We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice hotel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of San Diego Marriott Mission Valley

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added San Diego Marriott Mission Valley to your Saves list
San Diego Marriott Mission Valley
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   8757 Rio San Diego Drive, San Diego, CA 92108 (Mission Valley / Hotel Circle)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Stay for Breakfast!
Ranked #73 of 270 Hotels in San Diego
Saint Louis, Missouri
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Nice hotel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW

I have stayed in this hotel several times and have been pleased each time. Rooms are decorated fairly contemporary and are neat/clean typical to most Marriott hotels. Front desk staff was helpful and attentive especially with directions. This hotel does have self parking which is nice so you don't have to valet it. There is a daily fee for parking but it is much less than the hotels downtown and self parking is not an option if you stay in a hotel downtown. This is a good location - close to the highway, Fashion Valley Mall and lots of other strip centers, and San Diego State University (SDSU). This location is very convenient if you are visiting your kid at SDSU. Only complaint I have is that their club/concierge floor room is small and gets very crowded during breakfast hours. They do have a very nice pool and exercise facility. I did have dinner in the restaurant and the food was good.

Room Tip: I would select a higher floor if possible. Because it is close to the highway you can hear the traff...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

209 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    91
    87
    24
    5
    2
See reviews for
54
44
9
56
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (59)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Edmonton, Canada
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

Stayed with my son and 2 little girls two nights in a nice room with 2 queen beds. The beds were comfy. The room was very clean. The bathroom is spacious and modern. The mini fridge was very handy. The room was a little small. Liked that it had a safe. There was one chair to sit in and the desk chair. The free Wi-Fi was nice.
The friendly staff were there to greet us and assist us. They were all very welcoming. The parking was expensive, though.
The pool is nice, but it was cold. The girls enjoyed the hot tub. Plenty of towels.
The little restaurant was very nice. The waiter was excellent. Had no problem with the little ones.
The third night, my daughter-in-law arrived, so I had my own room. It had one queen bed, a desk and a loveseat. It also had a mini fridge. It was a nice room, the same size, I believe, but was big for one person. Again, it was very clean.
Toiletries were in the bathroom, and a small amount of coffee in the room.
It was a nice, quiet hotel with friendly staff. I would stay again.

  • Stayed January 2015, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elaine A, Guest Relations Manager at San Diego Marriott Mission Valley, responded to this review, 2 days ago
Thank you for sharing a review of your recent visit. We are overjoyed to learn that you and your family slept comfortably, enjoyed the spaciousness of your guest rooms, and utilized our WiFi. It also pleases us to know that our team members were friendly, that you were able to dine in DEN. We are thrilled to learn that you would return in the future and we eagerly await our next opportunity to host you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Top Contributor
101 reviews 101 reviews
69 hotel reviews
Reviews in 66 cities Reviews in 66 cities
122 helpful votes 122 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

Stayed here on a Saturday night. As a gold member, would normally have access to the concierge lounge but guess what. Closed on Saturdays. I can deal with that but how about giving me a couple of coupons for a drink at the bar?

Room was on the smallish side but had a balcony which was nice to let fresh air in the room.

Not far at all is the station the red trolley should you want to avoid driving downtown. Also some street parking available to avoid the self park charges.

Very friendly welcome - liked that.

  • Stayed January 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elaine A, Guest Relations Manager at San Diego Marriott Mission Valley, responded to this review, 4 days ago
We appreciate you taking the time to share feedback from your recent visit to our hotel. We are very happy to learn that you enjoyed your guest room, our close proximity to the trolley station, and our friendly and welcoming team members. We apologize for the inconvenience of our concierge lounge being closed during your stay and we hope that you will allow us an opportunity to host you again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

Room was way small. We had an accessible room since its hard for my grandma to step over the tub, but the beds were so high she needed help getting on them. The room had 2 queen beds and they said that none of them can hold a Rollaway bed. We were super cramped in the room. But the bathroom was very spacious! Plenty of counter space. The balcony was nice, although we wished there were chairs. FYI the room only had the desk chair no lounge chair. Pool was heated, awesome! And at night was lit up and very pretty! Hammocks were fun to. It was a cold weekend so it was empty and plenty of towels. The bathrooms by the pool also have showers which was awesome! Our breakfast server was awesome. Don't remember his name but he works for the school district and he's only there on weekends? Really nice. Lola and Taylor at the desk were way awesome to! For check in Lola was just so friendly and accommodating, can't say enough how great she was. The bellman and valet were nice to! Friendly guys, didn't get their names (working together the morning of 1/12?). Overall we were comfy, nice lobby, had a great time. Close to the freeway and mall.

  • Stayed January 2015
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elaine A, Guest Relations Manager at San Diego Marriott Mission Valley, responded to this review, 5 days ago
Thank you for sharing a detailed review of your recent visit. We are thrilled to learn that you enjoyed your spacious bathroom, our swimming pool, and exceptional guest services from our team members. We appreciate your kind words regarding Lola, Taylor and our additional associates on hand during your stay. We will be sure to pass them along. Furthermore, we appreciate your honest feedback regarding our accessible guest rooms and will utilize it to maintain and improve the overall guest experience. Should your travels bring you back to San Diego, it would be our pleasure to host you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

We stayed here the night before a Broncos/Chargers game. The lobby is a highlight, with all the amenities. Our king room was just the right size, and provided a comfy bed and great night sleep. The bar and breakfast were also tasty and convenient. The hotel is also a quick walk away from the trolley to get to Qualcomm!

  • Stayed December 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elaine A, Guest Relations Manager at San Diego Marriott Mission Valley, responded to this review, 1 week ago
Thank you for sharing a review of our hotel. We are delighted to learn that we were able to host you during your visit for the Chargers football game and that you enjoyed a comfortable sleep in your King room. It pleases us to know that you were able to enjoy breakfast with us and that our DEN bar and close proximity to Qualcomm Stadium were convenient for you. We eagerly await your return.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wellington, Florida, United States
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

I stayed here for two nights while in town on business. This is a very nice full service Marriott, and the room was very nice.

There were some minor issues during my stay, and the staff were very apologetic. The lights in the lobby were flickering a lot, and the printer at the business center was broken for an extended period.

I had breakfast twice, and both times it was excellent.

Overall, a very good experience and at a reasonable price.

Stayed January 2015
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elaine A, Guest Relations Manager at San Diego Marriott Mission Valley, responded to this review, 1 week ago
We appreciate you taking the time to share a review of your recent stay. We are sorry for any inconvenience you experienced during your stay and we are happy to learn that our team members were understanding of your concerns. It pleases us to know that our breakfast options were excellent and that your overall experience during your time with us was positive. Should your travels bring you back to San Diego, it would be our pleasure to serve you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Rosa, California
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Make sure you ask if the water in the rooms will be on all day. The day we were there the water was off from 11:00 AM to 4:00 PM and we had to go down stairs to use the facilities. They were making repairs for a few days. As a thank you, the hotel offered bags of chips in the lobby in the afternoon. Not worth the inconvenience.

The staff is great, helpful and made us feel welcome. The hotel is clean and the food in the restaurant is good. Free Wifi in the public areas.

The location is great considering the trolly which is convenient.

Room Tip: Most rooms have a refrigerator and make sure you get one if you want one.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elaine A, Guest Relations Manager at San Diego Marriott Mission Valley, responded to this review, 2 weeks ago
Thank you for sharing a candid review of your recent visit to our hotel. We are delighted to learn that you found our team members to be helpful and that they made you feel at home during your stay. It pleases us to hear that you found our accommodations to be clean and that you had an opportunity to dine with us in our restaurant, DEN. We do apologize for the inconvenience that our maintenance caused you and we hope that you will allow us an opportunity to exceed your expectations in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to San Diego Marriott Mission Valley? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about San Diego Marriott Mission Valley

Address: 8757 Rio San Diego Drive, San Diego, CA 92108
Location: United States > California > San Diego > Mission Valley / Hotel Circle
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#22 Luxury Hotel in San Diego
#84 Business Hotel in San Diego
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — San Diego Marriott Mission Valley 4*
Number of rooms: 350
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Marriott San Diego Mission Valley hotel is conveniently located just minutes away from SeaWorld, Qualcomm Stadium, Gaslamp Quarter and Balboa Park. Experience our Mission Valley hotel's unique blend of Spanish accents and tropical landscaping. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Priceline, Booking.com, Travelocity, BookIt.com, Despegar.com, Marriott, HotelTravel.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your San Diego Marriott Mission Valley reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
San Diego Marriott Mission Valley Hotel San Diego

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage San Diego Marriott Mission Valley, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.