We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Old Town Inn we will be back again.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Old Town Inn

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Old Town Inn to your Saves list
Old Town Inn
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   4444 Pacific Highway, San Diego, CA 92110   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Announcement
We Have Rooms!
Ranked #21 of 270 Hotels in San Diego
Melbourne, Australia
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
“Old Town Inn we will be back again.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2013

We recently stayed at this beautiful hotel in December 2012. The hotel is clean and well kept, the beds are large and very comfortable. Help yourself to a continental breakfast, waffles, toast, cereal, tea and coffee. Pool area is nice. David who works at reception answered all of our questions no matter how silly they sounded and was very knowledgeable about attractions and things to do. Although the hotel is a bit out of Old Town it is close to the Trolley station to get to Down Town and Santa Fe, and is only a 10 minute walk to get to Old Town itself and all the restaurants and shops. We enjoyed our stay here very much and would not hesitate to stay here again.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
YoursinHospitalitySD, Front Desk at Old Town Inn, responded to this review, January 11, 2013
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for choosing the Old Town Inn. We truly appreciate that you took the time to review your experience with us and share it with the TripAdvisor community. We are so glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us.

It is also great to hear that you were able to enjoy so many of the services and amenities that we offer. I am glad that David was able to help you and answer all of your questions. David is a great asset to the hotel, and we always enjoy reading a review that mentions our staff members.

After reading your review, I can tell that you really made the most of your time in San Diego! A trip to the historical Old Town sounds like a great way to spend the afternoon, and as you mentioned, we are a short walk away. The Old Town Inn is centrally located to all San Diego’s great attractions, and if you don’t have a car, the trolley or bus can take you anywhere you need to go.

With all the information you provided, we are certain future guests will find your review very helpful. It was our pleasure accommodating you, and we look forward to welcoming you back to the Old Town Inn lobby in the near future!

Mike M | Front Desk Agent
Old Town Inn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,234 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    677
    416
    101
    25
    15
See reviews for
394
415
59
70
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (162)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Richmond, Canada
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2013

Just returned from a week in San Diego, where our family of four stayed at the Old Town Inn. We stayed in one of the family rooms - there was plenty of room for all of us. The pool was warm, breakfast basic, safes are available on request and parking & wifi was free. The hotel is on an industrial estate and it can be a little noisy at about 6:30am but the same could be said for the hotels facing the I5 (and there are plenty of them). It's a short walk into Old Town with plenty of restaurants to choose from. We made use of the video selection and also the excellent guide book that the hotel sells for $1. The hotel is centrally located and a short drive to most attractions in the San Diego area. The staff are exceptionally helpful and we'd definitely recommend this as great value for money.

Room Tip: Family rooms are twice the size of the regular room
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
YoursinHospitalitySD, Customer Service at Old Town Inn, responded to this review, January 9, 2013
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for your feedback, we are so glad to hear that you and your family enjoyed your stay with us. We do our best to make our guests feel comfortable, from our customer service to the cleanliness of the rooms and the property. Thank you for taking the time in writing this wonderful review. I am so glad to hear that you and your family had enough room in the family suite.

I am glad to hear that you took advantage of our amenities like the pool, our DVD collection, our wifi, and the Inn Siders Guide. I hope our guide was helpful in finding your way around San Diego, and in finding unique places to go that you normally would not have known about.

It is also great to hear that you found our location to be convenient. Some of our guests are initially put off by our somewhat industrial location, but like you, they find that they don’t mind because of how convenient it is. We love that we are only a block away from the Old Town Transit Station and just minutes to all of San Diego’s many attractions.

Thank you for mentioning our staff. We take customer service very seriously and we want to make sure that every guest at the Old Town Inn is treated with the utmost hospitality. We are very grateful to you for recommending us to the Trip Advisor community. We are so glad that you enjoyed your stay, and appreciate your feedback very much; we hope to see you again in the
near future.

Alex | Customer Service Agent
Old Town Inn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2013

This is a great place for families. It is on the Old Pacific Highway which is not a residential area.
However, it is walking distance to Old Town, the Tijuana Trolley, and the See's Discount Store!
It's great for families. There are free DVD's for the free player in your room. There are books and board games you can take to your room, too, or play right there in the lobby.There is a fenced swimming pool, and a washer and dryer if you are staying for a few days. The staff is wonderful-- knowledgeable,and helpful. For a family with a few children, the ample breakfast will save you money. We have stayed here over the past 7-8 years at least 10 times. We find it is better to book directly with the hotel -- better deals that way. We just find this place a great bargain.

Room Tip: There are old rooms and new rooms. The old rooms are attached bungalows. We prefer them, and they ar...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
YoursinHospitalitySD, Customer Service at Old Town Inn, responded to this review, January 9, 2013
Dear Valued Guest,

The staff here at the Old Town Inn is so happy to have such dedicated, loyal guests like you. We are so glad to have are repeated guests like yourself who have stayed with us more than eight times and still feel the same every time. We love to hear that you and your family return to enjoy your time here, because it is always a pleasure to serve you. This is what we love to do, accommodate our guests and make their stay enjoyable and memorable. Trip Advisor is all about guest satisfaction, and we tend to rate highly with guests who want to get the most for their dollar, value cleanliness, and appreciate genuine hospitality. I hope that you have received all of these qualities every time you have stayed with us.

I also want to thank you for taking notice that we are a family oriented hotel. We have DVD movies that are perfect for families to watch together, as well our selection of games that every generation and age group in the family can enjoy. This is what makes the Old Town Inn more personal than your average inn. We know it’s these little things that count, and we feel that even though they are small and not everyone uses them, they are what makes the difference between our small, independently owned hotel and the big name brands.

You also mentioned that you like the rooms that we refer to as the bungalows. I would like to tell you about our family suite as well. If you would prefer some more room for your family, maybe you would like to stay in our two room family suite. Next time you book your reservations with us we will be happy to give you more information.

I want to thank you so much for your feedback. It means a lot to all of us here at Old Town Inn that you shared your experience with TripAdvisor. We love to hear your honest opinion, it is very important to us. So, we thank you for your time, and again, for your feedback. We hope to see you again soon.

Yours in Hospitality,
Laura | Front Desk Agent
Old Town Inn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2012

Last November, the spouse and I returned to San Diego for anniversary trip. We booked a five day stay at the Old Town Inn with no regrets--except one, we wish we could have stayed longer! We enjoyed our 2nd floor room with two queen beds. We checked in early, all accommodations were excellent. We enjoyed the breakfast and spend the afternoon swimming in the pool. The staff was very friendly and welcoming to us.

Room Tip: The 2nd floor corner room is less noisy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
YoursinHospitalitySD, Customer Service at Old Town Inn, responded to this review, January 4, 2013
Dear Valued Guest,

Congratulations on your Anniversary!! We can’t thank you enough for your loyalty in visiting us once more. We greatly appreciate and understand that you have many choices when traveling, and it is great to know that you choose the Old Town Inn. It is always a pleasure to know when we've made a difference in our guests' vacations.

We are delighted to hear that you received one of our deluxe rooms on the second floor, and we are so glad you enjoyed it. We truly appreciate your compliments; it helps us to know what we are doing right, and what we should continue to do to provide an excellent experience for our guests. We are thrilled to know you were able to relax and enjoy our pool area.

Everyone here at the Old Town Inn reads TripAdvisor, and always enjoys a review that mentions how helpful and friendly our staff members are. One of our goals at the Old Town Inn is to provide hospitality and customer service that goes above and beyond for our guests.

We are truly grateful that you took the time to post your feedback. It was a pleasure to have you as our guest, and we hope to get the pleasure of welcoming you back in our lobby soon. Thanks again!

Yours in Hospitality,
Mike M. | Front Desk Agent
Old Town Inn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Prague, Czech Republic
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 26, 2012

This hotel was definitely the best one of 17 hotels we stayed in during our trip across the USA. Room and bathroom were large, nice and clean, beds were huge.
Swimming pool was nice and clean, but it could be bigger.
Breakfast was very good, it was refilled all the time.
Staff was very friendly.
Location is simply great, close to the historic state park (there was some fest when we were there) and to the trolley and bus station.
Parking and wifi (with good signal) was for free.
Was there any imperfection? We would appreciate higher shower because we are tall :-), but that´s detail.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
YoursinHospitalitySD, Customer Service at Old Town Inn, responded to this review, January 2, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to share your experience at the Old Town Inn San Diego with the TripAdvisor community. We are very proud to hear that you found us to be the best Hotel in the U.S.A during your trip across the country. We strive to ensure that all of our guests’ experiences with us exceed expectations. Thank you for your lovely description of your stay at the Old Town Inn, we are delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay and all the services and amenities we offer, including our complimentary breakfast. We couldn't be happier knowing that on your next visit to San Diego, your first choice will be the Old Town Inn. It was a pleasure to have you as our guest, and we hope to see you again soon.

Yours in Hospitality,
Mike M.
Front Desk Agent
Old Town Inn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Honolulu
Top Contributor
88 reviews 88 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 18, 2012

We stayed here for one night after flying into San Diego late last week. The location of the motel is very close to the airport and the room was clean and spacious. The staff is very friendly and accommodating and the only drawback was the water pressure in the shower. Overall our stay was very pleasant and I would recommend this motel!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
YoursinHospitalitySD, Customer Service at Old Town Inn, responded to this review, January 2, 2013
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you of the review. We truly appreciate your feedback and compliments. I am so glad to hear that your stay with us was enjoyable, and that though your time with us was short, we were able to provide you with the service and quality we pride ourselves in.

I am also glad to hear that you found our location to be convenient; we love our location because it is so useful for our guests travelling to the airport like yourself, and also for guests who want to be close to all of San Diego’s many attractions.

I am sorry about the shower water pressure. I know how uncomfortable it can be when a shower doesn't have enough pressure. We have plans to fix this problem, along with the height of the shower-heads. All of our shower-heads will have both height and water pressure very soon!

Thank you again for reviewing our hotel and recommending us! It was an honor to have you as our guest. We hope to see you again in the future.

Yours in Hospitality,
Alex | Customer Service Agent
Old Town Inn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tegelen, The Netherlands
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 16, 2012

Very nice hotel. A bit outside town but right next to Old Town. Check in was fast, the room was really nice, the beds were the best we slept in during our entire stay!!
They have a very good service. We were a bit early for check in, and they let us change into our bathing suites so we could use the pool untill our room was ready.
Breakfast was average.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
YoursinHospitalitySD, Customer Service at Old Town Inn, responded to this review, January 2, 2013
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for sharing your experience at the Old Town Inn with the TripAdvisor community. I am so happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us. Everyone at the Old Town Inn strives to make your stay as comfortable and convenient as possible. Our company culture is to provide quality, cleanliness, affordability, and great customer service for our guests. We hope that you received all of these qualities during your stay with us.

It’s great to hear that the beds were so comfortable for you. We spent a good amount of time picking out the most comfortable beds and pillows for our rooms, and we’re so glad you noticed.

It was a pleasure to have you as our guest. Thank you again for reviewing us, we truly appreciate your compliments and feedback. We hope to see you again soon.

Yours in Hospitality,
Alex | Customer Service Agent
Old Town Inn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Old Town Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Old Town Inn

Address: 4444 Pacific Highway, San Diego, CA 92110
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Diego
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#18 Romantic Hotel in San Diego
#18 Family Hotel in San Diego
#46 Business Hotel in San Diego
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Old Town Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 73
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our rates reflect what we are, a modest AAA 2 Diamond property, family owned with a priority on customer service. Great central location, commercial pocket – we joke that we are nowhere but right next door to everywhere. Amenities include a complimentary expanded continental breakfast, free wireless internet and parking, and heated outdoor pool. Children 12 and under stay free. Pet friendly. We have a wide selection of room types, including large apartments with kitchens. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Old Town Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Old Town Hotel San Diego
Old Town Inn San Diego
Old Town San Diego

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Old Town Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.