We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Sad :(” 2 of 5 stars
Review of The Consulate Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added The Consulate Hotel to your Saves list
The Consulate Hotel
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   2901 Nimitz Blvd, San Diego, CA 92106 (Formerly Quality Inn Airport SeaWorld Area)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #242 of 271 Hotels in San Diego
Southern California
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Sad :(”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2013

This hotel is close to SeaWorld and the harbor and beaches. It's showing its age everywhere, but clean. Bed was advertised as queen, but was a double. No real breakfast currently, just a small thing of Danish's. In the evening at the pool we asked them to make more coffee in the lobby because it was empty and the front desk persons said "you can go up to your room and make coffee" RUDE! The rooms were quiet except for the elevator noise, which we were next door.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

101 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    4
    14
    11
    21
    51
See reviews for
30
15
9
19
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2 of 5 stars
  • Service
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    2.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sioux City, Iowa
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2013

We left a Quality Inn in Anaheim and made a trip to San Diego to visit Sea World. We stayed at this Quality Inn. I did not like it and would not recommend it. You must pay $10 per night to park, which is ridiculous. Also, there is no continental breakfast. The hotel looks nice from the lobby, but once you get to your room it is not good. The room needs updating and does not have a fridge or microwave. You do hear traffic and airplanes at night as well. I will not stay at this hotel again. Also, we did receive a military discount at Anaheim, but when I asked at this quality inn they said no. The staff at the desk seemed like I was inconveinencing them to even check in. No good...

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Paul
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 21, 2013

I was really worried about this hotel after reading other reviews. We just needed a place to sleep after a very late arrival in San Diego. We used our points to get the room for free, otherwise I would not want to pay more than $50. The location is very convenient from the airport, and the front desk staff are very nice and helpful. It is pretty noisy, especially with the bar there. It is best to get a room away from the bar area, unless you are there to party. We were on the 6th floor, so it was pretty quiet (except for traffic and airport noise). The rooms are pretty small. We had a double with a rollaway, and it was pretty tight. I would not recommend this hotel if you are staying more than 1 night, or if you have young children. There is a $10 parking fee, and a $11 rollaway fee that is not disclosed until check out, and they do not serve breakfast, although they had coffee and pastries in the lobby.

Room Tip: Unless you are there to party, try to get a room far away from the bar.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Co
1 review
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2013

I chose this hotel because I thought it was a good rate (at the time) and it was close to the airport. I learned my lesson about not reading the small print and assuming. After you check in they inform you that there will be a $10 per day fee to park your car on their property. There is also NOT a continental breakfast! No business center or computer to print out your boarding pass and the hot tub was not even hot! Terrible!

Room Tip: Don't stay here!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ocoee, Florida
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013

If you are on vacation, do not choose this hotel. I chose it because I was on business and it was close to the airport and work locations that I was visiting. I stayed for 6 nights.

It has a bed, shower, internet, cable TV and ironing board. That's it.

The hotel is dated with 1990's carpet and décor. Room felt dirty, even though housekeeping came in every day. There's some shady characters staying there. It reminded me of a section 8 hotel. I could be wrong about that...just instinct. There's a bar called Riley's attached to the property. Seeded like they had karaoke every night. Anyone in the bar (locals) had access to the hotel. This made me a bit uneasy that they could get up to my floor. No security guards were visible at all.

I ate at Denny's (next door) for breakfast every morning. There's a McD's and Arby's within walking distance...not too healthy. Definitely rent a car to get around.

There's a pool onsite, but nobody was ever in it or near it...the weather was around 70 though. If you are desperate, a couple nights won't kill you, and it seems like they were never above 10% capacity judging by the cars in the small parking lot

Room Tip: Stay on top floors away from the Bar. Hopefully non of the patrons will sneak up that high.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, TX
Top Contributor
89 reviews 89 reviews
80 hotel reviews
Reviews in 48 cities Reviews in 48 cities
107 helpful votes 107 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2012

This hotel is close to the SAN airport and SeaWorld area and the hotel was ok for a single night, that's about the best I can say.

I had a pre-paid reservation but when I arrived as with most Choice Hotels, They wanted to charge me and were surprised when they saw it was pre-paid. They also said there was a balance due for some reason and they CHARGE for parking, just an FYI.

The club in the lobby/bottom floor is a bit noisy. Staying on the 6th floor and we could still hear the club noise. The hotel was comfy and somewhat clean. I would most likely NOT return on the next visit to San Diego

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2012 via mobile

This was one of the worst "hotels" I've ever stayed at. The rooms were not clean, the bathroom had hair in sink and tub, and the location is bad. There was no breakfast and the parking is in a seedy looking garage that appears to be a prime location for drug deals. Choice Hotels just lost a good customer.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to The Consulate Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Consulate Hotel

Address: 2901 Nimitz Blvd, San Diego, CA 92106 (Formerly Quality Inn Airport SeaWorld Area)
Location: United States > California > San Diego
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #242 of 271 Hotels in San Diego
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — The Consulate Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 110
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are located in the heart of Point Loma near many great attractions. We have over 100 rooms some suites that have a Harbor View. We have Free WiFi and all the room amenities. Shuttle service and underground parking is available. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, Hotels.com, BookIt.com, Agoda, Travelocity, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your The Consulate Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Quality Inn Airport Seaworld Area Hotel San Diego
San Diego Quality Inn
Quality Inn San Diego

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Consulate Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.