We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Old Reworked Hotel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Inn at the Park

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Inn at the Park to your Saves list
Inn at the Park
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   525 Spruce Street, San Diego, CA 92103 (Formerly Park Manor Suites)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Holiday Sale - 25% Off
Ranked #93 of 271 Hotels in San Diego
GreenLeadersBronze level
Gilbert, Arizona
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Old Reworked Hotel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2014 via mobile

Nice and clean. Just accross from Balboa Park and the kids play area. Currently being remodeled. Parking on premi seas es is $15 per night. No swimming pool nor restaurant. Otherwise not a bad place to stay.

Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jeff O, Front Office Manager at Inn at the Park, responded to this review, June 23, 2014
Ed:
Thank you for the kind words. I will be sure to share these with our staff. I am glad to hear you enjoyed your stay. I am also pleased to hear that you enjoyed the location of Inn at the Park and your family enjoyed Balboa Park. Again, thank you for reaching out and we look forward to your next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

410 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    145
    169
    50
    19
    27
See reviews for
104
140
28
42
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (94)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Naples, Florida
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2014

The spacious well-appointed rooms are very nice. However, all the staff I encountered seemed to have a 'could care less' attitude. Not warm, not welcoming, not efficient. From a repetitious answer to my request for an early check-in ('Check-in is not until 4 pm', and 'I'm sorry' was not part of that answer...) to a loud knock on my door from a housekeeping person when I had a 'do not disturb' sign on my door, it was all a bit too casual and careless for me. I find the lack of public spaces such as a restaurant of bar also a disadvantage. However it is a great location near Balboa Park.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jeff O, Front Office Manager at Inn at the Park, responded to this review, June 13, 2014
2011ford:
I am disappointed to hear your interaction with the resort staff did not meet your expectations, as this is not part of the Count On Me service we take pride in at Wyndham. It is imperative that our guests and owners are treated well. Please be assured that i will be revieiwing the importance of the Count on Me culture with all team members. I am pleased to hear you enjoyed the room and the location of Inn at the Park. Thank you again for taking the time to share your experience.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cork, Ireland
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2014

We've stayed here twice as Shell Vacation Club owners. The first time in February 2014 and then May 2014. This is a quaint old hotel that has has quite a bit of renovation but still needs more. We loved the proximity to the park, zoo, etc. so it was ideal. The restaurant is still not open which is a disappointment but there is a small kitchen & some great restaurants nearby.

Getting luggage up the entry steps can be a challenge but not too hard. The hallways still smell quite musty so I hope they work on this. The decor was not what I would choose but it's comfy, clean & roomy.

Parking is only available via valet parking but it is worth the charge. All staff were very friendly & very helpful.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jeff O, Front Office Manager at Inn at the Park, responded to this review, June 13, 2014
kjh47:
Thank you for being Shell Vacations Club owners and thank you for this great feedback. This will allow us to continue to enhance the vacation experience at our resort. I am glad to read that you took full advantage of the location of Inn at the Park, visiting park and the Zoo. It is also nice to read that you experienced the Count on Me culture that is so important to us as a company, by our team being friendly and helpful. Thank you again for your feedback and we look forward to your return visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palm Desert
Top Contributor
79 reviews 79 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2014

This place it seems is a timeshare. Our friends had reserved a room for the weekend but had to back out so they asked if we wanted the room.

There are 82 studio, one and two bedroom units. Each decorated differently.

Our room faced Balboa Park. Very nice view. Big room. Small kitchen area. Huge bathroom.

I look forward to returning soon.

Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jeff O, Front Office Manager at Inn at the Park, responded to this review, June 13, 2014
Mark:
Thank you for the glowing review of your most recent visit to Inn at the Park. It is always a pleasure to hear that you enjoyed one of our one bedroom suites and your overall experience was "a nice suprise". We look forward to your return visit soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2014

You can do San Diego a lot of ways: Mission Bay, La Jolla, Imperial Beach, Gaslamp, etc. For us, the 2 or 3 night stay at Inn at the Park is perfect. We're not beach people any more, but can drive up north for a beach hike if we like. Otherwise, getting up in the morning at Inn at the Park, making fresh coffee in the small kitchen, enjoying fresh fruit we stocked up on, and then rambling over to Balboa Park to get lost for several hours is perfect relaxation. If you want to do the Old Globe, it's right there too. The studio/kitchenette rooms are very spacious for 2 people and considering what you get, and the location, a super deal. Kitchens new, clean and functional. Baths clean, functional and kind of fun, with the retro tile, big glass enclosure and big window. Walk in closets! Yes, it is an older place and feels that way sometimes, but who cares? The staff is nice (if not especially knowledgeable about local dining) and professional. You can park on the street for free overnight -- an incredible benefit, in my view. Hillcrest, North Park, India Street, Old Town, just minutes away and absolutely packed with restaurants and bars, all with competitive happy hours. I say, Viva San Diego, Viva Inn at the Park!

Room Tip: Studios are a great deal but the one bedroom kitchenettes don't cost much more and they have bal...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jeff O, Front Office Manager at Inn at the Park, responded to this review, June 4, 2014
James:
Thank you for taking the time to let us know of your recent visit to Inn at the Park. We are delighted to hear that we scored two thumbs up on your review. I will be sure to share your comments with the team. I am pleased that from the fully stocked kitchen to the cleanliness of your suite to the location of Inn at the Park, we exceeded your expecations. Viva Inn at the Park! Thank you again and we look forward to your return visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2014

Upscale redecorated hotel turned timeshare. Room are very comfortable, spacious, like mini apartments with nice kitchen facilities. Can't park at hotel without extra fee, unfortunate. And they try and get you to sign up for timeshare. But if you can get past that, it's a great location right near Balboa Park, close to downtown and good eating places in Hillcrest area. Overall, very enjoyable.

Room Tip: Higher rooms have good views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jeff O, Front Office Manager at Inn at the Park, responded to this review, June 4, 2014
Thank you Martin for the kind words. We will be sure to share these with our staff. We are glad to hear that you overall enjoyed your stay. We are pleased to hear that our suites were comfortable and you enjoyed the location of Inn at the Park. Again, thank you for your feedback and we look forward to your next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2014

1. Friendly desk staff
2. Friendly concierge staff
3. Not so friendly (one) valet person who antagonized one of our guests and we had to ask him
to step away from us at the front desk
4. The complimentary coffee turned my parents tongues black for three days (we laughed but
reported and took pictures
5. Rooms definitely exceeded our expectations
6. Across the street from Balboa park and University ave 4-5 blocks where you will find many
restaurants, boutiques, groceries
7. Close to the LGBTQ area
8. Concierge found us a van rental and had them pick us up at the hotel
9. Central location to all freeways for activities
10. Front entrance no one helps you with luggage and their are many steps and no way to roll luggage unless you go to the rear of the hotel but valet will tell you that it is for valet only and you can't park their to unload/load.
11. No gym under construction
12. No restaurant under construction even though advertised
13. No piano bar under construction even though advertised

Room Tip: Rooms are great......
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jeff O, Front Office Manager at Inn at the Park, responded to this review, May 3, 2014
Thank you for your feedback Lisa. This will allow us to continue to enhance the vacation experience at our resort. Please be assured that I will personally follow up on the challenges you encountered during your stay. I am also pleased to hear that overall the customer service met your expectations. Exceeding our guest and owners expectations is our continuted focus. We look forward to your return visit to Inn at the Park.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Inn at the Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Inn at the Park

Address: 525 Spruce Street, San Diego, CA 92103 (Formerly Park Manor Suites)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Diego
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#32 Green Hotel in San Diego
#65 Romantic Hotel in San Diego
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Inn at the Park 3*
Number of rooms: 80
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on the edge of Balboa Park and walking distance to the San Diego Zoo and the Old Globe Theatre it is a desirable starting point for your journey in this amazing city. When you stay with us make sure to try onsite dinning at our popular local restaurants, Inn at the Park Restaurant & Piano Bar and Top of the Park Penthouse Restaurant. At the Inn at the Park Restaurant you can experience creative Regional American Cuisine with a Southern California influence in an atmosphere reminiscent of a historic coastal inn. And when head up to the 7th floor Top of the Park Penthouse Restaurant you are served up San Diego's best panoramic views of the city, plus an extensive lunch menu featuring three daily signature quiche dishes and innovative salads. It also provides the perfect venue for weddings, events and meetings. Come see for yourself why Inn at the Park hotel is the perfect destination for your next California getaway. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, TravelClick, Expedia, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Inn at the Park reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Inn At The Park Hotel San Diego
Park Manor Hotel
Park Manor San Diego

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Inn at the Park, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.