We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Impressed” 4 of 5 stars
Review of San Diego Marriott Mission Valley

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added San Diego Marriott Mission Valley to your Saves list
San Diego Marriott Mission Valley
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   8757 Rio San Diego Drive, San Diego, CA 92108 (Mission Valley / Hotel Circle)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
$50 Dining Credit
Ranked #67 of 271 Hotels in San Diego
Certificate of Excellence
San Diego, California
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
36 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“Impressed”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

I was impressed with the service at this hotel. All staff were very enthusiastic. The property was nice as well. My boyfriend and I had an excellent stay here. Our only complaints were that the bed was too soft and the parking price is kind of excessive. It's mission valley not an airport hotel. We paid the $18 parking fee for 1 night then realized there was some street parking for free. Overall good stay.

Stayed May 2015
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elaine A, Guest Relations Manager at San Diego Marriott Mission Valley, responded to this review, yesterday
Thank you for taking the time to share a review of your recent visit. We are overjoyed to read that you were impressed with the service you received from our team members. Furthermore, it thrills us to know that you and your boyfriend enjoyed an excellent stay, despite your bed being too soft. We appreciate your feedback regarding our parking fee and hope to welcome you again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

253 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    108
    109
    28
    6
    2
See reviews for
63
52
10
79
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (71)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Las Vegas, Nevada
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

I came in to this hotel with high hopes, normally staying in the Hilton family. When we checked in, this family of four was put in a room with 1 bed. Not sure what I was supposed to do with my kids. They offered a roll away bed, which would add 1 to the capacity, but that still leaves one of the kids to sleep with the parents. So after complaining, I was given a room on a lower floor, not as nice but with 2 beds. The front desk staff was understanding, but I still don't understand why, when I book a room for 4 guests, a 1 bed room was even suggested. That is not enough room for a group of 4.

Not sure why any hotel in this day and age would have double beds over queen beds. The rooms have plenty of space to have queen beds. I am still at this hotel for one more night and overall it is not horrible, but the wifi is substandard at best. I know I am getting it free because I am a Marriott rewards member, but I have had better quality free wifi. The only reason I booked here anyway was because it was cheaper than the competition and they had a special for free parking with AAA. But now I realize why. We'll see how tonight goes.

  • Stayed May 2015, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elaine A, Guest Relations Manager at San Diego Marriott Mission Valley, responded to this review, 3 days ago
Gareth M,

Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback with us while on property. We truly appreciate your honest and constructive input so we can continue to work towards perfecting the art of hosting. We are sorry to hear about your experience finding a room perfect for your family and we hope you are now comfortable and have everything you need. Please don't hesitate to reach out to us if you need anything to make your stay more comfortable. Thank you for also letting us know about the wi-fi. Should you need anything else during your time with us, please let us know and we hope you are enjoying your stay. Thank you again for your valuable input and it is a pleasure to be hosting you and your family.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PA, USA
Top Contributor
143 reviews 143 reviews
53 hotel reviews
Reviews in 71 cities Reviews in 71 cities
64 helpful votes 64 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

This hotel could be better, but doesn't seem to be trying. The location is pretty good, if you want to be in Mission Valley, It;s quiet enough. The facilities are the usual Marriott. The rooms are small-ish and a bit worn. Somehow, the whole things feels tired.

  • Stayed May 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elaine A, Guest Relations Manager at San Diego Marriott Mission Valley, responded to this review, 5 days ago
Thank you for sharing a review of your recent stay with us. While we are thrilled that you enjoyed our location and its proximity to all that Mission Valley has to offer, it is disappointing to learn that you found your accommodations small and dated. We sincerely appreciate your feedback and hope that if you return to San Diego in the future, you will allow us another opportunity to exceed your expectations.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW via mobile

We booked 2 rooms. Got a connecting room with balcony. Smooth check-in, nicely appointed rooms, 24hrs gym, and nice hot tube. Great stay at the Marriott!

Parking expensive though. We parked on the street outside which was free!!

Stayed May 2015, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elaine A, Guest Relations Manager at San Diego Marriott Mission Valley, responded to this review, 5 days ago
We sincerely appreciate you taking time to share a review of your recent stay with us. It thrills us that you found your accommodations clean and comfortable, and that check-in was an easy process. We are also pleased that you had an opportunity to enjoy some of our on-site amenities, including our hot tub and fitness center. Regarding our parking fees, we value your comments, and aim to keep our rate competitive with similar size hotels in the area. Thank you again for your review and we hope that if you return to San Diego in the future, you will allow us the opportunity to provide you with another five-star experience.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cupertino, California
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

The staff at this hotel are excellent. Ana at the front desk does a wonderful job and nothing is an inconvience. Robert in the Concierge Lounge treats everyone with care and always takes time to help other guests with their questions.

  • Stayed May 2015, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elaine A, Guest Relations Manager at San Diego Marriott Mission Valley, responded to this review, 6 days ago
We truly appreciate you sharing kind feedback regarding our team members. Ana and Robert are valued members of our team and we will be sure to share your comments with them. Thank you for taking time out of your day to share your experience with us and we look forward to hosting you again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago NEW

Staff was very helpful and friendly. The room was clean and bed extremely comfortable. Every meal we ate at the hotels restaurant was delicious and the waitstaff and bartenders were very friendly. We would definitely come back and stay there when we are in San Diego.

Stayed May 2015, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elaine A, Guest Relations Manager at San Diego Marriott Mission Valley, responded to this review, 6 days ago
Thank you for sharing a review of your recent experience. We are delighted to read that our team members were very helpful and friendly, that your guest room was clean and comfortable, and that every dining experience was delicious. We truly appreciate your kinds words regarding our staff and eagerly await your return.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ventura, CA
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Stayed here overnight while visiting family. The building is looking dated, but the room was clean and well furnished. The bed was good, and the room was quiet. Our room was on the ninth floor facing the pool rather than freeway, and I am guessing that helped with the noise. We didn't eat at the hotel, so don't know whether the food is good or bad. We were there at the same time as a big conference, and it did feel a bit like we were crashing someone else's party. The few staff we interacted with were friendly and efficient. Parking is $18 a day, which seems like price-gouging. The wifi was unusable on the Saturday night. Speedtest reported an upload speed of 0.01 mbps.

  • Stayed May 2015, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elaine A, Guest Relations Manager at San Diego Marriott Mission Valley, responded to this review, 1 week ago
We appreciate you sharing a candid review of your recent visit to our hotel. While it disappoints us to read that you found our building to be dated, it pleases us to know that your guest room was clean and well-furnished, that your bed was comfortable, and that your guest room was quiet. We apologize for any inconvenience you experienced due to the conference taking place on property and will be sharing your feedback regarding our WiFi. We hope to welcome you again in the future so that we may have an opportunity to exceed your expectations.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to San Diego Marriott Mission Valley? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about San Diego Marriott Mission Valley

Address: 8757 Rio San Diego Drive, San Diego, CA 92108
Location: United States > California > San Diego > Mission Valley / Hotel Circle
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#13 Best Value Hotel in San Diego
#22 Luxury Hotel in San Diego
#84 Business Hotel in San Diego
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — San Diego Marriott Mission Valley 4*
Number of rooms: 350
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Marriott San Diego Mission Valley hotel is conveniently located just minutes away from SeaWorld, Qualcomm Stadium, Gaslamp Quarter and Balboa Park. Experience our Mission Valley hotel's unique blend of Spanish accents and tropical landscaping. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, BookIt.com, Hotels.com, HotelTravel.com, TripOnline SA, Orbitz, Odigeo and Marriott so you can book your San Diego Marriott Mission Valley reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
San Diego Marriott Mission Valley Hotel San Diego

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage San Diego Marriott Mission Valley, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.