We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location, great price, great stay!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Ocean Park Inn

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Ocean Park Inn to your Saves list
Ocean Park Inn
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   710 Grand Ave, San Diego, CA 92109   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #39 of 270 Hotels in San Diego
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Franklin, Tennessee
1 review
“Great location, great price, great stay!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2010

My husband and I recently flew out to San Diego for an anniversary trip, and we wanted to stay somewhere close to the water. We’re both originally from California, and we really miss the beach. A friend recommended the Ocean Park Inn, so we gave it a shot and went for the full ocean view. It did not disappoint. The view was absolutely amazing, and we spent a lot of our time just sitting on the roomy balcony looking out at the water and the people walking by on the boardwalk. The hotel could not be in a better location—there were so many restaurants to choose from that we often turned to the front desk staff for recommendations. They were incredibly helpful with everything we asked of them. Matt in particular was incredibly friendly, and we found ourselves stopping by the front desk just to chat with him. The rooms were clean and spacious, the continental breakfast was great, and the price was so great we’re already planning our trip back. I’d highly recommend the Ocean Park Inn if you’re looking for a friendly, clean hotel with an upbeat staff that’s just a few steps away from the sand!

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SDMat, Manager at Ocean Park Inn, responded to this review, June 24, 2010
Wow what a review! Thank you for all the compliments - we're thrilled you had such a wonderful stay! See you again in August. Please let us know ahead of time if there is anything we can do to make your arrival even better!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

777 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    421
    251
    47
    28
    30
See reviews for
222
307
31
30
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (250)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
arizona
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2010

the location was great and prices of the rooms were good. the room was clean a had alot of room in it. parking was at a good price, and secure making it great that we did not have to look for a parking place. lots of things to do in the area within walking distance, food was great at the the restaurants we ate at.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SDMat, Manager at Ocean Park Inn, responded to this review, June 24, 2010
Glad you could enjoy the area and our underground garage. With parking at a premium here in Pacific Beach, we're glad we can offer affordable and secure parking for our guests! We hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nashville, Tennessee
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2010

My 2 friends and I stayed here for 5 days. Let's first say, when we checked in we were immediately upgraded at no cost to a partial ocean view room, when we only paid for a room with no room (saving us about $150). The view was amazing. The hotel was undergoing renevations during our stay which was a little unfortunate, but they always stayed out of our way and were no problem. The hot tub and pool were great, the complimentary breakfast was better than most, very nice staff.

You are just steps away from a beautiful beach, the Pacific Ocean, $5 surf board rentals, several little shops, a CVS pharmacy, a 7/11, and more! Seriously, this is a pretty inexpensive hotel to stay at and very worth the money. I have absolutely nothing bad to say about this hotel and will stay here again.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SDMat, Manager at Ocean Park Inn, responded to this review, May 27, 2010
Glad you enjoyed the complimentary upgrade and improved continental breakfast! We're looking forward to your return.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CT
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 24, 2010

This is the best location in San Diego. The sounds of the ocean can be heard from your room. Also, there is a ton to do in the beach area or you are a ten minute drive from most San Diego attractions. A friend of mine who is a local strongly suggested the PB area. We walked to lots of the bars and restaurants on Garnet. This is a big nightlife area. The Firehouse PB is also a neat place to go, as well at the PB Ale House and the PB Shore Club. We walked the boardwalk and enjoyed viewing the people going by from the hotel. Free internet is always awesome. The rooms are a good size and have all you could need, including a refrigerator and microwave. This was helpful because we often had some leftovers from eating out. The free breakfast is a nice bonus and included bagels, waffles, pastry, cereal, yogurt, coffee, etc. The parking isn't too high at $10. I also have to thank Pat and the other staff for their suggestions of where to eat and go for nightlife. He gave us some great information. I would recommend this hotel because it is a good hotel with a prime location at a very reasonable price.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SDMat, Manager at Ocean Park Inn, responded to this review, May 27, 2010
I'm glad Pat made your stay more enjoyable. We take compliments like this into account for performance reviews every few months! Sounds like you had a great sample of the PB cuisine - next time you come out, be sure to try three or four new restaurants and bars! There's plenty to choose from...
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 17, 2010

Love this hotel. I'm super picky but also budget conscience. This us a great value. Awesome location. Amazing staff.

  • Stayed May 2010
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SDMat, Manager at Ocean Park Inn, responded to this review, May 27, 2010
Thank you for the review! We hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sacramento, California
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2010

Ocean Park Inn is a great place to stay with kids. The location is perfect. It is one of the few hotels actually on the beach. It is on the ocean side, not the bay side! We like to hear the waves. When we go to the beach, I like to stay at a hotel on the beach, not a block from the beach, but on the beach. The boardwalk is the only think separating you from the ocean. They have a nice pool and breakfast comes with the price of the room. The hotel itself is not super fancy, but it is clean and nice. The view from the ocean view rooms is spectacular!! There are good, affordable restaurants near the hotel, and a grocery store pretty close by. Also parking is expensive and hard to find at the beach. Ocean Park Inn is $10 a night, which is a great deal! For us Ocean Park Inn was the perfect hotel at the beach.

  • Stayed June 2007, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SDMat, Manager at Ocean Park Inn, responded to this review, May 27, 2010
Our location is definitely one of the biggest factors that brings guests in from all over the world - we're thrilled you enjoyed your time on the beach and around town! Keep an eye out for promotions to stay again in the future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glendale, Arizona
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 11, 2010

The ocean view from the balcony is peaceful. I feel extremely safe and comfortable. All the imenities are great and I like the fact that I can park my car under ground where I know it is safe. I have been coming to your hotel for the past 14 years and I really enjoy the hotel.

  • Stayed April 2008, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SDMat, Manager at Ocean Park Inn, responded to this review, May 27, 2010
Thank you for being such a loyal guest over the years and for such a kind review! See you again soon...
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Ocean Park Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ocean Park Inn

Address: 710 Grand Ave, San Diego, CA 92109
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Diego
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 On the Beach Hotel in San Diego
#16 Romantic Hotel in San Diego
#33 Business Hotel in San Diego
#47 Family Hotel in San Diego
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Ocean Park Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 72
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Stay at the Ocean Park Inn and see for yourself why San Diego is known as America's finest city. Superior location, year-round sunshine,underground parking, incredible ocean views and an abundance of activities are only a few things this contemporary, boutique San Diego inn has to offer. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, TripOnline SA, EasyToBook and Hotels.com so you can book your Ocean Park Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ocean Park Hotel San Diego
Park Inn San Diego
Park Inn Ocean
Ocean Park Inn San Diego

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ocean Park Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.