We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Stay” 4 of 5 stars
Review of San Diego Marriott Marquis & Marina

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added San Diego Marriott Marquis & Marina to your Saves list
San Diego Marriott Marquis & Marina
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   333 West Harbor Drive, San Diego, CA 92101   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save 15% This Summer!
Ranked #54 of 271 Hotels in San Diego
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Folsom, California
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Excellent Stay”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2013

Family of 5 (3 kids).
Pros: Outstanding views and top notch pool for kids and adults; Amazing atmosphere at the restaurant near the south tower. Friendly staff. extremely clean and spotless. THE best hotel gym I have ever been to.

Cons: Self parking $28 a day??? Valet $40 a day??? That is ridiculous. Since it is right next to the SD convention center, it gets so busy that you may not even find a parking spot in the self parking. believe me, I drove around almost half hour before giving up.

TiP.... park across the street overnight for FREE on any public street (10pm-8 am) Then you can pay for an hour or 2 for the meter before you head out for your adventures... We stayed for 6 nights x $28 self park at the hotel,,, well you do the math.....

Room Tip: Ask for the highest floor with a Bayview.. South tower is more lively and loud and north seems to be...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,398 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,135
    863
    243
    91
    66
See reviews for
408
462
88
1,083
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (858)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Los Angeles, CA
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
34 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
69 helpful votes 69 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2013

We had a two night stay at this property, Sunday – Tuesday. Our family makes yearly trips to San Diego and usually stay in La Jolla or the Gaslamp area. This was our first experience on the marina and we really enjoyed it. Having the feel of a tropical vacation but being so close to the Gaslamp and Seaport Village was ideal. The public areas of this hotel are very open and accommodating to any type of traveler. The clean lines and modern look was refreshing. Our kids enjoyed the pool and water play area even on a partially cloudy day, as the water is heated. Overall service was average. This being a convention hotel it was too busy for my liking. However, it is a great choice for a quick getaway for the family. Rooms and the bathrooms are on the small side. Bathrooms (specially shower/tub area), could us a further renovation as they appeared aged. This is a solid 4 star property that I would definitely returned to.

Room Tip: North Tower rooms have balconies.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton, Canada
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2013

We stayed at this hotel for four nights. We were given a nice room overlooking the Bay Area. The room was renovated and clean. Hotel lobby is very nice and has nice Starbucks and restaurants. Staff were very professional. The swimming pool is amazing, the kids had such great time. The location is just amazing.
My only comment concerns the concierge lounge, the hours were very limited as it is closed Saturday and opens after five on Sunday. These are the days I wished to use it and enjoy the services offered for us. Also, the concierge lounge does not nearly offer what other Marriotts do. I have to say we were disappointed with this lounge. Otherwise our stay was very nice.

Room Tip: Book a room with bay view and high floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Overland Park, Kansas
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2013

We checked in yesterday for three nights. We are Marriott Platinum Elite members attending a conference at the Hyatt next door, but out of loyalty and many years of Marriott membership, we opted to stay at the Marriott. Big mistake. Upon checkin, we were told that the concierge lounge would be closed for our entire stay due to a "plumbing" problem (which would be miraculously resolved after the 4th of July!) Since this means no complimentary breakfast, snacks, evening hors d'oeuvres and desserts, we asked for the complimentary breakfast credit usually provided when concierge is out of service. They said no. We asked to speak to a manager, but the manager was "too busy" to speak to us, however, we were then offered $54 for two people, for our entire stay - $9.00 per person per day, $1 short of a small pot of coffee in the room. After saying this was unacceptable, they threw in the cost of self parking.

Upon arriving to our room, it had two beds although our preference is a king. We asked for a king and were changed to another room. The bed was a nightmare. It sounded and felt like sleeping on a broken chain-link fence! The air conditioning clunked on and off and has to be set at 62 just to get 70. The in room refrigerator rattled like a clap-trap train all night. Suffice to say, no rest was had in room 1725 last night. It felt like we were sleeping in a prison.

This is the worst bed we have experienced in 30 years of travel - (honestly! I am stunned that it is in this hotel.) The noise in the room and aching back all night meant for a restless night. Platinum elite means nothing here.

The view from the room is lovely - unfortunately, it disappears at night and suddenly you are very sorry you are here.

Room Tip: Room 1725 has a bed we like to call "the rack."
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
110 reviews 110 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 45 cities Reviews in 45 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2013 via mobile

In town for 5 days, made reservations in February through convention site. I wish I read trip advisor first, I checked in & was told I had a great view of the San Diego skyline, which was true but they do not tell you about the constant train track signals going off all night. Definitely ask for bay side. Room was clean , small , tub shower , nothing special, no separate sink area. Bed very comfortable. Even at $239 convention rate it was over priced. Add another $25 bucks in taxes. PooL was nice, wireless not included in room

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
68 reviews 68 reviews
41 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2013

We had a great stay at the Marriott Marquis. I love a big hotel, and this is just that. Check in was relatively efficient, and the room was nice. Nothing spectacular, but was good size with a great view from the balcony. We were in the north tower, and it has awesome views
The location is also walking distance to so much --- Gas Lamp, the marina, a great bagel shop, and much more. If you are into fitness, take a walk or run along the marina. Beautiful boats and scenery. The gym is also really nice....great equipment and plenty of it.
The lobby bar is great for drinks and always happening. The menu there seemed great for foodies, and got good reviews, but we never ate there.
The pool was perfect....nice chairs, scenery, wait staff, fire pits with padded seating, and the best pool bathroom I had ever been in. Meticulously clean!
If we ever get back to San Diego we will stay again!

Room Tip: North tower ocean views are great
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2013

Was here for half a week on conference. The hotel is clean and modern and the location is good. Check-in was easy. Room was clean and comfy. There is a restaurant downstairs, and a large pool/restaurant area outside. The place does get a bit crowded - it seems lots of people attending different conferences stay here. The room was relatively expensive (probably a result of its location next to the marina and conference center). There was free internet downstairs in the public places, but internet in the rooms cost around 13 dollars for each 24 hours.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to San Diego Marriott Marquis & Marina? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about San Diego Marriott Marquis & Marina

Address: 333 West Harbor Drive, San Diego, CA 92101
Location: United States > California > San Diego
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#14 Green Hotel in San Diego
#18 Luxury Hotel in San Diego
#24 Business Hotel in San Diego
#28 Family Hotel in San Diego
#30 Romantic Hotel in San Diego
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — San Diego Marriott Marquis & Marina 4*
Number of rooms: 1305
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The centerpiece of the inspiring San Diego Bay, the San Diego Marriott Marquis & Marina is a premier San Diego, CA hotel. With 1,360 guest rooms, 75,000 sq ft of meeting space, a 446-slip marina & an environment that easily transitions from dynamic meetings to resort-style relaxation, the San Diego hotel is a welcome escape. Adjacent to the San Diego Convention Center and steps from the Gaslamp Quarter, our downtown San Diego, CA hotel’s location provides convenient access to championship golf and popular attractions like the San Diego Zoo, Sea World San Diego and LEGOLAND California. Experience a grand sense of arrival in the new lobby our San Diego hotel & personalized service from our dedicated staff. Unwind in a renovated guest room with sweeping bay views. From a state-of-the-art fitness center, to an enticing new pool area, to top-notch cuisine at our waterfront restaurants, it all comes together for an authentic downtown San Diego experience, only at the San Diego Marquis & Marina. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Priceline, BookIt.com and Odigeo so you can book your San Diego Marriott Marquis & Marina reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
San Diego Marriott Marquis & Marina Hotel San Diego
San Diego Marriott Marquis And Marina
Marriott San Diego

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage San Diego Marriott Marquis & Marina, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.