We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beats any 4 star hotel!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Old Town Inn

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save Saved
You added Old Town Inn to your Saves list
Old Town Inn
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   4444 Pacific Highway, San Diego, CA 92110   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #23 of 270 Hotels in San Diego
California
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Beats any 4 star hotel!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2014

This was our first time staying at a 2 star hotel so I was nervous about what the hotel would be like. Let me tell you this place was amazing!! The staff was beyond friendly and really go out of there way for you. The rooms were very nice and clean. The pool was very clean. We never heard the people around us at night. Very quiet stay. Free parking!! Free breakfast!! My kids really enjoyed being able to go down to the lobby every night and pick 2 movies for free to watch in the room.And you can't beat there rates!! Also it's just a short walk from Old town. Will never stay any place else when visiting San Diego from now on.

  • Stayed July 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OTICustomerCare, Front Desk Agent at Old Town Inn, responded to this review, August 9, 2014
Dear Valued Guest-Thank you for sharing your wonderful review with our Trip Advisor community. We are a small hotel with a single-minded dedication with consistent service, quality and value. Thank you for giving us an opportunity to serve you, I’m glad our AAA 2 diamond hotel served all your needs and more!

Based on your review I believe you might have stayed in our Economy rooms, our cottages facing the pool area. Although our economy rooms are small and cute, on your next visit you may want to try one of our deluxe rooms. They are twice the size, and range from just a standard room with 2 queen beds to our lavish Jacuzzi Suite! Thank you for mentioning our beautiful pool, we also have a BBQ free for guest to use, perfect for families to grill during the summer, sit and chat with friends and best of all our pool is heated 80 degrees.

On your next visit, book directly with us by going to our website or by calling the front desk, we strive to offer the best personal service for our guest. Our philosophy is always to attempt to make our guest feel right at home. The entire staff strives to make your business or vacations complete, and it is our privilege to care for our guest while in our hotel, the Old Town Inn San Diego

It was a great pleasure to have had you as our guest, and we look forward to see you soon again in the near future.

* Book Direct with Us - For the Best Service, Selection, and Value! *

Yours in Hospitality,

Gilda P| Front Desk Agent
Old Town Inn
Visit our Hotel Website or Call Us at (800) 643-3025
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,204 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    659
    406
    99
    25
    15
See reviews for
385
399
57
70
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (155)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Shawnee
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2014

This is the place to stay in San Diego. Might seem odd to be in kinda an industrial area but this place is home. Right across the street from Old town so plenty to do and places to eat. The staff is great and the place is safe. The rooms are so comfortable we could have spent the day in the room. Rates are very nice for a big city add in the amenities and you have the best ever. Clean, comfortable, safe and close to everything. Definitely a come back place. We have stayed at lots of places around SD and this is the best.

Room Tip: any of the rooms are perfect we prefer ground floor and they accomadated us.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lis D, Customer Service at Old Town Inn, responded to this review, July 18, 2014
Dear Beverly S - Thank YOU for this review and thank you to all of our other guests who give us such wonderful reviews – you understand us! We are a modest, family-owned AAA 2-star rated hotel with a single-minded dedication to consistent service, quality, and value. Every single member of our team, from the owner, to the managers, to our front desk staff, to our housekeeping team, to our maintenance crew to our landscaper believes in this mission.

Many guests ask about our location, we are located in an industrial pocket, when we first started in the 1940’s, Pacific Hwy had a long line of motels that greeted guests who used this road as the main thoroughfare from Los Angeles and Orange County to Mexico! The benefit of our location is that you can easily and quickly get to many famous San Diego attractions, including a quick 10 minute walk to the center of Historic Old Town. The other positive is that we are so close to the Old Town Transit Center, which allows our guests to get around San Diego with ease if you decide to leave your car behind.

We encourage our future guests to do their research. We want our guests to be satisfied. We are not everyone’s cup of tea, however, we are rated highly by those who appreciate value, quality accommodations, cleanliness, and genuine hospitality.

Thank you again for your review! We hope to see you soon.

* Book Direct with Us - For the Best Service, Selection, and Value! *

Yours in Hospitality,

Lis | Customer Service
Old Town Inn
Visit our Hotel Website or Call Us at (800) 643-3025
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tracy, CA
Top Contributor
114 reviews 114 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 46 cities Reviews in 46 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2014

We chose this hotel because of the great reviews! Overall we had a great experience and will be returning as soon as we can.
One issue we had was that the person at the front desk couldn't make any changes without a manager. The first room we were assigned was right next to the driveway. This made me feel uncomfortable because I have small children so we asked to move. She had to contact the manager before she could help us out. We waited for about 45 minutes before she was given the go ahead to move us.
The 2nd issue was that the carpets in our new room were filthy. Our feet were black within a few minutes. We let the manager know the next morning and she did have the carpets cleaned for us while we were out that day.
The manager was willing to help us out and otherwise the stay was lovely! This is a great location to get to everything in San Diego, and with free parking, it was a great value as well.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OTICustomerCare, General Manager at Old Town Inn, responded to this review, July 17, 2014
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for choosing the Old Town Inn. We know you have many choices and we appreciate that you chose us! I am glad to hear that despite the issues you encountered you had a great experience during your stay with us. I apologize for the delay in moving you to another room, I realize that this is an area where we can improve and I will be working with my front desk staff to better handle similar situations. As for the carpet being dirty, I am very sorry. We take pride in our high level of cleanliness, I do apologize that we felt short in this instance. Thank you for notifying us of the issue and giving us the opportunity to rectify the problem.

The Old Town Inn is in a unique area for a hotel. We like to tell people that we are nowhere, but right next door to everywhere! I am glad to hear that you found our hotel to be well located to easily get to everything in San Diego. One of the best attractions, Historic Old Town State Park, is a quick 10 minute walk from the Old Town Inn!

As you mentioned, we do offer free parking (one space per room). During times when our hotel is the busiest, it may sometimes be a little challenging to maneuver the spaces. However, we do like the fact that we can offer this amenity to our guests free of charge, we know many hotels charge a daily fee.

Our goal is to exceed every guest’s expectation and when something goes wrong we do take it very seriously, I am glad you let us know of the issues you encountered and gave us the opportunity to fix them while you were here. We strive to offer the best personal service for our guests.

When making a future reservation, make sure to book directly with us by going to our website or calling our front desk. We have many room types that are not always available on our booking partners’ websites, for instance, we offer family suites that can sleep up to six people, with a separate bedroom, a living room and a kitchenette, great when traveling with the family.

Thank you for recommending us to the Trip Advisor community. We truly appreciate your compliments and feedback. It was a pleasure to have you and your family as our guests, and we hope to see you again soon.

* Book Direct with Us - For the Best Service, Selection, and Value! *

Yours in Hospitality,

Beatriz | General Manager
Old Town Inn
Visit our Hotel Website or Call Us at (800) 643-3025
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2014

As we drove to the hotel, I didn't think I would like the location it was a bit seedy however as we pulled in it completely surprised me. It's a little tucked in hideaway not too big not too small just right. Check in was nice and easy very clean, people were nice.
Extended Continental breakfast was great kid friendly. No problem at all, the only thing I will say is that the desk didn't mention the $100 refundable deposit at check in. Other than that a very pleasant stay for sure.

  • Stayed July 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OTICustomerCare, Front Desk Agent at Old Town Inn, responded to this review, July 17, 2014
Dear Cynthia P - Thank you for taking the time to write such a candid review about our hotel, and how pleased you were with your visit here at the Old Town Inn. I’m happy to hear that you were pleasantly surprised to find that we’re a clean, beautiful, and inviting hotel.

As you mentioned, our neighborhood is a little different, we are surrounded by a few larger industrial businesses, once you get past that, the majority of our guests realize how centrally located we are to most of San Diego’s major attractions. We get a lot of repeat guests due to our convenient location, our reasonable prices, our clean and comfortable rooms, and our consistent efforts to give the best service possible to all of our guests. We are a modest, AAA 2-star rated hotel with a single-minded dedication to consistent service, quality, and value. Every team member, from the owner, to the managers, to our housekeeping team, to our maintenance crew to our landscaper, we all take great pride in making sure our guests are taken care of.

In regards to the $100 refundable deposit, we only ask of this from our guests who are paying cash. It is to cover any incidentals that may come up. If there are none, then the complete deposit is given back upon check-out. If paying by credit card, a deposit is not required.

We are happy to know it was a great delight in your stay here at the Old Town Inn; I hope you and your family enjoyed a swim in our heated pool. We strive to offer the best personal service for our guests, if you return for another visit, be sure to book directly with us by going to our website or by calling the front desk. We have many room types that are not always available on our booking partners’ websites. Like some of our deluxe rooms that are equipped with mini-fridge and microwave or our rooms with kitchenettes.

Thank you for choosing to stay at the Old Town Inn and for the great review. We greatly appreciate your feedback, mostly it was a pleasure to have you as our guest, and we hope to see you again soon!

* Book Direct with Us - For the Best Service, Selection, and Value! *

Yours in Hospitality,

Mike | Front Desk Agent
Old Town Inn
Visit our Hotel Website or Call Us at (800) 643-3025
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2014

Great location, is truly in the middle of everything. Can find about any attraction within just about a 10 mile radius. Public transportation very close. Clean rooms, nice breakfast, and very friendly staff. :)

Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OTICustomerCare, Front Desk Agent at Old Town Inn, responded to this review, July 14, 2014
Dear Valued Guest, Thank you for choosing to stay at the Old Town Inn San Diego and for the great review. We greatly appreciate your feedback. The Old Town Inn, team and the rest of other guests agree great location with easy access and close to all major attractions in San Diego. We are delighted to know your experience was enjoyable and you found the amenities to be a great fit for you.

The Old Town Inn is so perfect for those willing to adventure out and about San Diego, by public transportation, car or a 5 minute walk to the historical Old Town. We provide a free continental breakfast every morning from 6 am-10 am that includes waffles that you make yourself, hard boiled eggs, 3 types of cold cereal, bagels with the topping of butter and syrup, Danishes, muffins and croissants with the topping of butter, fresh fruit as well as cocktail fruit, wheat and white bread with the toppings of butter, jelly and peanut butter, instant oatmeal with the toppings of brown sugar, raisins, chocolate sprinkles and cinnamon powder. Free, fresh lemon water, decaf and regular coffee, tea and fruit until 11 pm every night in our lobby. Our lobby is open 24/7 if a guest has any questions, concerns or late check INS.

Thank you, again for your glowing comments, regarding our Inn in Old Town San Diego. You got to experience first-hand the value of knowing our staff members and our capabilities to offer “Great Customer Service”. We strive to offer the best personal service for our guest, book directly with us by going to our website or calling our front desk. We have many room types that are not always available on our booking partner’s website. Like our deluxe rooms that have a bathtub with two queen beds also available with mini fridge and microwave or efficiency kitchen or a room with a king size bed, sofa siting area, mini fridge and microwave. The Old Town Inn is a small hotel with a single-minded dedication with consistent service, quality and value.

Thank you for choosing the Old Town Inn for your accommodations in San Diego.

* Book Direct with Us - For the Best Service, Selection, and Value! *

Yours in Hospitality,

Mike M| Front Desk Agent
Old Town Inn
Visit our Hotel Website or Call Us at (800) 643-3025
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Keisterville, Pennsylvania
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2014

We spent one night in San Diego to visit Old Town June 26 2014 (me/my husband/17 yr old daughter), I was a little hesitant to not stay in "downtown" Old Town but the Old Town Inn was a great place to stay. About a 10 minute walk to Old Town, as I questioned the receptionist about the walk especially after 11:00pm (our haunted tour) she advised us that it was safe and well lit, which it was! The room was clean, the bed and pillow were comfortable, coffee maker, hairdryer, and free breakfast in the morning (make your own waffles, cereals, oatmeal, bagels, muffins) it was great! We already recommended to family in the Laguna Niguel area and they already have it booked for a night when they visit Sea World. I wouldn't hesitate to stay here again.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OTICustomerCare, Front Desk Agent at Old Town Inn, responded to this review, July 11, 2014
Dear Valued Guest, Thank you for your exceptional review, It's awesome to read such a positive comments from one of our valued guest. We are thrilled that at the end your choice to stay at the Old Town Inn made a distressing situation a little more bearable for you and your family. We are delighted to know you and your family enjoyed your stay with us, and the staff members met all your expectations and found your experience worth five star.

We are happy to be able to offer complimentary breakfast, WFI, DVD rental, free parking and great value, were many of our competitors does not have this flexibility.

Thank you again, for taking the time to review our property on Tripadvisor. I am so glad that you and your family enjoyed all the amenities and service the Old Town Inn San Diego provides. It is awesome, for your recommendation to your family in Laguna Niguel to stay with us on their next adventure to Sea World San Diego and we look forward to meet them soon.

* Book Direct with Us - For the Best Service, Selection, and Value! * 

Yours in Hospitality,

Mike M| Front Desk Agent 
Old Town Inn
Visit our Hotel Website or Call Us at (800) 643-3025
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2014

July 9th 2014. Room 306. Just arrived two hours ago. Went for a swim after a long drive. Water very cloudy. Way too much chlorine in the pool. Our eyes are BLOOD RED and burning tonight. Room clean. Neighbors loud and banging on the floor. Loud voices coming through the walls.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lis D, Customer Service at Old Town Inn, responded to this review, July 15, 2014
Dear Valued Guest – We test our chlorine levels every morning. When we read this review, we immediately tested our levels again and checked the log we keep daily to see the levels from the day before, everything tested within the levels that are required by city ordinance. We are very sorry for the problem you experienced, but from our testing, we couldn’t find anything wrong with our chlorine levels.

We do apologize for the noise you experienced from another guest. We suggest that if you experience undue commotion from another guest, please notify the front desk staff as we will contact the loud guests and politely ask that they bring the noise down.

We are thankful that you noticed our clean rooms. We believe our housekeeping staff is one of the best around. They are hardworking and dedicated.

We are an independent and modest, AAA 2-star rated hotel with a single-minded dedication to consistent service, quality, and value. We strive to please our patrons, when we do not meet our guests’ expectations, we take it very seriously. We do hope you will give us another opportunity to serve you in the future.

* Book Direct with Us - For the Best Service, Selection, and Value! *

Yours in Hospitality,

Lis | Customer Service
Old Town Inn
Visit our Hotel Website or Call Us at (800) 643-3025
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Old Town Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Old Town Inn

Address: 4444 Pacific Highway, San Diego, CA 92110
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Diego
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#18 Romantic Hotel in San Diego
#19 Family Hotel in San Diego
#25 Best Value Hotel in San Diego
#46 Business Hotel in San Diego
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Old Town Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 73
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our rates reflect what we are, a modest AAA 2 Diamond property, family owned with a priority on customer service. Great central location, commercial pocket – we joke that we are nowhere but right next door to everywhere. Amenities include a complimentary expanded continental breakfast, free wireless internet and parking, and heated outdoor pool. Children 12 and under stay free. Pet friendly. We have a wide selection of room types, including large apartments with kitchens. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Old Town Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Old Town Hotel San Diego
Old Town Inn San Diego
Old Town San Diego

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Old Town Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.