We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good business hotel for convention” 4 of 5 stars
Review of San Diego Marriott Marquis & Marina

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added San Diego Marriott Marquis & Marina to your Saves list
San Diego Marriott Marquis & Marina
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   333 West Harbor Drive, San Diego, CA 92101   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
FREE Wi-Fi
Ranked #51 of 272 Hotels in San Diego
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
San Francisco
Level Contributor
116 reviews
100 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 192 helpful votes
“Good business hotel for convention”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2014

Situated right next to the SD Convention Center so very convenient for conference goers. It is your good old business hotel with everything running efficient though really nothing special about. Swimming pool and ground area between the two towers are nice but guestrooms are really not that big despite of being comfortably decorated. Bathroom is functional but also on the tight side. The good thing is every room seems to have a private balcony which opens up to a fantastic million-dollar harbor view!

Unfortunately due to heavy use during the convention week, the Club level was closed while I was there so can't comment about the service, otherwise hotel staff is friendly and very professional.

Hotel rate at Marriott during ANY convention period will likely be high but location wise, you simply can't beat it. In sum, it is a good comfortable business hotel which I will not hesitate to recommend to fellow travelers regardlessly.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,470 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,179
    884
    246
    94
    67
See reviews for
419
479
90
1,110
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (886)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Santa Monica, California
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2014

I have been staying at the Marriott Marquis for years. It has always been a great place to stay because it is well-managed and because the people who work there do a terrific job. The rooms are well-maintained and clean, the workout area is terrific and the views are great. The property, however, has a distinctly dated, corporate and vanilla feel to it now, given the increase in the number of hotels (even large chain hotels) that are updating to give a "boutique experience." Overall, a solid value.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jonesboro, Arkansas
Level Contributor
37 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2014

Just returned from a week at the Marriott Marquis in San Diego. I had read a number of reviews of the hotel and knew exactly where I wanted to be in the hotel. Prior to my stay, I telephoned the hotel with my room request. Upon arrival, I was delighted to learn that I was assigned to the exact type of room I had requested: bay-view king with a balcony on the 24th floor. The view was absolutely magnificent. The room was wonderful as well--good sized with a sofa, refrigerator and all of the usual amenities. The bathroom did not have a tub but I prefer a walk-in shower so that was not a problem for me.
The hotel is very, very large and was filled to capacity during my stay. Nonetheless, the service was excellent throughout. And, it was very quiet in my room. It goes without saying that I would select this hotel again when I return to San Diego.

Room Tip: Rooms in the North Tower all have balconies. Those on the higher floors on the bay side have specta...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Trondheim, Norway
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2014

I stayed here for 6 nights and it was so nice! The place is beautiful. They have everything you need inside the hotel:shops, restaurants and even Starbucks .The rooms were very spacious with magnificent view. The only minus is hotel is very big and too many people everywhere, so I guess people at the service get tired. They were not so friendly.

Room Tip: Higher the floor better is the view and try to select the room with bay view. The other side of the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carlow, Ireland
Level Contributor
212 reviews
93 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 110 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2014

I really enjoyed my stay at the Marriott Marquis. Its a busy hotel but the rooms are nice, decent wifi and good selection of TV channels.

WIFI is free of charge in public areas and is payable in the rooms.

I bought my breakfast at Exchange on the lobby level and there is also a starbucks there.

For conventions this is hotel is literally next door. The Gaslamp area is 10 mins walking away and the promenade and Seaport Village are even closer.

The gym is very well equipped and has regular classes.

Overall a very positive experience.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
79 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2014

This place is gorgeous!!!!! The public areas are stunning! The rooms are enormous, luxurious, comfortable. The bed was so comfortable. The staff treated us like royalty. Our room had a double balcony with a view of the amazing pool area, and seaport village. The bathroom was incredible, with a huge tinted picture window looking out over the harbor. A shower with a view was a real unexpected treat!! The location is perfect for a little city escape, with Seaport Village , and so much more, right at your door. This place is a WOW ! ! !

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2014

I was really impressed with this hotel. I am an avid biker back home so when I noticed this hotel has live spin classes I was truly impressed. The spin instructor, Enrica Ferruzzi, was excellent! She was also very considerate of her class members and provided water, etc. She definitely went above and beyond for her bikers. The experience I had at this hotel was better than expected. The room was very spacious with a beautiful view and always very clean when I got back from my work day. Having stayed a full week I never felt let down at this hotel. I highly recommend it!

Room Tip: Room with a view of the pool and marina is recommended.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to San Diego Marriott Marquis & Marina? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about San Diego Marriott Marquis & Marina

Address: 333 West Harbor Drive, San Diego, CA 92101
Location: United States > California > San Diego
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#14 Green Hotel in San Diego
#18 Luxury Hotel in San Diego
#24 Business Hotel in San Diego
#28 Family Hotel in San Diego
#30 Romantic Hotel in San Diego
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — San Diego Marriott Marquis & Marina 4*
Number of rooms: 1305
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The centerpiece of the inspiring San Diego Bay, the San Diego Marriott Marquis & Marina is a premier San Diego, CA hotel. With 1,360 guest rooms, 75,000 sq ft of meeting space, a 446-slip marina & an environment that easily transitions from dynamic meetings to resort-style relaxation, the San Diego hotel is a welcome escape. Adjacent to the San Diego Convention Center and steps from the Gaslamp Quarter, our downtown San Diego, CA hotel’s location provides convenient access to championship golf and popular attractions like the San Diego Zoo, Sea World San Diego and LEGOLAND California. Experience a grand sense of arrival in the new lobby our San Diego hotel & personalized service from our dedicated staff. Unwind in a renovated guest room with sweeping bay views. From a state-of-the-art fitness center, to an enticing new pool area, to top-notch cuisine at our waterfront restaurants, it all comes together for an authentic downtown San Diego experience, only at the San Diego Marquis & Marina. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, BookIt.com, Hotels.com, Hotel.de, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Marriott and Jetsetter so you can book your San Diego Marriott Marquis & Marina reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
San Diego Marriott Marquis And Marina
San Diego Marriott Marquis & Marina Hotel San Diego
Marriott San Diego

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage San Diego Marriott Marquis & Marina, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.