We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Business” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Doubletree Hotel San Diego Downtown

Save Saved
You added Doubletree Hotel San Diego Downtown to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Doubletree Hotel San Diego Downtown
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   1646 Front Street, San Diego, CA 92101 (Formerly Radisson Hotel Harbor View) (Downtown)   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
2X Points Package!
Ranked #159 of 269 hotels in San Diego
Sacramento, California, United States
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Business”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2013

The facility was clean and well kept. Ask for a room facing the city. The lights at night make for a beautiful view, if your on a high floor. You can walk to Little Italy for dinner or down to the ocean for fish and chips at Anthony's. For a person traveling alone I felt safe walking around town.

Room Tip: High floor facing the city with a view is best. Some rooms have small balconies you can walk out on...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

580 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    133
    192
    146
    62
    47
See reviews for
96
127
42
226
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (109)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Hong Kong, China
Top Contributor
133 reviews 133 reviews
127 hotel reviews
Reviews in 62 cities Reviews in 62 cities
69 helpful votes 69 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2013

Stay in this hotel for about a week because of a meeting near-by.

Though there are complaints regarding the noise in some of the previous reports, I do not suffer any problem (my room is at 17/F).

Regarding the services of the hotel, it's overall fairly good. Check-in is efficient and I love the chocolate cookie! The Wi-Fi connectivity is good - I do try the wire connection but, surprisingly, I find that the wireless connection is faster! The hotel room is nice and you do have all amenities required for your stay. No complaint about the buffer breakfast 'cause it is complimentary to me because of my Gold membership. The fitness room is small but it has enough equipments to enjoy a good workout.

The two drawbacks that I can mention are (1) there is no safe box inside the room; and (2) the hotel would not provide my a receipt because of my advanced-payment package.

Room Tip: 1. Remember to call the hotel for airport shuttle service! 2. It's a 5-10minutes walk betwe...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Roanoke, Virginia
Top Contributor
156 reviews 156 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 54 cities Reviews in 54 cities
66 helpful votes 66 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 8, 2013

I found this hotel average at best and perhaps somewhat below average for Doubletree standards. The young lady at the Check-In counter was kind enough to accommodate my early arrival. However it was then that I was cautioned about the ongoing repainting of some halls and about the scheduled three hour period when all hot water would be shut off; too bad for me that the lack of hot water coincided with interest in taking a post run shower. The hotel location had the plus of being close enough to Balboa Park and to the waterfront to allow for a couple of enjoyable runs. However the location also overlooked an interstate and flight path to the airport; noise was constant. My room showed signs of wear and need for service. Skuff and chip marks were evident on furniture and in the bathroom; a waste container had not ben emptied of trash.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anchorage, Alaska
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 7, 2013

The customer service was very poor as the staff members were distracted and inattentive to customer service. They charge $25.00 per night for parking, even to Diamond members, and then has a contract garage service issues out warning letters to all in the parking lot, even if you have a ticket that permits you to park there. The hotel allows rude guest who makes loud noise all night long and does nothing to control this poor behavior. The GM, Rita, is slow to respond to customer needs, and then will do nothing to remedy the situation, nor compensate you for the poor service that you receive. This is the worst Hilton property I have ever stayed at, period!

Room Tip: Dont stay here! There are plenty of other, more value added Hilton properties to choose from.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Annapolis, Maryland
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 6, 2013

I stayed for a week at a conference my company held at the hotel. The location is great, close to Little Italy and the airport (the airport could be a con, the noise isn't too bad). The staff was good, not great. It's a hotel heavily used by the airline industry for overnight stays for airline staff. The room was clean and neat.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 6, 2013

I stayed here while attending a conference at another downtown hotel. I always enjoy DoubleTree hotels, and this one had the added advantages of being easily accessible to the light rail system, and, more importantly, providing an excellent value. I was pleasantly surprised upon arrival to be given vouchers for the hotel's full breakfast buffet. This added significantly to the value of my purchase. The hotel was quiet, clean, and comfortable, and the people were great. I would stay here again.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 5, 2013

Stayed for two days in February 2013. The location is good, next to Little Italy, but the biggest issue was the indifference of front desk staff who barely want to provide a service. I actually complained to management who called me back but then failed to return other calls.

The hotel is respectable enough but there's plenty enough choice in San Diego to choose an alternative,

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled solo
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
joanieclapper, Guest Relations Manager at Doubletree Hotel San Diego Downtown, responded to this review, March 7, 2013
Dear Traveller21-7,

Thank you for taking the time to send us a review. We’re very sorry your experience at our property wasn't up to our usual high standards. Please know that we've addressed the problems you mentioned as with the level of service you received during your stay.
Our sincerest apologies again and thank you for alerting us to this issue. We hope you’ll give us another chance if you return to our area.

DoubleTree by Hilton San Diego Downtown
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Doubletree Hotel San Diego Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Doubletree Hotel San Diego Downtown

Address: 1646 Front Street, San Diego, CA 92101 (Formerly Radisson Hotel Harbor View)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Diego > Downtown , Little Italy
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #159 of 269 hotels in San Diego
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Doubletree Hotel San Diego Downtown 3.5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Priceline, Booking.com, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Tingo, Travelocity, getaroom.com, Hilton Hotels, BookingOdigeoWL, Hotels.com, Agoda and Venere so you can book your Doubletree Hotel San Diego Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Doubletree San Diego
San Diego Doubletree

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Doubletree Hotel San Diego Downtown, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.