We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“friendly and accommodating staff. tricky self-parking” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Declan Suites San Diego

Save Saved
You added Declan Suites San Diego to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Declan Suites San Diego
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   701 A. Street, San Diego, CA 92101 (Formerly Sheraton Suites San Diego) (Downtown)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
Tripadvisor Exclusive!
Ranked #192 of 269 hotels in San Diego
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“friendly and accommodating staff. tricky self-parking”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2013

stayed here for a night and enjoyed the stay. checked in and the front desk upgraded me to the club floor thanks to spg. a separate living room with couches and desk gives the room a very homey feeling.

the self-parking is tricky though. hotel guests are required to park on the 11th floor. just getting to the 11th floor takes some effort since you have to drive up a narrow, winding corkscrew to get to the 6th floor. also, parking is $26 a day for self park and $30 for valet.

also got to enjoy the breakfast buffet and i must say, the make-your-own waffle station is amazing. you put the waffle batter onto the maker yourself and in 3 minutes, crispy, delicious goodness.

will recommend and stay here again.

Room Tip: request for the club floor if you are spg.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SheratonSuitesSD, General Manager at Declan Suites San Diego, responded to this review, January 9, 2013
As a SPG member, we’re truly grateful that you’ve taken a moment to let us know about your recent experience. From our breakfast options to our accommodations, it is our hope to provide each of our guests with a home-away-from-home atmosphere and we’re delighted that you enjoyed everything from our separate living room to our waffle station. It is never our intention for our valued guests to experience inconveniences during a stay and we truly regret any difficulties that you encountered with our parking. As you mentioned, valet parking is always an available option. Thank you for sharing your review and recommendation and we look forward to welcoming you back to the Sheraton Suites San Diego at Symphony Hall.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

698 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    149
    244
    149
    96
    60
See reviews for
190
160
53
168
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (113)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2013 via mobile

We were attracted to the location of this hotel, just on the outskirts of the Gaslamp neighborhood in San Diego. There was easy access to many of the awesome things to do in one of our favorite cities. Coronado was a 10 minute drive, Balboa Park was within a mile. We weren't let down by any of this.

As a family of five, the two double beds and one couch bed seemed like they were perfect for all of us to sleep comfortably. The price was not ridiculous and we assumed this was a great value.

We were unimpressed with what we found upon our arrival. Stained carpets in the hall way. A broken toilet paper roll holder in the bathroom. Stains on the furniture within our room. Nothing that made the experience horrible, but definitely not what we had come to expect in a Sheraton, especially not on the Starwood Preferred Level.

After two days of mediocre service (housekeeping forgot to leave us coffee the first night, we had to ask for extra towels each of the first two days because apparently two towels is enough for a room that sleeps five people, etc) we had to call the front desk twice in the middle of the night on New Years Eve (3:00 AM and 3:30 AM) as a load of Neanderthals hooted and hollered and made noises one would expect to hear at a football game.

The front desk staff was courteous. The valets were great... But we are never staying here again.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SheratonSuitesSD, General Manager at Declan Suites San Diego, responded to this review, January 4, 2013
While we’re happy to learn that our location worked out so well for your stay, we deeply regret any inconveniences or noise disruptions that impacted your valued time with us. It’s disappointing that your suite was not at its best upon your arrival and we understand any frustrations at this time. Though your feedback is always welcome and appreciated, we regret that you felt we did not live up the high standards of the Sheraton brand and we hope you’ll allow us the opportunity to welcome you back to fully impress you in all areas. Thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 22, 2012

I stayed at Sheraton Suites for 7 nights in December. From the first moment I got there I was welcomed by great staff. In fact all the staff I interacted with were extremely helpful and pleasant. I was given a room facing north (I think....got a little turned around in the city), but had a great view. Mountains in the distance and a lovely cityscape. Yes, because the airport is nearby, there are times when there are a lot of planes landing - but to be honest the noise was not an issue unless I opened the window.

The room was ideal. Basically a living room, a bed room and a large bathroom. The bed was incredibly comfortable and I'm not sure what the duvet/comforter they use but it was fantastically warm. I could have had a fridge in the room had I asked, but it turned out not to be necessary. There was a microwave and coffee maker with Starbucks teas and coffees. They also offer an option of skipping a day of housekeeping and in exchange you get either $5 off at the restaurant/bar or 500 membership points. What a fantastic, and environmentally friendly deal! Needless to say I had discounts on 2 delicious meals in the restaurant. The breakfast buffet is fantastic.

The hotel's location, with the exception of the ridiculous hill it's located on, is perfect for getting around. Take into consideration that the San Diego bus system is not the most reliable in terms of timing. Less than a 10 minute walk to downtown, 20-30 minutes of meandering and you can be at the harbor. The Zoo is a 2 minute walk to the bus stop, followed by a few minutes on the bus.

One thing that is a bit annoying is some of the extra charges. $11.95 per day for wifi. I know there are other hotels that have similar prices - but there are A LOT that don't charge for it (including Palomar hotels all the way down to Super 8). I realize free internet in the lobby is available...but not when you're in your pajamas.

San Diego is a great city and this is a great hotel. I will certainly stay again if I'm in San Diego.

Room Tip: Try to get one facing Ash street to get a view of the city and skyline as opposed to a view of the n...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SheratonSuitesSD, General Manager at Declan Suites San Diego, responded to this review, January 4, 2013
It seems like you truly made the most out of your stay! We are thrilled to learn that your experience with us has inspired a return visit and greatly appreciate you sharing a thorough review for our future guests. Though it’s disappointing that you didn’t find our complimentary Internet in our lobby to be a convenient alternative, we greatly appreciate the feedback that you’ve shared. We are glad that you enjoyed a cozy night’s rest in our Sheraton Sweet Sleeper Bed and look forward to welcoming you back to the Sheraton Suites San Diego at Symphony Hall. Thank you for your review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Westminster, California, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 18, 2012

Great staff and services. Receptionist was super nice and knowledgable. We felt very pleasant
Hotel has good views. We stayed on the top floor clubroom and were able to enjoy both the city and the ocean views.
The breakfast is also very tasty. It has lots of selections and on top of that there are also made-to-order dishes.
Overall, we were very satisfied with the place compared to other places we had stayed in SD.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SheratonSuitesSD, General Manager at Declan Suites San Diego, responded to this review, December 24, 2012
First, we would like to express our sincerest thank you for your kind comments regarding the customer service that you received. It's always a pleasure to learn about our guests' experience with us, especially when they mention how friendly our staff members were during a stay. We hope we get the pleasure to welcome you back to the Sheraton Suites San Diego at Symphony Hall.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MCDONOUGH
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 17, 2012 via mobile

We were here for four days. The lobby was beautiful! Very clean with awesome staff team. The lobby was on the 12th floor which I find it kind of odd. The room itself needed updated doors (they had sliding doors), new furnitures, updated decors, and just an overall upgrade on all their rooms. I do want to mention that parking can be from $26-30 per day depending if you self park or valet. I find that quite expensive. Don't forget to include your $26++++ to your stay per night. It can add up quick. Also, wifi is extra $11.95 per day, but we got a deal with our stay. All the staff are helpful and wonderful! Need up-to-date rooms for the price I'm paying. :)

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SheratonSuitesSD, General Manager at Declan Suites San Diego, responded to this review, December 24, 2012
We highly value all of the feedback that we receive from our guests and greatly appreciate that you've shared your impressions with us. For any inconveniences that you encountered during your stay, we apologize and hope you'll be able to take advantage of our complimentary wireless Internet in our lobby during a future visit. Thank you for sharing your perspective and we hope we'll have the opportunity to welcome you back to the Sheraton Suites San Diego at Symphony Hall in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
florida
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 17, 2012

I frequently stay at the Sheraton Suites and I have to say in addition to the comfort and and
peace and quiet,the front desk staff and van drivers go out of their way to assist whenever I
need information or a ride somewhere in the area. Keep up the great service!

Room Tip: all rooms are great
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SheratonSuitesSD, General Manager at Declan Suites San Diego, responded to this review, December 24, 2012
Our sincerest thanks for sharing your kind comments regarding the customer service that you received. We'll certainly pass along your review to our staff so they know how much their efforts were appreciated. The next time you are in the area, we hope we get the opportunity to welcome you back to the Sheraton Suites San Diego at Symphony Hall.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 16, 2012 via mobile

Rooms are small for a suite hotel. Tube television in the bedroom. Property sorely needs renovation - wallpaper is peeling, things broken. Staff are friendly and helpful thou, except for valets, who did nothing to acknowledge my various comings and goings. Just because I wasn't driving, I shouldn't have been ignored by people at the front door. I usually stay at the W or the Westin Gaslamp but I wanted to try something new and learned my lesson.

Stayed January 2012, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SheratonSuitesSD, General Manager at Declan Suites San Diego, responded to this review, December 24, 2012
We appreciate that you chose to stay with us at the Sheraton Suites San Diego at Symphony Hall though we regret to learn that you felt your expectations weren't met. We highly value all of the feedback that we receive and truly appreciate that you've taken a moment to share your perspective with us. Thank you for your review and we hope that you'll allow us another opportunity to welcome you back.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Declan Suites San Diego? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Declan Suites San Diego

Address: 701 A. Street, San Diego, CA 92101 (Formerly Sheraton Suites San Diego)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Diego > Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #192 of 269 hotels in San Diego
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Declan Suites San Diego 3.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Declan Suites San Diego offers a warm welcome on your next visit to San Diego. Our all-suite downtown San Diego hotel features all two room suites with some of the largest hotel rooms in the area. All of the two room suites feature a separate living area and pull out sofa. Our San Diego hotel is built around the San Diego Symphony Hall and is within walking distance to the Gaslamp Quarter, known for 16 blocks of amazing dining, shopping and entertainment. The Declan Suites San Diego is located minutes from the world-famous San Diego Zoo, Little Italy, Old Town, Petco Park and Sea World. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with T4B, Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Travelocity, Priceline, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL, BookIt.com, Orbitz, getaroom.com, Hotels.com, Otel and Venere so you can book your Declan Suites San Diego reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sheraton Suites San Diego Hotel San Diego
Sheraton Hotel San Diego
Sheraton San Diego
San Diego Sheraton

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Declan Suites San Diego, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.