We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“a good price for a Marriott” 4 of 5 stars
Review of San Diego Marriott Mission Valley

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added San Diego Marriott Mission Valley to your Saves list
San Diego Marriott Mission Valley
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   8757 Rio San Diego Drive, San Diego, CA 92108 (Mission Valley / Hotel Circle)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Stay for Breakfast!
Ranked #73 of 270 Hotels in San Diego
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Oakton, VA
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“a good price for a Marriott”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2014

This property is a classic Marriott. But since it is an older hotel the prices aren't as high as others. We found it to be very comfortable with good sized rooms. Every room has a balcony and either a view towards the ocean (on the horizon) or the mountains (in the distance). The staff was very nice and went out of their way (Justin - front desk!) to be hospitable. The valet crew was very efficient and most gracious. Breakfast in the dining room was great! The omelette maker was wonderful. She made the tomalito salsa herself, which is one of three salsas offered. As a native to San Diego who has moved away, I would say this hotel exudes old school San Diego! A wonderful treat!

Room Tip: the higher the better
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elaine A, Guest Relations Manager at San Diego Marriott Mission Valley, responded to this review, August 10, 2014
We are so glad we could welcome you back to San Diego with the old school vibe that you love! Thank you for your kind words about our rooms, staff and hospitality. We're happy to hear you loved our breakfast, too! Thanks for taking the time to share your experience, and we hope to serve you the next time you're back home!

Warm regards,
San Diego Marriott Mission Valley
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

221 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    95
    94
    25
    5
    2
See reviews for
54
47
10
63
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (65)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Falls Church, Virginia
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
38 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
79 helpful votes 79 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2014

The hotel is located near the interstate which makes it easy to get almost everywhere. I was very please with the service (especially the Concierge Lounge). All of the front desk personnel were professional and eager to help. One in particular stands out, I had heart-burn at 1 AM one morning and the onsite store was closed. Khoa was at the front desk but had nothing that would help. However, he gave me directions to a CVS that was nearby. When I got back he even offered a bottle of water.

The rooms have the new style locks on the doors and had everything you would expect from Marriott. The rooms also have balconies which is an added touch. I have stayed here before and will definitely stay again.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elaine A, Guest Relations Manager at San Diego Marriott Mission Valley, responded to this review, August 8, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to share your experience at the San Diego Marriott Mission Valley. We are so glad that we were able to offer you a comfortable and convenient place to stay for your business trip and that our staff was able to help you find what you needed. Thank you for your compliments on our rooms and balconies. We hope to see you on your next trip to San Diego!

Warm regards,
San Diego Marriott Mission Valley
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbus, Ohio
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2014

I was in town for a government conference in July 2014, but I didn’t want to stay in the thick of the other attendees. I found this Marriott to be a great hidden gem. The service from the front desk, bar, and housekeeping was wonderful. The hotel is located in a rich commercial district (there was no noise from the street) located on the local train/trolley service that stops at the Convention Center and the Gaslight District. The convention center has a Marriott Marquis San Diego Marina connected where the staff is just as nice to people passing through as they are to the guest. Marriott is one of my top three hotel choices. Outstanding job!

My only drawback is there is no shuttle service from the airport to the hotel or to the Marriott Marquis San Diego Marina.

Room Tip: Ask for a poolside view.
See more room tips
Green Features: Although the hotel is enviromentally friendly, if you just have to have new towels or change the linen everyday they will make the changes.
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elaine A, Guest Relations Manager at San Diego Marriott Mission Valley, responded to this review, August 8, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel, and we are honored that you consider our property as a hidden gem! We are glad that you enjoyed our services as well as our proximity to the trolley. We appreciate your feedback regarding a shuttle service - Your comments help us identify areas where we can continue to add value to our guests.

Sincerely,
San Diego Marriott Mission Valley
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Mexico
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2014

Stayed at the Marriott MV again for vacation. The visit was not as nice as the previous year as the hotel seemed to be in a state of transition. Last year the hotel seemed to go all out for summer travelers with many on site extras and dinner specials. This year things seemed scaled back. It may have been because of renovations but things were a bit off. The hotel seems to do a lot of business with meetings and other onsite events so that may be their focus. The pools is great. Large fitness center and a very helpful laundry on site. Very good food in the restaurant. Expect to pay hotel prices but still worthwhile.

The hotel itself is a little isolated which kind of adds to its charm but its a very short drive or trolley stop away from the Mission Valley and Fashion Valley shopping centers. The surrounding area is a business center and some high end apartments. Despite its lack of proximity to downtown or residential areas the street in front of the hotel still attracted a segment of homeless. They may be camped out at the Rio San Diego nearby or possibly take the trolley into the area. Nothing to be too concerned about but good to keep in mind.

The rooms were great with the lone exception being the tub which could be quite slippery. Mats would make it much safer. The beds were very comfortable.

Cons: Parking is high, almost $20 per day. Internet, again another case of a large hotel having expensive yet slow wireless when the Super 8 will have free lazer fast connections.

Pros: Great beds, good food and facilities.

Bring back the muli-flavored waters in the lobby and shuttle area for next July!

Green Features: Its california so they recycle plastics and glass. Typical towel policy.
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elaine A, Guest Relations Manager at San Diego Marriott Mission Valley, responded to this review, August 8, 2014
Thank you for your very thorough review of our hotel, and we are so glad you enjoyed your experience at DEN Restaurant as well as our spacious fitness center and pool area. We're happy you got the chance to take advantage of our convenient trolley stop to visit San Diego attractions! We always welcome honest feedback from our guests and will use your comments to help us maintain and improve our guest experience. We hope to welcome you back soon.

Best,
San Diego Marriott Mission Valley
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2014 via mobile

Concierge lounge is worth every penny The service was outstanding and an extra bonus. The hotel was nice with nice amenities. Thank you for your hospitality. And help finding my wallet. Thank you once Again Robert.

N Riley

  • Stayed August 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elaine A, Guest Relations Manager at San Diego Marriott Mission Valley, responded to this review, August 8, 2014
Hi Natiqua,

Thank you for your many kind words about our amenities and service. We are so glad that you enjoyed your recent stay with us and that our team was able to help you find your property! Thank you for taking the time to share your experience, and we hope to have you back again soon!

Warm regards,
San Diego Marriott Mission Valley
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2014

Upon arriving at this hotel we were told that the twin room that we had booked was not available and that the third member of the group had no choice but to sleep on either a small kids size sofa bed or a old roll-away bed which you could feel the spring sticking through. Upon complaining to reception about this reception did not take a blind bit of notice as they again said point blank that they cant do anything as we did not book directly through the Marriott, so,was not their problem that the room we originally booked and wanted was not available. We have used the website we booked this hotel from for many other hotels throughout our stay in California and America throughout the years and we have never had any problem. Other than that the hotel was pretty clean.

Room Tip: Book through the hotel direct.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elaine A, Guest Relations Manager at San Diego Marriott Mission Valley, responded to this review, August 4, 2014
Hi Matt,

Thank you for taking the time to review the San Diego Marriott Mission Valley. Please accept our sincere apologies for the inconvenience you experienced. We take great pride in ensuring our guest’s satisfaction. Unfortunately, we did not meet your expectations. Our goal is to address your concerns so that we can ensure you have an exceptional experience when staying at Marriott Hotels. Please be assured that we are taking immediate corrective steps to avoid such problems in the future.

We appreciate your positive comments on our hotel cleanliness! We look forward to passing along your positive feedback.

You are a valued customer and everything we do is aimed at providing you with an excellent hotel experience. Should your travels bring you back to San Diego, we hope to have the opportunity to host you again in the future.

Sincerely,

San Diego Marriott Mission Valley
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2014

My only complaint here is that Im being asked to pay for internet. This is not an airline. Why should I pay for my internet? I'll rethink my next stay.

The location is good. Its close to the beach and its not too far from el cajon. Its also close to mission and fashion valleys.. I have some book shopping to do for friends. And its also not far from downtown, from Kensington, from some great clubs and restaurants.

I'm just a little disappointed about the Internet.

Stayed August 2014, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elaine A, Guest Relations Manager at San Diego Marriott Mission Valley, responded to this review, August 4, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to review our property. We are glad you enjoyed our location and proximity to San Diego attractions. We also thank you for your feedback regarding our Wi-Fi and invite you to utilize our free Internet in the lobby on your next stay. Thank you again for sharing your experience.

All the best,
San Diego Marriott Mission Valley
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to San Diego Marriott Mission Valley? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about San Diego Marriott Mission Valley

Address: 8757 Rio San Diego Drive, San Diego, CA 92108
Location: United States > California > San Diego > Mission Valley / Hotel Circle
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#23 Luxury Hotel in San Diego
#84 Business Hotel in San Diego
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — San Diego Marriott Mission Valley 4*
Number of rooms: 350
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Marriott San Diego Mission Valley hotel is conveniently located just minutes away from SeaWorld, Qualcomm Stadium, Gaslamp Quarter and Balboa Park. Experience our Mission Valley hotel's unique blend of Spanish accents and tropical landscaping. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline, BookIt.com, HotelTravel.com, Hotwire, Marriott, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your San Diego Marriott Mission Valley reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
San Diego Marriott Mission Valley Hotel San Diego

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage San Diego Marriott Mission Valley, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.