We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“We couldn't have stayed at a better place” 5 of 5 stars
Review of San Diego Marriott Marquis & Marina

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Save
You added San Diego Marriott Marquis & Marina to your Saves list
San Diego Marriott Marquis & Marina
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   333 West Harbor Drive, San Diego, CA 92101   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Earn Rewards Points!
Ranked #50 of 271 Hotels in San Diego
GreenLeadersSilver level
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“We couldn't have stayed at a better place”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2014

We stayed at this property over the New Years Evening and a few days following. This location is ideal for everything you could want. Sightseeing? Check. Dining? Check. Water? Check. This had a beautiful view of the Harbor and was walking distance to the Midway, Gas Lamp District, Maritime Museum, and all kinds of water tours.

The staff was wonderful. The pool was fantastic and the temperature was great even in the evening. They had plenty of dining choices including the bar near the pool. The workout facility was perfect.

If I return I will stay here again without a doubt.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,127 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    998
    759
    226
    83
    61
See reviews for
365
405
84
961
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (725)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Huntley, Illinois
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
71 helpful votes 71 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2014

We stayed at this hotel for 5 nights in November 2013.

The hotel is in a fantastic location. It is within walking distance to the Gaslamp District and Seaport Village. There is also a train stop outside the front of the hotel, which we used to get to Old Town. The hotel is right along the water providing a nice spot to walk or jog.

The rooms are nice and clean, and the beds are comfortable.

The food in the hotel is good, and the fire pits at night are wonderful, although a little hot.

We also rented a car and drove to Coronado Island, which is very easy to get to.

If I return to San Diego again I would stay here.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2014

My friends and I visited San Diego during holidays for a weekend. the hotel was in perfect location, walking distance to gas lamp district, with lots of restaurants and shops. the view of the room was beautiful. the room quality was good. the only thing that was a bit strange was the popcorn ceiling.

We didn't check on wifi since we all live in southern California and just used our phones. The breakfast buffet was very nice although a bit pricey and not included in the room. there were lots of empty tables when we went to have breakfast, however the hostess told us there is at least a 30 min wait, but we could go to the bar and get served right away. So we did! the bartender seemed too busy to help us at first but he came around more after 20 or 30 minuets.

Note that check in is at 4 which I thought was a bit late, but since it was close to all the fun places we went and had drinks until our rooms were ready!

This is a big hotel with big pools and few restaurants and bars, however it is very family friendly which I didn't care for all that much since screaming kids by the pools are not my cup of tea....

Regardless for a weekend getaway with friends it was great.

Room Tip: Almost all of the rooms have great views
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Exec0410, General Manager at San Diego Marriott Marquis & Marina, responded to this review, January 8, 2014
It was nice to hear that you selected our hotel to spend some time at during the holidays. I do enjoy our proximity to the Gaslamp District and we now have a new area called The Headquarters adjacent to Seaport Village that is an easy stroll on the bay boardwalk in front of our hotel. Your feedback about our restaurant is helpful and I will address that with my team. Thank you for taking the time to let me know how we are doing. I hope you will consider us again the next time your travels bring you back to San Diego.
Kind regards,
Tuni
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sao Paulo, SP
Top Contributor
114 reviews 114 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2014

Another Marriott Marquis for another convention, it has great surroundings and services as any Marquis, but I found the rooms a little outdated. The bath was particularly dysfunctional, as the towels stood far from the bath room. A rare in the US, this hotel has balconies for every room, with a nice view of the pool area and the ocean (too bad my room did not face the sea carrier). Beds are great as usual.

Room Tip: Ask for a room facing the sea carrier.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Exec0410, General Manager at San Diego Marriott Marquis & Marina, responded to this review, January 8, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to write a review about our hotel. I appreciate the feedback and work with our team to revisit the bathroom configuration. I hope to will still consider us the next time you are in San Diego.
Kind regards,
Tuni
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
79 reviews 79 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2014

We stayed here for a week over New Year. The hotel is modern and well equipped with a free gym and a Starbucks in the lobby area. Our room was spacious, modern and comfortable. The pool area is well maintained and there were always plenty of free loungers.

Room Tip: Rooms with a balcony overlooking the city and part of the harbour have a great view. The balcony was...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Exec0410, General Manager at San Diego Marriott Marquis & Marina, responded to this review, January 8, 2014
I appreciate the very complimentary review you provided about our hotel. I hope that well will see you here again soon.
Kind regards,
Tuni
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2014

Recently had several experiences dining at this property, all of which warranted a review. One was a casual weekend lunch at the pool restaurant, Tequila, and the awesome Adobo Bloody Mary was one of the best bloody mary's I've had (have Gavin make it for you). I also ordered the daily ceviche special that went great with the drink. Based on past experience with Marina kitchen it was the venue of choice for Thanksgiving. The buffet was wonderful and had options for everyone (everything from traditional turkey and mashed potatoes, beef, cheese and charcuterie, vegetarian dishes, plenty of veggies and plenty of breads and sides to chose from). Chef Aaron even brought out his family's stuffing recipe which only further shows the atmosphere and culture of the establishment and why I love coming back.

Green Features: The food and beverage outlets focus on sourcing locally and organic.
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rockford, Illinois
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2014

We couldn't have been happier about our stay at this hotel. Our view of the bay and Coronado Island were beautiful. Our room was clean, updated, and comfortable. All of the staff, from the front desk, to housekeeping, to gift shop, and more, were very friendly and always trying to help in any way. We stayed in the north tower and walked over to the south tower concierge floor for breakfast every morning. We did not find the walk an inconvience, and the food was plentiful and very tasty even though there were a lot of people in there each day. Both pools were excellent, clean and warm, towels readily available. Our internet connection was working every time we wanted it. We have no complaints with this hotel and look forward to returning again soon. Loved it!

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to San Diego Marriott Marquis & Marina? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about San Diego Marriott Marquis & Marina

Address: 333 West Harbor Drive, San Diego, CA 92101
Location: United States > California > San Diego
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#12 Green Hotel in San Diego
#15 Luxury Hotel in San Diego
#21 Business Hotel in San Diego
#30 Family Hotel in San Diego
#30 Romantic Hotel in San Diego
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — San Diego Marriott Marquis & Marina 4*
Number of rooms: 1305
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The centerpiece of the inspiring San Diego Bay, the San Diego Marriott Marquis & Marina is a premier San Diego, CA hotel. With 1,360 guest rooms, 75,000 sq ft of meeting space, a 446-slip marina & an environment that easily transitions from dynamic meetings to resort-style relaxation, the San Diego hotel is a welcome escape. Adjacent to the San Diego Convention Center and steps from the Gaslamp Quarter, our downtown San Diego, CA hotel’s location provides convenient access to championship golf and popular attractions like the San Diego Zoo, Sea World San Diego and LEGOLAND California. Experience a grand sense of arrival in the new lobby our San Diego hotel & personalized service from our dedicated staff. Unwind in a renovated guest room with sweeping bay views. From a state-of-the-art fitness center, to an enticing new pool area, to top-notch cuisine at our waterfront restaurants, it all comes together for an authentic downtown San Diego experience, only at the San Diego Marquis & Marina. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, HotelTravel.com, AAA Travel Services, BookIt.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your San Diego Marriott Marquis & Marina reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
San Diego Marriott Marquis & Marina Hotel San Diego
San Diego Marriott Marquis And Marina
Marriott San Diego

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage San Diego Marriott Marquis & Marina, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.