We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“I will stay here again!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of San Diego Marriott Mission Valley

Save Saved
You added San Diego Marriott Mission Valley to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
San Diego Marriott Mission Valley
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   8757 Rio San Diego Drive, San Diego, CA 92108 (Mission Valley / Hotel Circle)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Earn Up To 25,000 Points
Ranked #66 of 270 hotels in San Diego
SW PA
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“I will stay here again!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2013 via mobile

I selected this hotel for a 3 day stay for a wedding and I loved it. The employees seem to like their jobs, desk staff were friendly and professional. My room was spotlessly clean and the bed very comfortable. On the afternoon, snow cones and non-alcoholic drinks were served at the pool. Just wonderful! Stay here!

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

166 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    75
    65
    21
    4
    1
See reviews for
45
35
7
42
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (46)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2013 via mobile

I ended up at this hotel as Comicon was invading all of San Diego. It's a bit further from the downtown area but seems to be with a short drive/cab.

The hotel itself has all the right amenities. The restaurant has very good food (their ' Marriot Burger' rivalled any gourmet shop), and the staff very friendly and helpful. I'd stay there again.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alhambra, CA
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2013

Our purpose of our stay was for the Costume Party Half-Marathon at nearby Qualcomm Stadium.
Our first visit to this Marriott, Excellent Location, Freeway close(163&805-Fwy's). Our room was on the 3rd floor facing East. The Standard Double-Room was Big, Clean and very comfortable, the
A/C worked Great, nice work desk and mini-Fridge in our room. Was very impressed with the water coolers in the Lobby and outside where the Valet Parking Desk was located, in the coolers, were Iced-Cold Water, with a choice of Lemon, Watermelon, cucumber and strawberry slices in each cooler/dispenser, never seen this at any hotels before. There were plenty of restaurants close by, at the Fenton Parkway Shopping plaza, they had Islands, Oggi's Pizza, Mc Donald's, we chose the IHOP for dinner. The only negatives were the charges for parking, $16 a night, but you do get in/out privileges and there is a small garage if you prefer covered parking. The other charge was for WiFi($12.95), this is another first, I never had a hotel charge for WiFi, didn't use it so I opted to use my Android WiFi on my cell phone. But overall, the stay was still worth it and we plan to be staying here again for next year's race.

Room Tip: Freeway's close by, the 8, 163 and 805-Fwy's.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami, Florida
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2013

I travel to San Diego once a month for Business, I needed a place I could go to and just relax. The beds are good, the service is good. Rooms are very clean. The food in the restaurant is except able, and very quite. Take a room facing East, you may miss the valley view, but absolutely no noise. One IMPORTANT item, internet works well. They also have a very well stocked gift shop. Workout room is OK. Location is great for me, may be a bit of a drive to downtown, but plenty of restaurants in the area. Overall for the price it is a great deal. Great for business but I find plenty of families every month.

Room Tip: High Floor facing west gives you a great view of Mission Valley
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, Arizona
Top Contributor
137 reviews 137 reviews
46 hotel reviews
Reviews in 45 cities Reviews in 45 cities
82 helpful votes 82 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2013

This Marriott has everything you'd need from a Marriott. It is nestled more within a number of companies and would appear more suited for the business clientele but for our weekend getaway it still works. There is the nearby Mission Valley mall and some strip malls nearby with places to eat, but if staying here expect to drive. One exception is if you can get around using the trolley. It is pretty centrally located to anywhere near downtown, the zoo and Sea World. The breakfast buffet is pretty good and they cook to order eggs and waffles. Better yet, it's free to elite members even on the weekend.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norco, CA
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2013

We chose the Marriott for a recent trip to San Diego for a half marathon. This hotel is a great choice if you want to get around San Diego without getting in your car. The San Diego Trolley runs just behind the property and the Rio Vista station is just a short walk from the hotel. The hotel itself is clean and comfortable with a great onsite bar and restaurant. The pool area was reasonably large for a hotel and has several cabana locations and couches. The property doesn't look like much from the outside but the interior has a great ambiance for a mid-range hotel. We also found the staff to be very friendly and helpful. Overall this was a great experience and we are definitely planning a return trip next year.

Room Tip: Great views overlooking the pool area. Especially at night.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2013

This hotel is conveniently located off I-8 and also close to the 805 and the 163 so it's just a short 10-15 minute drive to downtown or Old Town. I've stayed at this hotel on two occassions and have never been disappointed. It's a large hotel (17 floors) but not so big that the elevators take forever (i hate that). The hotel is clean, staff are very friendly and helpful and the rooms are spacious and nicely furnished with refrigerators. Free wi-fi in the common areas throughout the hotel. They take extra care of their Elite members with separate and convenient self-parking ($16 per day). Concierge Lounge is a decent size and accessible from the 16th and 17th floor. The day I arrived, they had a managers reception for the Elite members with plenty of yummy appetizers and free beer/wine. The gym is nicely equipped, not the largest I've seen, but it does the job. The pool is great with plenty of lounge chiars and shade if you're not into laying in the sun. Free wi-fi extends out to the pool which was also nice.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rebecca C, Operations Administrative Assistant at San Diego Marriott Mission Valley, responded to this review, August 3, 2013
Thank you for your loyalty as one of our valued Elite Marriott Members. We are glad you were able to enjoy our Elite reception. Thank you for your great comments. We hope you choose to stay with us again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to San Diego Marriott Mission Valley? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about San Diego Marriott Mission Valley

Address: 8757 Rio San Diego Drive, San Diego, CA 92108
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Diego > Mission Valley / Hotel Circle
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#85 Business Hotel in San Diego
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — San Diego Marriott Mission Valley 3.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Marriott San Diego Mission Valley hotel is conveniently located just minutes away from SeaWorld, Qualcomm Stadium, Gaslamp Quarter and Balboa Park. Experience our Mission Valley hotel's unique blend of Spanish accents and tropical landscaping. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Travelocity, Marriott, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL, Hotels.com and Venere so you can book your San Diego Marriott Mission Valley reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
San Diego Marriott Mission Valley Hotel San Diego

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage San Diego Marriott Mission Valley, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.