We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Hotel and Location” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Ocean Park Inn

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Ocean Park Inn to your Saves list
Ocean Park Inn
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   710 Grand Ave, San Diego, CA 92109   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #41 of 271 Hotels in San Diego
Certificate of Excellence
Glendale, Arizona
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Great Hotel and Location”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2012

My family stayed there last weekend, we rented two rooms, one was an ocean front view and the other was a partial view. Both rooms were great. My oldest son and his family were in the partial view room and it was more of a view than I thought they were going to get, but it was nothing compared to ours,straight on to the beach, the only thing between our hotel and the beach was a sidewalk. SWe were on the third floor so we slept with the sliding door open all night, and coming from Arizona its a treat to sleep with the window open in August. There was some noise from people leaving the bars late night/early morning, but it wasnt that bad. You will see a lot of drunk people one night falls, the walkway has a lot of bars on it. There are several restraunts in walking distance, we never used our car once we arrived. the continentail breakfast was better than most. If you are looking for a fancy upscale beach hotel, this probably isn't the one for you. But if you are looking for an affordable beach front CLEAN hotel, this is a wonderful place to stay. We will be back.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mat R, Front Office Manager at Ocean Park Inn, responded to this review, September 9, 2012
Thank you for such a nice review! We're very happy to hear your entire family was able to enjoy their time with us. Being able to have the slider open, falling asleep to the sounds of waves crashing on the beach is one of our top selling points - and being able to do this year-round, well, that's San Diego! Come visit us again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

782 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    423
    254
    47
    28
    30
See reviews for
222
311
31
30
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (254)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2012 via mobile

We researched OPI on Trip Advisor and thought it would be acceptable based on the mostly positive reviews. When we arrived we experienced firsthand a dark, dirty, and smelly hotel. We felt unsafe both inside and outside the hotel. We paid a significant amount for the room which made our experience even more disappointing... actually angering. The manager does an exceptional job of monitoring/controlling the Trip Advisor reviews. I wish the manager would spend more time and energy on the hotel itself. We have travelled all over and I have never encountered a situation quite like this. Our absolute worst hotel experience ever!!!

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mat R, Front Office Manager at Ocean Park Inn, responded to this review, August 30, 2012
Eric, we would very much like to get a more accurate description of what exactly was "dark, dirty, and smelly." We are well-known for being an extremely clean property, and thus take issues like these very seriously so they can be rectified ASAP. Additionally, we do not have safety issues, nor have guests had any issues in the area. We would appreciate a more accurate description so we can take any measures possible to ensure our guests are comfortable during their vacations. Thank you for your feedback, and we look forward to hearing from you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2012

We stayed 3 days on a double bed océan view room. The hôtel is very Nice and the employees are very helpful especially to help finding good restaurants and competitive surfrental in the area. The view from the room is perfect: straight on the promenade and the sea. It offers also parking and good breakfast in the room price.
Jerome

Room Tip: Ocean view
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mat R, Front Office Manager at Ocean Park Inn, responded to this review, August 30, 2012
Thank you for such a kind review! We are happy to hear the guest service agents and the wonderful location made your vacation so great. Please visit us again the next time you are in San Diego!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
München
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2012

Room: We had an oceanview room on the 3rd floor over the pool. Behind the pool was some ocean in sight, left and right were other blocks of the hotel. Nobody above us and the room far from elevator, icemachine, and street made it sufficiently quiet. The room itself was nice and spacious, the kingbed very comfortable, the bathroom large.
Staff: Everybody at the reception desk was helpful and friendly at any time. They had lots of good suggestions, a nice list of driving directions, and always time to discuss them, to make calls for us etc. Thanks a lot for making our stay so pleasant!
Location: It's great to be on the beach with several nice restaurants around. To go to other places like Seaworld, Zoo, La Jolla, ... was easy by car.
Car: It was great to have a garage for the car. $10 per day seems to be ok.
Breakfast: This was just sad...!!! Not at all adequate to standard and price of the hotel. Tables and floor dirty; choices like a two-star-motel. Toast, bagels, some cheap pastries, cornflakes, packed cream cheese and jams, packed oats, hard boiled eggs, waffle maker with poor waffle dough, apples, bananas, coffea, artificial juice; that was it. I missed other bread, a choice of cheese and ham, better pastries, real oats, other cereals, hot choices of egg, bacon, sausage, real juice, and more fruit like pineapples, melon, strawberries. I also missed bowls in which to microwave the packed oats (one package!) without finding half of it all over the microwave... Speaking of the dishes: all cheap plastic flatware, paper plates, and styrofoam bowls and cups. That's far too much unnecessary trash and unpleasing to use.
Overall: We liked everything very much but the breakfast and the very high rate. Because of these two, I would thoroughly compare before returning to the ocean park inn.

Room Tip: 313, 314, 315 (and probably more) are above the pool with some oceanview and away from most noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mat R, Front Office Manager at Ocean Park Inn, responded to this review, August 24, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to write such a detailed review! Feedback such as yours is quite valuable as management and ownership plan for the future.

It sounds like you had one of our beautiful partial view rooms! These rooms provide great bang-for-the-buck with the ocean view and balcony. We're happy you enjoyed the room. Also, thank you for the kind words about the staff! We do what we can to make sure each guest feels welcome and gets all the assistance they need.

Your comments about our complimentary breakfast have been noted, and you'll be happy to know we are currently exploring other options. Please note, however, we cannot offer more than a continental breakfast - thus the hot eggs, bacon, etc. is not an option.

Thanks again, enjoy the rest of your time in the states!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2012

The hotel has a perfect location, but that's it. It is very old, the room are spooky looking, old AC that makes a lot of noise, every time someone upstairs form your room flushes the toilet you'll hear it. When you walk out of the hotel the first thing you'll see is a lot of homeless sleeping on the sidewalk. The continental breakfast is really bad. The pool is very small and dirty. The only good thing is that it's ocean front and Patrick that works the front desk and is a sweet heart. The price is incredibly high for what you get.

Room Tip: If you are going to pay for a room with a view make sure you get at least on the second floor. I go...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mat R, Front Office Manager at Ocean Park Inn, responded to this review, August 24, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to provide us with your feedback!

You'll be happy to know in the coming months we will be continuing our efforts to update the rooms. In the last few years, we have renovated the lobby, pool, and breakfast areas in addition to providing all new paint and carpet throughout the hotel. Also, I would highly recommend coming back to the beach in early fall when all the hotels drop their rates significantly. In summer, although our rates are extremely competitive with beachfront hotels in the area, prices in San Diego are definitely much higher June through mid September.

I would like to thank you for the kind words about my staff. Pat has been with us for some time now, and your kind comments will be taken into consideration during the next performance evaluation. Thank you again for your feedback!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tempe
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2012

We vacation in San Diego 2 or 3 times a year and fell in love with the wonderful and pleasant location of Ocean Park Inn. Its right on the beach, which is GREAT for people watching. It's located next to the Fire House American Eatery and Lounge which has the most delicious dishes and they give you 10% off your bill if you mention or provide something from Ocean Park Inn. The Ocean Park Inn staff is so friendly, whenever we walk in they remember us. The free breakfast is delicious.....not because its free but beacause they have a vast selection of your "at-home" comfort breakfast foods......even boiled eggs! Ocean Park Inn is very accomodating and we would NEVER saty anywhere else in San Diego/Pacific beach. There are alot of great restaurants in walking distance. The Green Flash, Kona and a place right across the way above the T-shirt shop. If you are going with family or friends, 10 years old to 55 years old, this is a great place. OH ......THEY HAVE SUITES TOO!

PITA from AZ!

Room Tip: rooms facing Pacific Beach are tranquil especially if your not on bottom floor and choose to sleep w...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mat R, Front Office Manager at Ocean Park Inn, responded to this review, August 24, 2012
What a review! Thank you so much for taking the time to write that! It sounds like you really got to take advantage of the hotel amenities and the local area. You're absolutely right, there are a ton of great restaurants within walking distance including the favorites you mentioned. Did you know the Firehouse American Eatery also does room service for us? Maybe next time you can try it out!

Your review is much appreciated, and we can't wait to see you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Az
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2012

Oh how I missed visiting this propery, and the last minute airfare only allowed us to stay here for 3 great days.the property was well kept, just like the last visit, and the ocean front room was so relaxing.I think the breakfast buffet had such a wide selection, nol one could walk away hungry. The staff is so eager to please and friendly; a wonderful escape from the Arizona heat!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mat R, Front Office Manager at Ocean Park Inn, responded to this review, August 24, 2012
Welcome back! We're happy you could find the airfare to escape that AZ heat and enjoy the nice cool Pacific breeze. Keep an eye out for our email newsletters - we may just convince to come back out this year! Take care, see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Ocean Park Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ocean Park Inn

Address: 710 Grand Ave, San Diego, CA 92109
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Diego
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 On the Beach Hotel in San Diego
#17 Romantic Hotel in San Diego
#33 Business Hotel in San Diego
#48 Family Hotel in San Diego
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Ocean Park Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 72
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Stay at the Ocean Park Inn and see for yourself why San Diego is known as America's finest city. Superior location, year-round sunshine,underground parking, incredible ocean views and an abundance of activities are only a few things this contemporary, boutique San Diego inn has to offer. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Orbitz, Priceline, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and EasyToBook so you can book your Ocean Park Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ocean Park Hotel San Diego
Park Inn San Diego
Park Inn Ocean
Ocean Park Inn San Diego

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ocean Park Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.