We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Can't Beat the location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Ocean Park Inn

Save Saved
You added Ocean Park Inn to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Ocean Park Inn
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   710 Grand Ave, San Diego, CA 92109   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #31 of 268 hotels in San Diego
Arizona, United States
1 review
“Can't Beat the location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2013

The hotel is really just average but the location can't be beat. There are tons of restaurants in the area. You can walk or ride a bike to anything you can need. There are many options to rent bikes or surf boards (and lessons). The hotel is very secure and has great views of the ocean. We vacation in SD at least once a year and usually stay at the OPI. We will be sure to return.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mat R, Front Office Manager at Ocean Park Inn, responded to this review, June 24, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write us a review Robyn! We're very happy to hear you've become loyal guests of ours for your trips out to the west coast. By the way, we very much value guest feedback so if you ever have suggestions for hotel improvements, please let us know! Thank you again, and we look forward to seeing you next time.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

680 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    372
    212
    41
    25
    30
See reviews for
202
258
28
26
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (212)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2013 via mobile

We stayed here for 4 nights last September and thoroughly enjoyed our stay. We had a partial view room but the view of the beach was excellent.

The rooms are slightly dated but this doesn't make much difference in h enjoyment factor.

There are a number of bars and restaurants close by and especially enjoyed the quiz at Nick's less than a block away.

On a side note, the bars do not accept anything other than passports for I.D. our driving licences were ok elsewhere but not here.

If we returned to PB then we would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mat R, Front Office Manager at Ocean Park Inn, responded to this review, June 24, 2013
Thank you for the review! We're glad you enjoyed your time in town - Nick's is definitely a personal favorite of many staff members here. We hope to see you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montana
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2013

My sister and I spent 5 nights in an ocean front 3rd floor room. All of the reviews here are accurate...perfect location with friendly and helpful staff. We went to San Diego to be near the ocean, and this hotel is PERFECT if that's your goal. We didn't rent a car. We took a cab from the airport...the 20 minute ride cost $38. The bus stop is less than a block away if you want to take in the many San Diego attractions. Ride all day for $7! We loved the Ocean Park Inn and hope to return one day. For now we will live vicariously through their newsletters and Facebook posts!

Room Tip: Ocean front is worth the extra money! We were in room 302.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mat R, Front Office Manager at Ocean Park Inn, responded to this review, June 24, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write a review about your stay with us! We're extremely happy to hear you enjoyed your time here in Pacific Beach. We've developed a very active community on our social media networks (especially Facebook), so hopefully the beautiful pictures and hotel updates can hold you over until your next visit! Thanks again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Napa, California, United States
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2013

Decided to fly by the seat of my pants and get a room the day we arrived in San Diego. Glad we did. I found a room at Ocean Park Inn that was on special for $125.00 a night. Great price for being right on the ocean. Had a King size bed that was very comfy. Room was clean. Breakfast was provided and was good. People were very friendly and helpful. I will be back for sure!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mat R, Front Office Manager at Ocean Park Inn, responded to this review, June 24, 2013
Thanks for the review Robin! It sounds like you booked one our last minute deals - that worked out perfectly! Thank you for staying with us, and we look forward to seeing you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gilbert, Arizona
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2013

My daughter and I wanted to stay on the beach in San Diego and happen to come across the Ocean Park Inn. We stayed three nights , enjoyed the outside patio, the continental breakfast, (which is much more than that), the hospitality of the staff was great, and we will be back again in the future. I also plan to schedual a "girls weekend" this year. Walking distance to the shops and resturaunts and just miles away from tourist attractions. The view of the beach was perfect, lots of people watching, and the pool & hot tub were an added bonus after a long day of shopping & visiting the San Diego Zoo. The room itself was clean, the beds were very comfortable and the service was prompt. Our refrigerator was not working and within minutes they brought another one and replaced it. I reccommend Ocean Park Inn as you will not be disapointed!

Room Tip: We chose to stay on the ground floor to have access to the outside patio with the comphy lounge chai...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mat R, Front Office Manager at Ocean Park Inn, responded to this review, June 24, 2013
Thank you for the wonderful review and all the compliments! We're so glad you were able to enjoy many of our amenities in addition to the area. Before you plan your next few stays with us, make sure you sign up for our newsletter to receive any specials and packages we may be running. We can't wait to see you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2013 via mobile

Spent three great nights here with ocean breezes and the sound of the surf pouring in through the open balcony door. Great view, convenient location and excellent customer service. Rooms are a little small, decor is dated, but still excellent as ALL staff were helpful, freindly and very welcoming. They seemed to enjoy their jobs. Very refreshing.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mat R, Front Office Manager at Ocean Park Inn, responded to this review, June 23, 2013
Thank you for the compliments, Olivia! We've developed a wonderful culture here at the Ocean Park Inn, and our staff truly enjoys making our guests' experiences in San Diego as enjoyable as possible. We're so glad you enjoyed your time us - see you next time!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, OR
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2013

Ocean Park Inn is truly a Pacific Beach classic property. Located within steps of the beach, the view from an ocean front room balcony is spectacular as you look down the coast to Mission and Ocean beaches to the south, and Crystal Pier to the north. The rooms are very comfortable and have all the basics. There is a small table and chair set on the balcony which is great for catching afternoon sun and of course, sunsets! Jacuzzi and pool area is quite nice, with access directly to the beach. The staff is friendly and helpful. For the real PB experience, this place definitely dials it in. Just watching the flow of people on the promenade is a great way to pass the time. There are countless restaurants and bars within walking distance of the hotel and the whole town has a great beach vibe. I've stayed there about 5 times and have always had a consistently good time.

Room Tip: Go for the ocean front rooms on 2nd or 3rd floor for the view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mat R, Front Office Manager at Ocean Park Inn, responded to this review, June 23, 2013
Thanks for the review, Rick! You're absolutely right, people watching is definitely one of the most entertaining activities here in Pacific Beach. We're glad you've become such a loyal guest - we look forward to seeing you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Ocean Park Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ocean Park Inn

Address: 710 Grand Ave, San Diego, CA 92109
Location: United States > California > San Diego
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 On the Beach Hotel in San Diego
#16 Romantic Hotel in San Diego
#33 Business Hotel in San Diego
#46 Family Hotel in San Diego
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Ocean Park Inn 2.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Stay at the Ocean Park Inn and see for yourself why San Diego is known as America's finest city. Superior location, year-round sunshine, incredible ocean views and an abundance of activities are only a few things this contemporary, boutique San Diego inn has to offer. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Tingo, Venere, BookingOdigeoWL, Priceline and Hotels.com so you can book your Ocean Park Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ocean Park Hotel San Diego
Park Inn San Diego
Park Inn Ocean
Ocean Park Inn San Diego

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ocean Park Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.