We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lodging at Sheraton” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Declan Suites San Diego

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Declan Suites San Diego to your Saves list
Declan Suites San Diego
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   701 A. Street, San Diego, CA 92101 (Formerly Sheraton Suites San Diego) (Downtown)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
Save 25% Now!
Ranked #186 of 271 Hotels in San Diego
Tucson
1 review
“Lodging at Sheraton”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2012

The hotel was very nice, the staff was very friendly and welcoming. Unfortunately, the phone in the room wasn't working very well, so when trying to request more towels it took several attempts to be able to talk to someone. The towels were requested, but they never made it to my room :( Also, you may want to consider extending the happy hour in your restaurant to Fridays and having more staff working in the lounge. My husband and I went for a refreshment and it took at least 10 minutes before anyone waited on us. We decided to go elsewhere for a drink after that. Thanks!

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SheratonSuitesSD, General Manager at Declan Suites San Diego, responded to this review, June 8, 2012
Thank you for your suggestions regarding our happy hour! We will certainly take your comments into consideration and sincerely regret the length of time it took before you and your husband were served. We are saddened to read that your request for more towels was never acknowledged and we truly regret any inconveniences that were experienced with our phone. Rest assured, your comments will be passed along to both our maintenance and housekeeping staff and we appreciate you sharing your feedback with us. Thank you for your review and we hope that we get the opportunity to welcome you back to the Sheraton Suites San Diego at Symphony Hall.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

781 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    172
    260
    166
    110
    73
See reviews for
203
183
58
186
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (138)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Roseville, California
Top Contributor
71 reviews 71 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2012

Initially, this hotel presents well; I liked the lounge and restaurant area. To drive up to the entrance and parking area in the 11th floor, you drive up one of the tightest spiral ramps I have ever seen...and it doesn't end for a while. Enough to make you dizzy. If you drive a large vehicle (Hummer, etc) think again. The room was fair, but crowded with furniture. The in-room microwave was a plus. Plastic cups for the bathroom at a Sheraton? Really? The shower here was lousy. It is a bath/shower combo where you re-direct the water flow by throwing a switch. When it converted to the shower, there was very little water pressure. (To be fair, another couple I know stayed in this hotel the same night and did not experience this problem). The bed was very comfortable with good linens. The front desk staff was courteous and engaging; the restaurant staff - not so much.

Room Tip: Do not buy from the basket of goodies in your room - go to the gift shop near the lobby. Example: Mi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SheratonSuitesSD, General Manager at Declan Suites San Diego, responded to this review, June 8, 2012
We appreciate you sharing your review though we sincerely regret any difficulties that you experienced with our parking. It is never our intention for our valued guests to endure inconveniences during their stay and we appreciate you bringing the issue regarding the shower's water pressure to our attention. We will be certain to share the concerns you addressed with the appropriate departments and hope to welcome you back again to the Sheraton Suites San Diego at Symphony Hall. Thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Fairfield, Connecticut
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 23, 2012

The Sheraton Suites San Diegojust doesn't measure up to the expectations of a regular business traveler. The hotel is a 10 to 15 minute ride from the ariport and upon arrival you will take an elevator to the 12th floor lobby. I was staying at this property with some colleagues for a trade show at the convention center. One of my colleagues, who had a confirmed reservation, arrived at the hotel in the evening and he, along with approx. nine others ended up being tranported to a property in La Jolla 45 minutes away and thus missed a breakfast meeting in the morning. The "Club Lounge" was the poorest excuse for a elite traveler lounge that I have experienced among those properties with a lounge within any of the Starwood, Marriott or Hilton hotels. It consists of a small room off of the restaurant on the main (12th) floor of the hotel. The accomodation for breakfast is coffee and juice. If you want any breakfast you will be required to have restaurant service and you might be offered a discount of up to 30% plus tip. Amenities in the lounge include a flat screen TV and a 1.5 cubic foot "dorm type" refrigerator. The refrigerator held several small bottles of water, two 6oz bottles of Perrier and a few cans of soda. For a snack in the evening there was generally a selection of 2 fried and dried appetizers along with a few cut up veggies (broccoli flourets and red peppers) with ranch dressing some cut up cheese and a few grapes. This is not at all what I have come to expect from a major city properties club lounge facility. No alcoholic beverages, honor bar or otherwise. If you want a cocktail you must go out of the louinge to the hotel bar for service.

The rooms were reasonably sized and clean though the carpeting was "tired" as was the wallpaper in the bathroom. There was a sitting area with a very comfortable couch and chair, a flat screen TV, a desk with am office type chair, a small dry bar area with a coffe maker and microwave and a mini-bar. The bedroom held a large bed, 2 nightstands, a CRT TV and a clock radio. The bedroom was separated from the sitting area by "french doors". The clock radio was analog, cheap and difficult to tune. The bathroom contained a nice dressing area with full length mirror, a decent size shower stall and a separate bath tub as well as a toilet. The toilet paper roll holder was falling out of the wall and one of the main lights in the shower area was burned out.

The front desk staff was extremely friendly and were very helpful with everything from recommendations to trying to assist my colleague with his rooming issues. It was not their fault that the hotel was over booked. The concierge gave us a great recommendation for dinner and got us reservations that we would have been unable to get on our own.

This hotel is a little over a .6 mile from the from the "Gaslamp District" which is the main dining and entertainment area. If one were to walk back to the hotel late at night I might have some safety concerns though there appeared to be a good police presence. The property is also approx 1.1 miles from the convention center so for the most part you will want to cab or use a convention center coach bus if it is offered.

Their airport shuttle is for "aircrew only" so you must cab to and from the airport. There is no cab stand at the hotel and I had wait for almost 10 minutes for a cab.

Overall, if given the opportunity I would probably choose a different property for a stay in San Diego.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SheratonSuitesSD, General Manager at Declan Suites San Diego, responded to this review, May 31, 2012
While it is disappointing that you felt your expectations weren't met, we are always grateful for the feedback and would like to thank you for sharing such a detailed review with us. In our Club Lounge, we wish to provide a comfortable and upscale setting for our guests to enjoy and though we are truly appreciative of the level of detail that you provided, we are saddened that your experience was not reflective of the high standards we have set. As you mentioned, the Gaslamp Quarter is within walking distance from our hotel and we are most proud of the local police and our own internal security who make it a safe place for our visitors to walk to and explore. The level of detail that you provided regarding our suite amenities is very much appreciated and as we take your feedback into consideration for our future guests, we hope that you will someday allow us the opportunity to welcome you back again. Thank you for sharing.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boise, Idaho
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 10, 2012

...in the dictionary and it will direct you to this hotel. I has been years since this place has been renovated and it really shows. The rooms smell of age and must and there is not way to get it out of your nostrils. The furniture is scratched, worn and missing pulls and knobs. The showers are antique with shower heads plugged with hard water residue and the showers falls are poorly caulked and maintained...over all you get a real sense of very poor hygienic surroundings. It has a bizarre layout where the lobby is on the 12th Floor and you have to take at least two elevators to get to any of the rooms from street level. The views are lousy and they had "false alarms" in their system twice during our four day stay. I will say that the staff was very friendly and accommodating...otherwise our stay at this hotel was completely forgettable. Won't be back.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SheratonSuitesSD, General Manager at Declan Suites San Diego, responded to this review, May 17, 2012
Since we value all feedback, positive or otherwise, we would first like to thank you for sharing your review with us. We are truly disappointed to learn that not only were your expectations not met, but that our suite was not at its best for you during your visit. We sincerely regret any inconveniences that you may have experienced and would like you to know that this appearance in no way reflects the high standards that we have set. Your comments are more than appreciated and will be passed along to our maintenance crew and housekeeping staff. Thank you and we hope that we will someday get another opportunity to welcome you back and provide you with the memorable stay you deserve.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Osaka, Japan
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
40 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 5, 2012

I stay just one night to catch the flight departing from San Diego Airport.

This Sheraton is located on the higer floor of a building situated
near the down-town of San Diego.
You need to use elevator at first to access the front lobby.
There are no club lounge on this hotel.
The room was dated and rather the ceiling was low, then I felt some tightness.
Maybe I never stay here again.
The photo is the view from my room.

Room; Ummm...
Service: So so
Location: very closed down-town of San Diego. convenient for strolling

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SheratonSuitesSD, General Manager at Declan Suites San Diego, responded to this review, May 9, 2012
Though your feedback is truly appreciated, it is disappointing when a guest leaves feeling that their expectations were not met. We sincerely regret any inconveniences that you may have experienced at our hotel and would like to mention that our Club Lounge is only available to those staying in our Sheraton Club Level rooms. We hope that the next time you are in the area you will consider visiting with us again, as we would love the opportunity to welcome you back. Since we offer a variety of suites, each ranging in size, we are certain that our staff could find you the perfect accommodations. Thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greensboro, North Carolina
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 2, 2012

We stayed on the club level and had a spacious and well appointed room. The included buffet breakfast was better than most and the hotel was central to the city. Wish the club room had a cocktail hour or so but the snacks were good. Very good value.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SheratonSuitesSD, General Manager at Declan Suites San Diego, responded to this review, May 9, 2012
Thank you for your great suggestion regarding a cocktail hour in our Club Lounge! Since we are always looking for ways to improve our services at the Sheraton Suites San Diego at Symphony Hall, we truly appreciate your feedback. Thank you for choosing our Sheraton Club Level rooms for your stay and we hope that you will visit with us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2012

They had my reservation wrong, even though I called the day before to confirm and was told everything was just how I had requested it. Kevin at the front desk acted as if the hotel had no responsibility in the matter... I'm mean he could have at least apologized for the "miscommunication". So the first night we had to use the pull out couch, which had crumbs in it. They were quick to change the sheets, but it was still kinda gross. But, I did make it clear that I needed the room I reserved and I was moved on the second day.

I had two rooms for 5 nights... all in all, I think the hotel was worth the ~$200/ night. But, you get what you pay for. It was just a standard hotel... We weren't on vacation and we weren't really in the hotel all that long, so this place satisfied our needs.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SheratonSuitesSD, General Manager at Declan Suites San Diego, responded to this review, May 9, 2012
As a valued guest, we are saddened to learn of your recent experience with us and deeply regret any inconveniences that you experienced. We can understand the frustration that you must have felt during this time, and for that we apologize. Your comments are truly appreciated and we can assure that your review will be shared with our entire staff. Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback with us and we hope we get another opportunity to welcome you back.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Declan Suites San Diego? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Declan Suites San Diego

Address: 701 A. Street, San Diego, CA 92101 (Formerly Sheraton Suites San Diego)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Diego > Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #186 of 271 Hotels in San Diego
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Declan Suites San Diego 3.5*
Number of rooms: 264
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Declan Suites San Diego offers a warm welcome on your next visit to San Diego. Our all-suite downtown San Diego hotel features all two room suites with some of the largest hotel rooms in the area. All of the two room suites feature a separate living area and pull out sofa. Our San Diego hotel is built around the San Diego Symphony Hall and is within walking distance to the Gaslamp Quarter, known for 16 blocks of amazing dining, shopping and entertainment. The Declan Suites San Diego is located minutes from the world-famous San Diego Zoo, Little Italy, Old Town, Petco Park and Sea World. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, T4B, HotelTravel.com, AAA Travel Services, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Agoda, getaroom.com, Booking.com, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Declan Suites San Diego reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sheraton Suites San Diego Hotel San Diego
Sheraton Hotel San Diego
Sheraton San Diego
San Diego Sheraton

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Declan Suites San Diego, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.