We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best Hotel for the Money” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Old Town Inn

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Old Town Inn to your Saves list
Old Town Inn
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   4444 Pacific Highway, San Diego, CA 92110   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #20 of 270 Hotels in San Diego
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Salem, Oregon
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Best Hotel for the Money”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2009

I stayed here two different times and was very impressed. My rooms were immaculate and the staff was exceptionally helpful and friendly. The hotel is located in an industrial area, so, if you are without a car, any shopping or restaurants within walking distance is limited to Old Town. However, the trolley stop is just a block from the hotel, and you can easily get to downtown restaurants or other attractions in San Diego. The trolley also goes to the border. I read a previous comment about the hotel being in an unsafe area. However, I'm a 74 year old woman, and I felt no qualms about walking alone to and from the trolley or Old Town. I plan to stay here again whenever I'm in San Diego.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,299 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    714
    440
    105
    25
    15
See reviews for
423
436
64
73
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (174)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Yellowknife, NWT
Top Contributor
160 reviews 160 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 64 cities Reviews in 64 cities
74 helpful votes 74 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2009

We stayed at Old Town Inn with our two children. They appreciated the pool and the wide selection of free DVD's that they could watch in the in-room DVD player.

We appreciated the great breakfasts, and the fabulous service by the staff. Anna and others at the front desk could not have been more helpful. They arranged van cabs for us, got us tickets to the places we wanted to go, and gave us directions to good restaurants.

Our only quibble was that the hide a bed that our kids slept on could have used a better mattress.

When we return to San Diego, we will definitely return to the Old Town Inn.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hampshire, United Kingdon
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2009

Stayed two nights here. Location close to Seaworld and room big enough for five but it just smelt. The first night it smelt of maybe damp, but the second night it smelt revolting of cats wee - don't know what it was. Smell did lessen after turning air conditioning on for a while but it was too late and we were too tired to change rooms

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Texas
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2009

Traveling with young children, this hotel had everything we needed--great complimentary breakfast, including making your own waffels which the kids enjoyed. The bathroom and room were really clean and the service excellent. They had a great variety of movies you could borrow at no charge (lots of kids movies). The swimming pool was a great size for children...we really enjoyed the pool. I would highly recommend this hotel; it is reasonablely priced, very clean, and the staff friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Weston super Mare, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2009

Nice hotel very close to old town and seaworld, pool area was much appreciated and was heated .Breakfast was good enough to keep you going till lunch.My only quibble would be the rooms are awfully dark and the energy efficient bulbs dont emit a huge amount of light .

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PA
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2009

I recently stayed at the Old Town while I was visiting my father last week. I have nothing but nice things to say. Each room is equipped with a DVD player and the lobby has a surprisingly diverse selection of films. The heated pool is warm and refreshing. I highly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2009

We went to San Diego twice in the last year to go to Seaworld, we stayed here both times. Once we had a car, the other time we did not and took the local transit.

We walked down to Old Town on our first night both times and had dinner at Berta's on recommendation from a local. What a wonderful restaurant, small, and cozy, fantastic food and service.

The next day, we walked to the transit area and took the bus to Sea World, the next time we went ~ the following Oct. We decided to take our rental car and pay to park in the parking lot at SW -- Bus is pretty handy to the motel (About 5 mins walk) and drops you at the front door to SW, I would use it for sure with no hesitation if we were in San Diego again.

We enjoyed sitting around the pool having our breakfast each morning and planning our day. We used our laptop and got free HS internet at the pool and in the breakfast area.

The pool is not huge, but certainly does the trick, we enjoyed the foliage around the pool and watching the hummingbirds. There is also a bbq that you can use on premise around the pool for your own cookouts.

My mother and her friends also stayed here overnight prior to a cruise and liked it as well.

I would stay here for sure and recommend it to others as a basic, clean and well situated property.

  • Stayed October 2008, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Old Town Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Old Town Inn

Address: 4444 Pacific Highway, San Diego, CA 92110
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Diego
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#19 Romantic Hotel in San Diego
#19 Family Hotel in San Diego
#48 Business Hotel in San Diego
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Old Town Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 73
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our rates reflect what we are, a modest AAA 2 Diamond property, family owned with a priority on customer service. Great central location, commercial pocket – we joke that we are nowhere but right next door to everywhere. Amenities include a complimentary expanded continental breakfast, free wireless internet and parking, and heated outdoor pool. Children 12 and under stay free. Pet friendly. We have a wide selection of room types, including large apartments with kitchens. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Old Town Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Old Town Hotel San Diego
Old Town Inn San Diego
Old Town San Diego

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Old Town Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.