We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Location, nothing else” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Ocean Park Inn

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Ocean Park Inn to your Saves list
Ocean Park Inn
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   710 Grand Ave, San Diego, CA 92109   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #34 of 270 Hotels in San Diego
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Denver, Colorado
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
“Great Location, nothing else”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 27, 2013

The location is superb. I had a 3rd floor ocean view room which had a terrific view. My disappointment was in the 3 hairs I found, one obvious by the sink and two when i pulled back the sheets. Also, the furnishings are a bit outdated and shoddy. The staff was friendly.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mat R, Front Office Manager at Ocean Park Inn, responded to this review, March 1, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to provide us with your feedback.

As you can tell by reading countless other reviews online, cleanliness is one of our biggest fortes here at the Ocean Park Inn. Although this is the first I am hearing about your issue, I can assure you this is not at all common and there are measures in place to prevent issues like this one. On behalf of management and our housekeeping staff, I apologize for this inconvenience.

You'll also be happy to know that we are continuously renovating and updating the property. We are currently in year three of our plan, and have already renovated the lobby, breakfast area, and pool area. Additionally, the entire hotel has new carpet and paint, sofas, and our energy efficient GreenStar thermostat system. Later this spring we will continue the process with new bedding and window treatments, in addition to new lighting throughout the property.

We do hope you enjoyed the rest of your time in Pacific Beach. Thank you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

777 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    421
    251
    47
    28
    30
See reviews for
222
307
31
30
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (250)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
calgary
Top Contributor
72 reviews 72 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 23, 2013

Friendly staff and a great location. Paid extra for the third floor ocean view room which was very nice and elevated above the busy walkway by the beach which is right by the hotel. The pool and hot tub are nice and we jumped in every day. Breakfast is good and in general nothing to complain about here. The wifi connection was not always great and I had to go down to the reception area for a it of business or to the nearby Starbucks. Lots of eating options nearby and if you are young and like the clubbing scene the Firehouse ( very loud link weekend) and nearby clubs are the happening places. No complaint here and thought the price was just about right. Parking is underground and reasonable price at $10 per day compared to other hotels. Location location location

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mat R, Front Office Manager at Ocean Park Inn, responded to this review, March 1, 2013
Thank you for the review! We're very glad you enjoyed the area - not only are we perfectly located in Pacific Beach within walking distance to almost everything, but we are also centrally located in San Diego County as well! You'll also be happy to know that since your stay, we have corrected our mischievous WiFi issues and now offer WiFi that is quicker than most properties. Thank you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Danville, California
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 15, 2013

Stayed 7 nights and had a fantastic time. This place is customer-service oriented. Many of the employees greet you by name. This hotel is very clean, breakfast area well-stocked, free internet, fridge & microwave in every room, and literally steps to the beach. Pool & spa are clean & area is great for people watching. The best value for the location; so much you can do just walking everywhere. Thank you all again!

Room Tip: Any room with a view, even partial is good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mat R, Front Office Manager at Ocean Park Inn, responded to this review, March 1, 2013
Thank you for becoming such a regular guest of ours! We do hope you continue to stay often - I would highly recommend becoming a fan of our Facebook page for last-minute deals and promotions! As a side note: I don't think there is a better place to "people watch" in all of San Diego, especially if you have a room overlooking the boardwalk! Thank you again for the extremely kind review, we look forward to seeing you next time!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Woodstock, New York
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 15, 2013

My husband was having surgery and we wanted to stay on the beach while he recovered. Since he needed to stay in the room all day and night, the right hotel was crucial. We picked this hotel based on the reviews and we couldn't have been happier!!! We were there in October, had a room in the front with a balcony on the second floor to view the boardwalk and ocean. The hotel's location is convenient to pretty much everything - whether a major grocery store chain one block behind it, or all the restaurants, and amenities of staying on the beach right at your fingertips.
The room was clean and comfortable. We were extremely happy with the price, especially after shopping around first.
But best of all, the staff was exceptional! Very personal and caring. Felt as if we had been staying there for years. We expect to be back in San Diego a few more times. This hotel would be our choice of where to stay - and don't feel the need to check out any other place.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mat R, Front Office Manager at Ocean Park Inn, responded to this review, March 1, 2013
We are thrilled to know we provided the perfect recovery hotel for your husband! You're absolutely correct - once you've parked the car, everything you could ever need is within walking distance. Customer service is extremely important to us, so we are all elated to know we could make your trip that much more enjoyable. For your next stay, make sure you're signed up for our monthly newsletter to receive special returning guest discounts! Thank you for the review, we look forward to seeing you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cleveland, Ohio
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 7, 2013

The Ocean Park Inn is great. The photos on their website do not do the place justice. We stayed for 3 nights in January and booked through the website. They had a very reasonable "January Special" that made this trip very affordable. You literally could park your car and never use it until you are ready to leave, there are so many restaurants in the area within walking distance. The rooms, bathrooms, patio, pool area and common areas were spotless. The views were fabulous. We took advantage of the continental breakfast and found it filling. Every staff member we encountered could not have been nicer. We will definitely be back!

Room Tip: We were in rooms 115 and 127, these units are on the first floor and their patios were adjoining wit...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mat R, Front Office Manager at Ocean Park Inn, responded to this review, March 1, 2013
We're so pleased you had such a great stay! You're right, the pictures on our website are a tad outdated - we're waiting to finish the rest of our updates this winter before uploading new ones. We are also thrilled you noticed how much effort our staff puts into the hotel, whether it's our housekeeping staff or our guest service agents. Thank you for the review, we look forward to seeing you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BC
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 29, 2013

I selected this hotel online because of the location on the beach-front, the included wi-fi, included continental breakfast, the price and because of the online reviews. I stayed three nights in January 2013 in room #227. (see photos) I appreciated a free room upgrade because I mentioned it was my birthday during my booking.

I found everything was clean and the staff friendly and helpful. I found the room quiet during my stay and close enough to the ocean to hear the ocean waves which was nice. The location was perfect for my stay right on the board-walk, with lots of restaurant and pub options all around and also many bike rental options. Ask receptions for bike rental suggestions and coupons.

The bus to downtown is #30 one block away from the hotel and costs $1.25 one way.
A taxi to or from the airport costs around $30 or choose a shuttle bus at the airport costing $20.

The breakfast had the usual continental options on paper plates with plastic utensils.

The jacuzzi was nice and warm with very strong jets.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mat R, Front Office Manager at Ocean Park Inn, responded to this review, March 1, 2013
Thank you for the review, and once again, a happy birthday! We're glad you got to enjoy the area, and that you took advantage of our many local coupons for bike rentals and restaurants. Please think of us again the next time it gets too chilly up in Canada!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
stanford
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2013

The location is very good except that it is next to a very noisy nightclub. However, you are right on the beach which is very nice. It is convenient to CVS and Ralphs as well as numerous restaurants. Had we been on one of the upper floors, we might have enjoyed it more. the rooms were average but very clean and the beds were comfortable. The desk staff was super nice which we appreciated. We did not use the pool or hot tub .

Room Tip: You do not want to be in the front and the upper floors are probably nicer.
See more room tips
Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mat R, Front Office Manager at Ocean Park Inn, responded to this review, March 1, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to provide us with your feedback.

The Ocean Park Inn has strategically positioned itself to offer the most value in Pacific Beach. Our rates are extremely competitive with our competition, and you will not find another property in the area that offers the same number of complimentary or affordable amenities.

We are happy to hear you seem to have enjoyed your stay. If you choose to stay with us again, we offer 10 different room types, some of which are guaranteed to be upstairs, so make sure you book through our website to see your full range of options. I would also recommend signing up for our monthly newsletter, which often includes specials to stretch your value with us even further!

Thank you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Ocean Park Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ocean Park Inn

Address: 710 Grand Ave, San Diego, CA 92109
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Diego
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 On the Beach Hotel in San Diego
#16 Romantic Hotel in San Diego
#33 Business Hotel in San Diego
#48 Family Hotel in San Diego
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Ocean Park Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 72
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Stay at the Ocean Park Inn and see for yourself why San Diego is known as America's finest city. Superior location, year-round sunshine,underground parking, incredible ocean views and an abundance of activities are only a few things this contemporary, boutique San Diego inn has to offer. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, TripOnline SA, EasyToBook and Hotels.com so you can book your Ocean Park Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ocean Park Hotel San Diego
Park Inn San Diego
Park Inn Ocean
Ocean Park Inn San Diego

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ocean Park Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.