We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Terrible service!!!” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Days Inn San Diego Downtown/Convention Center

Save Saved
You added Days Inn San Diego Downtown/Convention Center to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Days Inn San Diego Downtown/Convention Center
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   833 Ash Street, San Diego, CA 92101 (Downtown)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
30% More Wyndham Rewards
Ranked #161 of 269 hotels in San Diego
New York City, New York
1 review
“Terrible service!!!”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2013

The receptonist was threatening us to give up our room because we had some trouble with the card (foreign bank issue) that was used to book the room. The only thing that he had to do is ask us to give him another debit card or to process the payment again but no he was just threatening us to give the room to other clients! He told us to go somewhere else if we weren't happy with the service.... It was the 4th of July week end, all the other hotels were booked at that time!!! Really bad experience.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DaysInnSDOwner, Owner at Days Inn San Diego Downtown/Convention Center, responded to this review, July 10, 2013
Thank you very much for submitting your review. As you can tell, we take guest comments, both positive and negative, very seriously. In this vein, I would ask that you call 619-239-2285 to speak with out General Manager, Shawn Young. We would greatly appreciate hearing more about this matter so that we can do our own investigation. Like many hotels, we have security cameras in our lobby and elsewhere, and they can be very helpful as a training tool for us to review situations like you have described. To be perfectly frank, many times what is written on Trip Advisor for the world to see is far from reality when we view the video. Again, we are not discounting your comment out of hand. Instead, we are asking for more information so that we may fully investigate your comments.

We look forward to hearing from you soon. As you can see from the many other Trip Advisor reviews posted, guest service is typically an area of praise for our property, which is why we are asking for more information. Thanks once again for staying with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

161 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    38
    55
    38
    18
    12
See reviews for
34
33
13
39
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Tucson, Arizona
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2013

Well fourth of July last minute Vaca found for super cheap rates!! just like everyone the parking is expensive but we where Downtown keep that in mind before you change tour mind! I got there a little early and the rooms where not ready but the front desk personal was great he was nice, talked with education and was very knowledgeable, he checked me in as soon as my room opened also granted me my special request with no problems, rooms are very clean nothing special but just enough to be comfortable! Kids loved the breakfast just enough to start our day. The housekeepers are just pleasant and make you feel very at home they talked to us and asked how where doing, I felt at home here will do again thank you !!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DaysInnSDOwner, Owner at Days Inn San Diego Downtown/Convention Center, responded to this review, July 10, 2013
Thank you very much for staying with us, and for sharing your experience on Trip Advisor. At our property, our hope is to provide an exemplary guest experience from the moment you check in, to the moment you check out. Beyond clean, well-appointed rooms with plenty of free amenities (microwave, refrigerator, ironing board, free wifi), it is how each guest is treated at check in and check out by our front desk staff, as well as any interaction with our housekeeping and maintenance staff.

What gratifies us most about your review is that you hit on each of these factors in a positive light. Rest assured that your review will be shared with our staff as a positive reinforcement for the effort that they put in day in and day out.

We hope you will consider staying with us again the next time you visit San Diego. And remember, always book directly at daysinn.com for the best rate and cancellation policy!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2013

If you want budget accommodation then this is the place. It is cheap rates and you get what you paid for. Its not the cleanest place but its ok. The free breakfast is pretty basic and I its a bit noisy.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DaysInnSDOwner, Owner at Days Inn San Diego Downtown/Convention Center, responded to this review, July 6, 2013
Thank you for staying with us and for leaving your comment. We certainly strive to provide a quality guest experience for everyone who stays with us. Between a clean room, comfortable beds, and many free amenities that often cost extra at other hotels (wifi, breakfast, in-room microwave and refrigerator), we believe that we offer an incomparable value.

We hope you will consider staying with us again the next time you visit San Diego. And remember, always book directly at daysinn.com for the best rate and cancellation policy!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2013

the $15 a day parking fee is ridiculous and was not told to me when booking room with agent. Would not stay here again. Not to mention, the parking lot is awful and its a noisy place

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Days Inn

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DaysInnSDOwner, Owner at Days Inn San Diego Downtown/Convention Center, responded to this review, July 4, 2013
Thank you very much for staying with us, and for leaving a review. As it pertains to the parking charge, we are quite certain that the daily fee appears on every online listing we have, and it also appears on every email confirmation. We trust that if you take another look at your confirmation, you will find it. If for some reason you booked on a website where it doesn't appear, please send us an email with the name of the website, and we will investigate the matter immediately.

We do notice in your review that you state "booking room with agent." If you booked through a travel agent who neglected to mention our parking fee, perhaps you should contact that agent to find out what happened.

We do apologize for any confusion that you may have experienced. With this explanation, we hope that you will consider staying with us again soon. And remember, always book directly at daysinn.com to get the best rate and cancellation policy!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Days Inn San Diego Downtown/Convention Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Days Inn San Diego Downtown/Convention Center

Address: 833 Ash Street, San Diego, CA 92101
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Diego > Downtown
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #161 of 269 hotels in San Diego
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — Days Inn San Diego Downtown/Convention Center 2*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Booking.com, Wyndham, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL, Expedia, getaroom.com, Venere, Agoda and Otel so you can book your Days Inn San Diego Downtown/Convention Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Days Inn San Diego Downtown/ Hotel San Diego
San Diego Days Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Days Inn San Diego Downtown/Convention Center, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.