We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Scary Parking” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Doubletree Hotel San Diego Downtown

Save Saved
You added Doubletree Hotel San Diego Downtown to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Doubletree Hotel San Diego Downtown
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   1646 Front Street, San Diego, CA 92101 (Formerly Radisson Hotel Harbor View) (Downtown)   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
2X Points Package!
Ranked #153 of 270 Hotels in San Diego
Orange, California
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Scary Parking”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2014

My first impression of this hotel was experiencing the parking garage. There are warning that there are narrow turns and they were not kidding. I could barely drive my car in. And once I was in, the parking spaces were built for compact cars. Not good when you are traveling with a family in a SUV. Check in was great. Because I'm a Hilton Honors member, they upgraded us to a Jr Suite. The room was good for 2 Adults and 2 teens. The kids had a TV in the living area with a pull-out bed. The bed was nicely made and ready for them. The suite was very spacious so no complaints there. But I was not happy with the bathroom. We had a large, jet-type tube with a shower head hanging from the ceiling above going directly into the tub. The tub was very large and very difficult to get into. And there was no shower curtain so there was lots of water on the floor after 4 people using the shower. The sink was very tiny...and just one sink for a Jr Suite? But that gave us lots of storage space on the counter. Because we were only staying one night, this hotel was fine for us. I've stayed at better DoubleTrees. If we had to stay longer, I think the bathroom situation would have bothered me more.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

635 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    150
    209
    160
    67
    49
See reviews for
112
139
45
248
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (120)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Tulare, United States
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2014

This was our first time to this Hotel and Loved it!! Our daughter was getting engaged at PETCO park and your hotel was in a great location to the park and restaurants. Located just off the freeway gave us easy access.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2014

We had made a reservation to have the shuttle take us to the airport at a designated time. We were in the lobby on time, checked in, and were told the van was running a little late and it would be there shortly. After a brief wait, the personnel there realized we were still waiting, secured and paid for a cab to take us to the airport. Way to go Double Tree! Thank you!

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Top Contributor
114 reviews 114 reviews
114 hotel reviews
Reviews in 83 cities Reviews in 83 cities
110 helpful votes 110 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2014

This hotel represented probably the best downtown chain hotel price I could find at short notice... But I discovered why on getting there. Half the rooms have a delightful view of the I-5 highway, making a constant noise 24/7. Most hotels overlooking highways I've met have had considerably better noise protection than this.

Bed was comfortable, room large, facilities good, decor pleasant, staff reasonably friendly and lifts not overcrowded. So on all those metrics a good hotel.

But - oh, the noise. Sorry Hilton, only 3 stars.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Parker, CO
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2014

The staff is very friendly and the hotel is located two blocks from the Maritime Museum and a new playground with a splash pool for the kids. You also have a nice view of the airplanes landing from your room depending on the side they put you on. There is a nice pool on the roof top but it was not heated past 75 if that. Parking is very tight in the structure so I would recommend not parking here if you have a big truck. The staff is awesome as well.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2014

Great location, and nice hotel to stay at. Very comfortable beds. Overlooking Harbor, close location to many places and airport. The pool area is great with comfortable lounge chairs, also over looking the harbor.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SYR, United States
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2014

Nice Hotel with a great location. Just minutes away from Little Italy and about 10 minutes by foot from the harbor. Great fitness room with Sauna. Plus a pool and hot tub with a fantastic view of the city, the harbor and Coronado.. Nice and comfortable beds and the room was very clean. About 5-10 minutes away from the airport..

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Doubletree Hotel San Diego Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Doubletree Hotel San Diego Downtown

Address: 1646 Front Street, San Diego, CA 92101 (Formerly Radisson Hotel Harbor View)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Diego > Downtown , Little Italy
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #153 of 270 Hotels in San Diego
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Doubletree Hotel San Diego Downtown 3.5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, Expedia, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Tingo, BookIt.com, Hilton Hotels, Agoda, Hotels.com and Odigeo so you can book your Doubletree Hotel San Diego Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Doubletree San Diego
San Diego Doubletree

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Doubletree Hotel San Diego Downtown, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.