We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“It was a great stay, wonderful workers!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Sheraton Mission Valley San Diego Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Sheraton Mission Valley San Diego Hotel to your Saves list
Sheraton Mission Valley San Diego Hotel
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   1433 Camino Del Rio South, San Diego, CA 92108 (Mission Valley / Hotel Circle)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Breakfast for 2 Included
Ranked #119 of 273 Hotels in San Diego
Sacramento, California
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“It was a great stay, wonderful workers!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2014 via mobile

The price seemed high and did not include parking, other than that very nice! Way better than the more pricier hotel our fams stayed in that was under full construction not light remodeling with bugs everywhere!

  • Stayed July 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheraton M, General Manager at Sheraton Mission Valley San Diego Hotel, responded to this review, August 21, 2014
Khanland,

Thank you for your review and staying at the Sheraton Mission Valley San Diego Hotel. I am very happy to see that you enjoyed your stay with us and had a much better experience. It is unfortunate to read your previous hotel had a bug issue and was under full construction. When you come back to visit San Diego, please feel free to reach out to me and I will personally help make your reservation arrangements.


Sincerely,
Dan Stenz
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

598 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    173
    217
    110
    54
    44
See reviews for
161
137
39
130
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (137)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
19 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2014

This is an older hotel, but very nicely appointed. Room was on the small side, and the bathroom is very small, but functional. Everything was clean (linens have a few stains). Good location at one end of Hotel Circle. For SPGs, there is an evening snack service and breakfast each morning. The evening snacks include one hot dish (such as fried zucchini) and one cold dish- vegetables with ranch dip.

This is a "green" hotel, so you earn $5 reward or 500 points for foregoing maid service during your stay (except for the last night of course). The hotel was very quiet inside at night. Just a few people shutting doors loudly or talking in the hallway. That is fine. What isn't fine is the noise level emanating from the pool/bar area outside. I had the misfortune of staying in a room overlooking the pool. People were still yelling at each other after the pool closed at 10 and after the bar closed at 11. On the first night, we called the front desk around 10:20 to complain about the noise. We were told that the pool had closed at 10 and the bar would close at 11. We informed the front desk that people were still swimming, and asked that security make sure that everyone go inside the hotel at 11 when the bar closed for the night.

After 3 calls, security finally showed up at 11:48 pm and told the guests (who were so many sheets to wind that they couldn't hear each other without yelling) to leave. They left, dragging their huge cooler on wheels with them. Obviously they had brought their own liquor with them. Wonder why the bar couldn't tell them to leave at 11 since they weren't even customers? The next night, a group of guys played cards and also laughed so loudly you could hear them many floors up with the window closed. At 11, I fell asleep only to have their laughter wake me up at 11:40. Another night short on sleep. The next night, another group was there in the bar area after 11:30 yelling at each other. Meanwhile, during the day, a couple were sitting by the bar area talking, and even with the window open, I couldn't hear what they were saying. So it is possible to have a normal conversion without disturbing your fellow guests.

As we checked out, we told the front desk about the nightly noise and the fact that we were leaving tired due to the lack of sleep we had experienced during our stay. The front desk rep said she would contact security, we said not to bother, obviously they don't care. If they did, they would patrol the pool area at night and invite guests to continue their conversations in the hotel lobby.

Due to the level of noise allowed by this hotel, I cannot recommend it to anyone unless you are hard of hearing or have a set of really great ear plugs which work effectively for you.

Room Tip: Choose a room overlooking the freeway- the rooms over the pool are too noisy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheraton M, General Manager at Sheraton Mission Valley San Diego Hotel, responded to this review, July 26, 2014
Thank you for your TripAdvisor review and recent stay at the Sheraton Mission Valley San Diego Hotel. It is disheartening to find that you felt you received lack-luster service.

Your comments will be communicated to the appropriate leadership, as these complications are not the norm for our property. Please do be aware that all of our staff are highly trained and selectively chosen for each position based on key strengths and skills. With that said, we do apologize for any inconveniences that you encountered during your stay.

Your comments are constructive and will be useful for future employee training opportunities. Thank you for your review and we are hopeful for another chance to host you during future travels to San Diego.

Sincerely,
Dan Stenz
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2014

we stayed here one night...hotel is not bad but for $180/nt (incl $16 for parking and $15 for wifi) one should expect the windows to close properly no?...do not stay on the freeway facing side...the interior (carpets, furniture, bathroom) look like they redid a few years ago, but the windows appear to be from the 50s...the weathering is poor so you will hear cars whizzing by ALL NIGHT....

Room Tip: stay away from the freeway facing side...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheraton M, General Manager at Sheraton Mission Valley San Diego Hotel, responded to this review, July 26, 2014
TDragon,
Thank you for your TripAdvisor review and recent stay at the Sheraton Mission Valley San Diego Hotel. We do apologize for the noise coming from our city side. Our windows have been recently weatherproofed, however it seems as though they may need to be looked at again and I thank you for bringing this to my attention. Your comments will be communicated to the appropriate leadership, as these complications are not the norm for our property.
Thank you again for your review. We hope to welcome you back for another opportunity to demonstrate the potential of our hotel.

Sincerely,
Dan Stenz
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, AZ
Level Contributor
21 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2014

This is clearly an older building that has had interior updating (still has popcorn ceilings). The property is kept clean, and the staff are friendly. The room itself was somewhat small and cramped, but also very clean and with modern updates. The bathroom is tiny and you really can't even use the sink comfortably with the bathroom door open. The water pressure is great in the shower though which is very nice. The only major complaint is with the bed. It was as if you were sleeping on fuzzy cement. If you like a stiff bed, then you will love it here, otherwise, not so much. If the price was right, I would stay here again, but would have to think twice because of how uncomfortable the bed was. Other than that though, it was a pleasant stay.

Room Tip: Ask for a mountain view room if road noise bothers you as this hotel is right up against a major fre...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheraton M, General Manager at Sheraton Mission Valley San Diego Hotel, responded to this review, July 26, 2014
Thank you for your review and recent stay at the Sheraton Mission Valley San Diego Hotel.
Although some aspects of your newly renovated room were unexpected, we are pleased to hear you enjoyed your stay. Your thoughtful review is extremely valuable to our ongoing efforts here at the Sheraton Mission Valley. Thank you again for your feedback as it is appreciated and we look forward to hosting you again when you visit the beautiful San Diego area!

Sincerely,
Dan Stenz
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Dakota
Level Contributor
18 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2014

We stayed here for 4 days in July. The front desk was very courteous. When asked if we were parking a car, I remembered a tip from here & asked about off street parking. They immediately comped our $16/day parking. Room was very nice & updated. Bathroom was tiny-tough for 2 adults & 2 kids to get ready...but also updated & very clean. We did not take advantage of the restaurant or pool. If you bypass daily linen changes they give you a certificate for $5 each day good at restaurant or pantry. We used ours at the extremely expensive pantry. Target is right across the street. We were there daily! So convenient. Pick up breakfast items to keep in your room! There is a refrigerator. Convenient location. 15-20 minutes away from pretty much anything (beaches, old town, seaworld, zoo) Great place to stay!

  • Stayed July 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheraton M, General Manager at Sheraton Mission Valley San Diego Hotel, responded to this review, July 26, 2014
Thank you for your review and recent stay at the Sheraton Mission Valley San Diego Hotel!

We are thrilled to hear you enjoyed your stay with us. Providing impeccable service is essential to our goal of creating a home away from home. Our Make A Green Choice program is one of our ongoing efforts to help save energy and water. We appreciate you taking advantage of its perks and enjoying discount prices in our pantry.

Thank you again for your review. We hope to welcome you back for another opportunity to demonstrate the potential of our hotel.

Sincerely,
Dan Stenz
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
204 reviews
120 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 97 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2014

Here for 4 days on business trip -- was actually needing to be at convention center, but no luck on a downtown hotel. This is a pretty good alternative, room was almost $100 cheaper but only a 10-min ride downtown. Parking also a good deal, though the price seems uncertain -- the quoted price was different from my actual price, and then the gates were often just left open, so your experience may vary!

Hotel is generic mid-price business hotel. I had a big room, but slightly dated. Very clean and quiet, so no complaints, plus very good internet. There was a crazy party going on downstairs one of the nights we were there, but I couldn't hear anything on the 4th floor.

Hotel is very close to all the Mission Valley shops, and you could potentially walk to the light rail line to go downtown (I'd guess maybe a 15-min walk). We used Uber to get to the convention center and it was $10 ea way, which is cheaper than parking!

Also - desk staff is super nice.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheraton M, General Manager at Sheraton Mission Valley San Diego Hotel, responded to this review, July 23, 2014
PlannerGreek,

Thank you very much for taking the time to write a review of our hotel! I truly appreciate your feedback and am very pleased to see that you had a great experience with us. We hope that whenever you return to the beautiful San Diego area that you think of us!

Sincerely,
Dan Stenz
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2014

I would preface this review with the fact that I have stayed here before, several years ago and that's why I choose to stay here for a night while vacationing in San Diego.

Where to start... the room was just simply dirty and if the material quality of our room was representative of the current state of the other rooms, they really need to renovate this place. The attached pictures and their captions speak for themselves...

Sure, they took $50 off my bill, but I would have rather paid full price and had a better experience... If I was looking to save money by staying in a run-down room, I would have booked a night at the local motel 6 so I wouldn't have to haggle with the front desk for a credit to my bill at checkout to match the service I received at this specific Sheraton.

The best part, by far was that this room was marked as a SPG room... seriously?

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dan S, General Manager at Sheraton Mission Valley San Diego Hotel, responded to this review, July 22, 2014
Dear Eric C,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review regarding your recent visit to the Sheraton Mission Valley San Diego Hotel. We appreciate feedback from our guests regardless of its nature.

First and foremost, please allow me to apologize for the condition you found your guest room in during your stay. Certainly, a well-cleaned and sanitized guestroom is a standard expectation from any guest. I am sorry that your experience was quite the opposite.

I have addressed this situation with both our Executive Housekeeper and Chief Engineer and ask that they implement action steps with their staffs to avoid this situation with future guests.

I realize that you may be hesitant to return to our hotel, however, we would certainly like another opportunity to restore your good faith in our hotel on a future visit to San Diego. Please contact me directly and I will be happy to make your arrangements personally including inspecting your assigned guest room to make sure it is clean and everything is in perfect working order. Again, thank you for letting us know of your concerns and for the opportunity to improve our guests’ experience.

Sincerely,
Dan Stenz
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Diego hotels
Mission Valley / Hotel Circle
San Diego Marriott Mission Valley
Mission Valley / Hotel Circle
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel San Diego - Mission Valley
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Mission Valley / Hotel Circle
Handlery Hotel San Diego
Handlery Hotel San Diego
#134 of 273 in San Diego
3.5 of 5 stars 909 reviews
Mission Valley / Hotel Circle
Courtyard by Marriott San Diego Mission Valley/Hotel Circle
Mission Valley / Hotel Circle
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel San Diego - Hotel Circle
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sheraton Mission Valley San Diego Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sheraton Mission Valley San Diego Hotel

Address: 1433 Camino Del Rio South, San Diego, CA 92108
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Diego > Mission Valley / Hotel Circle
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #119 of 273 Hotels in San Diego
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Sheraton Mission Valley San Diego Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 260
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Sheraton Mission Valley San Diego Hotel. Whether it is our comforting amenities, caring service, and spacious guest rooms, you're sure to enjoy your stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Expedia, Starwood, Orbitz, BookIt.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com and Priceline so you can book your Sheraton Mission Valley San Diego Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sheraton San Diego Hotel, Mission Valley Hotel San Diego
San Diego Sheraton

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sheraton Mission Valley San Diego Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.