We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely, and no need for a car” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Inn at the Park

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Inn at the Park to your Saves list
Inn at the Park
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   525 Spruce Street, San Diego, CA 92103 (Formerly Park Manor Suites)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Holiday Sale - 25% Off
Ranked #93 of 271 Hotels in San Diego
GreenLeadersBronze level
Melbourne, Australia
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
“Lovely, and no need for a car”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2014

This hotel was charming. The first thing we saw when we walked into the room were the beautiful metal-framed old French doors opening onto a balcony from which we could see water, the city and planes coming into land. Pretty much an apartment, it had a small but very well stocked kitchen (no oven) and dining area, a large lounge and separate bedroom with ensuite. The enormous couch fitted the four of us easily and folded down into two single beds.
Our 2 kids loved that they had their own TV. Amazing attention to detail with furnishings and décor in a quirky art deco style. We loved the foyer, lift and corridors which show the building's grace and age. Our room was serviced every day and we found nice touches like nicely folded towels.
Breakfast is on the top floor which has magnificent city views. We had the continental every morning which was more than enough: cereal, oats, yoghurt, sweet and English muffins, bagels, fruit, tea, coffee, hot chocolate and juice. Our breakfast guy (sorry, didn't get his name) knew our drink preferences by the second morning which was nice. Having Balboa Park across the road was lovely. The area is nice, quiet and safe.
We used public transport to get everywhere and it was convenient and easy. #3 gets you downtown and back with stops not far from the hotel. We went to SeaWorld one day, and interestingly it was quicker to head south to the Green trolley then to Old Town than to go north using the 3 buses recommended by the MTS trip planner. A cab from the airport was only about $11. Getting a bus pass was tricky as multi day passes are only sold in a few places, and not at the airport. We had to pay for a single trip to 5th and Broadway to walk to the Transit Store in order to buy a Compass card and pass.
As you can tell, we loved it here. Highly recommended.

Room Tip: Balcony rooms are worth the extra $$ -the higher, the better.
See more room tips
Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

409 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    145
    168
    50
    19
    27
See reviews for
104
140
28
42
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (94)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Brisbane, Australia
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2014

Older style hotel that has ben renovated beautifully. Although there are A LOT of mirrors!! The rooms are spacious, clean, comfortable and have everything you could possibly need. There is a park for kids to play at the end of the street. There is also a lot of public transport to get you almost anywhere. Other wise Balboa park (San Diego Zoo) is very close by if you need to catch a taxi I can't imagine it would cost too much. Even a taxi to Sea World was only $22!
This hotel is lovely and conveniently located to so many attractions, shops and restaurants. The only small negative would be the staff (while nice enough everything seemed to be a bit much for them. A quick trip to The Magic Castle Hotel would be a wake up call as to what a great hotel can offer! Not sure if this is a staff or management problem) However Jersey was lovely!!

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Westfield, New Jersey
Top Contributor
119 reviews 119 reviews
36 hotel reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
105 helpful votes 105 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2014

After staying for three days in a tiny room on the water in Ocean Beach, we were in shock over the size of our suite at the Inn (which was only $20.00/night more). Larger than most one bedroom apartments in NYC, there was a full kitchen with breakfast nook, a living room with a sofa that wouldn't fit into my house, a bedroom with a king bed and lots of closet and drawer space, AND a lovely bathroom with a walk-in shower. They had very kindly upgraded us to a suite with a balcony. Too cold the week we visited to sit out there reading, but I loved watching the sunset over the water to the right, and looking out at the park with the mountains beyond to the left. You could also see the planes landing at the airport. Although we mostly ate in restaurants, we enjoyed having the fridge for drinks and snacks, and a place to eat the stuff we bought from Evolution (around the corner).

The staff was wonderful, especially Vinny at the front desk. The location is perfect for visiting the zoo, gardens, and museums in Balboa Park, and it's a doable hike to the Gaslamp District to the south, and the shopping and movie theater to the north. We had no trouble finding free parking on the street.

I agree with some reviewers about the decor. It's definitely not to my taste. But with so many pluses...The Wi-Fi worked great, so my husband could surf the internet in the living room while I read in bed and then go to sleep before him. A very comfortable bed. I did not find street noise to be a problem, but you do hear people partying in the rooftop restaurant. The nights we were there, however, all was quiet by 11.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tucson
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2014

Well appointed, large rooms, but totally over-the-top decor and design. Over-the-top as in purple walls and gilded bed frame, mirrors at every turn and prints of old-fashioned cars. The lobby is shabby - a real turn off when you first enter. Good value for the price, but don't go expecting perfection.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York State
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2014

Stayed here with two teenage boys for recent vacation. Suite rooms with two pullout beds in living room worked very well for us. It was good to have a kitchen as well. Property is older and has been refurbished but shows its age in some places (carpets etc.). Our room had a small balcony overlooking the city and that was a great place to read or drink a cup of coffee in the morning.

Good location; walking distance to Balboa Park and to the zoo (maybe 15- 20 minutes). We enjoyed walking and running in the park. Residential neighborhood with some good restaurants within a few minutes walk on Fifth Avenue. We had a car, which we used to visit downtown locations so don't know about public transportation options.

Hotel had very good service, staff was very helpful and friendly, especially the valets for the cars. Wi-Fi was spotty during our stay, though the desk staff said there had been a problem that had been corrected. Overall, we thought this was a very good value.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia PA
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2013 via mobile

We were pleasantly surprised with our stay in San Diego. The room was large and clean, quiet. We could hear our young upstairs neighbors running around by 7 every morning. We loved running in Balboa park most mornings and the hotel was within walking distance of the museums and gardens. We were visiting family so we didn't walk around the hotel much, it seemed like a more residential area but I think a cab or car could get you easily to restaurants and bars. The hotel bar was lovely and the bar tender made a great martini. We were pleased with the hotel and location. We'll stay here again when in town. Check out Jimmy's Mexican restaurant across the street for great breakfast or lunch!

Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2013

Three years ago a good friend of mine and I came to San Diego over the Thanksgiving holiday and stayed at The Inn at the Park. It was prior to their renovations and we enjoyed it even then. However, three years later here we are again enjoying San Diego over the long Thanksgiving weekend and the hotel is AMAZING!! It's so nice!! I opted for a one bedroom suite without the balcony. It's SO roomy and wonderful. In fact, this is the same suite I was in the last time but the renovations are wonderful and the space is huge!! It's more than enough space to live here indefinitely if one needed too. There is more closet space than most apartments!

The service is great and everyone is super friendly. We went to the big, gay happy hour on Friday night up on the roof. It was REALLY fun and we met a lot of nice people. However, we heard that Wyndham has purchased this hotel and effective 1 January 2014 the happy hour on Friday's will be discontinued. My fear is that Wyndham is going to come in here and ruin the awesome boutique feeling this hotel currently has. It's a very European type hotel and I can't wait to come back. But, I'll be watching the reviews to ensure it doesn't turn into something less desirable once Wyndham gets going!

Room Tip: Opt for the one bedroom suite...you'll love it!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Inn at the Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Inn at the Park

Address: 525 Spruce Street, San Diego, CA 92103 (Formerly Park Manor Suites)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Diego
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#32 Green Hotel in San Diego
#65 Romantic Hotel in San Diego
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Inn at the Park 3*
Number of rooms: 80
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on the edge of Balboa Park and walking distance to the San Diego Zoo and the Old Globe Theatre it is a desirable starting point for your journey in this amazing city. When you stay with us make sure to try onsite dinning at our popular local restaurants, Inn at the Park Restaurant & Piano Bar and Top of the Park Penthouse Restaurant. At the Inn at the Park Restaurant you can experience creative Regional American Cuisine with a Southern California influence in an atmosphere reminiscent of a historic coastal inn. And when head up to the 7th floor Top of the Park Penthouse Restaurant you are served up San Diego's best panoramic views of the city, plus an extensive lunch menu featuring three daily signature quiche dishes and innovative salads. It also provides the perfect venue for weddings, events and meetings. Come see for yourself why Inn at the Park hotel is the perfect destination for your next California getaway. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, TravelClick, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Inn at the Park reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Inn At The Park Hotel San Diego
Park Manor Hotel
Park Manor San Diego

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Inn at the Park, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.