We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Motel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Old Town Inn

Save Saved
You added Old Town Inn to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Old Town Inn
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   4444 Pacific Highway, San Diego, CA 92110   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Announcement
We Have Rooms!
Ranked #17 of 269 hotels in San Diego
Newcastle, Australia
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Great Motel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2013

Our family spent three nights here in January, 2013. Upon arrival the area can be a little off putting as its adjacent to a motor way and has an industrial look to it. Don't be put off! The location is very handy and the motel an absolute gem. Check in was friendly and efficient. Rooms very clean, spacious and well equipped for our purposes. Sleep quality excellent. Breakfast in a most charming room is simple though generous with enough variety for most tastes. Best coffee we had in month long stay in the US. Thoroughly recommend the Old Town Inn.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
YoursinHospitalitySD, Customer Service at Old Town Inn, responded to this review, July 31, 2013
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for the wonderful review! We appreciate your compliments and patience in dealing with the industrial nature of our area. I am glad to hear that the location was convenient for you, and that you had an enjoyable stay. We take pride in providing our guests with cleanliness, affordability, comfort, and quality. I am happy to hear that you enjoyed our breakfast and the coffee; we find that little things like good coffee can be very important to our guests, and we are proud to provide only the best.

Thank you again for the review and for choosing to stay with us. It was a pleasure to have you as our guest, and we hope to see you again in the near future. We truly appreciate your recommendation.

Yours in Hospitality,
Alex | Customer Service Agent
Old Town Inn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,160 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    639
    389
    93
    25
    14
See reviews for
365
384
57
69
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (145)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2013

I selected this hotel because it had the best price and was convenient for a one-night stay close to the airport. I was also attracted to the description on the web site about the ambiance and proximity to restaurants and shops in Old Town. When we first pulled up, I was disappointed that the inn was right on the main road in a kind of industrial district. Not scenic at all, and lots of road noise. However, the room was clean and comfortably large, and the service was friendly and helpful. While it is not right in historic Old Town, it was a short drive to get there, and made for a nice evening of eating, shopping, and sightseeing. I would stay there again for the price and convenience, but now I know not to expect the quaint ambiance hinted at on the web site.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
YoursinHospitalitySD, Customer Service at Old Town Inn, responded to this review, July 31, 2013
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for your review, and for choosing to stay with us. We appreciate that you took the time to write an honest review about your stay with us. Thank you for including not only what you enjoyed about your stay, but also what disappointed you. We appreciate our guests’ comments and compliments, and take it very seriously when we fail you.

I am happy to hear that you enjoyed the convenience of our central location, our affordable price, the cleanliness of our rooms and grounds, and our genuine hospitality. We strive to provide these qualities to our guests, along with quality accommodations. We are not a five star hotel, but we do uphold certain values that are very important to us and our guests, such as cleanliness, value, customer service, and quality.

While it is true that we are located in an industrial area, it is also true that most of our guests love our location because of its convenience. I am sorry to hear that you were disappointed with the ambiance of the hotel and the proximity to Old Town. We are across the street from the main Old Town State park parking lot, and when you get right down to it, we are easily the closest hotel to the State Park Visitors center. It is almost a five minute walk to the park. Yes, we are located on a main road and at certain times of the day there can be traffic noise, however, many of our guests have described our grounds as a kind of oasis in the middle of this industrial area. We have gone to great lengths to beautifully landscape our grounds, and many of our guests have mentioned that our lobby and pool area have a tropical, relaxing ambiance. We are not a luxury hotel, and we do not overlook any scenic views, but we have done the best with what we have.

Thank you again for your review. We truly appreciate your compliments and also that you mentioned the ways in which you were disappointed. I am sorry that you had different expectations about the ambiance and proximity to Old Town; we try our best to familiarize our guests with our location and grounds on our website. Sometimes it is difficult to set the expectations of our guests, and I am glad that you will not be disappointed on your next visit. We appreciate that you will give us another opportunity in the future.

Alex | Customer Service Agent
Old Town Inn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, Arizona
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2013

The decision was easy to stay here for the second time. Great staff and helpful and mostly dog friendly. Very clean and convenient to all SD attractions. Little pricey during the 4th of July weekend though.

Room Tip: Probably best to request the ground floor level.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
YoursinHospitalitySD, Customer Service at Old Town Inn, responded to this review, July 29, 2013
Dear Valued Guest,

We truly appreciate your choosing to stay at the Old Town Inn for a second time, and for writing a review of your experience. We are honored to have such a loyal guest. Thank you for the compliments and feedback; it helps us greatly to know what you enjoyed during your stay, so that we can provide that same service and hospitality to you in the future.

Our company culture is based on providing genuine hospitality, cleanliness, affordability and quality accommodations to our guests. We do try to keep our prices competitive during holiday weekends, and I am sorry if our prices were higher than normal, however I am sure that the Old Town Inn was still one of the best deals in San Diego at the time. I am so glad to hear that our location was convenient for you; especially during long weekends when there is traffic, our central location is a great benefit to our guests.

Thank you again for taking the time to review the Old Town Inn, and for staying with us a second time. It was a pleasure to have you as our guest, and we hope to see you in the near future.

Yours in Hospitality,
Alex | Customer Service Agent
Old Town Inn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2013

Just wanted an affordable room for a race weekend. Old Town inn was perfect. Clean, great service and walking distance to restaurants in Old Town.
Beds are a little small so if you are used to cramming people in a room to share beds and split costs, this is not the place.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
YoursinHospitalitySD, Customer Service at Old Town Inn, responded to this review, July 26, 2013
Dear Valued Guest,

I am very happy to hear that we were able to provide you with exactly what you needed! I hope you had a great time at the races, and I am glad your experience with us was an enjoyable one. It is true that some of our rooms can be a little small, as we are an older hotel; however, we have made a great effort to modernize our rooms, including multiple renovations, putting in flat screen TVs, new furniture, and switching from comforters to triple sheeting and a blanket, (which saves energy, is cleaner, and much more comfortable). We never stop improving our hotel, and we know that there is always more we can do to make guests happier, and their stays more comfortable.

Our company culture is based on cleanliness, affordability, genuine hospitality, and quality accommodations, amenities, and products. Thank you for your review, we truly appreciate your feedback and compliments. It was a pleasure to have you as our guest, and we hope to see you again in the near future!

Yours in Hospitality,
Alex | Customer Service Agent
Old Town Inn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Covina, Ca.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2013 via mobile

Stsyed at this hotel with husband, 5 & 17 year old boys. Great staff, rooms were clean. They offer movies & games, breakfast is included, pool area is inviting. Within walking distance to Old Town & close to attractions. Excellent value & will most definitely stay here again!

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
YoursinHospitalitySD, Customer Service at Old Town Inn, responded to this review, July 26, 2013
Dear Valued Guest,

I am so glad to hear that you and your family enjoyed our rooms and amenities! Thank you for mentioning our DVD collection, games, breakfast, and pool. We love it when our guests take advantage of all the amenities we offer, and we are so happy that you and your family had fun with them.

It is great to hear that you also enjoyed your rooms. Here at the Old Town Inn, cleanliness is very important to us; we appreciate that you noticed! Our company culture is to provide clean rooms, quality accommodations, genuine hospitality, and an affordable price. I hope that you received all of these qualities and more during your stay with us.

Thank you for choosing to stay at the Old Town Inn, and for taking the time to write such a wonderful review. We truly appreciate your feedback; it helps us greatly to know what you enjoyed about your stay, so that we can provide the same great service and amenities to you in the future, and to other future guests. We are honored to hear that you would stay with us again. It was a pleasure to have you and your family as our guests, and we hope to see you back at the Old Town Inn soon!

Yours in Hospitality,
Alex | Customer Service Agent
Old Town Inn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nj usa
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2013

We stayed at this hotel for four nights recently. Below are some highlights:
- very friendly accommodating staff
- clean room
- reasonably priced
- close to 'Old Town' and Sea World

Good hotel if you're planning on spending time in San Diego!

Room Tip: Ask for room with kitchenette if traveling with family
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
YoursinHospitalitySD, Customer Service at Old Town Inn, responded to this review, July 18, 2013
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for your review, we truly appreciate your compliments! I am so glad to hear that you had an enjoyable stay with us. We strive to provide all of our guests with genuine hospitality, cleanliness, quality accommodations, comfort, and affordability. I hope that you received all of these qualities that we strive to uphold. I am happy to hear that our location was convenient for you. As you mentioned, we are walking distance to Old Town, and we are just a few miles from Sea World and many of San Diego’s great attractions.

Thank you again for taking the time to write a review of your experience at the Old Town Inn, and for sharing this review with the TripAdvisor community. Your feedback is very valuable to us, and very much appreciated; by letting us know what you liked about your stay, you are helping us to serve our future guests and make them happy in the same way. It was a pleasure to have you as our guests, and we hope to see you again in the near future!

Yours in Hospitality,
Alex | Customer Service Agent
Old Town Inn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2013 via mobile

My girlfriend and I stayed there for 4 days this past June for my birthday and our summer vacation. Great little hotel with a clean nice pool, tasty free breakfast, nice movies you can check out for free and its located near all the attractions. Its only a ten minute drive from all the
beaches and parks. The hotel was very clean and very pretty with all the gardens and trees. You cant beat the price for this place! I would definitely stay again!

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
YoursinHospitalitySD, Customer Service at Old Town Inn, responded to this review, July 15, 2013
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for writing such a great review of your experience with us, and for sharing this review with the TripAdvisor community! On behalf of everyone here at Old Town Inn, I would like to wish you a very happy birthday!! We are honored that you chose to stay with us on such a special occasion. I hope that we were able to accommodate all your needs during your stay with us.

Our company culture is to provide cleanliness, genuine hospitality, quality accommodations, and comfort, all at an affordable price. We strive to offer all of these qualities and much more to our guests.

I am glad to hear that you made use of our amenities. The pool, our DVD collection, and our complimentary breakfast are the favorites of our guests. Thank you for mentioning these things, we are truly grateful for your comments.

Thank you for your comments regarding our location, which is possibly one of the most important and beneficial aspects of the Old Town Inn. Our close proximity to Old Town allows guests to walk to the many restaurants and shops in Old Town. We are also just a few blocks away from the transit station, which is perfect for guests without a car to get around easily. As you mentioned, you can get around San Diego from the Old Town Inn quickly and easily with a car as well. Almost all of San Diego’s great attractions are located less than 5-10 minutes away by car. I am happy to know that our central location was so convenient for you.

Thank you again for the wonderful review. We truly appreciate your compliments and feedback. It was a pleasure to have you and your girlfriend as our guests. I hope we will see you at the Old Town Inn again in the near future!


Yours in Hospitality,
Alex | Customer Service Agent
Old Town Inn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Old Town Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Old Town Inn

Address: 4444 Pacific Highway, San Diego, CA 92110
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Diego
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#18 Romantic Hotel in San Diego
#19 Family Hotel in San Diego
#47 Business Hotel in San Diego
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Old Town Inn 2.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our rates reflect what we are, a modest AAA 2 Diamond property, family owned with a priority on customer service. Great central location, commercial pocket – we joke that we are nowhere but right next door to everywhere. Amenities include a complimentary expanded continental breakfast, free wireless internet and parking, and heated outdoor pool. Children 12 and under stay free. Pet friendly. We have a wide selection of room types, including large apartments with kitchens. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Old Town Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Old Town Hotel San Diego
Old Town Inn San Diego
Old Town San Diego

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Old Town Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.