We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great property. Poor recognition of Elite Marriott members” 4 of 5 stars
Review of San Diego Marriott Marquis & Marina

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added San Diego Marriott Marquis & Marina to your Saves list
San Diego Marriott Marquis & Marina
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   333 West Harbor Drive, San Diego, CA 92101   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save 15% This Summer!
Ranked #53 of 271 Hotels in San Diego
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Nashua, New Hampshire
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Great property. Poor recognition of Elite Marriott members”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2013 via mobile

Stayed at this property because the conference that I was attending was on site. Nice location. View of the harbor. Close to the ball park and restaurants.
No complaints except that they inexplicably gave the 2 of us that are Marriott elite members worse rooms (no balcony / smaller) than those who were not elite members that checked in at the same time. They could not offer an explanation beyond that is was a regrettable error. Something to watch if you choose to stay here.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,405 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,138
    866
    243
    92
    66
See reviews for
410
465
88
1,084
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (862)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Honolulu
Top Contributor
90 reviews 90 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2013

Excellent location right next to the convention center. It is a 10 minute walk the the Gaslamp district.

Rooms are clean a quite. I was able to get great sleep there. Would recommend a bay view room with a balcony. The rooms are decent size, but the bathrooms are very small. Good luck trying to catch the elevator when a meeting gets out.

No turn down service, no bottled water in the room and no mini bar.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Davis, CA
Top Contributor
116 reviews 116 reviews
34 hotel reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2013

Located right on the water in San Diego. I was attending a conference at the convention center and it was right next door. Also, easy walk to the Gas Lamp District and Petco Park. I had a corner room in the North Tower so I had a view of the water AND a view of downtown San Diego. The pool area was really nice. The room was spacious and clean. Would definitely stay here again!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
41 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2013

I had not been to this hotel for over 2 years. I was always very pleased and satisfied with this hotel. This stay was the best. It appeared that it had been recently renovated. It looks real good! This location is my favorite in the San Diego area, convenient to everything.The staff is the absolute BEST! Could not have been better. The rooms were large with a good view. It was quite comfortable. I look forward to another visit to this hotel!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Banning, California
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2013

This is the 2nd time staying here. The first time was some 2 years ago. The location was great then, and of course still is. The hotel has gotten a facelift, and even though it was quite nice before it was even better this time. The staff is very friendly and quite accommodating. Pool was great and the night movie pool thing for the kids was very welcomed. The only downside (if you can call it that) is that parking is expensive, and wifi comes with a charge (but there is wifi in the pool area and the lobby area free).

Room Tip: Bay looking rooms all the way. 8th Floor or higher.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Top Contributor
130 reviews 130 reviews
109 hotel reviews
Reviews in 84 cities Reviews in 84 cities
100 helpful votes 100 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2013

Don't get me wrong...if you like HUGE hotels and don't mind being a bit of a hike from the Gaslamp then you'll probably be okay here. I was here for a conference and found this hotel to be lacking compared to the nearby Hilton (where I'd stay next time, for sure).

Our room was on the small side (there were two of us sharing and it was a tad cramped).

Cleanliness was spotty; there was gum stuck to the wall behind the nightstand (ick).

Hair in the tub upon arrival and the cleaning wasn't exactly top of the line (they never did remove the gum)

Internet was $12.95 for 24 hours and during peak times, it was EXCRUCIATINGLY slow. Sadly, I was stuck using it as my MiFi (Verizon) had terrible connectivity.

Room service had decent service, but was pricey. Think $25 with fees and tip for a decent breakfast. The nearby restaurants or even the Starbucks in the lobby is cheaper.

Gift/sundry shop was well stocked and not horribly pricey. Go to the little bodega in the Gaslamp across the street from the Hilton Gaslamp. They have EVERYTHING as really good prices.

Staff was nice; bellman and valets are extremely accommodating.

Would I stay there again? No. There are better, more intimate hotel choices with better on site services and lower prices in better locations. It gets fours stars, but it's not for me.

Room Tip: If you can get a water view with a balcony, good for you! We didn't have one but we heard those...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tennessee
Top Contributor
70 reviews 70 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2013

We had an ocean view room on the 20th floor. The view of the San Diego harbor was wonderful. This hotel is a short walk to the Gaslamp district and the San Diego Harbor Walk. Marina Kitchen has good food and service and they have a Starbucks which opens early. The pool area was beautiful and has lots of outdoor areas to sit and enjoy the sun or the evening. All the hotel staff was friendly and helpful, rooms were clean and comfortable. I would definitely recommend this hotel for anyone looking for a good place to stay in San Diego.

Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to San Diego Marriott Marquis & Marina? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about San Diego Marriott Marquis & Marina

Address: 333 West Harbor Drive, San Diego, CA 92101
Location: United States > California > San Diego
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#14 Green Hotel in San Diego
#18 Luxury Hotel in San Diego
#24 Business Hotel in San Diego
#28 Family Hotel in San Diego
#30 Romantic Hotel in San Diego
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — San Diego Marriott Marquis & Marina 4*
Number of rooms: 1305
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The centerpiece of the inspiring San Diego Bay, the San Diego Marriott Marquis & Marina is a premier San Diego, CA hotel. With 1,360 guest rooms, 75,000 sq ft of meeting space, a 446-slip marina & an environment that easily transitions from dynamic meetings to resort-style relaxation, the San Diego hotel is a welcome escape. Adjacent to the San Diego Convention Center and steps from the Gaslamp Quarter, our downtown San Diego, CA hotel’s location provides convenient access to championship golf and popular attractions like the San Diego Zoo, Sea World San Diego and LEGOLAND California. Experience a grand sense of arrival in the new lobby our San Diego hotel & personalized service from our dedicated staff. Unwind in a renovated guest room with sweeping bay views. From a state-of-the-art fitness center, to an enticing new pool area, to top-notch cuisine at our waterfront restaurants, it all comes together for an authentic downtown San Diego experience, only at the San Diego Marquis & Marina. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Priceline, BookIt.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Marriott so you can book your San Diego Marriott Marquis & Marina reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
San Diego Marriott Marquis & Marina Hotel San Diego
San Diego Marriott Marquis And Marina
Marriott San Diego

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage San Diego Marriott Marquis & Marina, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.