We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not what we expected..” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Radisson Hotel San Diego - Rancho Bernardo

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Radisson Hotel San Diego - Rancho Bernardo to your Saves list
Radisson Hotel San Diego - Rancho Bernardo
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   11520 West Bernardo Court, San Diego, CA 92127   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
A Getaway for 2
Ranked #114 of 270 Hotels in San Diego
phoenix az
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Not what we expected..”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2013

We booked this online with "get a room..". We were traveling with our oldest son (23) and our two grandsons (8 & 14). We state this clearly on our reservation. We were expecting two beds and a rollaway for our son. When we got there they were in the midst of remodeling and didn't have any rooms that came close to that description. After waiting a long time the manager came up with a room with 2 queen beds and a large chair with an ottoman (sort of). He really did try to make an effort to find something. He also comped our breakfast the next morning. That was somewhat forgetable but thats another story. He did make a good effort and I applaud him for trying. The place didn't match the description and for that I blame the the reservation process.

Room Tip: Lots of people and kids, groups etc..
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chuck A, General Manager at Radisson Hotel San Diego - Rancho Bernardo, responded to this review, October 4, 2013
Since you stayed with us in July, I wanted to let you know that our $4 million dollar renovation of the hotel is coming to a close. Our guestrooms have been 100% renovated with new carpet, paint, drapes, bathroom, 37" flat screen TVs, furniture, lighting and bedding.

Our lobby reopened October 3 with an updated, exciting welcome and all of our meeting space has been finished. Our restaurant and lounge will open October 12.

We invited you back to experience the new ambiance.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

253 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    83
    104
    46
    16
    4
See reviews for
80
44
16
75
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (54)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
San Diego, California
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2013

After being completely misled by Hotwire to this UNDER CONSTRUCTION hotel, I was further misled by the hotel itself...after being charged a ridiculous "discounted" rate, I spent the night in a "remodeled" room that was falling apart...I used NOTHING in the room but the bed; and when I tried to take a shower, the faucet fell off the wall...the hotel seems to think that charging me an ADDITIONAL $25.00 for absolutely nothing is appropriate, after overcharging me for a room to begin with; and interrupting my Sunday morning with construction I was ASSURED would not take place...Now that I read where someone paid $49.00 a few nights ago, when I paid a TOTAL OF $125.00...??? NEVER AGAIN, RADISSON...Need I say, go ANYWHERE else...

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chuck A, General Manager at Radisson Hotel San Diego - Rancho Bernardo, responded to this review, September 27, 2013
We are sorry you were not pleased with your stay and we apologize for the construction noise, but we wanted to clear up some items. You were not charged $25 extra for nothing. The $25 was a temporary authorization for any incidental expenses you may have incurred. This is released upon checkout if there are no incidental expenses, such as long distance phone calls. This authorization is required of all guests and is much lower than most hotels.

We are not sure where you read about a $49 rate, but we do not have published rates anywhere near that. On the day of your departure, we inspected your room and did not find any evidence of a broken faucet or shower head.

We are excited that our new lobby will open next week and the newly designed restaurant will open October 12 as well as a new two-room fitness center. Our $4 million renovation of the public spaces, meeting space and 175 guestrooms is almost complete! We invite you back!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hawaii
Top Contributor
171 reviews 171 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
87 helpful votes 87 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

I have stayed over 24 nights in this hotel the past year. The rooms are newly rennovated, very stylish. This hotel is very clean, the staff is very friendly and I love the full (free) breakfast which includes eggs, sausage or bacon, juice, cereals, assortment of bread, fresh fruit...hot waffles, french toast, pancakes... Great for family vacations or business.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boulder, Colorado
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2013

We stayed at this hotel after we spent the day Sea World it was a quick drive half hour or so and we were able to save our selves some money but doing the little drive. Check inn was quick but we couldn't find a parking spot due to the fact that they had all these storage bins for the construction in the parking spots had to ask for special permission on where to park because there was no space. You could see some of the construction but it wasn't super messy by any means really was no big deal. The rooms were nice and big as well as very clean. Beds were super comfortable and we slept great. We weren't there for long but it was a very nice passing through hotel. Only downside was no free continental breakfast.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
silver spring
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2013

booked a family stay at this hotel. upon check in the staffs at the front desk were unfriendly. we requested a nice quiet room, but she assigned a room facing the construction containers parked in the parking lot facing the room. Came back and asked for another room, this time she assigned us to a 1 king bedroom even though she knew we had 2 adults and 2 kids. the third time she gave us the room that was away from construction area. By that time we were tired from going back and forth. Very unpleasant to deal with. They both need to be retrained in customer service and in hospitality. Beware this hotel undergo major renovation on part of the building.

Room Tip: choose a room away from construction area.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
uk
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2013

Lovely size room big enough for us 2 adults and our 2 children... very clean, comfortable beds...pool was quite small but my children loved it... staff were outstanding and offered assistance any way they could... it was nice we could use the laundry room as we were driving around the west coast of usa, that was very helpful... all in all a lovely hotel

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, Arizona
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2013 via mobile

LOCATION:

Beautiful Southern California in San Diego about 20 minutes from do. town. Our check-in was slow primarily because there was only one person working the front desk. The assistant manager. I got the impression during our stay that the front desk was under staffed.

However, Travis, the one who checked us in was nice, courteous and professional. All the staff were which is why we always choose the Radisson!

The hotel is going through renovations but they are keeping the noise to a minimum. The construction was not bothersome at all.

LOBBY:

It was nice as it had couches, big screen TV and acourse a small area with a desktop and printer for internet and printing needs.

The only disappointment was that there was no complimentary water, juice or fruit which is common in the lobby of other Carlson Brand Hotels that we visit.

AMENITIES:

The pool area and hot tub were cozy and relaxing surrounded by lush landscaping. The pool and hot tub were very clean and the hot tub nice and hot.

The fitness room was small but had everything you needed to get a good workout.

We did not see any vending machines but the front lobby had a little area that offered essentials such as toothpaste and other beverages.

However, $2.25 for a can of soda is laughable. I understand making a profit but get real!

JJ'S GRILL:

The onsite small grill-restaurant was cozy and had great pool side views.

However, the prices for a meal were atrocious. They wanted $8 for a grilled cheese sandwich. $13 for a grilled chicken sandwich. $13 for a pizza and up to $14-15 for a burger.

The drinks for alcohol seemed to be reasonable. Appetizers were decently priced but they lacked traditional appetizers such as nachos and potatoe skins.

The breakfast buffet is held at the grill from 6AM to 10AM. Its your typical continental breakfast that you get free at most hotels these days.

The price here was $8.95 + tax for adults and $5.95 + tax for children. We enjoyed it and felt it was reasonable.

ROOM:

Our room was clean and had all the essentials such as microwave, refrigerator and DVD player.

The bathroom was clean but the water pressure was low for taking baths and showers but got the job done.

The king size bed was comfortable and clean. The couch in the living room had a pull out bed but the couch itself was not very comfortable. It was too firm.

The television was probably 80's and or 90's definitely not worth enjoying watching anything on it such as pay movies or the news etc.

Keep in mind the Radisson is renovating so I am sure all the rooms will be updated with today's technology.

The wi-fi is free which is nice but horrendously slow especially at night.

Thank God we have smartphones and LTE data speeds through our cellular provider. You couldn't even enjoy Facebook using their wi-fi.

When arriving back to the hotel in the evening since they don't tell you I will. The back entrance is closed.

It's nothing major just frustrating not knowing ahead of time after coming back from sight seeing and then having to turn around.

OVERALL:

This Radisson is legit. It is clean, comfortable and cozy. Great pool area and friendly helpful employees and we will definetly be back as this will be our hotel of choice when visiting the San Diego area.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Radisson Hotel San Diego - Rancho Bernardo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Radisson Hotel San Diego - Rancho Bernardo

Address: 11520 West Bernardo Court, San Diego, CA 92127
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Diego
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 Best Value Hotel in San Diego
#94 Business Hotel in San Diego
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Radisson Hotel San Diego - Rancho Bernardo 3*
Number of rooms: 180
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Radisson Hotel San Diego – Rancho Bernardo is a proud winner of the Carlson Hotels 2010 Presidents Award. Our North San Diego hotel features 180 oversized guestrooms, a beautiful outdoor pool & spa, JJ’S Bar & Grill, function and meeting rooms, complimentary wired and wireless internet, business services, fitness center, guest laundry facilities, and outdoor parking. Each room is equipped with a coffee maker, microwave, refrigerator, two telephones with voice mail, iron with ironing boards and our Business Class rooms featurein-room safes. Full renovation of all guestrooms, restaurant/bar, meeting space and lobby Spring 2013. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Orbitz, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, HotelTravel.com, TripOnline SA, BookIt.com, getaroom.com, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Radisson Hotel San Diego - Rancho Bernardo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Radisson San Diego
San Diego Radisson

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Radisson Hotel San Diego - Rancho Bernardo, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.