We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful place to stay” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Ocean Park Inn

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Ocean Park Inn to your Saves list
Ocean Park Inn
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   710 Grand Ave, San Diego, CA 92109   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #47 of 273 Hotels in San Diego
Certificate of Excellence
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Wonderful place to stay”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2014

My husband and I visited Vegas and California this summer. When we arrived in San Diego we had booked into 'The diamond head inn' upon arrival we were very disappointed with this hotel so decided to walk up the boardwalk to try locate another hotel. We went into the ocean park inn on spec and spoke with Patrick on reception. We could nt have met a more accommodating person. He booked us into the ocean park for the rest of the week. We were not disappointed. All the staff were excellent. Complimentary breakfast was fantastic. No shortage of coffee, toast, bagels cereals, cheese, yogurt and fruit. Hotel room was very spacious and spotless. Lovely pool and spa. Felt very safe in this hotel. We have recommended it to all our friends. X

Room Tip: We stayed on the 3 rd floor with partial view and it was fabulous.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mat R, Front Office Manager at Ocean Park Inn, responded to this review, August 15, 2014
Geraldine, thank you for the review - we are glad that we were able to help salvage your trip to San Diego! Thank you for the kind words about our staff, and we hope to see you again the next time you visit San Diego.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

814 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    439
    264
    51
    28
    32
See reviews for
233
328
32
30
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (269)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Phoenix, Arizona, United States
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2014

We having been staying at Ocean Park Inn every summer for the last 5 - 6 years and wouldn't stay anywhere else. The staff is amazing, location is excellent - right on the beach, and everything you need is within walking distance. Hope to be staying there for many more years.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mat R, Front Office Manager at Ocean Park Inn, responded to this review, August 15, 2014
Thank you for the review, Sharon! It was a pleasure seeing you two again - we are honored to be your go-to hotel when in San Diego. See you next year!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mesa, Arizona
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2014

What a wonderful place! I had an ocean front king size room with a gorgeous view. Coffee on the balcony in pajamas watching the lifeguards set up every morning...priceless. I was travelling alone and felt completely safe here. Anything I needed was within walking distance. Staff was friendly and helpful. The only reason it does not get 5 stars is the WiFi. I never did connect on my laptop. Thank goodness for cell phones :)

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mat R, Front Office Manager at Ocean Park Inn, responded to this review, August 15, 2014
Thank you for the great feedback and the awesome pictures! We are pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay at the Ocean Park Inn. We hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pickering, Ontario, Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2014

I stayed here with my daughter this week for a few days and was sad to leave. This was a great value - close to the beach with lots of great restaurants and shops close by. We found this place to be very clean. Our room had a balcony overlooking the pool with a view of the ocean in the distance. The staff here were very friendly and helpful. There were towels provided for beach and the pool. For kids, I noticed they had some toys (pails and shovels and other items) to take to the beach. Breakfast was complimentary. There were two waffle machines to make your own waffles and an assortment of muffins, bagels, yogurt, boiled eggs, cereal. We found the hotel to be very quiet considering this is a very busy location. Lots of activity with people swimming, surfing, running, skateboarding, cycling or just strolling along the beach or boardwalk. The beach was very clean with awesome sunsets. Not complaining but how come no mosquitoes here? So nice to sit out on the balcony or by the pool and not get bothered by bugs! I would highly recommend this spot for families. My only piece of advice is to rent a car if you plan on doing a lot of sightseeing in San Diego and surrounding area.

Room Tip: I would get a room 2nd floor or higher. Choose room facing the pool or ocean.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mat R, Front Office Manager at Ocean Park Inn, responded to this review, August 15, 2014
Ruth, thank you so much for the awesome review! We are happy to hear that you and your daughter enjoyed your time with us in Pacific Beach. We appreciate you taking the time to mention some of the many amenities we offer, we take a great deal of pride in providing our guests the best value in Pacific Beach. Thanks again for the feedback and we hope to see you back soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, Arizona
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2014

First warning...The free WiFi is a joke. I could only catch a signal(barely) if I stood in one corner of our second floor room. And when I did relocate to the lobby the WiFi connection was so slow from everyone trying to use it at the same time, it was essentially unusable. Informed Front Desk of the issues, but they offered no solution.

Second warning...The parking spots are very narrow. Anything wider than a Mini Cooper is going to be a challenge fitting between the concrete support pillars in the basement parking garage.

Other than that, the hotel is OK, better than most on the beach.

Room Tip: Better ocean views from floors 2 and 3. Ground floor views are obstructed.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mat R, Front Office Manager at Ocean Park Inn, responded to this review, August 15, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to provide us with some feedback, Wes. We're sorry to hear you had trouble in our parking garage. We do have larger spots that frequently accommodate large vans and trucks equivalent to F-350's, but you're absolutely right - it can get tight down there during the busy season.

You will be happy to know, however, we already have plans to upgrade the entire WiFi system to ensure each room has excellent signal strength. This upgrade should happen within the coming months, so you should have no issues the next time you're in town!

Thanks again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madison, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
63 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2014

I'll admit up front that my opinion of Ocean Park Inn changed over the course of our three day stay. First, check-in didn't go smoothly. We drove there and parking is rather challenging in the area so we pulled into the hotel's driveway leading to the parking garage. I ran inside to check in and although I was quickly checked in and back in the car, the woman checking me in didn't mention how to get in the garage. You need to swipe your room key to activate the garage door, although it's hard to tell that by looking at the device and when there are cars waiting behind you. Second, the on-site breakfast wasn't mentioned so I'm not sure if that was for certain guests only or everyone.
We had a double queen room ocean-side on the ground floor. At first, I was disappointed with the view because the hotel sits lower than the boardwalk so you have a somewhat obstructed view of the ocean. Later in our stay I came to appreciate it more because we were adjacent to the pool and could go out our patio door and into the pool area quite easily. However, if I stayed again, I'd request an ocean view room on a higher floor. All ocean front rooms have a couple comfy chairs to sit on outside the sliding glass door so you can enjoy the view. The sunsets are absolutely stunning and can be enjoyed sitting right outside your room.

The rooms were clean but I found the hallways a little dark and dated. The bathrooms are very small by today's standards with no storage area for make up or hair products, etc. Not good if you have a bunch of girls sharing the bathroom. The other negatives where the noise from within the hotel itself. Water gushing, doors slamming, footsteps on the floor above, old air conditioners that switch on and off during the night, and very slow or interrupted internet service in the rooms.

My overall rating of a 4 is based solely on the location (a three or 3.5 is probably more accurate). The hotel is right along the board walk which runs along the beach. Great for running in the morning before it gets crowded. Good people watching in the evening at sunset. The beach is really nice and flat, debris free sand good for playing Frisbee or catch, and great for walking. We also enjoyed walking to restaurants in the area. There is a grocery store conveniently located about a block away. I'd stay again but if I'm paying for an ocean front view, I want to be able to see it without straining my neck to see over the board walk.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mat R, Front Office Manager at Ocean Park Inn, responded to this review, August 15, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to provide us with some feedback. I do apologize for the lack of communication resulting in a difficult check in and a confusing morning. It is the job of guest service staff to explain parking and breakfast, so rest assured we will take proper steps to ensure this is not a problem in the future.

The Two Queen Ocean Front room you booked is available on all three floors, and you’re absolutely correct in alluding to the pros and cons that exist for each level. Upstairs you have a better view of the ocean but a smaller balcony, and downstairs you have a large patio space and quick access to the beach and pool, but less of an ocean view. For your next stay with us, feel free to put a request in for an upper floor room - we will do our best to accommodate this request.

You’ll be happy to know we will also soon be addressing many of the issues you mentioned. There are plans in the works to repaint and decorate our hallways, as well as plans to add storage space to the particular room you stayed in. Also, we will soon be doing a significant upgrade to our WiFi network to ensure every room on the property has excellent signal strength.

Thanks again for providing us with some great feedback. We greatly appreciate it and we hope to see you again in the future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Antioch, Tennessee
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2014

I visited San Diego last weekend with my girlfriend and we had a memorable experience. In fact, we didn't want to leave. The hotel staff is very accommodating. Can't beat having a free breakfast and the ocean view was breath taking...you're literally right by the beach! There are plenty of spots around the area that is in walking distance as well. We will come back to this place in the near future!

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mat R, Front Office Manager at Ocean Park Inn, responded to this review, August 15, 2014
Thank you for the review! We are thrilled to hear that you and your girlfriend enjoyed your time with us in Pacific Beach and we look forward to seeing you soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Diego hotels
Pacific Beach
Pacific Terrace Hotel
Pacific Terrace Hotel
#3 of 273 in San Diego
4.5 of 5 stars 1,524 reviews
Ocean Beach Hotel
#115 of 273 in San Diego
4.0 of 5 stars 652 reviews
Pacific Beach
Tower23 Hotel
Tower23 Hotel
#7 of 273 in San Diego
4.5 of 5 stars 602 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Surfer Beach Hotel
#107 of 273 in San Diego
3.5 of 5 stars 454 reviews
Pantai Inn
#2 of 24 in La Jolla
5.0 of 5 stars 317 reviews
La Jolla Cove Suites
#17 of 24 in La Jolla
3.5 of 5 stars 629 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ocean Park Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ocean Park Inn

Address: 710 Grand Ave, San Diego, CA 92109
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Diego
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 On the Beach Hotel in San Diego
#17 Romantic Hotel in San Diego
#32 Business Hotel in San Diego
#47 Family Hotel in San Diego
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Ocean Park Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 72
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Stay at the Ocean Park Inn and see for yourself why San Diego is known as America's Finest City. Superior location, year-round sunshine, underground gated parking, incredible ocean views and an abundance of activities are only a few things this contemporary, boutique San Diego Inn has to offer! Start your day out with our delicious complimentary breakfast. Then spend the day deciding which of the 95 walkable restaurants you would like to visit or just order some food to be delivered by one of our partner restaurants while lounging by our ocean view pool! Whether for work or pleasure the Ocean Park Inn will provide the productive or relaxing stay that you are in search of! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, Priceline, Agoda, Odigeo and EasyToBook so you can book your Ocean Park Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ocean Park Hotel San Diego
Park Inn San Diego
Park Inn Ocean
Ocean Park Inn San Diego

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ocean Park Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.