We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Oldie but a goodie” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Mission Valley Resort

Save Saved
You added Mission Valley Resort to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Mission Valley Resort
3.0 of 5 Resort   |   875 Hotel Circle South, San Diego, CA 92108 (Mission Valley / Hotel Circle)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #227 of 270 hotels in San Diego
Newbury Park, California, United States
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Oldie but a goodie”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2013

My 19 yr old son and I recently stayed one night at this hotel. A few days before leaving I decided to read some review about the establishment. Quite a few of these reviews gave me anxiety about having chosen to stay here. I even went so far as to ask Monica at the front desk at check in whether there was anything to be done if I really didn’t like the room. I was informed that I could check out the room and if it was not satisfactory they would give me another. So we checked it out. I found the whole hotel to be rather old, but it was fine. I went through the room checking the bed linens for any bugs (none), the floor was fine, in the bathroom I checked to see that the toilet flushed and didn’t keep running (it was fine; checked the hot water in the tub (no problem); the tub bottom had surface cracks ( I just wore flip flops); there was only one bath towel ( I was able to ask for extra bath towels from one of the cleaning ladies, she was very happy to give me two more). I turned on the air conditioner and it worked fine. We didn’t want to leave it on so I opened a small window in the back and the screen had a quarter sized hole in it. (We chanced it, no mosquitoes would fly in.) The TV didn’t have a remote and the picture was rather hard to make out. The beds were very comfortable the pillows were fine. At night I closed the curtain and noticed that the backing had holes in it. In the morning we had a very hard time opening the door. (It had swollen overnight.) The next day we decided to use the pool and the closest one to our room was locked up. (Found out the chlorine levels were too high.) The other pool was very nice and there was a whirlpool. Both pool areas were very pretty. I loved the location and that they offered free parking (a luxury in “Hotel Circle" area). Over all I would stay at this hotel again. I can see that there have been repairs and updates to the place. However, I don’t think it would be for a “high maintenance” person, but it fit our needs just great.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

372 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    61
    66
    50
    51
    144
See reviews for
99
86
27
64
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    2.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (74)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Salem, Oregon
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2013

I've passed by this place several times the past 4 years since my son got stationed in San Diego. I always thought it looked interesting from the freeway, and I passed it often due that the timeshare I usually stay at is across 163 from this "resort." Unfortunately, due to security requirements we couldn't be informed of my son's ship's return date until it became difficult to impossible to book into my preferred accommodation. Having recently joined AARP, I used their services (Expedia powered) to book a room. The Mission Valley Resort was having a deal for AARP members, and it looked nice, I knew the area, so I booked a room. Well, as others have said, very poor conditions for such a business located in the Mission Valley area. I feel sorry for the staff, as they likely deal with a myriad of complaints on a daily basis. The only area that appears to be updated with normal and regular maintenance is the front desk, the lounge, and the pools. The staff are friendly enough, though like every group of people, you'll find some more helpful than others. I just hope some entrepreneur sees the potential of updating this hotel; which appears to have been a going concern in days gone by.

Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calagry
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2013

Best thing I can say about the hotel is the location is decent but every other hotel in the area also has that. This place is run down and just not up to standard. Sure you might get a decent hotel price but you can get that at other hotels that offer breakfast or are nicer. Wouldn't take my wife here or my family. Seems like it was nice at one point 20 years ago but now needs some money. Room old and smelled like it. Bathroom was old, tub was ancient. Air conditioner had the cover broken off. Lamp was bent. Floor was dirty. Not worth it. Stay somewhere else.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bakersfield, California
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2013

My price was excellent because I made a 14-day advance reservation. The location is beautiful (landscaping; shrubbery; lots of palm trees) and it's right next to the I-8 freeway access and a bus stop. Shopping at Fashion Valley is only 5 minutes away. There's a nice restaurant on the premises (10% off for guests) and a store (similar to a "7-11") that stays open from 6 AM to midnight most days, later on weekends. There's a small laundry room and a 24/7 security patrol.

I ended up staying 12 nights to conclude business in San Diego, so I could see why some reviewers might have complaints. The TV died on my third day, but I got a replacement the next day. I had requested a small refrigerator ($10 for my whole stay) but didn't get one until day three. The Wi-Fi connection was spotty, but it got better when I moved my laptop to the middle of the room. The AC conked out after a week (but it's not really needed in San Diego in the fall anyway). Our key-cards got "demagnetized" a couple of times, but the front desk fixed them right away.

In summary: This motel is old and a bit run-down, but the staff were always friendly and helpful. The housekeepers kept the room clean. If you're only staying two or three nights you might be put off by small problems -- but if you stick with it, you will find Mission Valley Resort to be an excellent value.

Room Tip: This is a big complex with several buildings. Be specific if you want a room near one of the two poo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Irvine, California, United States
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2013

This is a nice place to stay however if you are actually looking forward for a resort experience then this might not be the place. We booked it under 14 day advance policy and received a good deal. Quite reasonable with breakfast coupons. The food they serve in the restaurant is good value for money. Public transport is easily accessible from this hotel.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lake Villa, Illinois
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2013

hotel was very dirty. stayed for 3 nights never did get a tv remote. complained to the manager, he really didnt seem to care. went to the cocktail lounge, bartender was more concered about going outside to smoke than to give you service, lounge was very dirty, dirty dishes on the table next to our table for hours. just a very bad experience here

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2013 via mobile

The Mission Valley Resort has very nice and many friendly employees, and the manager Jaime is really great and is always helpful, and accommodating.
We are very satisfied with everything about this hotel, it is close to just about anywhere you may want to go in San Diego.
The Mission Valley Resort has so many palm trees, many trees, beautiful landscaping, flowers and rose bushes.
The comfortable clean rooms are private and are located in a spacious large location, there is a laundry room, a convenient store that is always open late, the family style restaurant is very good, open daily for breakfast, lunch, and dinner, there is a clean workout gym, and the pool and jacuzzi are surrounded by the tropical landscaping and grounds.
The Mission Valley Resort is a Great Hotel and Always Offers Very Reasonable Rates!!!

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Mission Valley Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mission Valley Resort

Also Known As:
Mission Valley Hotel San Diego
Mission Valley Hotel
Mission Valley San Diego
Address: 875 Hotel Circle South, San Diego, CA 92108
Location: United States > California > San Diego > Mission Valley / Hotel Circle
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#227 Top resorts Hotel in San Diego
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Mission Valley Resort 3*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Travelocity, Tingo, Priceline, Hotels.com and Otel so you can book your Mission Valley Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mission Valley Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.