We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Marriott Marina San Diego - not aging gracefully” 2 of 5 stars
Review of San Diego Marriott Marquis & Marina

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added San Diego Marriott Marquis & Marina to your Saves list
San Diego Marriott Marquis & Marina
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   333 West Harbor Drive, San Diego, CA 92101   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Earn Rewards Points!
Ranked #50 of 271 Hotels in San Diego
GreenLeadersSilver level
Apollo Beach, Florida
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“Marriott Marina San Diego - not aging gracefully”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2009

We stayed at the San Diego Hotel and Marina in late January 2009 just before a cruise. We used Marriott points and used extra points to be located bayside and on the concierge floor

The room was very dated - furniture and carpet was stained and very worn, as was the furniture in general. Bad enough the room was in pretty bad condition; in addition using all of the extra points to be on the concierge floor was not worth it.

The hotel will charge $75 to use the Concierge Lounge even if you use your additional points to stay on the floor.

The hotel itself has gone from pleasant to attempting to be funky - lots of attempts to be upscale and hip, and fails miserably. In the past the hotel was definitely a 4-star property. Now, not so much.

  • Stayed January 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,125 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    998
    757
    226
    83
    61
See reviews for
365
405
84
961
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (725)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Ohio
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 20, 2009

I stayed here for a conference I was attending at the San Diego Convention Center. It was very convenient as the convention center was right next door. The views from the marina side of the building were beautiful. The first night there we stayed in a room with a city view and you could hear the trains but I didn't think it was that bad. We switched to a room across the hall so we could have a marina view and then we never heard the trains again. Great walking access to shopping and restaurant. Staff seemed very accomodating.

  • Stayed January 2009, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
st. croix USVI
Top Contributor
81 reviews 81 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 9, 2009

I like my cigarette and cup of coffee in the morning. When I booked, I asked for a smoking room and was told the entire hotel is non-smoking. Asked for a room near an exit so I could comply. They gave us a room with a balcony and I used it for my vice. The weather was chilly so there weren't a lot of people utilizing their balconies (but we observed people in the other tower (w/out balconies) cracking their windows to get in a few puffs. If this had been summer, I would have requested a top floor room so that the smoke would drift up because if the room above had been occupied and they used the balcony, they could have been offended - it all turned out fine. Great room, view and location for our business travel was great. $22 to self park/day.

  • Stayed February 2009, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sweden
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 15, 2009

Spent five nights at the Marriott Marina during a conference at the SDCC which is next door from the hotel, right down from the Starbucks by escalator. Hotel is about 15 minutes from the airport by cab (USD 15) and just minutes from the Gaslamp Quarter, so there was no need for a rental car during these days.

We had a Standard Double on the 21st floor of the North Tower, with a partial view of the bay, was up to the usual Marriott Standards with nice bedding (gotta buy me one of those pillows anytime soon…) and spacious layout. Had a small balcony, towards the Hyatt, which we did not use (chilly nights in January).

Did wake up the two first nights of the train horns at night at appr 03:30 - the rest of the way I was not bothered. Is not the hotel’s fault that the freight trains pass right through San Diego at nights… would feel worse if I had bought one of those condos on the other side of the railroad!

For most evening meals we headed down to the Gaslamp Quarter where there was much to choose from – only a ten minute walk from the hotel.
At the hotel, we had dinner once at Roy’s Hawaiian Fusion which was f-a-n-t-a-s-t-i-c and something that we can recommend!
Also the DW’s bar featured a nice bar meny, reasonably priced, plentiful, and tasty. The breakfast buffet at LW was only fair, only used it once – settled for a grab n’ go from Starbucks during the conference days.

Can also recommend the Seaport Village, which is a five minute walk, for nice lunches outside of the hotel in a nice atmosphere.

To summarize, a good hotel for conventions and business, in the heart of San Diego, close to the main attractions in San Diego. When in San Diego again, I'll be back!

  • Liked — Location, location, location
  • Disliked — Train horns but the same sound all over this area...
  • Stayed January 2009, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tucson, Arizona
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 5, 2009

While this appears to be primarily a business hotel, it was very nice and the location can't be beat. Staff was very helpful. I'm not sure I'd opt for the additional cost of the conceirge level again, though. I'd also ask for the North tower with a balcony.

  • Stayed January 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winnipeg, Canada
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
60 helpful votes 60 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 4, 2009

Stayed at the Marriot Marina and Hotel for a week in January while attending a conference at the San Diego Convention Center.
Arrival at SD airport was easy. Picked up my luggage and went out to locate a cab. The cab area was very well organized with an airport official providing assistance and the line moved quickly.
A short cab ride and $12.00 later, I was very warmly greeted by the Marriot bellman. My check-in was early, smooth and my messages and pre-arranged packages conveyed promptly. Return to the airport was similarly quick and efficient.
I had a standard King on the Marina side. A million dollar view. The room itself was comfortable, well kept and the window opened for some lovely sea air. It was not special or spectacular but very comfortable and serviceable. Soft water in the showers. Good bed and linens.
The best part was its location right next door to the convention centre. I'm not one for breakfast, so I grabbed a Starbucks coffee and croissant and went off to my sessions. for early morning sessions, or returning to the hotel after the Gala dinner the convention centre the location could not be beat. For extra conference excursions it was located right near SD's Fifth Avenue and the Gaslamp area. It was a short walk to Macy's, Nordstrom's and Ralph's and an excellent restaurant area. Notably NOBU, which might have been worth the trip in itself. The hotel also is located on the sea walk area, also very pleasant for lunch or an early morning walk.
The DW's bar/restaurant was casual and reasonably priced with generous portions. Roy's Hawaiian Fusion for finer evening dining, excellent as well. On the last day, I did the full breakfast at the LW. I was informed that the buffet was not available due to low occupancy. I was warmly greeted and offered coffee and juice which I accepted. It added $8.00 dollar to my breakfast bill that came in at 25.00 and change before tip. It was very generous (too generous, what's with the ginormous US portions?) in size and OK, but I wouldn't have it again. All service contacts were friendly and consistently good.
Nice gym, rather awkwardly located but with a lovely view of the Marina. Pool area was nice enough, though only the small, shallow pool was warm enough to get into. Nice hot tub. Gift shops were good. ATM and Hertz car rental on-site. All in all, it was an excellent location and a very good base to the convention center, a good place to conduct business and meet and entertain clients. Promised a professional product and delivered. Don't think I would choose it for a "personal" resort vacation.

  • Stayed January 2009, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Normal, Illinois
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2009

I stayed here for four nights for a conference and loved my stay. If you are a Marriott Elite member, this hotel has one of the best concierge lounges I have seen. Excellent staff, very knowledgeable and nice, and great location within walking distance to the Gaslamp district and a grocery store. Pricey add-ons, however, with internet and parking being an absolute rip-off, but that is standard throughout the Marriott chain. Directly next door to the convention center and the Grand Hyatt where a lot of other conferences locate.

  • Liked — Views, nice beds
  • Disliked — Costs of add ons
  • Stayed December 2008, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to San Diego Marriott Marquis & Marina? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about San Diego Marriott Marquis & Marina

Address: 333 West Harbor Drive, San Diego, CA 92101
Location: United States > California > San Diego
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#12 Green Hotel in San Diego
#15 Luxury Hotel in San Diego
#21 Business Hotel in San Diego
#29 Romantic Hotel in San Diego
#30 Family Hotel in San Diego
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — San Diego Marriott Marquis & Marina 4*
Number of rooms: 1305
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The centerpiece of the inspiring San Diego Bay, the San Diego Marriott Marquis & Marina is a premier San Diego, CA hotel. With 1,360 guest rooms, 75,000 sq ft of meeting space, a 446-slip marina & an environment that easily transitions from dynamic meetings to resort-style relaxation, the San Diego hotel is a welcome escape. Adjacent to the San Diego Convention Center and steps from the Gaslamp Quarter, our downtown San Diego, CA hotel’s location provides convenient access to championship golf and popular attractions like the San Diego Zoo, Sea World San Diego and LEGOLAND California. Experience a grand sense of arrival in the new lobby our San Diego hotel & personalized service from our dedicated staff. Unwind in a renovated guest room with sweeping bay views. From a state-of-the-art fitness center, to an enticing new pool area, to top-notch cuisine at our waterfront restaurants, it all comes together for an authentic downtown San Diego experience, only at the San Diego Marquis & Marina. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Marriott, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, HotelTravel.com, AAA Travel Services, Priceline, BookIt.com, TripOnline SA, Booking.com and Tingo so you can book your San Diego Marriott Marquis & Marina reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
San Diego Marriott Marquis & Marina Hotel San Diego
San Diego Marriott Marquis And Marina
Marriott San Diego

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage San Diego Marriott Marquis & Marina, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.