We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not up to Marriott Standards” 3 of 5 stars
Review of San Diego Marriott Marquis & Marina

Save Saved
You added San Diego Marriott Marquis & Marina to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
San Diego Marriott Marquis & Marina
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   333 West Harbor Drive, San Diego, CA 92101   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Earn Rewards Points
Ranked #44 of 270 hotels in San Diego
GreenLeadersSilver level
Chicago, Illinois
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
35 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
“Not up to Marriott Standards”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2013

Stayed here for a business travel convention in August 2013. One would think if a hotel is full of people that buy and sell business travel for a living they would put their best effort forward! Was disappointed from the minute I checked in, room was not ready even though it was check in time, the club lounge was closed for an unexplained reason, and the front desk never called me when my room WAS ready, I found out from another colleague. The rooms are dated and the bathrooms need updating. The service staff was excellent, and kept the room very clean. The pool/bar area has a great atmosphere, but the service is slow and the food quality is average. I strongly recommend staying at the Hilton or Hyatt instead, have had much better experiences at those properties.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,636 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    733
    608
    182
    64
    49
See reviews for
287
300
75
735
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (522)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
35 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2013

We enjoyed our stay. We got a very good deal on the room via Priceline. Our room was comfortable and I loved the bed, but it was a city side view and we could hear the traffic and trams. Parking was expensive, and when the self parking filled up we had no choice but to use the valet service. It's one of those hotels that are so big it's impersonal. However, I was impressed with having a Starbucks right downstairs!

Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami Beach, Florida
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2013

Pros/Likes:
- Super fast and efficient check-in and out
- Staff was really nice
- Excellent location by the water, next to the Convention Center, close to restaurants, and a 12-minute drive to the airport
- Tall beautiful shiny buildings
- Nice room with balcony and a good bed
- Big flat-screen TV
- In-room coffee and safe-deposit box
- Empty refrigerator to store own beverages
- Starbucks on the premises
- "Food to Go" service to pick up at the restaurant instead of room-service in order to avoid fees (dinner was good)

Cons/Dislikes:
- Had to call in after 2:00pm on two separate days for housekeeping to come make my room.

Neutral:
- Free internet/domestic calls as part of the business rate; otherwise there is a fee.
- I prefer fuller duvet and pillows (though were still adequate)
- No spa/massage facilities
- No turn-down service
- More geared towards business, including decor

Miscellaneous:
- Large and modern exercise room with great cardio and weight machines though did not use
- Large swimming pool though did not use
- Did not try the sit-in restaurants

Impression:
Nice property with services as expected from Marriott

Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calexico, California
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2013

Had a great time in SD with family, stayed here one night. Great service, cool location, next to many fine resterants, entertainment and shopping options. Loved the room, very clean, good size and great shower head. Nice stay for a couples or guest on vacation. Would stay again!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jersey City, New Jersey
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2013

When I made the reservations to stay at this hotel, I was excited about the prospects given the location and knowing the beauty of San Diego. What I found is that location does not make a memorable hotel experience. I was so disappointed in the service level of employees, and overall appearance of the rooms that I will most likely never stay at this property again. I travel quite a bit and this hotel fell short on so many levels. The good: gym (better than most hotels), pool, location. The not so good: attitude of employees, service level overall, room condition, lobby crowds at all hours of the day.

Room Tip: Try to get a room on a higher floor as the pool area is very noisy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sarasota, Florida
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2013 via mobile

I stayed for an IT user group meeting (work) with events like meals catered at the hotel and sessions and exhibit hall time at the convention center. If you are in town for a convention, it's the perfect location. Most or all hotels are "close" to the convention center, but this one is adjacent. Easy to walk via the road or the boardwalk! I had a room in the south tower with a balcony. It had a 50/50 view of the marina and downtown --- the trolley crossing noise does not appear to ever stop, and it was loud --- try to get a room overlooking the pool or ask for a room higher that x13 (where x is the floor number). (I was in 1109 and was more towards downtown so was loud.

Pool, spa (They have reciprocity with the Hyatt next door) and service are spot on.

I only gave it 4 stars b/c of some challenges checking in - I flew from the east coast and arrived at noon. Check-in is not untill 4pm. BUt, I called the day before and asked for an early check-in. As a platinum member, they said it would be no problem. Upon arrival not only was there no room ready, they indicated they had no availability on the elite floor and then said they would call me immediately upon a room being available. I checked with them at 2pm, 3 and then againg a little after 4pm. At 4, I was told they had given my elite room away because I did not come when called. (Wait, i thought there was never one available!!!!). Regardless, the 11th floor was lovely, but this was a small conference --- if they had this type of trouble with a small show, I would be very worried about a large one!!!

Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2013

The hotel and staff were very friendly. The room itself was very nice, but felt small because of the two double beds. The pool was amazing, a little pricey to drink by the pool but still pretty awesome experience. The breakfast buffet was good, but it seemed a little understaffed, as the kitchen seemed it couldnt keep up with the demand of guest eating. Great location from Petco park, and gaslamp district! The only 2 complaints would have to be against house cleaning, and the noise. We went down to the pool for about 4 hours, I would say from about 1030 to 230, and the only thing they did was empty our trash. They didnt make our beds, or replinsh the coffe machine. Also the trains get very loud at night with their horn blowing, making some random wake ups throughout the night. Otherwise I would stay again here.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to San Diego Marriott Marquis & Marina? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about San Diego Marriott Marquis & Marina

Also Known As:
San Diego Marriott Marquis And Marina
San Diego Marriott Marquis & Marina Hotel
San Diego Marriott Marquis & Marina Hotel San Diego
Marriott San Diego
San Diego Marriott
Address: 333 West Harbor Drive, San Diego, CA 92101
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Diego
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#14 Green Hotel in San Diego
#14 Luxury Hotel in San Diego
#24 Business Hotel in San Diego
#27 Family Hotel in San Diego
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — San Diego Marriott Marquis & Marina 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The centerpiece of the inspiring San Diego Bay, the San Diego Marriott Marquis & Marina is a premier San Diego, CA hotel. With 1,360 guest rooms, 75,000 sq ft of meeting space, a 446-slip marina & an environment that easily transitions from dynamic meetings to resort-style relaxation, the San Diego hotel is a welcome escape. Adjacent to the San Diego Convention Center and steps from the Gaslamp Quarter, our downtown San Diego, CA hotel’s location provides convenient access to championship golf and popular attractions like the San Diego Zoo, Sea World San Diego and LEGOLAND California. Experience a grand sense of arrival in the new lobby our San Diego hotel & personalized service from our dedicated staff. Unwind in a renovated guest room with sweeping bay views. From a state-of-the-art fitness center, to an enticing new pool area, to top-notch cuisine at our waterfront restaurants, it all comes together for an authentic downtown San Diego experience, only at the San Diego Marquis & Marina. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Marriott, Travelocity, Tingo, Hotels.com, getaroom.com, Venere, Agoda and Otel so you can book your San Diego Marriott Marquis & Marina reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage San Diego Marriott Marquis & Marina, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.