We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Small but clean” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Sheraton Mission Valley San Diego Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Sheraton Mission Valley San Diego Hotel to your Saves list
Sheraton Mission Valley San Diego Hotel
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   1433 Camino Del Rio South, San Diego, CA 92108 (Mission Valley / Hotel Circle)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Breakfast for 2 Included
Ranked #136 of 271 Hotels in San Diego
North Dakota
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Small but clean”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2014 via mobile

We stayed here for 4 days in July. The front desk was very courteous. When asked if we were parking a car, I remembered a tip from here & asked about off street parking. They immediately comped our $16/day parking. Room was very nice & updated. Bathroom was tiny-tough for 2 adults & 2 kids to get ready...but also updated & very clean. We did not take advantage of the restaurant or pool. If you bypass daily linen changes they give you a certificate for $5 each day good at restaurant or pantry. We used ours at the extremely expensive pantry. Target is right across the street. We were there daily! So convenient. Pick up breakfast items to keep in your room! There is a refrigerator. Convenient location. 15-20 minutes away from pretty much anything (beaches, old town, seaworld, zoo) Great place to stay!

  • Stayed July 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheraton M, General Manager at Sheraton Mission Valley San Diego Hotel, responded to this review, July 26, 2014
Thank you for your review and recent stay at the Sheraton Mission Valley San Diego Hotel!

We are thrilled to hear you enjoyed your stay with us. Providing impeccable service is essential to our goal of creating a home away from home. Our Make A Green Choice program is one of our ongoing efforts to help save energy and water. We appreciate you taking advantage of its perks and enjoying discount prices in our pantry.

Thank you again for your review. We hope to welcome you back for another opportunity to demonstrate the potential of our hotel.

Sincerely,
Dan Stenz
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

494 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    141
    172
    89
    50
    42
See reviews for
123
113
38
113
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (111)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Vancouver, Canada
Top Contributor
153 reviews 153 reviews
98 hotel reviews
Reviews in 80 cities Reviews in 80 cities
80 helpful votes 80 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2014

Here for 4 days on business trip -- was actually needing to be at convention center, but no luck on a downtown hotel. This is a pretty good alternative, room was almost $100 cheaper but only a 10-min ride downtown. Parking also a good deal, though the price seems uncertain -- the quoted price was different from my actual price, and then the gates were often just left open, so your experience may vary!

Hotel is generic mid-price business hotel. I had a big room, but slightly dated. Very clean and quiet, so no complaints, plus very good internet. There was a crazy party going on downstairs one of the nights we were there, but I couldn't hear anything on the 4th floor.

Hotel is very close to all the Mission Valley shops, and you could potentially walk to the light rail line to go downtown (I'd guess maybe a 15-min walk). We used Uber to get to the convention center and it was $10 ea way, which is cheaper than parking!

Also - desk staff is super nice.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheraton M, General Manager at Sheraton Mission Valley San Diego Hotel, responded to this review, July 23, 2014
PlannerGreek,

Thank you very much for taking the time to write a review of our hotel! I truly appreciate your feedback and am very pleased to see that you had a great experience with us. We hope that whenever you return to the beautiful San Diego area that you think of us!

Sincerely,
Dan Stenz
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2014

I would preface this review with the fact that I have stayed here before, several years ago and that's why I choose to stay here for a night while vacationing in San Diego.

Where to start... the room was just simply dirty and if the material quality of our room was representative of the current state of the other rooms, they really need to renovate this place. The attached pictures and their captions speak for themselves...

Sure, they took $50 off my bill, but I would have rather paid full price and had a better experience... If I was looking to save money by staying in a run-down room, I would have booked a night at the local motel 6 so I wouldn't have to haggle with the front desk for a credit to my bill at checkout to match the service I received at this specific Sheraton.

The best part, by far was that this room was marked as a SPG room... seriously?

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dan S, General Manager at Sheraton Mission Valley San Diego Hotel, responded to this review, July 22, 2014
Dear Eric C,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review regarding your recent visit to the Sheraton Mission Valley San Diego Hotel. We appreciate feedback from our guests regardless of its nature.

First and foremost, please allow me to apologize for the condition you found your guest room in during your stay. Certainly, a well-cleaned and sanitized guestroom is a standard expectation from any guest. I am sorry that your experience was quite the opposite.

I have addressed this situation with both our Executive Housekeeper and Chief Engineer and ask that they implement action steps with their staffs to avoid this situation with future guests.

I realize that you may be hesitant to return to our hotel, however, we would certainly like another opportunity to restore your good faith in our hotel on a future visit to San Diego. Please contact me directly and I will be happy to make your arrangements personally including inspecting your assigned guest room to make sure it is clean and everything is in perfect working order. Again, thank you for letting us know of your concerns and for the opportunity to improve our guests’ experience.

Sincerely,
Dan Stenz
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2014

Front desk staff was top quality. Common areas nicely done. Seemed to always wait for an elevator. Probably situational above any other cause. Room was nice. Stayed in a front (road facing) room. Road noise was always there, but tollerable. This hotel delivers what it says it will deliver; comfortable stay in San Diego for an average price. Nice.

Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheraton M, General Manager at Sheraton Mission Valley San Diego Hotel, responded to this review, July 8, 2014
First and Foremost thank you so much for writing a review of our hotel. We appreciate all kinds of feedback regardless of its nature. We are very pleased to know you enjoyed your stay with us. We do hope to see you again in the future for another visit to beautiful San Diego.

Sincerely,
Dan Stenz
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St Helens, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2014

This hotel was picked for us by our travel agent, and at first we were a bit disappointed. Its basically a business hotel on a road with many other hotels and businesses catering for those who aren't in town for long. It has very easy access to the I-8 so is good for getting to other parts of San Diego quickly - but otherwise is nothing special. We did get wifi thrown in (usually $10 a night) - I think the girl on reception took pity on us as we had just driven in from the airport and, as it was our first drive on US roads, it had terrified us! - so that was a bonus. But otherwise, don' expect anything fancy. Rooms were OK, clean, reasonable size - and the staff responded quickly to my request for a hairdryer (which should have already been in the room) but otherwise, just another chain hotel.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheraton M, General Manager at Sheraton Mission Valley San Diego Hotel, responded to this review, July 8, 2014
First and foremost thank you so much for writing a review of our hotel. We appreciate all kinds of feedback regardless of its nature. Our location is very special and unique to us as we are very centrally located and connected to all of San Diego's local attractions and beaches. We hope to have you stay with us again sometime in the near future. Enjoy the rest of your summer and we hope to see you back in the US again for another trip!

Sincerely,
Dan Stenz
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Top Contributor
95 reviews 95 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
55 helpful votes 55 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2014

Done well
- good food at the restaurant
- good free wifi although the SPG website states for a FEE
- upgraded room to some degree to an acceptable level
- Big hotel
- kind of close to downtown and attraction if you don't want to live right in downtown

Do Better
- poorly maintain swimming pool and hot tub (too much leaves and bushes, insect) that will prevent you to jump in
- Parking is not free which I don't understand, there is nothing really around it, normally, downtown area hotel would charge.
- POOR attention despite the front desk acknowledged few things I have reported which are
a) water tank leaking which was causing every 30 secs tank refill - noise to prevent you sleeping
b) Fridge door could not be closed which means the drink would not the cold
c) window did not close properly which might prevent you to sleep if there was noise.
FRONT DESK are not consistent, one shown interested in your concern, the other at another time, has no reaction after you reported your concern.

Room Tip: - if you like to swimming, this is not a hotel can offer you, see my experience above - WIFI is fre...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheraton M, General Manager at Sheraton Mission Valley San Diego Hotel, responded to this review, July 8, 2014
First and Foremost thank you so much for writing a review of our hotel. We appreciate all kinds of feedback regardless of its nature. We do apologize for the experience you had while staying with us. Our Engineering department and Front Office have all been notified of your experience and letting you down is the last thing we wanted to do. The issues mentioned about your room and service have been addressed and we are taking action responsibly. Your loyalty is very much so appreciated and we do hope to get a second chance to have you back with us.

Sincerely,

Dan Stenz
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2014

Positives Good Rooms, Hygienic, Comfortable, Courteous and Helping Staff, Taxis available on call.
Negatives Nothing in vicinity, Mission Valley Malls/ Trolley Station are a good fifteen minutes walk with four roads to cross, Basic Breakfast with limited sitting the room tends to get overcrowded frequently.

Room Tip: Stay if you have any business around the location
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheraton M, Club Manager at Sheraton Mission Valley San Diego Hotel, responded to this review, July 5, 2014
First and foremost, we would like to thank you so much for taking the time to write a review of our hotel. We truly appreciate your feedback. Being so close to all of our local attractions, restaurants and malls is what makes our hotel so unique and special. We do understand your feelings about walking to our Mall and Trolley station, however we are always more than willing to help set up a Taxi or any form of transportation to help you get around to anywhere you need to go no matter the distance. We are so happy to see that you enjoyed your stay. Enjoy your summer and we hope to see you back here again real soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Sheraton Mission Valley San Diego Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sheraton Mission Valley San Diego Hotel

Address: 1433 Camino Del Rio South, San Diego, CA 92108
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Diego > Mission Valley / Hotel Circle
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #136 of 271 Hotels in San Diego
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Sheraton Mission Valley San Diego Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 260
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Sheraton Mission Valley San Diego Hotel. Whether it is our comforting amenities, caring service, and spacious guest rooms, you're sure to enjoy your stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Starwood, Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline, AAA Travel Services, Cheap Tickets, BookIt.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Sheraton Mission Valley San Diego Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sheraton San Diego Hotel, Mission Valley Hotel San Diego
San Diego Sheraton

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sheraton Mission Valley San Diego Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.