We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Breathtaking views! Excellent service! Can't wait to come back!!!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of San Diego Marriott Marquis & Marina

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added San Diego Marriott Marquis & Marina to your Saves list
San Diego Marriott Marquis & Marina
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   333 West Harbor Drive, San Diego, CA 92101   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
$50 Dining Credit
Ranked #54 of 270 Hotels in San Diego
Certificate of Excellence 2014
GreenLeadersSilver level
Howell, Michigan
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Breathtaking views! Excellent service! Can't wait to come back!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2013

There couldn't be a more beautiful location for this Marriott! It has it all going on. It sits right on the bay. Gorgeous views of the Bay, marina, Pool area, and City. We did have a executive suite that faced the pool , marina, and bay. The room was immaculate. It had everything we needed for a comfortable stay. The sitting room had a large sectional, end tables, lamps , desk and huge flat screen TV. A very large door wall and balcony that you could go out and sit on and watch everyone at the pool, boats going in and our of the harbor. You could even see across the water to Coronado . The front desk was super nice! Upgraded our room for us. Offered us Chocolates and made sure we had everything that we needed in our room. Valet was also very friendly offering us cold water bottles and retrieving our vehicle quickly. The hospitality room staff was also very nice and accomodating, great food. They also have a food court that you can go down to the main floor and grab a quick coffe, bite to eat. There also were restaraunts on the premises .

Down town San Diego was a GREAT time! The Gaslamp district had a lot to offer as well. It was within walking distance but we did take a bike taxi. They are all over and they get you to where you need to go while still seeing all the sites. The BEST place to stay in San Diego for sure! WE will be back in the spring!!!

Room Tip: Seems like every room would have a wonderful view! San Diego is beautiful and this hotel is the one...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,321 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,092
    842
    234
    89
    64
See reviews for
399
446
87
1,047
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (819)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2013

I have found out that mariott charged $500 when I reviewed credit card statement.

When I called to find out, they have said that it was for local phone that room has made.. but phone # that was used only for 9 digits (non sense).
I definitely did not make the call.

customer service rep said it will take upto 5 business day to investigate.

No one follow up for the case in 5 days and I have called several times and left message in house account..

I called sep 6 2013 and asked status and they said they are still working on the issue and will inform me when it gets cleared.

I got the credit back to account when I checked the bank statement, however no one called or emailed about the case and explained how they charged $500

I would like to ask you to review the card statement carefully after visit from marriott hotel. If I did not find out, I would have been charged $500 that I did not spend..

Also I am very disappointed marriot's poor customer service.. No one even contacted us to explain as of today.

Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
La Canada Flintridge, California
Top Contributor
154 reviews 154 reviews
37 hotel reviews
Reviews in 64 cities Reviews in 64 cities
78 helpful votes 78 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2013

This hotel does it right in all areas to review. Comfy beds, impeccably clean, attentive staff, tasty food, great parking. You name it, they have it covered. Lots to do along the water or in the Gaslamp District. Excellent locale, excellent water views with patio! I highly recommend!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Georgetown, Texas
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2013

II stayed at the Marriott Marquis and Marina this weekend for a conference. The north tower had no water this morning, I was to be in the South Tower. So some might not have the same degree of satisfaction that I do. The lobby is light and airy; check-in and checkout were painless; the staff, friendly; the food in the restaurant tasty; the beds, good; and there were plenty of towels for conference attendees sharing a room.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2013 via mobile

We stayed here for a smaller convention sept 12-14. The hotel is beautiful and the view is gorgeous whether you face city of ocean. The service needs motivation and enthusiasm. The wait staff in the restaurants are very inattentive, so much so that several people in our party missed lunch because they could not serve us within an hour, and the restaurant was only 1/4 full. The bar staff inside and out seem quite snobby. Overall the visit was fine but this hotel seems to lack leadership and quality service.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2013

We didn't stay at the hotel but ate twice in the Marina restaurant during a recent trip to San Diego. We had two lovely meals - fabulous food and very good service. On both occasions it was fairly quiet but didn't detract. We loved it.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Schoolcraft, Michigan
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2013

Excellent experience. The food in the Marina Kitchen is very good. Daily brunch is plentiful and has something for everyone. For dinner, definitely try Roy's. Some may think it is pricey but the quality is well worth it.

Great place for staying when attending a convention at the adjacent San Diego Convention Center which we were attending. Staff was very accommodating and the bell captains and valet were fabulous. Both department were top notch.

Room was nice. A few maintenance issues in the room but nothing significant.

If you ship anything to yourself, there is a UPS Business Center and they are very accommodating but be aware that they charge a pretty significant handling fee per package.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to San Diego Marriott Marquis & Marina? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about San Diego Marriott Marquis & Marina

Address: 333 West Harbor Drive, San Diego, CA 92101
Location: United States > California > San Diego
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#14 Green Hotel in San Diego
#17 Luxury Hotel in San Diego
#23 Business Hotel in San Diego
#28 Family Hotel in San Diego
#30 Romantic Hotel in San Diego
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — San Diego Marriott Marquis & Marina 4*
Number of rooms: 1305
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The centerpiece of the inspiring San Diego Bay, the San Diego Marriott Marquis & Marina is a premier San Diego, CA hotel. With 1,360 guest rooms, 75,000 sq ft of meeting space, a 446-slip marina & an environment that easily transitions from dynamic meetings to resort-style relaxation, the San Diego hotel is a welcome escape. Adjacent to the San Diego Convention Center and steps from the Gaslamp Quarter, our downtown San Diego, CA hotel’s location provides convenient access to championship golf and popular attractions like the San Diego Zoo, Sea World San Diego and LEGOLAND California. Experience a grand sense of arrival in the new lobby our San Diego hotel & personalized service from our dedicated staff. Unwind in a renovated guest room with sweeping bay views. From a state-of-the-art fitness center, to an enticing new pool area, to top-notch cuisine at our waterfront restaurants, it all comes together for an authentic downtown San Diego experience, only at the San Diego Marquis & Marina. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Marriott, BookIt.com, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA and Odigeo so you can book your San Diego Marriott Marquis & Marina reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
San Diego Marriott Marquis & Marina Hotel San Diego
San Diego Marriott Marquis And Marina
Marriott San Diego

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage San Diego Marriott Marquis & Marina, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.