We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect location, nice renovations, great staff - awesome!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Ocean Park Inn

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Ocean Park Inn to your Saves list
Ocean Park Inn
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   710 Grand Ave, San Diego, CA 92109   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #31 of 271 Hotels in San Diego
Benton City, Washington
Top Contributor
79 reviews 79 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“Perfect location, nice renovations, great staff - awesome!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2014

We spent a week here for a family reunion (we had 7 hotel rooms between us including ocean view and family suites) and couldn't have asked for a better location or arrangement. The hotel served as "home base" for our families from CA, NM, WA and England. The recent bathroom renovations were much appreciated and the rooms were nice. You can't get closer to the beach and boardwalk. The family suites were spacious with kitchens that were perfect for those with small kids. There are tons of restaurants and shops, and the best part was a super Ralph's grocery plus a CVS pharmacy right across the street (and of course a Starbuck's). They provide beach towels and the pool area is just terrific for being "at the beach" when you just don't want the sand. On the way out to the beach, you can grab a beach chair or boogie board that other guests have left which the hotel leaves for others to use - a great little benefit if you don't want to buy all that stuff and haul it home! A nice "heavy" continental breakfast is included (hard boiled eggs, cereal, oatmeal, make-your-own waffles, yogurt, etc.). I was worried at first that the property was going to be a bit old and tired but I was happily surprised. and the staff were terrific. There is only one elevator but I never had to wait for more than a minute. And the underground parking is a great benefit since parking in the area can be a challenge (note - it is NOT free, it is $10 per night, and the spaces are really small so don't bring a big vehicle!). The beds were just about the most comfortable hotel beds I have ever slept in, a bit on the soft side. I would highly recommend this hotel - just large enough to be a hotel but the perfect size to have a few amenities and a staff who really cares!

Room Tip: All rooms have at least some view of the ocean so you really can't go wrong! We were on the thir...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Benny G, Front Desk Supervisor at Ocean Park Inn, responded to this review, September 14, 2014
Thank you so much for taking the time to provide us with an excellent review! We are elated to hear that your whole family enjoyed their time at the OPI. We greatly appreciate you taking the time to mention some of the amenities we offer such as the complimentary breakfast, affordable underground parking and complimentary beach equipment. Thank you for using us as your home base and we hope to see everyone back again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

713 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    390
    226
    41
    26
    30
See reviews for
209
274
31
27
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (225)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2014

You honestly couldn't ask for a more helpful, nicer staff! We ended up wanting to stay an extra day, our room was already booked for the extra night, so they helped us move into an ocean front room. I love the location of this hotel, easily located to restaurants and bars, right on the boardwalk and you walk right out to the beach. Close to the pier if you want to fish. We really loved our stay here & very comfortable for our family! The extra boogie boards and sand buckets and shovels for the kids to borrow, The pool and spa, I could go on for a while. We have reservations for another hotel for labor day weekend, and i'm getting ready to see if this hotel has availability so we can switch. We really loved this place!

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mat R, Front Office Manager at Ocean Park Inn, responded to this review, August 15, 2014
Lucinda, Thank you so much for the great feedback! We appreciate the kind words about our staff and we are glad to hear that you and your family enjoyed your time with us. We are in a great location so there is never a shortage of things to do for families or for anyone traveling on their own. We do still have some rooms available for Labor Day weekend! Thanks again for the review and we hope to see you soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2014

I chose this hotel based on it's terrific location and nice photos online. I paid $450 (higher than average) per night thinking I would get a great experience with my daughter and friends, but it turned out that the poor customer service will detour me from ever staying at this hotel again. The staff was not friendly, informative or accommodating. The room was average, nothing special; however, I did enjoy the partial view on the balcony. I will not list all the poor customer service events that took place, but all of them in combination is why my rating is low. I will talk about the two most bothersome to me. Our room was not cleaned the second day that we stayed. After spending the entire day at the beach, my daughter was just stepping into the shower as the maids knocked on the door at 5:30 pm to clean our room. She asked them to come back later. They didn't come back later and when I called down to the front desk to find out what happened and if we could get some fresh towels, there were no apologies for them not coming to clean until 5:30 pm just blame put on us for sending them away. We had a late check out scheduled for 12 noon on our last day. We left early in the morning for the beach and when we returned to the hotel at 11:15 am to shower and pack, all of our keys had been deactivated. I had to go to the front desk for access and again no apologies for inconveniencing us just an answer of "that is how our keys work even if you have a late check out, they automatically deactivate at 11 am". I asked why no one told me that when we scheduled the late check out and she said again, "that is just how our keys work". These types of incidences happened over and over again. My experience and rating would be much different if the staff just used their manners and applied good customer service to their daily routine.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mat R, Front Office Manager at Ocean Park Inn, responded to this review, August 15, 2014
Thank you for your feedback, Dawn. As we believe customer service is one of our fortes here at the Ocean Park Inn, we find it very disappointing to hear about your experiences with us. Our guest service agents have been trained to handle your situations correctly, so allow me to extend my personal apologies that the proper customer service was not exemplified during your stay. Rest assured, I will personally be addressing these issues with the staff and proper action will be taken.

To address your two main issues directly: our housekeeping staff is here servicing rooms for most of the day, often until 5:00 - 6:00 in the evening. If you declined service at 5:30, it should have been clearly stated that the housekeepers were departing, so any requests after their departure could have happily been fulfilled by the front desk and/or houseman staffs. I will personally bring this issue up with the head housekeeper.

Lastly, although the room keys do automatically expire at 11:00, this should have been made clear to you upon your request for a late checkout. I have already taken proper measures at the front desk to ensure this is no longer a problem.

We are all sorry to hear about your experience with us. We do hope the rest of your time in San Diego was relaxing and enjoyable.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Des Moines
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2014

We recently stayed at Ocean Park Inn and had a great experience. The staff was wonderful from the front desk to the cleaning staff. The location can't be beat.......wonderful places to eat and shop within a block of the hotel. The pool and hot tub were perfect temps and clean (amazing with all the beach traffic.) We could all sit on our balcony and people watch on the boardwalk or take in the ocean. My daughter borrowed the hotels boogie boards and learned to body surf which was so fun. We would stay here again in a heartbeat!!

Room Tip: Get the partial or full ocean view.....it is worth it!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mat R, Front Office Manager at Ocean Park Inn, responded to this review, August 15, 2014
Awesome review! We are thrilled to hear that you had an enjoyable stay with us. We greatly appreciate the kind words about our staff. Our location is truly incredible, as we are centrally located to much of San Diego and within walking distance of many excellent restaurants and shops here in Pacific Beach. Be sure to sign up for our newsletter for special promotions for your next trip to San Diego! See you then.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chesterfield
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2014

We stayed here for two nights as part of our honeymoon. The hotel is in an excellent location with plenty of underground parking available. The hotel is pretty basic but has everything you need and a wonderful view of the ocean.
The main selling point is definitely the location.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mat R, Front Office Manager at Ocean Park Inn, responded to this review, August 15, 2014
Thank you for the feedback Anna! We are so pleased to hear that you enjoyed your time with us in PB, and allow us to send our congratulations and best wishes to you and your spouse! We hope to see you back again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2014

My husband and I visited Vegas and California this summer. When we arrived in San Diego we had booked into 'The diamond head inn' upon arrival we were very disappointed with this hotel so decided to walk up the boardwalk to try locate another hotel. We went into the ocean park inn on spec and spoke with Patrick on reception. We could nt have met a more accommodating person. He booked us into the ocean park for the rest of the week. We were not disappointed. All the staff were excellent. Complimentary breakfast was fantastic. No shortage of coffee, toast, bagels cereals, cheese, yogurt and fruit. Hotel room was very spacious and spotless. Lovely pool and spa. Felt very safe in this hotel. We have recommended it to all our friends. X

Room Tip: We stayed on the 3 rd floor with partial view and it was fabulous.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mat R, Front Office Manager at Ocean Park Inn, responded to this review, August 15, 2014
Geraldine, thank you for the review - we are glad that we were able to help salvage your trip to San Diego! Thank you for the kind words about our staff, and we hope to see you again the next time you visit San Diego.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, Arizona, United States
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2014

We having been staying at Ocean Park Inn every summer for the last 5 - 6 years and wouldn't stay anywhere else. The staff is amazing, location is excellent - right on the beach, and everything you need is within walking distance. Hope to be staying there for many more years.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mat R, Front Office Manager at Ocean Park Inn, responded to this review, August 15, 2014
Thank you for the review, Sharon! It was a pleasure seeing you two again - we are honored to be your go-to hotel when in San Diego. See you next year!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Ocean Park Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ocean Park Inn

Address: 710 Grand Ave, San Diego, CA 92109
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Diego
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 On the Beach Hotel in San Diego
#16 Romantic Hotel in San Diego
#32 Business Hotel in San Diego
#47 Family Hotel in San Diego
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Ocean Park Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 72
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Stay at the Ocean Park Inn and see for yourself why San Diego is known as America's finest city. Superior location, year-round sunshine, incredible ocean views and an abundance of activities are only a few things this contemporary, boutique San Diego inn has to offer. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Ocean Park Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ocean Park Hotel San Diego
Park Inn San Diego
Park Inn Ocean
Ocean Park Inn San Diego

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ocean Park Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.