We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Do not stay here if you need to use the internet” 2 of 5 stars
Review of San Diego Marriott Marquis & Marina

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Save
You added San Diego Marriott Marquis & Marina to your Saves list
San Diego Marriott Marquis & Marina
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   333 West Harbor Drive, San Diego, CA 92101   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Stay 2+ Nights & Save 15%
Ranked #53 of 273 Hotels in San Diego
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
San Ramon
Level Contributor
47 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Do not stay here if you need to use the internet”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2013

Heads up: there is a serious internet connectivity and speed issue at this hotel. The speed is not the only thing that is at issue. The extended problem is that it took me four days to get to someone who said it was a known problem. Not the front desk. Not Bahn. None of those folks I talked to over the first few days know that this is an issue. They are receiving calls from guests. But are not putting it together with something they need to fix. If you are in need of a good connection, so not stay here. This problem has cost me valuable time. The convenient thing for this Marriott is – my rate includes connectivity. So I don’t even have a choice, and they did not offer a credit.

Room Tip: If you have an issue with technology/internet, go right to the top from the very beginning or your t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,556 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,218
    915
    251
    101
    71
See reviews for
442
499
90
1,145
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (921)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
50 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2013

Stayed here for a business travel convention in August 2013. One would think if a hotel is full of people that buy and sell business travel for a living they would put their best effort forward! Was disappointed from the minute I checked in, room was not ready even though it was check in time, the club lounge was closed for an unexplained reason, and the front desk never called me when my room WAS ready, I found out from another colleague. The rooms are dated and the bathrooms need updating. The service staff was excellent, and kept the room very clean. The pool/bar area has a great atmosphere, but the service is slow and the food quality is average. I strongly recommend staying at the Hilton or Hyatt instead, have had much better experiences at those properties.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
37 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2013

We enjoyed our stay. We got a very good deal on the room via Priceline. Our room was comfortable and I loved the bed, but it was a city side view and we could hear the traffic and trams. Parking was expensive, and when the self parking filled up we had no choice but to use the valet service. It's one of those hotels that are so big it's impersonal. However, I was impressed with having a Starbucks right downstairs!

Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami Beach, Florida
Level Contributor
30 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2013

Pros/Likes:
- Super fast and efficient check-in and out
- Staff was really nice
- Excellent location by the water, next to the Convention Center, close to restaurants, and a 12-minute drive to the airport
- Tall beautiful shiny buildings
- Nice room with balcony and a good bed
- Big flat-screen TV
- In-room coffee and safe-deposit box
- Empty refrigerator to store own beverages
- Starbucks on the premises
- "Food to Go" service to pick up at the restaurant instead of room-service in order to avoid fees (dinner was good)

Cons/Dislikes:
- Had to call in after 2:00pm on two separate days for housekeeping to come make my room.

Neutral:
- Free internet/domestic calls as part of the business rate; otherwise there is a fee.
- I prefer fuller duvet and pillows (though were still adequate)
- No spa/massage facilities
- No turn-down service
- More geared towards business, including decor

Miscellaneous:
- Large and modern exercise room with great cardio and weight machines though did not use
- Large swimming pool though did not use
- Did not try the sit-in restaurants

Impression:
Nice property with services as expected from Marriott

Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calexico, California
Level Contributor
42 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2013

Had a great time in SD with family, stayed here one night. Great service, cool location, next to many fine resterants, entertainment and shopping options. Loved the room, very clean, good size and great shower head. Nice stay for a couples or guest on vacation. Would stay again!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jersey City, New Jersey
Level Contributor
53 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2013

When I made the reservations to stay at this hotel, I was excited about the prospects given the location and knowing the beauty of San Diego. What I found is that location does not make a memorable hotel experience. I was so disappointed in the service level of employees, and overall appearance of the rooms that I will most likely never stay at this property again. I travel quite a bit and this hotel fell short on so many levels. The good: gym (better than most hotels), pool, location. The not so good: attitude of employees, service level overall, room condition, lobby crowds at all hours of the day.

Room Tip: Try to get a room on a higher floor as the pool area is very noisy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sarasota, Florida
Level Contributor
30 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2013 via mobile

I stayed for an IT user group meeting (work) with events like meals catered at the hotel and sessions and exhibit hall time at the convention center. If you are in town for a convention, it's the perfect location. Most or all hotels are "close" to the convention center, but this one is adjacent. Easy to walk via the road or the boardwalk! I had a room in the south tower with a balcony. It had a 50/50 view of the marina and downtown --- the trolley crossing noise does not appear to ever stop, and it was loud --- try to get a room overlooking the pool or ask for a room higher that x13 (where x is the floor number). (I was in 1109 and was more towards downtown so was loud.

Pool, spa (They have reciprocity with the Hyatt next door) and service are spot on.

I only gave it 4 stars b/c of some challenges checking in - I flew from the east coast and arrived at noon. Check-in is not untill 4pm. BUt, I called the day before and asked for an early check-in. As a platinum member, they said it would be no problem. Upon arrival not only was there no room ready, they indicated they had no availability on the elite floor and then said they would call me immediately upon a room being available. I checked with them at 2pm, 3 and then againg a little after 4pm. At 4, I was told they had given my elite room away because I did not come when called. (Wait, i thought there was never one available!!!!). Regardless, the 11th floor was lovely, but this was a small conference --- if they had this type of trouble with a small show, I would be very worried about a large one!!!

Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Diego hotels
Downtown
Manchester Grand Hyatt San Diego
Hilton San Diego Bayfront
#73 of 273 in San Diego
4.0 of 5 stars 3,196 reviews
Downtown
Omni San Diego Hotel
Omni San Diego Hotel
#6 of 273 in San Diego
4.5 of 5 stars 2,863 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
San Diego Marriott Gaslamp Quarter
Downtown
The Westin San Diego Gaslamp Quarter
Downtown
The Westin San Diego
The Westin San Diego
#33 of 273 in San Diego
4.5 of 5 stars 461 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to San Diego Marriott Marquis & Marina? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about San Diego Marriott Marquis & Marina

Address: 333 West Harbor Drive, San Diego, CA 92101
Location: United States > California > San Diego
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#15 Green Hotel in San Diego
#19 Luxury Hotel in San Diego
#24 Business Hotel in San Diego
#29 Family Hotel in San Diego
#30 Romantic Hotel in San Diego
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — San Diego Marriott Marquis & Marina 4*
Number of rooms: 1305
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The centerpiece of the inspiring San Diego Bay, the San Diego Marriott Marquis & Marina is a premier San Diego, CA hotel. With 1,360 guest rooms, 75,000 sq ft of meeting space, a 446-slip marina & an environment that easily transitions from dynamic meetings to resort-style relaxation, the San Diego hotel is a welcome escape. Adjacent to the San Diego Convention Center and steps from the Gaslamp Quarter, our downtown San Diego, CA hotel’s location provides convenient access to championship golf and popular attractions like the San Diego Zoo, Sea World San Diego and LEGOLAND California. Experience a grand sense of arrival in the new lobby our San Diego hotel & personalized service from our dedicated staff. Unwind in a renovated guest room with sweeping bay views. From a state-of-the-art fitness center, to an enticing new pool area, to top-notch cuisine at our waterfront restaurants, it all comes together for an authentic downtown San Diego experience, only at the San Diego Marquis & Marina. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, BookIt.com, Hotel.de, Priceline, Agoda, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Jetsetter so you can book your San Diego Marriott Marquis & Marina reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
San Diego Marriott Marquis And Marina
San Diego Marriott Marquis & Marina Hotel San Diego
Marriott San Diego

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage San Diego Marriott Marquis & Marina, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.