We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place..nice clean rooms!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Old Town Inn

Save Saved
You added Old Town Inn to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Old Town Inn
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   4444 Pacific Highway, San Diego, CA 92110   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Announcement
We Have Rooms!
Ranked #18 of 269 hotels in San Diego
Detroit, Michigan
1 review
“Great place..nice clean rooms!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 1, 2014

We stayed for just one night. The room was big and clean with a fridge and microwave in the room. It was walking distance to old town, but 10-15 minutes from downtown! I really cannot say anything bad. The breakfast had a waffle maker and many other choices. I recommend this place!!

  • Stayed January 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OTICustomerCare, Front Desk Agent at Old Town Inn, responded to this review, February 6, 2014
Dear Valued Guest, Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel, and sharing your experience on your stay here at the Old Town Inn. We are a small hotel with a single-minded dedication with a consistent service, quality and value. We believe our AAA 2-diamond hotel is well located, friendly and very clean. We are glad to hear you found our services to be helpful and convenient. Everyone here at the front desk wants to give the most outstanding customer service to our guest. So they can have the most memorable stay here with their families. Our goal is customer satisfaction and making it affordable for families to stay with us. We would like to welcome you back on your next visit to San Diego and to take advantage on some of our other amenities that our hotel has to offer. Like our heated pool, barbecue grill, free DVD movie rental, game boards, or just relax and read a book in front of the fire place in our lobby.

On behalf of the Old Town Inn staff we thank you, for your business and for choosing to stay at the Old Town Inn San Diego.

* Book Direct with Us - For the Best Service, Selection, and Value! *

Yours in Hospitality,

Laura | Guest Services
Old Town Inn
Visit our Hotel Website or Call Us at (800) 643-3025
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,150 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    631
    386
    93
    26
    14
See reviews for
362
382
57
69
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (142)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2014

This was a great find, thanks to other Trip Advisor reviews. Staff is friendly, helpful, and accommodating. Room was comfortable, and breakfast was great! Free parking and access to Old Town made it an even better deal. Would definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: Our room was on the third floor, near the stairs, and was quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
YoursinHospitalitySD, Customer Service at Old Town Inn, responded to this review, January 31, 2014
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for the wonderful review and compliments. We appreciate that you get what we are about as a hotel. Our company culture is based on consistency and proficiency in many areas, of which the most important to us and our guests are cleanliness, genuine hospitality, quality accommodations, comfort, and a great value.

We are so happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay, and our free amenities. Thank you for mentioning our central location. We love that our guests can get around San Diego conveniently and quickly.

It was a pleasure to read your review. Thank you for your feedback; it is very helpful to us to know what you liked about our hotel. It was a pleasure to have you as our guest, and we hope to see you again soon!

* Book Direct with Us - For the Best Service, Selection, and Value! *

Yours in Hospitality,

Alex | Customer Service Agent
Old Town Inn
Visit our Hotel Website or Call Us at (800) 643-3025
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Texas
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 26, 2014

A wonderful Mom and Pop atmosphere stay. Staff was very friendly and helpful from the front desk to the maid service. The property and room was clean and comfortable. Location was easy access to the MCRD, OLD Town, Water Front, Airport and Downtown. The free breakfast was basic and the same everyday but was adequate. Free coffee ready from the time we got up to the time we went to bed was wonderful as was spending time just enjoying the beautiful days by the pool area. We bought wine but forgot a wine cork. The hotel not only had one for us but also loaned us wine glasses so we didn't have to drink out of plastic cups. There are chain restaurants, drug stores, target, etc. very close by for convince. It was a wonderful stay and I recommend it highly.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OTICustomerCare, Front Desk Agent at Old Town Inn, responded to this review, January 31, 2014
Dear Makajar, how wonderful that our staff could make your stay so memorable! Thank you for your lovely description of your stay at the Old Town Inn San Diego as we are glad that you were able to enjoy so many of the services and amenities that we offer, including our complimentary, breakfast, our proximity to MCRD, the free coffee we provide all day. I do agree our pool is a great focal point and is a great getaway to relax with a cocktail or a glass of wine and enjoy the beautiful San Diego weather. Our outstanding staff is always ready, willing and able to assist our guests, because our philosophy is always to try and exceed our guest expectations and to make our guest feel right at home. That’s why we are very diligent in our efforts with hotel settings, having nooks all around the hotel to escape and create a fun getaway for all our guests.

We truly appreciate you sharing your review and hope that we get the pleasure to welcome you back soon.

* Book Direct with Us - For the Best Service, Selection, and Value! *

Yours in Hospitality,

Mike M| Front Desk Agent
Old Town Inn
Visit our Hotel Website or Call Us at (800) 643-3025
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Menifee
Top Contributor
89 reviews 89 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2014

This hotel is only a ten minute walk from Old Town. So you can park your car for free, walk to Old Town or the transit center where you can get a trolley, bus or train to anywhere in San Diego.
The staff extremely nice and helpful. They even let us keep our car there after we had checked out, while we went to take a trolley tour of San Diego.
The breakfast was very good and included in the room rate. The room itself was well designed. There was plenty of space between the beds and the desk, unlike some hotels where one person can't walk past the person sitting at the desk. There were two separate sinks which is also very useful. And the outlet on the base of the lamp was the best! All hotels should have this feature. Guests nowadays always need to plug something in, and shouldn't have to bend down on the floor looking for an outlet under the desk or near the bed.
It is also great to be able to park your car right outside of your room, for moving your luggage and for keeping an eye on it.
Wonderfully designed hotel! I would definitely stay here again!!!

Room Tip: Try for a first floor room facing away from the street.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OTICustomerCare, Front Desk Agent at Old Town Inn, responded to this review, January 23, 2014
Dear FunshineRN, Thank you for taking the time to post your review on TripAdvisor,and we are delighted that you made the best choice to stay with us. We do appreciate the positive comments regarding our team and amenities the Old Town Inn San Diego offer, at no extra cost to our guest. Yes, we are proud to offer our guest with plenty of free parking, delicious continental breakfast (make your own waffle, fresh coffee, oatmeal, fruits, cereal, orange juice, boiled eggs and milk). When other neighborhood hotels, charge for parking and breakfast we are able to provide an exceptional value at an AAA2-damond hotel, with a five star hotel service, cleanliness, genuine hospitality, quality accommodations, comfort, inviting atmosphere all at an affordable price. The Old Town Inn is definitely in a unique area, for a hotel. One benefit of being in a more industrial setting than a typical commercial setting is that it tends to be very quiet at night since there is not a lot of traffic. I admit it may not be what people are used to, but the majority of our guests enjoy the conveniences of our property-short walk to the transit center, walk to the historic Old Town, 2 miles from Sea World, 3 miles from the Zoo, 3 miles to beaches, and 2 miles to Downtown San Diego and the Convention Center.

Thank you again for choosing to stay with us at the Old Town Inn, it was a great pleasure having you as our guest and we would be more than happy to have you stay with us again.

* Book Direct with Us - For the Best Service, Selection, and Value! *


Yours in Hospitality,
Mike M| Front Desk Agent
Old Town Inn
Visit our Hotel Website or Call Us at (800) 643-3025
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arizona
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2014

When I was researching hotels in San Diego I found most charge for parking and don't offer continental breakfast. Old Town Inn was one of the exceptions, it has free parking and a great breakfast! It is located near train tracks which is usually a down side because of noise, but despite having an outside door we could not hear the train at all. The room was clean and comfortable. The staff was very friendly and welcoming. Location is great, only a few blocks from Old Town and a quick drive to all the major San Diego attractions. Oh and the price was unbeatable! Had a great stay and will definitely stay here again!

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OTICustomerCare, Front Desk Agent at Old Town Inn, responded to this review, January 29, 2014
Thank you so much, for giving your honest opinion and the time taken to review the Old Town Inn San Diego. I would like to thank you for bringing up the point of our free parking. Yes! We are one of the few hotels that offer free parking while other hotels in the neighborhood charge $15.00 to $40.00 dollars per night. Based on our location, I definitely agree it is in a unique area, with an industrial setting than a typical commercial setting, it tends to be very quiet at night since there is not a lot of traffic. I admit it may not be what people are used to, but the majority of our guests enjoy the convenience of our property-short walk to the transit center, which you can take the public transportation all around San Diego and a 10 min walk to the historical Old Town. We tend to rate highly with guests, who want to get the most for their, dollar, value, cleanliness, and genuine hospitality and have done their research.

We hope on your next visit to San Diego as our returned guest, we would like you to take advantage of our movie DVD library collection and the heated pool. Thank you again for choosing to stay with us at the Old Town Inn San Diego. It was a great pleasure having you as our guest and we would be more than happy to have you stay with us again.


* Book Direct with Us - For the Best Service, Selection, and Value! *

Yours in Hospitality,

Laura | Guest Services
Old Town Inn
Visit our Hotel Website or Call Us at (800) 643-3025
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Report response as inappropriate
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winton, New Zealand
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 11, 2014

Nice clean motel room, pleasant staff, good service. Would stay at again. Restaurant recommendations from staff were good. There was a free video/ DVD rental service which was very useful. The breakfast included in our room rate was excellent.

Room Tip: Nice clean motel. Very pleasant staff
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OTICustomerCare, Front Desk Agent at Old Town Inn, responded to this review, January 25, 2014
Dear Doug R, Thank you for your glowing comments, the team really appreciates hearing about our guest positive experiences. We take great pride in providing a clean and inviting atmosphere for our guests. We are delighted to know,that you enjoyed your, stay at the Old Town Inn. I am happy that, you enjoyed our complimentary DVD rental, by the way our DVD collection includes a variety of movies, “comedy, family, horror, romantic and more”. Just stop by the lobby, chose your movie and get popcorn for a $1.00 make it a movie night in your room. If you are not in the mood for a movie you can enjoy reading a book in front of our fire place at the lobby. We are happy that you enjoyed our delicious complimentary continental breakfast, with freshly made oatmeal, orange juice, waffle, muffins, fruit, fresh coffee and more. The Old Town Inn team work very hard to provide quality, affordability, great customer service. To make our guest experience memorable, and on your next visit to San Diego try our heated pool, which is kept 80 degrees every day.

We are thankful for your feedback and for choosing the Old Town Inn San Diego for your accommodation.

*Book Direct with Us-For the Best Service, Selection and Value!*

Yours in Hospitality,
Cesar Garcia | Front Desk Agent
Old Town Inn
Visit our Hotel Website or Call Us at (800) 643-3025
Report response as inappropriate
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
El Paso, Texas
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 11, 2014

We enjoyed our stay at the Old Town Inn. The room was immaculate and the staff was very friendly and helpful. I even asked if they had other properties in California so I could book them, but unfortunately only in San Diego. No doubt in my mind, if I am ever in San Diego, we will be staying at Old Town Inn.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OTICustomerCare, Front Desk Agent at Old Town Inn, responded to this review, January 24, 2014
Dear Valued Guest, Thank you for taking the time out of your busy day to write a few kind words regarding our lovely boutique hotel in Old Town San Diego. We greatly appreciate you sharing with other travelers, who may be reviewing your comments to assist their decision making process, based on real reviews from other travelers were to stay while on vacation or business. We are a small family owned hotel, with a single-minded dedication with consistent service, quality and value. Yes! Unfortunately we are the only Old Town Inn in California, on the other hand we do have a sister property in San Diego the “Best Western Lamplighter”. It is located in the college area. Both of our establishments will be able to assist you with reservations and provide you with the same clean, inviting atmosphere, quality, affordability, and great customer service for your accommodation. With that being said there is no doubt in our mind we would like to welcome you back as a return guest on your next trip to San Diego.
I want personally thank you for your business and love to welcome you back with open doors as we love to do.

* Book Direct with Us - For the Best Service, Selection, and Value! *

Yours in Hospitality,

Laura | Guest Services
Old Town Inn
Visit our Hotel Website or Call Us at (800) 643-3025
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Old Town Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Old Town Inn

Address: 4444 Pacific Highway, San Diego, CA 92110
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Diego
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#17 Family Hotel in San Diego
#18 Romantic Hotel in San Diego
#25 Best Value Hotel in San Diego
#47 Business Hotel in San Diego
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Old Town Inn 2.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our rates reflect what we are, a modest AAA 2 Diamond property, family owned with a priority on customer service. Great central location, commercial pocket – we joke that we are nowhere but right next door to everywhere. Amenities include a complimentary expanded continental breakfast, free wireless internet and parking, and heated outdoor pool. Children 12 and under stay free. Pet friendly. We have a wide selection of room types, including large apartments with kitchens. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Old Town Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Old Town Hotel San Diego
Old Town Inn San Diego
Old Town San Diego

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Old Town Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.