We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very comfortable and clean” 4 of 5 stars
Review of San Diego Marriott Mission Valley

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added San Diego Marriott Mission Valley to your Saves list
San Diego Marriott Mission Valley
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   8757 Rio San Diego Drive, San Diego, CA 92108 (Mission Valley / Hotel Circle)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Earn Rewards Points
Ranked #71 of 269 Hotels in San Diego
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Gaylord, Michigan
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Very comfortable and clean”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

Hotel accommodations were very nice. Wi-fi is an issue if you're not a Marriott Rewards member. The room was clean, although smelled musty when we arrived. Bed was very comfortable. We used public transportation for our entire stay and found it safe, clean, and easy to navigate. Hotel staff was useless in helping us figure it out however. The Green Line trolley runs about a block away. The stop for the hotel is Rio Vista...not Mission Valley as you might assume. Old Towne is just a few trolley stops away and well worth the visit.

  • Stayed March 2015, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elaine A, Guest Relations Manager at San Diego Marriott Mission Valley, responded to this review, 3 days ago
We appreciate you taking the time to share a review of your recent stay with us. While we are happy to hear that you found your accommodations comfortable and clean, it disappoints us that your room had a strange odor when you arrived and that our staff was not able to provide you with the five-star service we strive for. At the time time, we are pleased that you found our close proximity to public transportation convenient for your needs. Should you return to San Diego in the future, we hope you will allow us another opportunity to exceed your expectations.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

230 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    100
    97
    26
    5
    2
See reviews for
55
50
10
67
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (67)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Lakewood, New Jersey
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

This is a very nice hotel. The room was clean and kept clean throughout my stay. The beds were comfortable. There is a charge for Wi-Fi in the guest rooms; I was told upon check in that since I was a rewards member that the charge would be waived, however when I checked out there was a charge on my bill (PREMSHIA). I called a few days later and was told that my CC would be credited for the charge, within the next 24 hours I received an email for the updated bill with the charge removed. The situation was very well handled.

As a business traveler the concierge breakfast was very convenient, it was never crowded and the food was always well stocked. Parking wasn’t too much of a hassle; the parking was $18.00/day and the spots were small, luckily I had a compact rental car.

I didn’t give an “excellent” rating because one of the nights during my stay, there was a party booked, in what I can only assume was a suite, across the hall from me and it was very loud (doors slamming constantly, yelling in the hall). This was on a Wednesday night and the party went on until, at least, 12am! I thought it was irresponsible and inconsiderate to book a party during the week, the most likely time to have business travelers who have to wake up early in the morning. I didn’t complain, but if you’re a business traveler or a guest who values sleep, it may be worthwhile to ask if they have booked the suite on your floor for a party and request that you be moved to another floor.

Overall, I would book this hotel again.

Room Tip: Ask if they have booked the suite on your floor for a party and request that you be moved to another...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2015, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elaine A, Guest Relations Manager at San Diego Marriott Mission Valley, responded to this review, 4 days ago
We appreciate you sharing a review of your recent stay with us. It thrills us to know that you found your accommodations clean and comfortable, and that we were able to handle the charges associated with your wifi in an efficient manner. While we are also happy to hear that you enjoyed our concierge lounge, we are disappointed that you experienced any inconvenience as a result of noise outside of your room. Should you return to San Diego in the future, we look forward to having you stay with us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Campbellford, Canada
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

We stayed at the hotel for 2 weeks and enjoyed every minute we were there. The room was first rate and comfortable, the staff, front desk, restaurant, bar (Mark, Liza, Vanessa, Logan and Kristen) were most helpful in regard to places to visit, shop and dine. We would recommend this hotel to anyone who wants first class treatment. We would go back in a heartbeat.
Many thanks and regards to all
Bill and Sandy

  • Stayed February 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elaine A, Guest Relations Manager at San Diego Marriott Mission Valley, responded to this review, 4 days ago
Thank you so much for your review. We are absolutely ecstatic that you had such a positive experience throughout your long-term stay with us. It makes us happy that our staff was able to go above and beyond, and that you had an opportunity to explore the area. Thank you again for your review, and should you return to San Diego in the future, we truly look forward to providing you with another five-star experience!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clearwater, Florida
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Short 15 min drive from airport, this hidden gem has all the amenities and excellent service you would expect from a Marriott.

Guest service very attentive. Room was standard Marriott room - love the beds!

Pool, fitness center and restaurant/ bar, all top-notch.

Very happy I booked at this location.

Stayed March 2015, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elaine A, Guest Relations Manager at San Diego Marriott Mission Valley, responded to this review, 1 week ago
We appreciate you sharing a review of your recent stay with us! It thrills us to read that you found our location and its proximity to the airport convenient, and that you were able to enjoy our amenities and our staff provided you with the excellent service we strive for. Should you return to San Diego in the future, we look forward to providing you with another five-star experience!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

This is a ok hotel, more like a motel. Its a fair distance from town/ gaslamp district even by car. There is a train near the hotel. We were there for business at the comic con so it wasn't the best location to be in. But everything else was booked out. Free wifi in the lobby, that's pretty much all i remember about the place.

Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elaine A, Guest Relations Manager at San Diego Marriott Mission Valley, responded to this review, 1 week ago
Thank you for sharing a review of your recent stay with us. While we are disappointed you did not find our location convenient for your needs, we are happy to hear that you were able to take advantage of our wifi and that you were able to take advantage of the nearby train station. Should your travels bring you back to San Diego in the future, we hope you will allow us another opportunity to exceed your expectations.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
194 reviews 194 reviews
41 hotel reviews
Reviews in 91 cities Reviews in 91 cities
149 helpful votes 149 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

This is a nice place to stay when you visit San Diego. Not far from the gas lamp area, not far from north if you are driving into town, overall very central.

Nice rooms that were mostly quiet with greet bedding. Our room had a small fridge.

Cool looking pool area with a hot tube that is kind of hidden when you view the pool from the lobby level. A great hot tub that is large, clean, and hot.

Stayed March 2015, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elaine A, Guest Relations Manager at San Diego Marriott Mission Valley, responded to this review, 1 week ago
We appreciate you taking the time to share a review of your recent stay with us. We are elated that you found our location convenient, and that you enjoyed the quietness and comfort of your room and our amenities. Should you end up in the San Diego area again in the future, we look forward to providing you with another five-star experience.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Weston, CT
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
51 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Friendly, helpful staff, lovely lobby and comfortable rooms.

We saved some money by "bundling" our wi-fi, parking and breakfast into our rate when we booked. The Marriott charges extra for each of these, and they charge a lot.

Our only complaints were the lousy cell service and uncomfortably hot room. We had to use the blackout curtains to keep the dazzling sunlight from baking us. Even darkened, the room was still too warm during the day. Not sure if the air conditioning was broken or simply inadequate.

Otherwise, a very nice experience.

Stayed March 2015, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elaine A, Guest Relations Manager at San Diego Marriott Mission Valley, responded to this review, 1 week ago
Thank you for sharing a review of your recent stay with us. While we are thrilled our staff was friendly and helpful, that you enjoyed our lobby and you found your room comfortable, we are disappointed that the room was a little too warm, and have addressed this internally. Should your travels bring you and your family back to the San Diego area in the future, we hope you will allow us another opportunity to exceed your expectations.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to San Diego Marriott Mission Valley? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about San Diego Marriott Mission Valley

Address: 8757 Rio San Diego Drive, San Diego, CA 92108
Location: United States > California > San Diego > Mission Valley / Hotel Circle
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#22 Luxury Hotel in San Diego
#26 Best Value Hotel in San Diego
#83 Business Hotel in San Diego
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — San Diego Marriott Mission Valley 4*
Number of rooms: 350
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Marriott San Diego Mission Valley hotel is conveniently located just minutes away from SeaWorld, Qualcomm Stadium, Gaslamp Quarter and Balboa Park. Experience our Mission Valley hotel's unique blend of Spanish accents and tropical landscaping. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Marriott, BookIt.com, Hotwire, HotelTravel.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your San Diego Marriott Mission Valley reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
San Diego Marriott Mission Valley Hotel San Diego

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage San Diego Marriott Mission Valley, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.