the room was clean, it still felt gross. Hallway carpet was a bumpy mess. Air conditioner leaked.
1. Called before booking to confirm hotel had a pool. Told by guest services when I called to ask where it was that they did not have one.
3. The 6-floor twirly whirly parking garage entrance is a bit dizzying.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lauren G, Manager at Declan Suites San Diego, responded to this review, July 21, 2014
Hello,

Thank you for your recent stay at the Declan Suites and for sharing your experience.

We are glad that you enjoyed the convenient location of our hotel to many San Diego attractions and that Morgan provided excellent guest service. We are looking forward to sharing this comment with Morgan.

We apologize that our suite style guest room, hallway carpet, pool. and parking garage did not meet your expectations. We will pass this feedback to the appropriate department.

We hope to have another opportunity to demonstrate the potential of our hotel to you in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Declan Suites San Diego? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Declan Suites San Diego

Address: 701 A. Street, San Diego, CA 92101 (Formerly Sheraton Suites San Diego)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Diego > Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #195 of 271 Hotels in San Diego
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Declan Suites San Diego 3.5*
Number of rooms: 264
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Declan Suites San Diego offers a warm welcome on your next visit to San Diego. Our all-suite downtown San Diego hotel features all two room suites with some of the largest hotel rooms in the area. All of the two room suites feature a separate living area and pull out sofa. Our San Diego hotel is built around the San Diego Symphony Hall and is within walking distance to the Gaslamp Quarter, known for 16 blocks of amazing dining, shopping and entertainment. The Declan Suites San Diego is located minutes from the world-famous San Diego Zoo, Little Italy, Old Town, Petco Park and Sea World. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, T4B, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, AAA Travel Services, Orbitz, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Declan Suites San Diego reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sheraton Suites San Diego Hotel San Diego
Sheraton Hotel San Diego
Sheraton San Diego
San Diego Sheraton

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Declan Suites San Diego, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.