We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very Good Value for Money” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Old Town Inn

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Old Town Inn to your Saves list
Old Town Inn
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   4444 Pacific Highway, San Diego, CA 92110   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #22 of 271 Hotels in San Diego
Perth, Australia
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“Very Good Value for Money”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 26, 2013

This hotel is very clean and comfortable and excellent value for money. The staff were very friendly and helpful. It is in within walking distance to Old Town which has lots of mexican resturaunts. There is also a bus terminal within walking distance and we caught the bus to Sea World which was very easy. I would highly recommend this hotel as we really enjoyed our stay here.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
YoursinHospitalitySD, Customer Service at Old Town Inn, responded to this review, February 8, 2013
Dear Valued Customer,

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience with us and the rest of the travelers on TripAdvisor. It truly warms our heart knowing that we exceeded your expectations. We are glad that our staff could provide recommendations on where to go for activities or dining in historical Old Town; Old Town offers a variety of the best Mexican restaurants with choices to please any palate. We are so glad that you got to explore Old Town and the great food that comes with it!

We are so happy that you enjoyed your stay, and our location. We love that your trips back and forth to Sea World by bus were so convenient. The walk to the Old Town Transit Station is only five minutes, and it is always great to hear when our guests are happy with the convenience of being so close to San Diego’s public transit.

I am very glad to hear that we were able to comfortably accommodate you during your time here at the Old Town Inn San Diego. We look forward to welcoming you back soon to enjoy everything that we have to offer. Thank you for choosing the Old Town Inn for your stay; it was a pleasure to have you.

Yours in Hospitality,
Mike M
Front Desk Agent
Old Town Inn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,250 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    686
    423
    101
    25
    15
See reviews for
401
420
61
71
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (163)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Fountain Hills, Arizona
Top Contributor
373 reviews 373 reviews
58 hotel reviews
Reviews in 169 cities Reviews in 169 cities
201 helpful votes 201 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 26, 2013

This is a motel for sure. Very clean; amazingly friendly and accomodating. The location is within walking to Old Town and easy drives to everything else in town. We used the venue to attend the PGA Tourney in La Jolla... about 10 miles North. Very easy drive to Seaport and Midway. The staff was quite helpful with recommendations. We had a queen bed with sofa. Nice large flat screen LG with many channel access. Breakfast was nice with oatmeal (not instant); belgian waffle; boiled egg; cereal; fruit; breads; pastries. 3 night stay with Mgr special made it a nice value....at apprx $85/night. Only a couple cons:
1 - "the walking noise" on the floor above us was quite evident (suspect we had kids in the room above)
2 - noise from the water draining from adjacent or rooms above was rather loud
3 - as noted in another review.... airplane noise is pretty much non-existent.... but 1 or 2 trains a night with horns were quite evident.
anyway... it's not the Ritz... but it was very nice for what we were looking for

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Victoria, Canada
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2013

Very clean, very reasonably priced and close to Old Town and all it has to offer. WE rented a Queen with a fridge and microwave for 3 nights and got the managers special, well under $250 including free breakfast. Room is very large with a comfy seating area and WE LOVED the additional sink counter area OUTSIDE of the toilet area. Very civilized. Would come again and recommend it to anyone. Regardless of it's proximity to airport we never heard a plane, although the 0300am train did wake us up briefly each night...we didn't care. It is also right on the pacific hwy but it hardly bothered us with noise. We walked to great restaurants each night for dining.

Room Tip: rooms perpendicular to pacific hwy are a little quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
YoursinHospitalitySD, Customer Service at Old Town Inn, responded to this review, February 6, 2013
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for choosing the Old Town Inn, we truly appreciate your feedback. It is very important and informative to know what our guests have to say about their experience here at our hotel. We are a small hotel dedicated to consistent service, quality, and value. We believe our AAA 2-diamond hotel is well located, friendly and very clean. I am glad to hear you took advantage of our manager’s special. This special, stay 3 nights and get the 3rd at 50% off, is quite popular; many of our guests really like it. On that note, I would like to mention another manager’s special that we have to offer. If you stay 7 nights, you get the last night free. We would love for you to try it out on your next visit to San Diego!

I’m glad you mentioned how close we are to the airport. Yes, we are 5-10 min away; our guests love that we are just close enough for it to be very convenient, but far enough away that you cannot hear any planes. Also on that note, our proximity to the train and trolley station is a block or two away, definitely within walking distance. Most of our guests agree that the noise is hardly noticeable, and as you mentioned, if you do hear it, it’s so fast you will not be bothered. I would like to thank you so much once again for your feedback. We hope to see you again in the near future! It was a pleasure to have you as our guest.

Yours in Hospitality,
Front Desk Agent | Laura
Old Town Inn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
california
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2013

Thanks again tripadvisor reviewers for another good tip. Needed a quick get away trip to San Diego but did not want to spend a small fortune which is easy to do in this beautiful city. Based on the very good reviews of the Old Town Inn we booked it for one night. It was exactly as advertised.
Great price, impeccably clean and very friendly service. Anna, the manager, booked us in and even gave us a free upgrade to a larger room which was a nice touch. Your room will included a free breakfast which offers a waffle bar, various breads and pastries, fresh fruit, hard boiled eggs, cereal, juice, tea, and coffee. This property is a motel, not a hotel. Therefor don't expect ocean views, lush grounds, and room service. it is surrounded by industrial buildings but that doesn't seem to affect the safe clean atmosphere or the comfort of the room itself. The location is within walking distance of Old Town and a short drive to just about anything in the city. If you are looking for a well kept reasonable place to stay in San Diego then I suggest you give the Old Town Inn a try. Thanks to the Old Town Inn and their staff for a nice little get away. A little tip for new travelers to San Diego. Leave your car at the motel, walk to Old Town and jump on the city tour trolley. They will take you to all the must see spots in the city and you can hop on and off all day long for one price. Note, the motel even offers discount tickets for the trolley.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
YoursinHospitalitySD, Customer Service at Old Town Inn, responded to this review, February 25, 2013
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for choosing the Old Town Inn, and for sharing your experience with TripAdvisor. We are glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us. We do our best to make our guests feel comfortable, from our customer service to the cleanliness of the rooms and the property.

Again, thank you for taking the time in writing this wonderful review; we truly appreciate your compliments. Your feedback is very important to us; it helps us to understand what you like to see in your stay and what our future guests may want and need.

It is always a pleasure having you as a guest, and we look forward to seeing you soon.

Yours in Hospitality,
Mabel ~ Front Desk Agent
Old Town Inn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Louis
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2013 via mobile

The hotel is centrally located for easy access to many San Diego attractions. We were surprised by how great it was to be within walking distance of historic "old town".
The service was friendly and helpfull The rooms were clean and comfortable and laid out nicely. We had the 2 Queen bed with kithenette and it met our needs well. The landscaping is very well kept and full of bright foliage. It's a family oriented place - there are board games, books, and DVD's available for borrowing in the lobby.
All in all I would definitely stay here again and feel comfortable recommending it to anyone.

Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
YoursinHospitalitySD, Customer Service at Old Town Inn, responded to this review, January 23, 2013
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for choosing the Old Town Inn, and for taking the time to share your experience with the TripAdvisor community. We truly appreciate your compliments and feedback.

The Old Town Inn is a two star rated property, with many free amenities that you may have to pay for in more expensive hotels. We are very glad to hear that you enjoyed our free DVD library, as well as the board games and books. Our other free amenities include wifi, parking, coffee and tea service all day, and a continental breakfast. I hope that you got a chance to enjoy all of these amenities as well.

It’s great to know that you found our location to be convenient. The Old Town Inn is located in a slightly industrial area; however we find that the convenience of our central location and our proximity to the San Diego Bus and Trolley Station is more important to our guests than our immediate surroundings. The owner likes to joke that “we are nowhere, but minutes to everywhere!” As you mentioned in your review, the great benefit to our location is that you can easily and quickly get to many famous San Diego attractions. We are less than 3 miles to Sea World, about 3 miles to the airport and less than 10 miles to the Zoo and Balboa Park. Also, if you don’t have a car, the transit station makes it easy to get around.

We are very glad to hear that you liked the room, and want to thank you for mentioning our hardworking and friendly staff. Our company culture is based on genuine hospitality, cleanliness, and value. It is great to know that you received all of these qualities while staying with us.

Thank you again for reviewing your stay with us. We are very grateful that you would recommend the Old Town Inn to others, and that you would feel comfortable staying with us again. We are so glad that you enjoyed staying at our hotel; it was a pleasure to have you. We hope to see you again in the near future!!

Yours in Hospitality,
Alex | Customer Service Agent
Old Town Inn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2013

We recently stayed at this beautiful hotel in December 2012. The hotel is clean and well kept, the beds are large and very comfortable. Help yourself to a continental breakfast, waffles, toast, cereal, tea and coffee. Pool area is nice. David who works at reception answered all of our questions no matter how silly they sounded and was very knowledgeable about attractions and things to do. Although the hotel is a bit out of Old Town it is close to the Trolley station to get to Down Town and Santa Fe, and is only a 10 minute walk to get to Old Town itself and all the restaurants and shops. We enjoyed our stay here very much and would not hesitate to stay here again.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
YoursinHospitalitySD, Front Desk at Old Town Inn, responded to this review, January 11, 2013
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for choosing the Old Town Inn. We truly appreciate that you took the time to review your experience with us and share it with the TripAdvisor community. We are so glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us.

It is also great to hear that you were able to enjoy so many of the services and amenities that we offer. I am glad that David was able to help you and answer all of your questions. David is a great asset to the hotel, and we always enjoy reading a review that mentions our staff members.

After reading your review, I can tell that you really made the most of your time in San Diego! A trip to the historical Old Town sounds like a great way to spend the afternoon, and as you mentioned, we are a short walk away. The Old Town Inn is centrally located to all San Diego’s great attractions, and if you don’t have a car, the trolley or bus can take you anywhere you need to go.

With all the information you provided, we are certain future guests will find your review very helpful. It was our pleasure accommodating you, and we look forward to welcoming you back to the Old Town Inn lobby in the near future!

Mike M | Front Desk Agent
Old Town Inn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richmond, Canada
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2013

Just returned from a week in San Diego, where our family of four stayed at the Old Town Inn. We stayed in one of the family rooms - there was plenty of room for all of us. The pool was warm, breakfast basic, safes are available on request and parking & wifi was free. The hotel is on an industrial estate and it can be a little noisy at about 6:30am but the same could be said for the hotels facing the I5 (and there are plenty of them). It's a short walk into Old Town with plenty of restaurants to choose from. We made use of the video selection and also the excellent guide book that the hotel sells for $1. The hotel is centrally located and a short drive to most attractions in the San Diego area. The staff are exceptionally helpful and we'd definitely recommend this as great value for money.

Room Tip: Family rooms are twice the size of the regular room
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
YoursinHospitalitySD, Customer Service at Old Town Inn, responded to this review, January 9, 2013
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for your feedback, we are so glad to hear that you and your family enjoyed your stay with us. We do our best to make our guests feel comfortable, from our customer service to the cleanliness of the rooms and the property. Thank you for taking the time in writing this wonderful review. I am so glad to hear that you and your family had enough room in the family suite.

I am glad to hear that you took advantage of our amenities like the pool, our DVD collection, our wifi, and the Inn Siders Guide. I hope our guide was helpful in finding your way around San Diego, and in finding unique places to go that you normally would not have known about.

It is also great to hear that you found our location to be convenient. Some of our guests are initially put off by our somewhat industrial location, but like you, they find that they don’t mind because of how convenient it is. We love that we are only a block away from the Old Town Transit Station and just minutes to all of San Diego’s many attractions.

Thank you for mentioning our staff. We take customer service very seriously and we want to make sure that every guest at the Old Town Inn is treated with the utmost hospitality. We are very grateful to you for recommending us to the Trip Advisor community. We are so glad that you enjoyed your stay, and appreciate your feedback very much; we hope to see you again in the
near future.

Alex | Customer Service Agent
Old Town Inn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Old Town Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Old Town Inn

Address: 4444 Pacific Highway, San Diego, CA 92110
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Diego
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#18 Romantic Hotel in San Diego
#19 Family Hotel in San Diego
#47 Business Hotel in San Diego
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Old Town Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 73
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our rates reflect what we are, a modest AAA 2 Diamond property, family owned with a priority on customer service. Great central location, commercial pocket – we joke that we are nowhere but right next door to everywhere. Amenities include a complimentary expanded continental breakfast, free wireless internet and parking, and heated outdoor pool. Children 12 and under stay free. Pet friendly. We have a wide selection of room types, including large apartments with kitchens. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Old Town Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Old Town Hotel San Diego
Old Town Inn San Diego
Old Town San Diego

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Old Town Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.