We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful ocean view great stay!!!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Ocean Park Inn

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Ocean Park Inn to your Saves list
Ocean Park Inn
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   710 Grand Ave, San Diego, CA 92109   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #28 of 271 Hotels in San Diego
vancouver
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“Beautiful ocean view great stay!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 2, 2013

We had a wonderful time at this Inn. Amazing view from our 3 rd floor room facing the ocean. Sounds of the waves lulled us to sleep. Just steps a few from the boardwalk. The staff could not do enough for us. Made great suggestions for restaurants, gave us a coupon for bike rental when we mentioned biking. Breakfast was perfect just enough to choose from. We stayed in room 313
And for some reason the WI Fi did not work unless we were on the balcony. The view from this room was amazing right in the middle facing the ocean. We are Looking forward to staying here
Again on our next visit to San Diego.

Room Tip: Definitely pay the extra for an ocean view. Also very quite.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mat R, Front Office Manager at Ocean Park Inn, responded to this review, May 20, 2013
Thank you for such a wonderful review! We're all very happy to hear the staff made your stay that much more enjoyable. We look forward to seeing you next time.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

740 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    405
    236
    43
    26
    30
See reviews for
211
289
31
28
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (236)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Seattle, Washington
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2013

I bought a 2 night deal on livingsocial back in January 2012- Went with my boyfriend and we had a great time! Location is right on the boardwalk and beach, convienent to everything in Pacific Beach. Staff was helpful and friendly. Rooms (mainly the bathrooms) were a little outdated but still nice and very clean. We had a ground level room, I imagine the higher leveled rooms have a better view but we still loved sitting on our private patio watching the sunset. For a livingsocial deal- 2 nights for $250 this was a great buy. If you're paying full price, i'd still recommend it but remember you're paying for the beach front location rather than the quality of the hotel.

Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mat R, Front Office Manager at Ocean Park Inn, responded to this review, May 20, 2013
Thank you for the review! We're glad you took advantage of that LivingSocial deal...stay tuned for similar deals online in the future. Another great way to find specials is by signing up for our newsletter! We're glad you enjoyed your stay, we look forward to seeing you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bloomington, MN
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2013

We have just completed perhaps our 7th stay at the Ocean Park Inn, and we cannot wait to return. If you love wonderful sunsets, great walking on the boardwalk or beach, and helpful staff, this is the place for you. We love booking an ocean front room so we can go to sleep and wake up with the sound of the ocean.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mat R, Front Office Manager at Ocean Park Inn, responded to this review, May 20, 2013
We are so glad you have become such loyal guests of ours! Thank you for becoming part of the OPI family, and we look forward to seeing you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2013

We enjoyed the four nights we spent at the Ocean Park--a family trip over spring break. We enjoyed being on the beach and found the location to be convenient for visiting San Diego, La Jolla, and the environs. We wish we had booked earlier to get a beach side room, rather than a partial view.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mat R, Front Office Manager at Ocean Park Inn, responded to this review, April 25, 2013
Thank you for your review! We are all happy to hear the entire family enjoyed their time in San Diego. When you start planning your next family vacation to the Ocean Park Inn, book early as we have very few 2 Queen Ocean Front rooms! We look forward to seeing you next time.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Park City, Utah
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2013

This hotel was fine. More expensive than the quality suggests but you are paying for the beach side location. I was surprised when I went out at night how loud the adjacent bars are, but luckily in our beach side room with the door wide open we couldn't hear the bars at all. The front desk staff is very friendly. The free breakfast is less than impressive. Pool and hot tub are great.

Room Tip: Ground level beach side is money. Higher floors for better views. There is a glass wall between the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mat R, Front Office Manager at Ocean Park Inn, responded to this review, April 25, 2013
Thank you for your review! We're happy to hear you enjoyed your stay with us. You're absolutely right, the prices for rooms on the beach will always be higher than those inland. We closely monitor the other properties in the area to ensure our rates remain competitive, and keep in mind we offer the most complimentary amenities out of any property in town!

We're sorry to hear you did not enjoy our complimentary continental breakfast - we are offering as many options as possible for a "continental breakfast" with fresh pastries, cereal, two waffle machines, fresh fruit, yogurt, hard boiled eggs, oatmeal, and coffee and juices. Next time, we'd be more than happy to point you to any number of restaurants in the area that serve wonderful full breakfasts!

Thank you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Erie, Colorado
Top Contributor
123 reviews 123 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 6, 2013 via mobile

This hotel is a little cursed by its location. First, the firehouse bar next door is wicked loud. Thumping beats till late at night. The public restroom and lifeguard station next door is a magnet for homeless folks. While none were outwardly threatening, I did find myself on edge walking around with my wife and young daughter.

The outside if the hotel is fresh and recent. Pool area, enclosed by wind breaks, along with lawn chairs is quite nice. Continental breakfast was good as well.

The inside of rooms are deeply in need of a redo. Certainly circa 1976 with pink toilets, small tile counters, pink tub, cheap doors, etc. While nothing was 'wrong' with the room, it's in need of an update. I likely would not go back.

I found the areas seemed a little cleaner north of the crystal pier around the Tower 23 hotel and Jordan restaurant.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mat R, Front Office Manager at Ocean Park Inn, responded to this review, April 25, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to provide us with your feedback! You're absolutely right, some of our neighbors can be a bit noisy in the evenings and on weekends. The good news, however, is we have very few rooms that directly face these restaurants and we have multiple measures and procedures in place to keep the noise reasonable.

Unfortunately, similarly to most small beach towns up and down the coast of California, there is a small transient population. The SDPD does a fantastic job of monitoring their activity in the area, and we very rarely have any issues at or near our property.

We're happy you noticed some of our recently renovations and updates, and you'll also be pleased to know we are not finished with the process. In addition to the newly renovated lobby, breakfast area, pool area, the new carpet and paint throughout the hotel, and the new furniture both inside and out, we will soon be updated our window and bedding treatments, lighting throughout the hotel, and our bathrooms.

We do hope you give us another shot in the future! Thank you for staying with us, and again, we appreciate your feedback.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 4, 2013 via mobile

Most of these reviews are right on target with this Inn. I personally researched the area pretty well before making our selection of The Ocean Park Inn. We spent a week with our 2 children 6 and 4 year olds. The staff was amazing. The room was exactly what we asked for. We knew about the noise from the clubs on the SW end of the Inn as this has been probably the most discussed complaint. Believe me the staff is well aware and I am sure they are doing what they can to address this issue. I just requested a room away from the SW end of the noise, this worked out great. The greatest asset to this Inn is the location, right on the beach and close to all the sites of Mission Beach. My only disappointment was the lack of a business center. We needed to print several tickets and boarding passes and this was somewhat of a challenge with my IPad as I emailed them to the front desk for printing. That being said the staff was AWSOME and very helpful with this and even gave me a lesson in how to use a IPad. The breakfast was great and a great value, as this was included. Thanks Again for the great stay. The pride of this little Inn is obvious in the staff they have. They work very hard to make people feel welcome and supported.

Stayed March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mat R, Front Office Manager at Ocean Park Inn, responded to this review, April 25, 2013
Thank you for such a wonderful review Eric! We are so happy to hear the property and area were everything you expected for your family vacation! Although the front desk staff is always willing to help print boarding passes and tickets to local attractions, we are in the process of looking into alternatives (such as adding a touch-screen monitor in the lobby for printing, local attractions, and maps) to make the process easier for guests. Thank you for the feedback and for all the great comments about the staff - we look forward to seeing you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Ocean Park Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ocean Park Inn

Address: 710 Grand Ave, San Diego, CA 92109
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Diego
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 On the Beach Hotel in San Diego
#16 Romantic Hotel in San Diego
#32 Business Hotel in San Diego
#48 Family Hotel in San Diego
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Ocean Park Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 72
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Stay at the Ocean Park Inn and see for yourself why San Diego is known as America's finest city. Superior location, year-round sunshine, incredible ocean views and an abundance of activities are only a few things this contemporary, boutique San Diego inn has to offer. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Travelocity, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Ocean Park Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ocean Park Hotel San Diego
Park Inn San Diego
Park Inn Ocean
Ocean Park Inn San Diego

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ocean Park Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.