We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Loved it!!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Old Town Inn

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Old Town Inn to your Saves list
Old Town Inn
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   4444 Pacific Highway, San Diego, CA 92110   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #22 of 271 Hotels in San Diego
Bellflower
1 review
“Loved it!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2014

We absolutely loved staying here! Friendly and welcoming staff, very clean. Great complimentary breakfast. Not far at all from sea world/zoo and across the street from old town!! Great place. We will be coming back!

Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OTICustomerCare, Front Desk Agent at Old Town Inn, responded to this review, March 26, 2014
Dear Valued Guest, We greatly appreciate comments like yours for others to read and decide where to stay during their next visit to Old Town San Diego. Thank you for the compliments on our great hotel, staff, amenities and location in Old Town San Diego. All within a short walk or drive-our great location makes us so convenient and easy access to the historical Old Town, Sea World, San Diego Zoo and Downtown Gaslamp to explore and adventure.

We all look forward to you visiting again with fun, adventure and thoughts of local attractions into your immediate future.

* Book Direct with Us - For the Best Service, Selection, and Value! *

Yours in Hospitality,

Mike M| Front Desk Agent
Old Town Inn
Visit our Hotel Website or Call Us at (800) 643-3025
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,251 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    687
    423
    101
    25
    15
See reviews for
401
421
61
71
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (163)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Hudson, Wisconsin
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 22, 2014

We were looking for a family and budget friendly hotel for our spring break trip with two young boys (4 & 8). Old Town Inn was a perfect fit! The grounds are beautifully landscaped, and they keep the entire property and rooms absolutely sparkling clean. The free breakfast was the same every day but was a very nice variety with ample seating. The parking was free as promised and we were able to easily find a spot every night. The staff were very friendly and helpful, even got tools out to help our son get his new toy out of its packaging. We only used the pool once, but it was clean and heated with towels available. The free movie rental was an added bonus for the one night we needed some down time. We had a double queen room with fridge and microwave and it was adequately sized. It had a full bathroom separate from a large vanity area with another sink and lots of counter space. Since it's in what feels like an industrial park area, the location felt a little odd at first, but we felt very safe there and it was close to the airport and all the attractions. We used the transit station across the street to take the train downtown, which was fun for the kids. The only downside was noise from other guests in the walkways at night. Only one of our five nights was it excessively loud, but the staff handled it promptly and professionally. We'd return to Old Town Inn in a heartbeat...it's a hidden gem.

Room Tip: There is no restaurant on site - my review is in relation to the free breakfast.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
YoursinHospitalitySD, Customer Service at Old Town Inn, responded to this review, March 26, 2014
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for the kind review! I am so glad to hear that the Old Town Inn turned out to be a perfect fit for you and your family. We've had a great run of reviews lately, and we want to make sure our traveling friends understand who we are. We want to be honest about what makes us successful, and also about what you might not like. We are a friendly, AAA two diamond hotel, and like any hotel, we have pros and cons:

The Good -
• We rank highly in cleanliness.
• Lots of free amenities – WiFi, parking, breakfast, DVD players, free DVD rental library, coffee and tea service all day.
• We have beautifully landscaped grounds, and a tropical, relaxing pool area.
• Customer service and genuine hospitality are very important to us.
• Our rooms are comfortable, with Simmons Beautyrest mattresses, and lots of comfy pillows.
• New flatscreen TV’s.
• Family owned and operated.
• Central and convenient location – 10 min walk to Old Town and Old Town Transit Center, 2 ½ miles from Sea World.

The Other Stuff -
• We are located in an industrial area, adjacent to Old Town State Park.
• We’re on a busy road, and some guests are sensitive to the noise.
• Some of our rooms are original, circa 1950, (our economy rooms). Some guests think these rooms are small, others love them.
• Our location is unique. I always say, “We’re nowhere, but right next door to everywhere.” (It’s true!)

We encourage our future guests to do their research. We want our guests to be satisfied. We are not everyone’s cup of tea, however, we are rated highly by those who appreciate value, quality accommodations, cleanliness, and genuine hospitality.

John Lyon
Proud Owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saskatoon, Sask., Canada
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 21, 2014

We spent five nights here March 7 to 12,What a nice hotel from check in to leaving what a nice place.Gilda,cheked us in and was so informative of the area towards us.She sold us discount tickets to sea world,zoo and a must to do is The Hop on Hop off Trolly tour.The hotel is so clean and quiet.Breakfast was included in the room rate and very good.The pool was heated and always clean and quiet,we enjoyed our time spent by the pool.The hotel is only a 5 minute walk to Old Town which has lots of restaurants,shops and museums.It was so close to all your major attractions of San Diego.We really enjoyed our stay here.Thank you......

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OTICustomerCare, Front Desk Agent at Old Town Inn, responded to this review, March 30, 2014
Dear Valued Guest, Thank you for sharing your wonderful review with our Trip Advisor community! I am glad most of our free amenities were useful to you throughout your stay.
On your next trip to San Diego you may want to check out our barbeque grill by the pool that you and your wife or family can enjoy, and even check our free DVD collection, we have available at the front desk along with board games.

We are a small hotel with a single-minded dedication with consistent service, quality and value. We believe our AAA 2-diamond hotel is well located, friendly and very clean. Our housekeeping and maintenance staff, work s hard every day to keep our rooms and grounds fresh and uptight. I am glad to hear we completed what we strive to provide to all guest, cleanliness, genuine hospitality, quality accommodations and comfort, all at an affordable price.

It was a pleasure meeting you and having you as our guest, and I hope to see you in the near future.

*Book Direct with Us - For the Best Service, Selection, and Value!*

Yours in Hospitality,
Gilda Prado/ Front Desk Agent
Old Town Inn
Visit our Hotel Website or Call Us at (800) 643-3025
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Vienna, Ohio
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 21, 2014

We picked this hotel because it was close to the Coaster Station in Old San Diego. It was just a block to walk. All the staff were very friendly. We picked the Economy Room because we didn't plan on staying inside very much. It was a nice room for the price. They helped us with a discount price for the Old Town Trolley, which we enjoyed very much. All in all, a great trip and we would stay again!

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OTICustomerCare, Front Desk Agent at Old Town Inn, responded to this review, April 4, 2014
Dear Valued Guest, Thank you for going out of your way to review the Old Town Inn on Trip Advisor, your feedback is very important to us. It gives us an idea to reflex on how others view our hotel and our customer service. Our guest does like the fact that we are just within walking distance to our main public transportation system. Our guest does find it very convenient and an easy way to get around town. Maybe on your next stay, I would suggest trying our deluxe rooms, however our economy rooms are just as cozy, on the other hand, we do have other rooms as well, that might be of interest if you decide to bring your family. Trip Advisor is all about guest satisfaction and we tend to rate highly with guest who wants to get the most for their dollar, value, cleanliness, appreciate genuine hospitality and have done their research.

I like to thank you, again on behalf of the Old Town Inn staff, we are happy to have had you as our guest.

* Book Direct with Us - For the Best Service, Selection, and Value! *

Yours in Hospitality,

Laura | Guest Services
Old Town Inn
Visit our Hotel Website or Call Us at (800) 643-3025
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, Arizona
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2014

This place was fun!! It was right outside downtown so you weren't very far from anything!!! The room was a little small, but for just of us it was great!!! and they also had a great collection of movies you could take back to your room and watch!! We went though in June 2011, but I still remember it as a great little hide away

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OTICustomerCare, Front Desk Agent at Old Town Inn, responded to this review, March 20, 2014
Dear Valued Guest, Thank you for your wonderful review, we are glad to hear you enjoyed a fun stay with us! By reading your review, I believe you stayed in one of our “Economy” rooms, our original circa 1950 rooms. These rooms are the only original rooms in the hotel, and yes, they are older. Some of our guests think these rooms are small, however, others ask for them, I’m glad you enjoyed it.

On your next trip to San Diego, you may try our standard and deluxe rooms, which are equipped with a microwave and refrigerator, kitchenette to a full kitchen, or even go all in our Jacuzzi suite. You can also check out our nice outdoor heated pool, we have a barbecue grill at the pool area, you and your family can enjoy.

We are a small hotel with a single-minded dedication with consistent service, quality and value. We believe our AAA 2-diamond hotel is well located, friendly and very clean. Our housekeeping and maintenance staff works very hard to keep our rooms and grounds fresh and uptight every day.

It was a pleasure having you as our guest, and we hope to see you in the near future.

*Book Direct with Us - For the Best Service, Selection, and Value!*

Yours in Hospitality,
Gilda Prado/ Front Desk Agent
Old Town Inn
Visit our Hotel Website or Call Us at (800) 643-3025
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2014 via mobile

We stayed here in the end for only one night, as we missed our flight connection at Houston due to the slow homeland security queue. I rang as soon as I could from Houston & they cancelled our reservation for our first night with no penalty. Our room was quite basic but contained all we needed. The staff here are great - very friendly and helpful. Good to have free coffee available most of the day. We walked into Old Town & enjoyed sightseeing, having booked tickets for a bus tour at reception. Good location - some traffic (including train & plane) noise but not excessive.

Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OTICustomerCare, Front Desk Agent at Old Town Inn, responded to this review, April 3, 2014
Dear Valued Guest, Thank you for the time taken, to review the Old Town Inn on Trip Advisor, we do appreciate your feedback, and it helps us to understand where we are doing right, wrong and where to improve. We do sympathize with our guests in situations of flight delays, which are under no ones control, and we were more than delighted to cancel your reservation for the first night without any penalty. We are happy to know; you enjoyed and appreciated our coffee station, available to our guest all day. If you are an evening coffee drinker like me, this is a real nice amenity to have all throughout the day. We are a small hotel with a single-minded dedication to consistent service, quality and value. We believe our AAA 2-diamond hotel is well located, friendly, and very clean.

We look forward in the near future to have you and your family stays with us at the Old Town Inn on your next visit to San Diego.

* Book Direct with Us - For the Best Service, Selection, and Value! *

Yours in Hospitality,

Laura | Guest Services
Old Town Inn
Visit our Hotel Website or Call Us at (800) 643-3025 ext visit to San Diego.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tustin, California
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2014

If you are traveling in San Diego, consider staying here. Right next to Old Town and the Trolley into the downtown: (Cab fares to downtown will run you $16 -- also not bad if you split it)

Good breakfast, allow pets, ample parking, all around great place.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OTICustomerCare, Front Desk Agent at Old Town Inn, responded to this review, March 15, 2014
Dear Coryasilva, Thank you for your fabulous review, and for choosing to stay at the Old Town Inn. We do appreciate your feedback and recommendations to other travelers. I do concur our location is perfect as well, with us being very close to Old Town, San Diego beaches, Zoo, Sea World, Downtown and local shopping, the Old Town Inn San Diego makes a great central point to enjoy all of the San Diego attractions and a perfect getaway.

Thank you again for taking the time to share your perspective with us. We are truly grateful for the helpful feedback that you have shared, and we look forward to welcome you back to the Old Town Inn San Diego.

* Book Direct with Us - For the Best Service, Selection, and Value! *

Yours in Hospitality,

Mike M| Front Desk Agent
Old Town Inn
Visit our Hotel Website or Call Us at (800) 643-3025
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Old Town Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Old Town Inn

Address: 4444 Pacific Highway, San Diego, CA 92110
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Diego
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#18 Romantic Hotel in San Diego
#19 Family Hotel in San Diego
#47 Business Hotel in San Diego
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Old Town Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 73
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our rates reflect what we are, a modest AAA 2 Diamond property, family owned with a priority on customer service. Great central location, commercial pocket – we joke that we are nowhere but right next door to everywhere. Amenities include a complimentary expanded continental breakfast, free wireless internet and parking, and heated outdoor pool. Children 12 and under stay free. Pet friendly. We have a wide selection of room types, including large apartments with kitchens. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Old Town Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Old Town Hotel San Diego
Old Town Inn San Diego
Old Town San Diego

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Old Town Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.