We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The small-feel comfortable-manageable-greatly located - hotel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Ocean Park Inn

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Ocean Park Inn to your Saves list
Ocean Park Inn
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   710 Grand Ave, San Diego, CA 92109   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #29 of 270 Hotels in San Diego
Chacras de Coria, Argentina
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“The small-feel comfortable-manageable-greatly located - hotel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2013

Perfect location.

I would clearly stay there again. No doubt.

A little bit expensive given the category of the services.

The breakfast is very much "complimentary"...

Very warm personnel, except for the lady that attends the breakfast.

The younger staff in the front desk appear to be not too informed about local tourism details.

Room Tip: The highest possible floor facing the beach. The rooms on the back will be clearly affected by th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mat R, Front Office Manager at Ocean Park Inn, responded to this review, June 23, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to provide us with your feedback! You'll be happy to know that we are continuously training our newest staff members not only on hotel procedures, but local tourism details as well - by your next stay, they'll have it down! Thanks again, we look forward to seeing you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

740 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    405
    236
    43
    26
    30
See reviews for
211
289
31
28
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (236)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Calgary, Canada
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 24, 2013

My family recently completed our third stay at the OPI and were once again very impressed with the location, cleanliness and above all the service.

We stayed in an Ocean Front room which overlooks the promenade and the beach. The room was quiet at night even with the windows open to hear the ocean. This is almost a miracle given the hotel's proximity to a fire dept. and a number of happening restaurants & pubs.

While the location is spectacular each of our 3 stays I have been blown away by the friendly and accommodating staff. They all were (i'd love to name you all but for the 6 I interacted with I only remember Benny & Patrick's names) very friendly especially to my 6 year old. They were always quick to help out whether it was a recommendation on how to get to the zoo, a place to eat, beach towels or even an emergency cork screw!

We loved our trip and the people really make us feel welcomed back each time we go. I"m sure they don't remember us but we sure remember them! Can't wait to come back for another visit.

Room Tip: Spring for an ocean side room - it's totally worth it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mat R, Front Office Manager at Ocean Park Inn, responded to this review, June 23, 2013
Thank you for the wonderful review! Our staff works very hard to ensure our guests are enjoying their stay to the fullest - compliments like yours are always very rewarding! We're extremely glad you've become loyal guests of ours, and we look forward to seeing you next time!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Top Contributor
68 reviews 68 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 23, 2013

Quick drive from the airport and you are on vacation. Staff friendly at the front desk at arrival. Pat set us up with the perfect room for our family, just what we needed. This is a budget property, so don't expect a spa like room. It was clean, everything functioned as expected. The mini fridge was perfect for us, as was the in room safe. Our youngster enjoyed the nice clean pool with the view of the beach to people watch. We enjoyed the hot tub that was warm enough and the water was pristine. You are right on the beach, location perfect for those who choose to run the beach, suntan, rollerblade or just relax and people watch. Staff were friendly, eager to help.
The property was surprisingly quiet at night considering we were next to a bar or two. They must have paid attention to sound proofing when this place was built, I could not hear my neighbor in any direction, very unusual.

Room Tip: 316 is bigger than the others, ocean view but not ocean front. Be sure to specify ocean front or oc...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mat R, Front Office Manager at Ocean Park Inn, responded to this review, May 27, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to provide us with such a great review! It sounds like you took full advantage of many amenities here at the OPI, and we're happy to hear the entire family had such a great time! Thanks again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tucson, Arizona
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 22, 2013

Why come to SD and stay anywhere els. Upgraded rooms with comfortable beds, all the extras I need when I want to get away, yes, even great internet service to get some work done. Second to none view on a huge boardwalk with tons of stores, resteraunts and nightlife. I come here once a month for work and have stayed downtown but OPI is my favorite. I sit on my balcony, looking out at the ocean and all the scenery walking by and never want to go home. We vacation here every year with the kids and grandkids as you can't beat the private pool when you want to get away from the salt water and sand. Well worth the $$ and the staff is second to none in making my stay enjoyable

Room Tip: Don't settle, get an ocean view room
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mat R, Front Office Manager at Ocean Park Inn, responded to this review, May 27, 2013
Thank you for the review! We are so happy to have you as a loyal guest, and once again we're glad you enjoyed your stay. Make sure you're signed up for our newsletter to receive news, updates, and specials for future stays! See you soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California, United States
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2013

Couldn't be happier. Incredible view, helpful staff, good price, clean room. Loved our stay here. It was right across the street from Pacific Beach Brewery. I plan to return. I don't like that we have to pay for parking but they discounted our room $10 a month to cover that. Beach was steps away as were countless restaurants, bars, and places to shop.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mat R, Front Office Manager at Ocean Park Inn, responded to this review, May 27, 2013
Thank you for the review Bryan! It sounds like you enjoyed your time here in Pacific Beach. You're correct, we do charge a nightly $10 fee to park in our garage each night. The good news, however, is that our fee is the lowest in the area as other properties get up to $36 per night to park! We look forward to seeing you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, Arizona
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 19, 2013

This place is a great destination for anyone. The hotel is very clean and the staff are awesome. 3 in particular went out of their way and made our experience even better. I would like to say thank you to Storm, Pat,and Matt. Your smiles and kind greetings made us feel at home. Loved my morning coffee and little chat with Storm. She's a very nice lady. Also thanks Pat for hooking us up with the larger beach towels, that was very much appreciated (we're not little people) This place is also located within walking distance of great food,shopping and fun bars. We had an ocean view room with balcony and the view of the sunset was stunning..watch for the "green flash". The ocean park also has underground gated parking garage which was a bigger deal to my husband.(he's into cars, I'm not) Anyway, I'm still on vacation and need to cut this short but I will end with the promise that the next time I come to San Diego, we will be staying at the Ocean Park Inn on pacific beach and would highly recommend it to our friends

Room Tip: Didn't have fitness center or restaurant on site to rate above. Our room was facing ocean and we...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mat R, Front Office Manager at Ocean Park Inn, responded to this review, May 27, 2013
Thank you for the awesome review! You guys were an absolute pleasure to have around, so we're elated you enjoyed your vacation! Thank you for all the wonderful compliments - I do hope you were successful is seeing the elusive "green flash" at sunset. We all look forward to seeing you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grand Rapids, Michigan
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 17, 2013

One of my best friends and I recently decided to take a vacation to Pacific Beach, San Diego. I called the Ocean Park Inn with some questions and they were so friendly and helpful. We decided to book with them and were incredibly happy with our choice! The location is perfect! Right on the beach and close to shopping, bars, restaurants, etc. On-site parking is available, but we didn't even bring a car. Taxis are readily available if you need to go anywhere farther away. The hotel hot tub was being fixed the weekend we visited so Ocean Park Inn upgraded our room for free! We both agreed that when we return to San Diego in the future we will definitely stay at OPI again. Clean rooms, comfortable beds, continental breakfast and friendly staff!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mat R, Front Office Manager at Ocean Park Inn, responded to this review, May 27, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write such a kind review! It sounds like you had a fantastic vacation with us - and the good news is the hot tub turned out excellent, so next time you'll be able to enjoy sunsets will soaking! Thank you again for all the compliments, we'll see you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Ocean Park Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ocean Park Inn

Address: 710 Grand Ave, San Diego, CA 92109
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Diego
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 On the Beach Hotel in San Diego
#16 Romantic Hotel in San Diego
#32 Business Hotel in San Diego
#48 Family Hotel in San Diego
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Ocean Park Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 72
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Stay at the Ocean Park Inn and see for yourself why San Diego is known as America's finest city. Superior location, year-round sunshine, incredible ocean views and an abundance of activities are only a few things this contemporary, boutique San Diego inn has to offer. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Travelocity, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Ocean Park Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ocean Park Hotel San Diego
Park Inn San Diego
Park Inn Ocean
Ocean Park Inn San Diego

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ocean Park Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.