We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very loud hotel on weekend” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Doubletree Hotel San Diego Downtown

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Doubletree Hotel San Diego Downtown to your Saves list
Doubletree Hotel San Diego Downtown
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   1646 Front Street, San Diego, CA 92101 (Formerly Radisson Hotel Harbor View) (Downtown)   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
2X Points Package
Ranked #146 of 270 Hotels in San Diego
Firestone, Colorado
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Very loud hotel on weekend”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2014

The hotel is updated an nice. The rooms are clean and comfortable. The only issue on the weekend is there were a lot of younger people having parties in their rooms/going out (were we in Vegas?). The walls are very thin so it was extremely loud trying to sleep. Especially after everyone started coming back (drunk) around 2am. Not a good 2 nights of sleep! Parking garage is expensive $25/night and very tight, make sure you have a small car if expecting to park there.

Stayed February 2014, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

791 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    201
    254
    198
    82
    56
See reviews for
149
174
51
314
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (149)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Mundelein, United States
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2014

Great stay - just one night. But upgraded me to a suite. Very sweet! (I am a Hilton Honors Member.) Wonderful location - walk to GasLamp District. Warm cookies when I arrived! Yum. Breakfast the next morning was great - cooked to serve omelet.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palmdale, United States
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 7, 2014

I typically love to stay at the Double Tree, but the front desk clerk was unfriendly. He told me the pools closed sooner than was true and he wouldn't call my company to authorize the company card authorization so i had to use my own card. Then wouldn't give a detailed receipt for my reimbursement. Definitely not for business stays.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
joanieclapper, Guest Relations Manager at Doubletree Hotel San Diego Downtown, responded to this review, February 11, 2014
Dear Katlin,

We’re sorry we didn’t provide the high quality of services you deserve. This is not typical of our hotel and staff, and we have addressed the issues you mentioned.
We try to make each guest experience a great one at our hotel and your satisfaction is important to us.
Thank you again for your feedback and we hope you’ll give us another opportunity soon to make your stay the best it can be.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
san francisco, United States
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 5, 2014

The hotel was nice. I had a hard time getting my car parked because there wasn't an attendant on hand and ended up going inside to ask while I checked in. The complimentary cookies were yummy and the front desk staff helpful. The room was clean and well kept. Overall, nice hotel.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lorton, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 4, 2014

Awesome Location (Little Italy). There are lots of restaurants (awesome food) and boutiques within walking distance. The Gas Lamp District is a $5.00 cab ride away. Ask for a room overlooking the pool (you can see the bay).

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Island Height, NJ
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 1, 2014

Stayed at this hotel for business,the staff is helpful but some could not be bothered. The restaurant for breakfast was good staff was wonderful. The one thing that could be improved is the shuttle,it foes not start until 5am and many east coast flights start at 6am having the guests pay for a taxi. The other thing is the shuttles sit all day it would nice to use the shuttles to transport guests to the convention center. The rooms are a little tired, needing paint and new carpet.
I used my tea bags the first night and they were never replaced for the remaining three nights of my stay.
The neighborhood is a little on the sketchy side at night.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cheyenne, Wyoming
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 31, 2014

The drain and sewer had a venting problem that would wake you up at 3am. We were told the shuttle to the airport runs at anytime. That didn't happen. Ot only runs between 530
and 11pm so no red eye flight unless you take a cab.

  • Stayed January 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Doubletree Hotel San Diego Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Doubletree Hotel San Diego Downtown

Address: 1646 Front Street, San Diego, CA 92101 (Formerly Radisson Hotel Harbor View)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Diego > Downtown , Little Italy
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #146 of 270 Hotels in San Diego
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Doubletree Hotel San Diego Downtown 3.5*
Number of rooms: 333
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hilton Hotels, BookIt.com, Cheap Tickets, HotelTravel.com, Orbitz, Priceline and Hotels.com so you can book your Doubletree Hotel San Diego Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Doubletree San Diego
San Diego Doubletree

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Doubletree Hotel San Diego Downtown, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.